Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ferry Meadows Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough > Ferry Meadows Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Ferry Meadows Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Ham Lane
Peterborough
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE2 5UU
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 282
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 147 Reviews
                9/10 from 147 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  147 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 This is an update to my previous 2022 review as there have been some positive changes to the site since our last visit.

To find site:- The site is about 5 minutes from the A1. Leave A1 onto either the A47 or A605 towards the centre of Peterborough and follow brown signs for the 'Nene Park'. (Avoid the small slip road which cuts out the Notcutts roundabout as this can be congested with parked vehicles and market type stalls, particularly at weekends.

At the roundabout by the Notcutts Garden Centre turn left into Ham Lane and the campsite is situated just before the Country Park car parks on the left, the entrance is well signed.

This site operates a double barrier system, the first one off the road is controlled either by an intercom or at busy times by a member of staff. Be aware there is nowhere to park if you arrive before the 1. 00pm deadline.

This was one the first sites we ever stayed at when we started caravanning more than 40 years ago and have visited many times since. In total there are 265 pitches which are split between two sections either side of the Nene Park access road.

The main reception is in the West site which consists of a majority of hard-standings pitches, although there are also a few grass ones, and it is this part of the site which is open all year. Recently (2024) there are now some serviced pitches on this section.

The East site, just across the road, has mainly grass pitches although there are now about 25 or so hardstandings. The tent area is also on this part of the site. Both parts have their own toilet blocks which are up to the usual CMC standards. Both blocks have recently been upgraded and extended. There is a play area on the East Site and it seems the Rally Field can be used for more boisterous games when not in use.

Electrical connections are rated at 16 amps and use standard blue CEE17 sockets. Each electric bollard also has a digital TV hook up point. It is free to use although you need to provide your own co-ax cable or purchase one from Reception, on the bollard we were using we did find reception a bit hit and miss.

There are service points dotted around the site. A new open grill motorhome waste point has now been installed on the West Site.

Site wide fast WiFi is available and time can be purchased online, however the Club have now also introduced a free WiFi option for general browsing but not strong enough for streaming, for that you need the paid for version. Alternatively, EE and 02 have reasonable G4 connections if you prefer to use your own data.

This site tends to be very busy, particularly at weekends and Bank Holidays so itís an idea to book, non-members are accepted.

Reception has a good selection of essentials for sale.

It certainly makes an ideal site for a weekend or even longer. It is situated in the Nene Valley Park which is in the outer suburbs of Peterborough within easy access from the A1.

The Park provides wonderful opportunities for walks and cycle rides. It also has the opportunity for tent camping.

If you want to visit the city centre the best way is to catch a steam train into the centre of Peterborough if it is in operation during your stay.

The Nene Valley Railway runs along one side of the site and the station is a few minutes walk from the site. Also within easy walking distance is a Notcutts Garden Centre, a Beefeater Pub and a golf course.

The site information hut gives details of the local supermarkets and directions. There is now a new large shopping centre called the Serpentine Green Shopping Centre a couple of miles away that contains a Tesco Extra. There is also a Co-Op convenience store about a mile walk from the site. Each side of the campsite has its own information point.

If you don't want to use your car there is a good bus service (route number Citi 1) from Wistow Drive which is about a ten-minute walk from the site. They run about every ten minutes at peak time. Itís a circular route so they go one way, left to right, along Wistow Drive. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tigsteroonie 3 reviews from this member

 I chose this campsite primarily because of its proximity to relatives, but I'd recommend it to anybody looking for a site close to a park with cycling and watersports facilities, as it is just 1 minute's walk to the entrance to Nene Park (Ferry Meadows) and by camping so close, you save on the car parking fees!

I was impressed that they had separate camping fields for tents, which means we were not surrounded by the motorhomes and caravans that are the site's main customers.

We were on the 'Eastern' site, and had a choice of pitches in the EHU field. Toilets were clean, warm and plentiful, located in the centre of the site so not a long walk from anywhere. Rubbish bins and water taps also plentiful.

They also had - when we visited - travelling food vans. Each morning there was a coffee and danish stall; then in the evening there was a well-publicised rotation of pizza, fish and chips, loaded chips etc. Visiting relatives means that we didn't partake but the fish and chips looked very popular.

Being within a 'burb of a city, there are supermarkets, corner stores and other takeaways within a short driving distance. You can even catch a train on the Nene Valley Railway, again 1-2 minutes from the site, and ride the train up towards the city centre. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sting5 1 review from this member

 Brilliant caravan site, with lots to do for children and families, great bike rides, food stands and activities,

The toilets and showers were warm and clean,

We visited two local pubs and had lovely meals,

Playground was ideal,

Will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 45 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stopover between the Channel Tunnel and home after a trip to France.

On arrival, was greeted by several staff in the check in area advising to proceed and pick a pitch. We had two options, hard standing on the west site or grass on the east. We chose the west as apparently it was quieter with fewer children.

Usual CMC facilities, always very clean and enjoyed our one night stay. Having lived in the area several years previously I was aware that there is a huge country park and network of paths nearby so that was quite handy for walking the dog.

It's really handy for coming off the A1 too. One issue that I am now having with CMC sites is their nightly charge. We didn't bother hooking up to the EHU as we were only there for one night.

Charges include EHU but we use so little and I feel that CMC need to give people the option to not pay for the hook up. Even if we had hooked up, we wouldn't have used much electricity. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 664DaveS 54 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a Friday, mid afternoon but were checked in quite quickly and efficiently. The wardens explained there were two halves of the site but both had room.

We stayed on West Side with hardstanding. Large and level with room enough for van awning and car.

The East Side has more grass pitches and a tent area.

Facilities were lovely and clean with very hot showers! You can adjust the temperature!

The adjacent Nene Park is lovely with miles of good walks and things to do.

The steam railway runs behind the site, about 20 m from our pitch!

Beautifully restored locomotive with a loud whistle!

Overton Station for the heritage line is 5 minutes from the site.

Phone reaction is good but tv not. There are coax connections on the electric bollards for the tv booster if you have a cable. We do so no problem.

Peterborough is 3. 5 miles away with plenty of car parks and a bus stop close to the site.

WiFi is available as are play areas for children. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: FannyWragg 1 review from this member

 This is the second time I have been to Ferry Meadows and I will not be returning or renewing my membership of The Caravan and Motorhome Club.

The first time I came I misunderstood the markings of the posts as they were in the middle of changing them from single to double posts. My mistake. I parked my unit to the wrong side of the single post.

I put my awning up and my entire unit was on the gravel but was asked to move it to the middle of the gravel. I was on my own and they refused to help.

My second stay was with my friend and we duly parked in the middle of the 2 new posts. We put up our awning and a small metal pen to keep the dogs in.

At 7pm on the third night we were told to move our dog fence as it was a fire hazzard and it had to be within the awning and gravel area.

I'm not sure why this was to be honest as other people had tables and chairs on the grass and they were not asked to move.

Shame on you Ferry Meadows. You spoiled my last night for mo valid reason. My awning was measured by people in the next unit as being 12 metres away and my fence as being more than 8.

Please judge for yourselves. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 75 reviews from this member

 Only stayed one night, in transit from Norfolk to North Wales. After reading other reviews arrived just after 1pm, and was 12th in the queue to check in !

To be fair the wardens did a good job of processing arrivals, allowing them to pitch first and pay later, hence the queue did reduce rapidly.

This was our first time here, didn't realise the site was so big ! We didn't look for any shops (nearest 15m walk away) or the pub (10m away) but did have a walk around Nene Park.

Was pretty quiet on the path, but very busy in the water with lots of canoes and boats.

Not sure I would stay for more than a couple of nights here, but it was pleasant 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DFMids 47 reviews from this member

 Arrived at 1. 15pm Monday, very busy. The wardens were directing arrivals onto site to choose a pitch then return to reception to book in and pay. A great idea but reception staff were not very organised so check in was slow.

Very busy site even for mid week so not sure how good it would be at weekend with lots of families. Still very peaceful and we managed to find a sunny pitch which are rare due to lots of large trees.

Lovely to be able to walk direct into the park with miles of footpaths to explore.

The steam train runs from just up the road but it was closed during our stay.

Expensive site at £26. 00 per night which was half pitch price.

Motorhome service area not brilliant drain cover had to be lifted and was not in a good position and installed raised above the ground for water did not run into the drain 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 8338derek 5 reviews from this member

 Have visited this site many times over the years and have always enjoyed our stay there.

It is a large site immediately adjacent Ferry Meadows park.

The facilities are always very clean and the wardens very helpful.

Only disappointment was that the daily news papers ice cream van and fish and chip van no longer visit the site.

The site shop is not very well stocked. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 78 reviews from this member

 In short, this is a lovely site.

Arrival was well organised, met by a chap at the gate who directed us to check in, found a lovely level pitch with nice views.

Facilities on site are kept to the normal high standards for the club. The area is lovely, with a short walk to Ferry Meadows.

Would defo return. 


Previous     147 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Ferry Meadows Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ferry Meadows Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ferry Meadows Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peterborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44362 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement