Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ferry Meadows Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough > Ferry Meadows Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Ferry Meadows Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Ham Lane
Peterborough
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE2 5UU
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 282
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 123 Reviews
                9/10 from 123 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  123 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 69 reviews from this member

Had a great time here with so much to see, steam trains, lakes, walks itís all around the site.

Site wise all was good, pitches a good size and Wardens ok aside from rigid parking rules.

Showers to the usual std and all clean.

There is an East and West side the site is split in Two so research beafore arriving as one far quieter than the other but no shop that side.

For sure if you walk itís a grand site.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bathsheba2 2 reviews from this member

A group of us camped Here for a weekend on 5 pitches. Great facilities with very friendly staff. Showers and toilets were really clean. Tent field is convenient for childrenís play area. Great to be so close to Ferry Meadows, great garden centre and pub. Would definitely recommend.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Choc 13 reviews from this member

Read so many good reviews about this site and wanted to visit for many years. will I return it has got to be a yes as this a lovely quiet site with plenty do around the Nene park, walks, lakes, canal walk, Steam railway line, pub, and even a fresh herb box outside reception for people to use, even a garden centre thrown in just up the road. The pitches are very generous and very well kept with a TV aerial socket included on the elec box. The staff are very helpful and will do that bit extra for you. Well done Ferry Meadows.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Malcolmwardlaw 2 reviews from this member

An excellent site with good facilities and with the Ferry Meadows Park and Neam Valley Railway adjacent a really good place to visit. Unfortunately not all of the staff are up to the mark. Some are really good, friendly and helpful but others not so. I also found the site not really dog friendly with no on site walks and I was told that they must be kept to the roads as if going on the grass they might be encroaching on someone else's pitch. I was told this was due to new rules which came into force on 1st June? Agreed dogs should be kept under control and not allowed to mess but there is a limit.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fortyfoot 5 reviews from this member

We arrived early there being no holdups on the A1!

We were made to feel very welcome and were booked in to a site of our choice. We have been here many times either for a couple of weeks or an over night stay when passing on our way to or from the south coast. It's a superb location close to the A1 and attached to the Ferry Meadows country park with plenty to do.

The site is best described as 'pristine', it's a C&MH site. Standards are very high, service areas for water and waste are strategically sited and maintained to a high standard as are the toilet blocks.

One night a chap came it rather late and was speeding, over shooting his pitch. I mentioned this to one of the staff while they were grass cutting and they said they would deal with it, they did, no more seeding from that offender.

The site is further from home than I would like but is certainly worth the extra time and effort in getting there.

A very friendly site, we may go again in September after the school holidays.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scotzlynnie 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a four night stay at this wonderful site! I really can't fault it. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We walked in the country park, the children went out on the water in pedalos/rowing boats whilst we enjoyed a lovely cake and tea in the Lakeside cafe. We hired bicycles and enjoyed the park and then the kids cycled around the site. My daughter had an accident on her bike and the fellow campers and Site Warden were really helpful and attentive. Alan checked back with us a few times to ensure that all was well and she was on the mend.

It was a really lovely few days with a group of friends and we made some wonderful memories.

Watch out for the mosquitos! I don't normally suffer from bites but I have huge swellings where I have been bitten despite repellent being applied - Be warned : )

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chappies43 27 reviews from this member

We had a fabulous 3 night May Day Bank Holiday weekend at Ferry Meadows and for the first time ever we did not move our car during our entire visit. It is next to the wonderful Nene Park which we walked around each day and it was great to see lots of families out enjoyed the warm sunny weather together. A fish & chip van visited on Saturday night and served good food. This site has quite an unusual layout in that it is spread over two sides of the road running into the park. The children's play area and tent pitches are on the right hand side so we chose to pitch on the left hand side as we didn't need these facilities. Toilets etc. Spotless as always with CC sites.

We didn't find the wardens as friendly as usual and they tried to make us squeeze our car into an unreasonable gap between a prickly hedge and our caravan (we had parked the 'van exactly as we should have with the marker peg in just the right place) but we negotiated parking the car in front of the caravan instead as we didn't want to risk scratching it. We also noticed a bit a glaring going on whenever we walked our dog, as if they were watching closely to make sure we picked up after him (we always do) which made us feel a bit uncomfortable. Another dog owner told us he had been told off for letting his dog wee on a hedge which was well away from pitches and was told he should make his dog wait until he got out of the site - as if you can make a desperate dog wait!

One thing I do wish the CC would sort out though is I would like to be able to reserve a hardstanding pitch as there weren't any left by the time we got there on Friday night after being at work then having a nearly 3 hour journey. I wouldn't even mind a small additional fee to guarantee this. Loads came available on Saturday but we couldn't face moving.

All in all, a great site which we hope to return to but it is just a bit far away for us for weekends so we hope for a longer stay next time.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 214 reviews from this member

WE have been to Ferry Meadows many times over the years and it is an ideal site for a short winter break. We had three day stay at the end of January and were blessed with a good amount of sunshine. Good for motorhomers as a base as there are lots of walking opportunities straight from the site. The bus stop is not far and within walking distance is a Garden Centre and a Beefeater Pub. Since our last visit the Club have installed a new barrier quite close to the road with an intercom to Reception. Previously you were able to pull into the large parking area. I understand they have experienced some local difficulties which has necessitated the installation. The main point of mentioning this is to warm people not to turn up before midday as they won't be able to enter the site and there is little local parking for high vehicles. Another concern was the positioning of the motorhome waste emptying point which makes if difficult to get the waste tap over the drain without blocking the road. Apparently this is acceptable according the the warden I spoke to but at busy times but it could be awkward!

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonk 18 reviews from this member

Nice clean site with excellent facilities. The park next door and pathways in the surrounding area make for some good walking as they are all tarmac. Great if you don't want to get muddy and they do get you away from the roads into some quite rural areas. Many paths would be OK for wheelchairs. The roads to get there are good and it is easy to find.

A great off season site!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

Had three nights here and loved it, easy to get to from A1. Surrounded by countryside with plenty of walks. Nene Park is an ideal place when the ground is soggy with tarmac paths which encircle the two or three lakes. A visitor centre and two cafes on site. Spent a full day walking to and from Peterborough visiting the town and magnificent cathedral. Also walked to Castor and visited the local pub which was very friendly with excellent food (Prince of Wales Feathers) Facilities were clean and excellent with a warm and helpful welcome from the staff. Its a definite return for us.

Previous     123 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3403 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019