Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Blackwood Hall

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Blackwood Hall Reviews

Blackwood Hall
Cornelius Causeway
Skipwith
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO8 5DD
Tel: 07734 787831
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 77
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mwatso22597qf 1 review from this member

 Nice quiet campsite, well maintained,

Valerie the owner was really very nice and friendly,

There is nice clean toilets and showers, and a wash room for dishes,

Lovely setting, close too a main road but not noisy,

Well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Epaphus Leffe 4 reviews from this member

 This was my 1st ever touring caravan trip, after camping with dogs had become too troublesome.

Nice little site, toilets never busy while I was there -but only 1 male, 1 female & 1 disabled (stayed Fri & Sat nights). Dog friendly.

Fee includes showers, use of washing machine.

Received info pack on arrival as per phone call (owner had a busy day off site but wanted me to ring if there were any questions or issues -I was happy & said that's fine).

Had choice of gravel pitches. Didn't pay attention to others, but mine was level.

Fairly sheltered from wind by trees.

Friendly seasonal folk on site, too.

Nice little fishing lake on site -about the only facility that cost extra.

Immediate access to Skipwith common (huge nature reserve. Keep dogs on a short lead. Stile directly opposite site.

We had a brilliant meal at the Drovers Arms in Skipwith 11 one course, 15. 50 for two. Better than normal pub fare. They do take away meals (inc. Fish & chips). Discount on Monday. Dog friendly too.

4G phone signal.

I'm wondering if it's a little over-priced but I'm not experienced & it seems to be a flat fee for any day /bank hols.

We enjoyed it. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fozter 4 reviews from this member

 Blackwood Hall, we camped there on Saturday 21st June for one night, 2 tents - 2 families + 2 dogs & EHU.

We were greeted by the owners mother at the hall and shown where to camp, lots of choice where to pitch and the grass was well kept in mist areas.

The owner came and welcomed us and gave us some leaflets and information etc.

The cons -

Pitches further down towards the lake might become boggy if there's a fair bit of rain.

Nearest pub is approximately 1. 4 miles away!

And our ladies said there was a fair bit of industrial noise during the night.

Toilet/showers might get crowded if this site becomes busy!

The pro's

Beautiful private grounds.

Everyone is friendly.

Great for children.

Brand new toilet/ shower block - 3 in total, 1 male - 1 female - 1 disabled which consisted of wash basin toilet & large shower. All clean and tidy.

No shower tokens required.

Small washing up room and plenty of hot water.

Across the road is a huge wildlife conservation area great for walks and dog walking.

Pleasant grounds with a lake at the bottom with ducks and geese.

Look out for the resident chicken. Lol

B-B-Q welcome but no fires on the ground which is the norm at most camp sites.

This site is a little gem, we will be returning over the summer! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eddie1962 2 reviews from this member

 We have just booked a seasonal pitch for our tourer on this gem of a site. We wanted a holiday getaway in this lovely area of the country and this site fitted the bill perfectly. Really looking forward to pitching the van here at the end of June. The owner was so informative and welcoming. Lovely lady. She explained to us in great detail what her aspirations are for the campsite in the future and I wanted to be a part of it. The site is new and spotless set in lovely grounds. Plenty of water taps dotted about. Pitches are large and approach roads are good. I think in a very short time this site will prove to be very popular and soon be fully booked. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TINATBEAN 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed over the Good Friday weekend and there was about a dozen pitches taken. Great location and nice setting. All new site but would say there is only 1 ladies, 1 gents and 1 disabled toilet and shower. There are a lot of mole hills that need to be looked at although this didn't stop us enjoying the weekend. We had a nice woodland walk around skipwith common which is a 10 minute walk on the same road. We also drove 15-20 minutes to the designer outlet before catching the park and ride into York for 2. 70 return and children under 16 free with a paying adult.

A bit too pricey for the site in comparison with similar sites but great location and I'll give Valerie her due she's trying her best to accommodate guests but will definitely need extra help in the future. 


Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chuchihaschtli 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and I, plus our adult daughter are from Australia and are touring the UK in a caravan. We have caravanned our way from Dobbs Weir in England, to the Republic of Ireland, through Nth. Ireland, Scotland, Orkney's and Isle of Sky. We have just spent 4 nights at Blackwood Hall Caravan pk. It is a new park and the operator is still learning the ropes. The site itself is wonderful. It is picturesque, tranquil, and well located for day tripping to York and environs. On one day we drove to Birmingham to visit Cadbury World using Blackwood as our base. As stated by a previous reviewer, the price is a bit on the high side for an off season pitch but that will not stop us from returning in the future. I have brought to the attention of the operator a few ideas that would certainly improve amenities in the ablution block and I am sure that some of them will be implemented and this will make the park even more appealing. 


Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chuffers 1 review from this member

 Just stayed one night at this campsite and would definitely return in the future. The owner has just started this campsite and was very friendly and helpful. She is planning to extend facilities and I'm sure it is going to be a great success. The toilets/showers were lovely. It is directly across from Skipwith Common which has some great walks etc. It was slightly more expensive for out of season rates at 24 per night(inc electric) which is more a mid to high season rate but that would not put us off returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Lestroischenes 1 review from this member

 I stayed for a few peaceful nights at Blackwood Hall just as the owner, Valerie, was putting the finishing touches to the facilities to the brand new caravan and camping site. The location and the beautiful setting of the site are the two most impressive features - and of course the friendly and helpful owner.

Situated in the countryside between the historic town of Selby and the fabulous City of York, this is the perfect place for nature lovers as well as anyone who likes a bit of history and culture. You'll be in York in about twenty minutes. Bishopthorpe, Bishopthorpe Palace (home of the Archbishops of York) and Howden are just a short drive away and there are many other pretty and quaint villages around that are also worth a visit.

The site itself is part of the park of Blackwood Hall, a small country house and it benefits from many magnificent, mature trees and a large pond complete with ducks. Right opposite is Skipwith Common 'Natural England's newest National Nature Reserve' great for walkers and dog owners.

I did like the new shower and toilet blocks. Unlike most of the camp sites that I've stayed at, these blocks are arranged as small bathrooms, each with toilet, shower and wash basin. I'm looking forward to going back later this year to see how the site is coming on. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackwood Hall child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackwood Hall?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Blackwood Hall dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4985 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020