Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > London > Abbey Wood > Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Federation Road
Abbey Wood
London   (Browse area)
SE2 0LS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 185
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 68 Reviews
                9/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jaynikalflou 4 reviews from this member

 Lived most of my life only 2 miles away never knew what a hidden little gem this campsite is.

Spotlessly clean and tidy everywhere including all facilities and outdoor areas.

Shops nearby outside for provisions, trains for central London. For tourism. Peaceful, beautiful and large hard standings in amongst the trees, some under but not all. But.

One warden from the club a little officious at check in with the way to park your unit, where to park on the pitch and not cheap if not a club member but we would happily go again once we had joined the CAMC. We were lent one wardens own personal wifi aerial as the signal on 3 was a bit patchy which we thought very generous and there was no issue with us changing to a sunnier pitch after the 1st night.

All site is sloping so pick your pitch carefully if mobility is a problem getting to the facilities. All in all lovely site.

Dont be be put off by the surrounding residential streets on your way in. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Fayeo2 3 reviews from this member

 We love this site have stayed a few times now. Although you are in the area of London it doesnít feel like it.

The campsite is in a wooded area. And you are surrounded by the sound of parakeets.

The tent area is spacious and although there are not set pitches you donít feel crowded.

The kids love playing in the playground or riding around on there bikes.

The shower blocks are clean and well equipped. Since covid they have been very sensible and closed every other cubicle and have a good system of only 3 people at a time which was never a problem for us.

The staff are always friendly.

The shop is limited with items but you are close to two big supermarkets so not a problem.

Our recent trip we walked down a lovely trail to the Thames and back with a pub break!

We definitely be visiting again.

Only down side is on one occasion we have stayed a large group were not mindful about their noise and the time and were carrying on way past quiet hour which encouraged another family to be loud. They did eventually get told to quiet down but this was around 1am. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vally 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely wooded site in excellent location for public transport into London.

Friendly and welcoming staff,

Lovely large pitches. Ours was level, gravel on hardstanding.

Clean and well kept facilities too, although we were out most days so didn't use them much. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fayeo2 3 reviews from this member

 This was such a find. Never would have thought you could find such a lovely relaxing campsite in the middle of London. Yes there are airplanes over head during the day but they have strict close times so donít disturb you during the night. I love hearing and watching the parakeets which appear to leave in the morning and return early evening. The facilities were clean and in great condition.

I think the only improvements would be to have a curfew/quiet time as were kept awake some nights with children playing after 22. 30 or people coming back late were not mindful of other campers.

Also the reception closes at 17. 00 but has a note to ring the door bell for warden however there was no answer when I rang it to change my ice blocks over. Also didnít realise reception closed at 17. 00 as we checked in at 19. 00 and lots of people were around in reception at this time.

Will def be returning either for a weekend or for cheap accommodation if we are going to gigs at the o2! 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: PeppermintCreams 2 reviews from this member

 I'm slightly biased about this site as we only live 10 mins away and I wanted an easy micro-adventure with my four-year-old, it is not somewhere I would ordinarily want to stay as we like a change of scenery, and as a C&M site it is biased towards caravans and motorhomes, but that didn't bother us in the end.

We had a lovely stay using the electric hook up on the camping field. My little one loved the playground and made lots of new friends. The toilets and washing up facilities were very clean despite a rotel busload of German tourists staying too!

They sold ice-creams, water, ice and long life milk/orange juice in the reception area which was very handy.

Location wise I can see why it is popular with Europeans and Northerners as it is very easy to travel to London by train or drive out to the Kent countryside, and it is a short walk away from Lesnes Abbey Woods, and the historic ruins.

There are also plenty of shops within a 10 minute drive or a short walk.

Be warned that there are often engineering works on the railway line at Abbey Wood so you might need to catch a bus to Bexleyheath station to get into London. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Keith silcock 8 reviews from this member

 Wow, located in woods with an abundant of wildlife, close to train station for trips into london

Our stay was to coincide a trip to a concert at the O2 this makes it an ideal location.

Supermarket, takeaways and small shops for al your needs within walking distance.

Facilities are superb, clean and tidy. Staff helpful and extremely helpful if you want advice on busses and train times for exploring London. This is a must stay site

Ps great place to stop if your traveling down from the north heading for the tunnel or ferry ( but stay more than a night ) its worth it 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul Shouksmith 7 reviews from this member

 Returned to this site in order to have a base to visit the World Championship Athletics and it was perfect! You would not believe you were in London and central London was a 30 minute train ride away.

Toilet blocks very clean and plentiful supply of hot water. No electric hookups for tents but a large area to choose a pitch.

Best not to leave food in the tent as there are lots of interests squirrels! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alyerpal 8 reviews from this member

 Great campsite in the middle of an urban area. Although you wouldn't know it once pitched.

Access to the site is good with a late night arrival area.

Staff are friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of the surrounding area and public transport.

Pitches are spacious and varied, probably about half under trees. Some were on sloping ground. The site was well occupied but quiet as most visitors were out through the day.

There is a tented area and a couple of glamping pods.

Access to London is very good with a variety of modes of transport including bus, train, river bus and underground.

The town itself is a little run down but is having quite a lot of money spent on it. Don't let this put you off though.

I never felt unsafe and was with my family (two girls 8 & 6)

A new train station is being built and there is a large Sainsburys 5 minutes drive from the site.

The site is well secured and has CCTV monitoring.

There are 3 toilet blocks which are well serviced with good water pressure. (Unusual for CC site)

Phone signals are good - 4G.

The sites other inhabitants - Parakeets made it really quirky as I have never seen them in England previously.

Great site, will definitely recommend it. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hotwheels61 3 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site with good facilities. Is what I expected for the money we paid. Good transport links to London and we had no complaints.

Not our first visit and not our last. Not all bathroom complexes were open but not a problem. Recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tribute2 6 reviews from this member

 An excellent site, well laid out & surrounded by trees. Ideally situated for visiting central London.

The staff were very helpful especially because there were engineering works at the Abbey Wood station & they gave us loads of information for alternative travel ie we took the bus to Greenwich & then the Thames Clipper.

The toilets & showers were immaculate, spotlessly clean & plenty of hooks etc to keep your clothes dry & you don't have to press a button every few seconds to keep the shower going!

There are a few shops/takeaways etc within a few mins walk of the camp. Can't wait to go back again. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abbey Wood      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in London

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3391 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement