Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > London > Abbey Wood > Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Federation Road
Abbey Wood
London   (Browse area)
SE2 0LS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 185
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Fluffy 1 review from this member

 Weíve only recently discovered this site and have stayed twice in the past fortnight!

Itís a very clean site and there is a late check in which is great for when we are travelling up from Cheshire.

The location is very handy for links into LondonÖÖ Elizabeth tube line a short 12 minute walk away.

Local shops and takeaways too only a short walk away plus a pub that does roasts and pizza 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marica 1 review from this member

 The campsite is perfect

The location outside the hustle and bustle of London, but very well connected by public transport (you can get daily cards at the campsite itself)

The facilities work perfectly and the staff are always willing to help with everything.

----------

El camping es perfecto

La ubicaciůn fuera del bullicio de Londres, pero muy bien comunicado con transporte pķblico( en el mismo camping puedes conseguir las tarjetas diarias)

Las instalaciones, funcionan perfectamente y el personal siempre dispuesto a ayudar en todo. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Silver Plated Spork 27 reviews from this member

 I booked and stayed in a camping pod for 5 nights. I had visited the site as a tent camper about 12 years ago, so I was familiar with the facilities etc.

The pod was very good, with a sofabed, chairs, a table, some storage, full size kettle and a hospitality tray. There was also a table and chairs outside. Warm and comfortable in the day.

However, the sofabed was quite uncomfortable to sleep on, one side (the back) was hard and the other side too soft- I felt a little bit like goldilocks!

I was travelling light so had no option to take another mattress, but if I had my own car I would consider this. The light was also a bit erratic- I presume as others used electrical appliances as it dipped bright and low at random times, and when it was low it was quite hard to read. You need to take your own cooking equipment to use.

The showers, toilets, and washing up areas were fine, fairly clean and no-press showers. I was able to use ice blocks from reception and swop these as needed.

The site is used mainly by caravanners and motorhomers but there were a number of tents using the grassed area too. It's surprisingly quiet, given its location.

It's about 10 minutes walk from Abbeywood station, which now has fantastic links to central London. I caught the tube in everyday to sightsee and it was so easy, and pleasant too. There's a large Sainsburys the other side of the station, and also a nearby co-op. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: John4703 21 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site.

We booked a fully serviced pitch and when we arrived there was only one pitch of this type available. The pitch was really good, nice and level.

It is a CMHC site so the facilities are good, we use the toilet and shower in our caravan so I canít comment on them, but I did use the laundry which was clean and really good.

We stayed at this site because it is really close to the Abbey Wood Elizabeth Line station and as my wife uses a wheelchair it was perfect for us going into London.

Everyone on the site was friendly and we had no problems with noise etc.

The site staff were excellent. 


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 58 reviews from this member

 Stayed here to take a trip into London, site is as you would expect from the Caravan and Motorhome Club well maintained.

The site staff were very helpful telling us how to get to the station and about services locally.

The site is very secure and although in a built up area quite quiet and still has an abundance of local wildlife, including foxes which we were told will run off with your shoes if you leave them outside your unit.

An excellent site for visits into London and the surrounding area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Connie1992 2 reviews from this member

 Abbey Wood is a wonderful asset to the CAMC - for location, site conditions and staff friendliness.

Looking through the reviews there seem to be two contradictory complaints and a "sniffyness" about the area and residents;

1. Too officious/fussy staff

2. Other campers taking liberties and making noise late at night

You get my point? I respect the need for the rules 'cos I know they generally help us rub along - other people are selfish and I want the site staff to sort them out!

I have seen rules imposed, always in a flexible and reasonable manner, with staff mentioning the need for the rule to help understanding, for example the 5 mph speed limit is because of the many children playing on the site.

Re residents and communities that use Abbey Wood - this isn't a posh area; so what? The Abbey ArmÔs pub has people of all sorts in it, the local shops and takeaways are decent and less expensive than many London areas.

Maybe campers who would like a thriving and up-market site should try Crystal Palace while it is still available.

The nicer area is part of the reason the site is being redeveloped for high priced housing and so will close eventually - be careful what you wish for friends. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jaynikalflou 4 reviews from this member

 Lived most of my life only 2 miles away never knew what a hidden little gem this campsite is.

Spotlessly clean and tidy everywhere including all facilities and outdoor areas.

Shops nearby outside for provisions, trains for central London. For tourism. Peaceful, beautiful and large hard standings in amongst the trees, some under but not all. But.

One warden from the club a little officious at check in with the way to park your unit, where to park on the pitch and not cheap if not a club member but we would happily go again once we had joined the CAMC. We were lent one wardens own personal wifi aerial as the signal on 3 was a bit patchy which we thought very generous and there was no issue with us changing to a sunnier pitch after the 1st night.

All site is sloping so pick your pitch carefully if mobility is a problem getting to the facilities. All in all lovely site.

Dont be be put off by the surrounding residential streets on your way in. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Fayeo2 3 reviews from this member

 We love this site have stayed a few times now. Although you are in the area of London it doesnít feel like it.

The campsite is in a wooded area. And you are surrounded by the sound of parakeets.

The tent area is spacious and although there are not set pitches you donít feel crowded.

The kids love playing in the playground or riding around on there bikes.

The shower blocks are clean and well equipped. Since covid they have been very sensible and closed every other cubicle and have a good system of only 3 people at a time which was never a problem for us.

The staff are always friendly.

The shop is limited with items but you are close to two big supermarkets so not a problem.

Our recent trip we walked down a lovely trail to the Thames and back with a pub break!

We definitely be visiting again.

Only down side is on one occasion we have stayed a large group were not mindful about their noise and the time and were carrying on way past quiet hour which encouraged another family to be loud. They did eventually get told to quiet down but this was around 1am. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vally 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely wooded site in excellent location for public transport into London.

Friendly and welcoming staff,

Lovely large pitches. Ours was level, gravel on hardstanding.

Clean and well kept facilities too, although we were out most days so didn't use them much. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fayeo2 3 reviews from this member

 This was such a find. Never would have thought you could find such a lovely relaxing campsite in the middle of London. Yes there are airplanes over head during the day but they have strict close times so donít disturb you during the night. I love hearing and watching the parakeets which appear to leave in the morning and return early evening. The facilities were clean and in great condition.

I think the only improvements would be to have a curfew/quiet time as were kept awake some nights with children playing after 22. 30 or people coming back late were not mindful of other campers.

Also the reception closes at 17. 00 but has a note to ring the door bell for warden however there was no answer when I rang it to change my ice blocks over. Also didnít realise reception closed at 17. 00 as we checked in at 19. 00 and lots of people were around in reception at this time.

Will def be returning either for a weekend or for cheap accommodation if we are going to gigs at the o2! 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abbey Wood      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in London

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43307 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement