Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hertford Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Hertfordshire > Hertford > Hertford Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Hertford Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Mangrove Road (not Balls Park)
Hertford
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
SG13 8AJ
Tel: 01992 586696
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 245
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 70 Reviews
                8/10 from 70 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 74 reviews from this member

 4th time here, great location for Hertford and for visiting family.

Staff as always polite and helpful, however the facilities really need a refurbishment especially the showers.

Pitches are spacious and flat but are a little tatty, not helped by some drivers who have driven onto the grass and have made some areas into a mudbath 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Booketta 55 reviews from this member

 A large, well maintained site managed by Paul, Liz and their friendly team. The facilities are excellent, kept clean with plenty of hot water.

The site is approximately 20 minutes walk away from Hertford town centre. Well worth a visit, steeped in history. Great countryside for walks and cycling along by the canal and river.

The site is not far from Shaw's Corner NT property, the summer house and later full time home of George Bernard Shaw.

St Albans is roughly 30-40 minutes drive away and the cathedral (free entry) is a must see.

We would also recommend the Verulamium museum, Hypercaust situated in the wonderful Verulamium park with its reasonable priced car park and 15 minute walk to the Cathedral. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Radams1975 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here a few times now.

Great site with decent facilities. Toilets and showers all seem clean, tidy and well maintained.

Nice flat pitches and friendly staff.

We will definitely stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jillyb illy 5 reviews from this member

 The site was absolutely lovely very well kept. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The toilets and shower blocks were very clean everything was clean.

We had so much room my husband and myself were in a caravan our daughter and her 6 year old boy were in a tent right next to us our grandson loved every bit about it.

We would definitely come back it was so quiet and relaxing.

We had munk jac deer pass our pitch one evening while we were having dinner it was lovely to see.

Every time we used the shower block it was always empty did not have to wait to use anything. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Lobri8 1 review from this member

 I stayed here as I was working locally. Arrived on my bike, which the campsite manager picked up on straight away and checked that I'd booked as a backpacker.

I'm a member of the C&C club and he found that I'd paid too much, so was immediately refunded the difference! First time that's happened to me. Was hosted to my spot and shown the facilities.

Everything explained clearly. Facilities were excellent, my pitch was level.

Lots of magpies and kestrels around and it's really cosy in places for a large site due to the trees to section it off.

Walkable to Hertford (5 mins by bike or car) where you have supermarkets and a lovely high street.

There are also some provisions in the site shop. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fudge59 35 reviews from this member

 We've been coming here for a number of years and always enjoy our stay. There's plenty of space and lots of shade in hot weather. It's a nice walk into Hertford, though uphill on the way back.

The facilities are good, and are up to the normal C&CC standards. The wardens were friendly and helpful.

There's occasionally a little road noise in the distance overnight, and some aircraft from Luton and Stansted, but nothing too drastic.

If you wanted to venture a little further, you could walk or cycle to Ware, which is a lovely town (and also on the train line from Hertford East).

We can particularly recommend Ware Priory Lido for a swim, but be aware that booking is required. 


Date of Visit: February 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 312 reviews from this member

 Booking at this site was easy and can be done online or on the phone and the email confirmation came through quickly with details for arrival, etc.

The site is open to non-members too for a small extra charge.

We arrived at the gate and were met by the two friendly wardens who gave checked us, explained the site facilities, / layout and gave us an information leaflet with the barrier code. He then walked ahead of us and showed us where our pitch was.

The grass pitches were not open due to the time of year, but they were all very flat and there is so much space. We were able to walk the whole site, just no vehicles on the grass at present.

Half the site is wooded and the rest open space, this gave a really nice natural feel to the site and there is loads of room, including a wooded dog walk area and a small lake.

There are a few toilet blocks, however as our visit was early February only one was open, which was not a problem for us. The toilet and showers were all very clean, well maintained and well stocked. The showers are push button type, you cannot adjust the temperature or direction, but they were fine. There is also a laundry and washing up area on site. A motorhome drive over waste point too.

The playground for the children looked awesome, but we didn't have any with us, so did not venture onto it but it would be great fun for children of all ages.

The site offers hundreds of pitches mixed between grass without electric, grass with electric and hardstanding. All were flat, well spaced and very well maintained and a good ampage for the electric which kept the batteries charged and the fridge running well all night.

Campfires are not allowed, but off the ground BBQ's are. There is a strict no noise policy after 11pm and this was adhered to and the site was very peaceful throughout the evening and night.

Hertford is close by, and is walkable, however a quick taxi ride will get you there in 5 minutes. Hertford is lovely, it has plenty of the main big shops and also the smaller independents, with a castle to venture to and explore and lots of pubs and eateries too.

Ware is close by, as is Hatfield, St Albans, Stevenage, Welwyn Garden City and Knebworth. London is easily reached from Hertford Train Station. Essendon and Epping are not too far too if you like forest walks.

There is loads walking from the site, but you have to leave the main entrance and walk the quiet road for a bit before hitting the footpaths.

The site is close to plenty of places to visit and also easy to get to being close to the A10, M25, A1M etc.

This is a slice of heaven that is very peaceful, relaxed and perfect for my needs. I will return time and time again with very friendly and helpful wardens. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 74 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights visiting family in Stevenage.

Easy walk into Hertford where there are lots and pubs and eateries in the town. A 30m walk to the train station gives easy access to London.

Great welcome from wardens when we arrived and had a choice of pitches to pick.

Surprisingly for the last weekend in July, the site was only about 40% full, so not too much noise and most people were well behaved.

Have been here a number of times due to to its proximity to family, however, the toilet facilities do let the site down a bit. They were always clean and tidy, but just need bringing up to date and refreshing.

And it would be good if there were rubbish facilities at a couple of locations around this huge site, rather than taking everything to the bins at the main gate.

Wifi and TV reception was good. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chris5mph 54 reviews from this member

 We used this as a transit site at which it was very successful.

We chose "grass only no electric" so we were at the far end of this enormous site which felt almost rural with only one other unit in sight.

The only downsides were the inevitable continuous hum of London traffic and the airliners which started as soon as Heathrow opened its' gates (at about 5. 00am).

We would use it again when in transit, but not at weekends/ school holidays when I understand it gets crowded. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 312 reviews from this member

 Booking at this site was easy and can be done online or on the phone and the email confirmation came through quickly with details for arrival, etc. We arrived at the gate and were met by a friendly warden who gave us an info leaflet with the barrier code. He then cycled ahead of us and showed us where to pitch.

The initial pitch was quite shady, and a quick walk back to reception and a request to move and this was met with a helpful and friendly response and we got to choose our own spot in the rally field. The fields are all very flat and there is so much space. Half the site is wooded and the rest open space, this gave a really nice natural feel to the site and us and the dog loved the space, the wooded dog walk area and the site in general.

There are a few toilet blocks, however as our visit was late September only one was open, which was not a problem for us. I did use the toilet but not the showers and it was all very clean, well maintained, well stocked and Covid advice place prominently.

There are plenty of fresh water points, bins, dog bins, motorhome waste point and a lovely playground for the youngsters, however this was closed due to Covid.

Hundreds of pitches mixed between grass without electric, grass with electric and hardstanding. All were flat, well spaced and very well maintained.

There is walking from the site, but you have to leave the main entrance and walk the quiet road for a bit before hitting the footpaths.

Hertford is close by, and is walkable, however a quick taxi ride will get you there in 5 minutes. Hertford is lovely, it has plenty of the main big shops and also the smaller independents. Ware is close by. London is easily reached from Hertford Train Station.

The site is close to plenty of places to visit and also easy to get to being close to the A10, M25, A1M etc.

This is a slice of heaven that is very peaceful, relaxed and perfect for my needs. I will return time and time again. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hertford Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hertford Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hertford Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hertford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47127 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement