Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kingsettle Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Bruton > Kingsettle Campsite Reviews

Kingsettle Campsite
Crawley Cottage
Kingsettle Hill
S Brewham
Bruton
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA10 0LB
Tel: 01749 813361  or  07969 276150
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15-20
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 12 Reviews
                10/10 from 12 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Other Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Neolith 1 review from this member

If your idea of camping involves WiFi, luxurious shower blocks, on site bar and entertainment, this is not the camp site for you. If on the other hand you want a peaceful place where the air is clean and the intrusions of the modern world slip away then this is the spot.

The site itself is on Kingsettle Hill near Bruton at the foot of the hill leading to Alfreds Tower and a few minutes drive to Stourhead. Itís close to the village of Bruton and just a few miles from Frome.

The field has 20 pitches dotted around a large field. When I was there the grass in the field was knee high but the pitches and the access to them had been mowed giving a curious sense of privacy to each pitch. Facilities are limited to two composting toilets and a single gas powered shower all of which were spotless.

Unusually each site has a small fire pit and the owner sells compound sawdust fire logs. If you wanted to barbecue over the pits you would need to bring your own charcoal.

The site has two unique features both new this year, a converted cattle trailer and a shepherds hut. I had booked the cattle trailer and Jenny, the owner, was still sewing the curtains when I arrived. Itís cosy, comfortable and is big enough to sleep two. It has a small barbecue and chimenea and plenty of space round it for a couple of cars and even another tent.

There are plans to develop this further adding an outdoor kitchen. The Shepherds hut arrived whilst I was there, it isnít yet fitted out but itís been converted to the same high standard as the cattle trailer. Finally, the welcome is friendly and I got the impression that nothing could be two much trouble.

When I was moving into the trailer it became apparent that a couple of wedges to hold the doors open would be a good idea. I said there was no rush, they appeared an hour later.

This really is a delightful place.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Heather Percy 1 review from this member

We loved Jenny's campsite which was surrounded by fields and hedgerows with views of Alfred's Tower to the east and sunsets to the west. Large mown spaces give plenty of room and privacy.

This site is great if you want your own space without crowding. We loved the long grass full of meadow flowers that surrounded the mown areas and appreciated the dark, starlit night skies (there are no electric lights on the site).

The facilities include compost toilets and a simple but very effective gas shower. These are cleaned twice a day and are very well looked after.

This site is really well cared for by Jenny who visits campers twice a day and is friendly, welcoming and continues to develop the site in a creative way.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Katebrown100 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this idyllic campsite on a suddenly rainy and wild weekend in my Bongo. It was such a lovely spot, pitches separated by blowing grasses, with sunken firepits and views across the surrounding countryside.

We stayed as a couple and it was perfect for us, tranquil and relaxing and fantastic for watching the storm blow through. Facilities are basic but charming and very clean.

Location is great for walking, a local pub and all the sophistication of nearby Bruton. Jenny is absolutely lovely and made us feel very welcome. I would highly recommend this campsite.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Minerva14 24 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights and would have stayed longer but had a family commitment. We've been to many certificated sites, and thoroughly enjoyed most of them, but for us this has to be the best! As stated on their website it is a 7 acre field and the pitches really are huge.

To the left of the site entrance is a very large area marked 'groups' which speak for itself. The individual pitches are to be found by driving straight down the clearly mown path. Most pitches have fire pits. While we were there we were the only caravan; there were a number of tents and one or two short stay camper vans.

Fresh water, waste water, CDP and refuse are close to the entrance, as are the shower, and the two separate composting toilets. There is no electric hook up on site which suits us perfectly as we have solar panels. Mobile phone reception was perfectly adequate.

Jenny the owner is very friendly, and she keeps the site as environmentally friendly as possible. She cleans the facilities regularly and is on hand if you have any questions. She works very hard and deserves much praise for this site.

We had our 4 small dogs with us and walked their legs off along the many trails and paths around, including the forest which is part of the Stourhead estate. We chose to walk up to King Alfred's Tower which you can see from the site but it is all uphill so you can drive and park there to start your walks if you prefer.

The lane outside the site is mostly single track with passing places. We had no problem towing our caravan up and down. The site is in a very rural area with lots of places to walk and free of traffic noise.

We will most definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Swiftccorniche1994 1 review from this member

We had a fabulous visit, on two separate occasions.

We arrived by cycles, tired and in need of rest. Jenny, the site owner could not do enough for us to make our stay pleasant and comfortable.

Her positive energy and friendliness made us forget our fatigue and soon we were all laughing.

We were very pleased with the site layout, the very clean facilities along with the option to buy food for breakfast in the morning.

Keep up the good work, Jenny. We hope to see you again soon.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

This is one of the most perfect little campsites I have had the pleasure of staying at.

Firstly to the very friendly owner Jenny, it really felt at though nothing was too much bother and she came to check everything was ok each day and was happy to talk at length about running the site, which I always find interesting.

The facilities are different, shower in a shed, but one of the warmest and most powerful showers I've used and whilst there are composting toilets they are immaculate and completely odour free and its the little friendly notes and rhyming instructions that make this site so pleasant.

The pitches are very large, but that didn't really matter as I was the only guest for the first night, so it was just me, nature and the peace and quiet of the exquisite countryside.

Location wise, there are some nice walks in the area, which is what I came for and if you were mobile and wanted days out there is so much locally; Stourhead, Longleat, Bath, Stonehenge, Haynes Motor Museum, the list goes on.

I will definitely be back, hopefully this year, but certainly next.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ScotsjON 1 review from this member

We stayed here in when visiting National Trust Stourhead with our four year old daughter and 11 week old baby. It is an excellent site with good views over open countryside.

The facilities are basic but very charming and always immaculate. The 'shower in a shed' was very effective and always hot. The fire pits are a great bonus as are the supply of marshmallows for toasting. There is a good pub a short walk form the site.

Overall a great site for people that want a small site for a peaceful getaway. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gites5 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from an enjoyable stay at kingsettle. This site is an undiscovered gem and as word gets out I'm sure it will get a lot more campers. The pitches are flat and large each with a fire pit, and the owner Jenny is lovely and comes round each day to check if everything is ok.

If you use ice blocks Jenny will freeze them for you and deliver to you each morning. There is one shower and two compost loos, the water was always hot and it was always clean.

If you like to stay on a quiet and peaceful site, to sit by a camp fire looking up at a vast starry sky this place is for you.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MattWPBS 1 review from this member

Stayed at Kingsettle at the end of August for three nights. Arrived quite late on the Wednesday and pitched in the dark, so we got the first full impression of the site when we got up in the morning. This place is gorgeous and spacious.

There's 14 or 15 pitches on the site (can't remember exactly), but even if every one was occupied you couldn't feel crowded here. They're around the outside of the field, and Jenny has even helpfully marked out which ones have the best view, are best in wet weather, where any slightly more party minded people should pitch, etc. Most of them have a sunken fire pit, and little solar lights marking them out after dark. The centre of the field has a couple of small football goals and netball hoops, and it all looks out over some glorious Somerset countryside.

Site's small, but it has two compost loos (which I think Jenny has recently got installed), a hot shower, washing up point and drinking water. It covers what you need, while still feeling like you're in the middle of the countryside surrounded by nature. You can really feel the pride and effort that's been put into the place, and it pays off.

We were staying at the site with the plan of heading off to various Somerset locations, and it's great for that. Went over to Weston, down to Cerne Abbas, and up to Lacock. Didn't feel at all like we'd travelled too far, and there's much more in the way of local activities too (Stourhead, Fleet Air Arm Museum, etc).

I'd recommend this site to anyone, and hopefully will be back next year.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jenclarke 16 reviews from this member

Lovely Camping & Caravan Club site. Currently has one flush toilet and one shower and I know Jenny is installing 2 compost toilets soon and possibly another shower.

Facilities kept spotlessly clean, large pitches in lovely countryside. No road noise. Small children's play area. Some pitches very slightly sloping but no issue. Some have firepits too. Pub only 10/15 min walk away and a great central location for visiting places such as Glastonbury, Fleet Air Arm Museum and Longleat.

There's also Stourhead, National Trust property a few miles away along with King Alfred's Tower. Jenny is always on hand, very helpful and friendly and open to suggestions. She even delivered my ice packs to the tent every morning! She is working very hard to make a success of the campsite and deserves to do well.

Well recommended.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4113 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019