Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kingsettle Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Bruton > Kingsettle Campsite Reviews

Kingsettle Campsite
Crawley Cottage
Kingsettle Hill
S Brewham
Bruton
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA10 0LB
Tel: 01749 813361  or  07969 276150
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15-20
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 17 Reviews
                10/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: WhereTheBoarRoam 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights to get away from it all.

What a gem we found in the Kingsettle campsite.

Quiet site with large pitches, the meadow grass adds to the privacy and feeling of space, and if you are really lucky at dusk whilst sitting round the firepit, you may see barn owls hunting over the meadow.

Lovely walks on the Leyland trail and Macmillan way are within a short walk from the site.

The facilities were spotless, compostable toilets were clean and odour free.

Each pitch gets an individual bucket for recycling plus decompostable bag for general rubbish.

Jenny, the owner was so friendly, helpful and chatty, nothing was too much trouble.

When we visited this weekend, the site was full, 20 pitches, and yet it felt empty.

If you are looking for a site, to forget the troubles of life for a few days, you will not go wrong here.

Our only regret is, we have never visited before!

See you soon Jenny, we will be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: HettyKendall 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this campsite this weekend and absolutely loved it! It is in a stunning location and extremely peaceful and relaxing.

The site is clean, organised and well run.

Jenny was very friendly and helpful.

Would highly recommend, we will certainly be going again! Thanks :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ccb1973 1 review from this member

 Stopped here for a quick mid-week night away from the city.

Gorgeous quiet site, spacious pitches, all facilities spotlessly clean, and lovely, helpful owner in Jenny.

Fire packs for use with the fire pits well worth purchasing. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pamand81897ekw 1 review from this member

 One of the best campsites we have stayed in. Spacious pitches with firepit area separated from other pitches with wild flower areas which were full of wildlife.

Composting toilets, clean showers and recycling actively encouraged.

Jenny the manager was lovely and really helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carolf30605kvc 1 review from this member

 Beautiful quiet site nestled under Alfreds Tower, spacious pitches.

Owner, very friendly and helpful.

Lovely, original converted cattle truck plus Shepherd hut for hire set in their own spacious pitch, idyllic,

Highly recommended. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Neolith 1 review from this member

 If your idea of camping involves WiFi, luxurious shower blocks, on site bar and entertainment, this is not the camp site for you. If on the other hand you want a peaceful place where the air is clean and the intrusions of the modern world slip away then this is the spot.

The site itself is on Kingsettle Hill near Bruton at the foot of the hill leading to Alfreds Tower and a few minutes drive to Stourhead. Itís close to the village of Bruton and just a few miles from Frome.

The field has 20 pitches dotted around a large field. When I was there the grass in the field was knee high but the pitches and the access to them had been mowed giving a curious sense of privacy to each pitch. Facilities are limited to two composting toilets and a single gas powered shower all of which were spotless.

Unusually each site has a small fire pit and the owner sells compound sawdust fire logs. If you wanted to barbecue over the pits you would need to bring your own charcoal.

The site has two unique features both new this year, a converted cattle trailer and a shepherds hut. I had booked the cattle trailer and Jenny, the owner, was still sewing the curtains when I arrived. Itís cosy, comfortable and is big enough to sleep two. It has a small barbecue and chimenea and plenty of space round it for a couple of cars and even another tent.

There are plans to develop this further adding an outdoor kitchen. The Shepherds hut arrived whilst I was there, it isnít yet fitted out but itís been converted to the same high standard as the cattle trailer. Finally, the welcome is friendly and I got the impression that nothing could be two much trouble.

When I was moving into the trailer it became apparent that a couple of wedges to hold the doors open would be a good idea. I said there was no rush, they appeared an hour later.

This really is a delightful place. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Heather Percy 1 review from this member

 We loved Jenny's campsite which was surrounded by fields and hedgerows with views of Alfred's Tower to the east and sunsets to the west. Large mown spaces give plenty of room and privacy.

This site is great if you want your own space without crowding. We loved the long grass full of meadow flowers that surrounded the mown areas and appreciated the dark, starlit night skies (there are no electric lights on the site).

The facilities include compost toilets and a simple but very effective gas shower. These are cleaned twice a day and are very well looked after.

This site is really well cared for by Jenny who visits campers twice a day and is friendly, welcoming and continues to develop the site in a creative way. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Katebrown100 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this idyllic campsite on a suddenly rainy and wild weekend in my Bongo. It was such a lovely spot, pitches separated by blowing grasses, with sunken firepits and views across the surrounding countryside.

We stayed as a couple and it was perfect for us, tranquil and relaxing and fantastic for watching the storm blow through. Facilities are basic but charming and very clean.

Location is great for walking, a local pub and all the sophistication of nearby Bruton. Jenny is absolutely lovely and made us feel very welcome. I would highly recommend this campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Minerva14 24 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 5 nights and would have stayed longer but had a family commitment. We've been to many certificated sites, and thoroughly enjoyed most of them, but for us this has to be the best! As stated on their website it is a 7 acre field and the pitches really are huge.

To the left of the site entrance is a very large area marked 'groups' which speak for itself. The individual pitches are to be found by driving straight down the clearly mown path. Most pitches have fire pits. While we were there we were the only caravan; there were a number of tents and one or two short stay camper vans.

Fresh water, waste water, CDP and refuse are close to the entrance, as are the shower, and the two separate composting toilets. There is no electric hook up on site which suits us perfectly as we have solar panels. Mobile phone reception was perfectly adequate.

Jenny the owner is very friendly, and she keeps the site as environmentally friendly as possible. She cleans the facilities regularly and is on hand if you have any questions. She works very hard and deserves much praise for this site.

We had our 4 small dogs with us and walked their legs off along the many trails and paths around, including the forest which is part of the Stourhead estate. We chose to walk up to King Alfred's Tower which you can see from the site but it is all uphill so you can drive and park there to start your walks if you prefer.

The lane outside the site is mostly single track with passing places. We had no problem towing our caravan up and down. The site is in a very rural area with lots of places to walk and free of traffic noise.

We will most definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Swiftccorniche1994 1 review from this member

 We had a fabulous visit, on two separate occasions.

We arrived by cycles, tired and in need of rest. Jenny, the site owner could not do enough for us to make our stay pleasant and comfortable.

Her positive energy and friendliness made us forget our fatigue and soon we were all laughing.

We were very pleased with the site layout, the very clean facilities along with the option to buy food for breakfast in the morning.

Keep up the good work, Jenny. We hope to see you again soon. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kingsettle Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kingsettle Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Kingsettle Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bruton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5408 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement