Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodovis Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Tavistock > Woodovis Park > Reviews

Woodovis Park
Gulworthy
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 8NY
Tel: 01822 832968
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 25/03/2024 to 02/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 94 Reviews
                9/10 from 94 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Clairechitt@hot 3 reviews from this member

 Fortunately this was a one night stop. Having checked the website and spoken to staff prior to booking, I was confident that the site and facilities all were wheelchair friendly. Surely a site wouldnít get all those awards if it was ableist?

Itís a good site if you are able bodied. I would not recommend if you canít walk.

Thereís one designated disabled loo, NOT suitable for a paraplegic. The best I could manage with my carer is side saddle!

Oh, and everyone uses it. It is NOT a compliant loo.

Thereís no disabled shower.

Thick gravel is everywhere. I had to put my power chair on max to move. Even then, getting stuck is risk. Consequently moving munches the battery life.

I was sooo happy to get home! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Timehopper 1 review from this member

 We absolutely loved this site. We booked a quiet week away as an anniversary gift to ourselves. It was great. The pool, the sauna, the fresh bread and pastries for breakfast. We booked this site for these facilities and we were not disappointed. Everything was as described.

We had a very warm welcome, site orientation and were shown to our pitch when we arrived. After that it was parking our Motorhome, then heading to the pool and ordering breakfast rolls for the morning. Oh yes, fresh hot rolls for breakfast ordered the night before.

The park was lovely and quiet. It was great to hear owls hooting.

Once we arrived we felt we could take things at our own pace. We booked off-season so that we would not be disturbed by lots of children and this worked for us. A few families arrived at the weekend.

However, we timed our pool time just right so we could still enjoy a peaceful swim and sauna. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves which was a bonus. Handy tips for using the pool. Take two towels and use the showers in the main block rather than the poolside one, for a hot shower and hair wash after swimming. The second towel? Handy to sit on in the sauna or wrap around yourself for the short walk to the main block and still have a dry towel after your shower.

We spent days off site visiting the nearby town and venturing further afield to Plymouth. Its worth doing some research beforehand so that you can plan buses and trips to make the most of your time off-site.

Our holiday being in October meant that the weather was wet and windy most days. This was not a problem for us. The games room was a cosy place to use the free Wi-fi and be somewhere other than the Motorhome. The pool and sauna were a short walk away from our pitch. The facilities were not far and were in excellent order.

The one thing that sets this site above other sites we have visited are the free facilities dog spa, boot wash, bike wash and the eco-friendly innovations they have on site. It's great to be on holiday knowing you are still reducing your carbon footprint.

Definitely worth a visit to see what they have achieved.

We did not leave a rating for child friendliness as we travelled as a couple. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RachW393 2 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site, immaculate. Helpful staff, nice pool. Lovely enclosed dog walking field.

Only 9 as still room to make some additions to make it a 10. Shower block in bottom field and a larger shop with maybe a coffee bar or small bar area, nothing huge or will spoil the lovely charm of this site. Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Walters-world 13 reviews from this member

 Spent one night in a standard camping pod using a voucher we had been given last Christmas. We were visiting family in the area and it was a very convenient location. The staff were very nice, cheerful, helpful and informative and all appeared to love their work. The site was immaculate and the covered swimming pool looked lovely but we didn't have the chance to use it.

Although this is a 5 star site and we didn't pay for the voucher ourselves I felt it was overpriced for what we got (the voucher itself cost more than a standard one night stay for some reason). The carpeted pod had a double electric socket and a small lamp by the door. A small electric oil heater was provided but we didn't need to use it. You need to bring your own airbed and bedding etc. You could only stand up in the middle of the pod as the roof was sloping either side, so it was awkward getting dressed/undressed as the bed was in the way and there was only a foot or so all around the edge of the airbed. It was slightly damp smelling inside and the decking and wooden steps outside were very slippery when wet. It would have been useful to have a doormat outside or inside the door to wipe feet on as you came straight into the pod from the decking which had grass all around - the staff seemed to think this might be a good idea.

The shower block was warm, clean and modern - fantastic showers! The toilet 'pod' in the middle of the site was useful as it was closer than the shower block in the night.

All in all it was a good experience and a convenient overnight stop for us, but not one we are likely to repeat. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joannem1 13 reviews from this member

 Absolutely perfect! Location spot on. Peace & quiet in abundance. The amenities we're immaculate & the wardens were so polite & also very knowledgeable about the local area. All in all a gem of a site & we will definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skiiddy 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights in July.

We visited with friends who have a caravan so pitched next to them on a hard standing (free pads provided) on the sites 'super pitches' which offer individual fresh water, grey water waste and TV/Sky (you'll need a Sky decoder box for. Well Sky of course!).

The site is immaculate with very friendly staff who escort you to your pitch and point out all the facilities en route. Great for families as the site provides an indoor swimming pool (not used), large play area, under cover games area with open sides for boules etc, fabulous fully enclosed dog exercise area (poo bags provided) and a well stocked shop. The showers are fantastic with three large cubicles providing WC, wash basin and power showers that are NOT push button/pay-per-go and endless hot water. Heaven! There is a small games room that offers free WI-fi daily for 30 minutes. We also liked the dog/boot washing facility (hose pipe) a really simple but great idea. The small covered washing up area in the Tamar field. Order the day before to receive lovely Croissants, and bread from 0830 - yummy!

We liked the discount scheme that offers £25. 00 off your next visit when you have spent 8 nights on site.

We didn't like the 'Tamar View Field' (where we were pitched) because there was no 'view' and the shower block (only one) was much too far away - there is a disabled toilet facility on the edge of the field but no showers. Whilst they are honest in the description about a maximum 300 meter walk, we believe an additional shower block within the Tamar field would give it 10/10 instead of our 8/10

Excellent location for the Tamar Trails, Tavistock, Plymouth and of course, Dartmoor. Visit Hotel Endsleigh and walk around the stunning gardens and down to the Tamar or book well in advance for afternoon tea - stunning. The Horn of Plenty is also worthy of a visit for lunch or afternoon tea and the views west in to Cornwall are fantastic but again, book early especially during peak season, and request an outside table.

Very quiet camp with no road noise but be aware of the long narrow drive from the main road (pull in areas provided) and take it slowly. Lots of children with bikes and walkers. Be safe!

Do not rely on postcode only SatNav, use the directions provided on the website - perfect! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Johnlea 2 reviews from this member

 Best site we've stayed in! Friendly, helpful staff. Really clean amenities. Plenty to do nearby. Found no difficulty in parking the Motorhome in Tavistock, which is a wonderful market town about 3 miles away Good, traffic free cycle routes in area.

We'll certainly be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jennyg 7 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site with brilliant facilities and very friendly staff in the most beautiful and peaceful surroundings.

We we're welcomed like old friends, and shown to our pitch. Everything we needed, waste disposal and water etc were shown en route and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

The pitches are lovely, not too close and well kept, and the pool was a real bonus!

Would definitely recommend again. Have a great season and thanks again 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: MANDYH01 10 reviews from this member

 This is the best site ever. With friendly wardens and owners on hand to help, clean caravans and a spotless toilet and shower block, you will have a great holiday here. The caravans are modern and they are well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday.

On our arrival we were greeted by the warden and we were shown to our caravan. You are sure of a great nights sleep here. As well as a variety of breakfast items on offer, this site has a wide range of things to do for all ages in the school summer holidays. This peaceful, tucked away and laid- back holiday park is situated in Dartmoor National Park. It is well signposted and there are lots of shops in the nearby town of Tavistock. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VivGeal 4 reviews from this member

 We have been camping for years with firstly small children and now with small grand children and Woodovis is the best site we have ever been to. Very peaceful and quiet but not dull and boring Everything is spotlessly clean and the attention to detail a real treat. Free dog biscuit gift for our dog with poo bag included, poo bags available at several sites, lovely swimming pool, freshly made bread and croissants every morning. Friendly helpful staff, a freezer available for ice blocks, a reading room with even some foreign language books doubling as a games room, a playground that appeared to suit all ages. We asked if our visiting grandchild would be allowed to use the pool and this was readily agreed to for a donation to Clic. A visiting Fish and chip van and a visiting hog roast van. All in all superb. Only very slight negative I personally prefer a removable shower head and dog always on lead could be a bit inconvenient but I appreciate both the reason and the effect it has on site so I approve but would like to have let my own dog be freer to roam in and out of tent. (I realise that is me being unfair) 


Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Woodovis Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Woodovis Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodovis Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodovis Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tavistock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55860 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement