Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Colliford Tavern And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > Colliford Tavern And Campsite > Reviews

Colliford Tavern And Campsite
Colliford Lake
St Neots
Liskeard
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL14 6PZ
Tel: 01208 821335
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 25 Reviews
                7/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Lapoa8 1 review from this member

 I can only say hundreds time thank you for the fantastic experience at your place.

The facilities are top notch and the management is the most friendly and helpful I have ever found in my motorcycle travel experience.

If you are looking for a camping site to visit Cornwall, look no further! This is the place for you!

Thank you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Des1603 13 reviews from this member

 Arrived later than planned, in the dark. Went to reception and rang the bell for attention, was given a choice of a couple of "hardstanding pitches" with 16amp electricity.

The Tavern Bar, Restuarant and facilities are closed and not likely to be open any time soon.

The toilet block and facilities are totally outdated and need knocking down and rebuilding. We are fortunate as we have our own facilities in the motor home and used them. The only thing I did use was the toilet disposal point, very impressed by the sign that says do not drink from the toilet disposal point and also the number and variety of arachnids that live in that particular shed.

It is disappointing because the views are fantastic the pitches are large, there is noise from the busy A30 which is about half a mile away, I am fortunate as I just turn off my hearing aids, but the wife was not impressed.

There were a number of what we assume are workmen using the outdated static van/s on site and they leave early in the morning. There was a scattering of other vans, some of which seem that the occupants are permanent features, there were also some nice looking "hobbit huts" again some were occupied.

There is a child's play area, which unfortunately would not be usable due to the odours lingering there, it smells like a sewerage farm.

My understanding that the Tavern is up for sale, which explains a lot however paying top rates to stay on what is becoming a rundown site was disappointing.

We used the site as a base so basically slept there and was not around during the daytime, so cannot comment about what goes on during the daytime.

The grass is short as the local sheep has circumvented the cattle grid, as there is no fence to the left side of it, and freely roam around the site, not a problem to us but maybe to those with dogs.

It is disappointing, the area around the site is stunning, the access to the local area is great; in its heyday this site would have been a stunner however there are other sites not far away better priced and with better facilities. The information provided online unfortunately does no longer - in my opinion - exist. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helen4 1 review from this member

 A lovely campsite, beautiful setting, a good base for visiting the area of Cornwall

Could do with a bit of tiding up and upgrading

Would definitely go again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bestwood14 2 reviews from this member

 Very easy to find just off the A30

But disappointed that the kitchen was closed when we arrived although when I phoned them to say what time I would be arriving and was not told there would be no food available then or at breakfast as there was a big wedding on

Camp site was good, nice hot showers 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SeriousSerenity 3 reviews from this member

 The website for the Colliford Tavern is extremely misleading about both the facilities and price for camping. The site is only one field with no paths/ roads or lighting and is a short distance from the very busy and noisy A30.

The shower and toilet facilities are very dated, and don't look as if they've been cleaned properly since the 1980s. It's certainly not anything like the website claims and I was extremely disappointed to be charged top end rates (20 per night to pitch a tent) for such a seedy and run down site.

There's no recycling facilities or campsite shop, let alone 'mod cons' like hair dryers in the showers (hand dryers don't work either) or camp wifi that other, cheaper and nicer sites in the area provide. The upside is that the place seems so poorly run anyone could probably just drive in and pitch up as no details are taken from new arrivals or proper pitches allocated.

The tavern itself looks like it's had a recent make over - think 1970's interior badly covered up by cheap flock wall paper and bedecked with red faux leather reception chairs, serving up canteen food and karaoke.

There is a long, long way to go before the site and tavern come up to the standard of the prices being charged, and in all honesty, I probably wouldn't be so miffed if I'd been charged the 5pp per night rate that is advertised underneath the recent looking 'Under New Management' signs. The saving grace about this place is that it is next to one of the loveliest lakes in the county and with easy access onto Bodmin moor, so at least you don't have to spend anytime on site! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Breamarine 1 review from this member

 This could be a really beautiful site, and so well set up with the tavern attached. Regretfully, the pitch was overhung with low tree branches that would have continually scraped the caravan roof so had to spend three days right on the edge of the roadway. Showers were clean and plenty of hot water but we were made to feel a complete nuisance both on arrival and again on the two occasions we tried to go for a meal. So ended up eating in the van.

Such a great pity it could all be first class and one of the best sites we have visited in 50 years of caravanning. A pleasant welcome on arrival and also when one visited the pub itself would be all the effort needed. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chaddite 18 reviews from this member

 Made very welcome on arrival by a nice lady from the tavern, and then left alone; shown where everything was located.

Showers and toilets are excellent and really easy to locate. Pitches are under pine trees so the sun doesn't always penetrate but this can be good in hot weather, needles make a mess though.

There are other pitches for tents and caravans in a more open position. Located on Bodmin moor just off the a30 near to Jamaica inn so really easy to get to.

The area is gorgeous especially if you get off the beaten track and explore. Quiet peaceful and perfectly located for accessing either north or south coasts

I would recommend this site without hesitation. 5 pp per night and 5 for power. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Valiant-j 2 reviews from this member

 Spent just one night here in late August but wish we could have stayed longer!

All the facilities were excellent, good hot showers and everything spotlessly clean.

As for the tavern itself, just perfect. Great friendly welcome in what is clearly a family run business. Reasonably priced drinks, good service and amazing food - the mixed grill was to die for and very reasonably priced.

Also very child friendly, our two year old loved the playground and the staff and owners were very attentive to her.

Great location just off the A30 but no traffic noise

and plenty of space and hook-ups in a lovely setting amongst the trees. Curiously still good TV reception despite the trees, we got over 70 freeview channels.

We will definitely stay here again, highly recommended to all. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skippy 750 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for one night stop over, what a gem. 5* toilets showers, park and pitches perfect well laid out, very good and safe play area away from pitches but close to bar/restaurant. Food in the restaurant was to die for and at a very reasonable price, staff was friendly and very helpful. There is a offer on in June and September of 2 yes 2 pppn +5 for elec. Bargain. It is a good site to tour to surrounding area. We even stopped on our return from Hayle for lunch and was not disappointed. Well done to all the staff and ground person we will be back in September. Well recommended to all families and older people, Lets support these new owners 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Simbadog 16 reviews from this member

 Nice area, good for cycling around the lake. Site itself does not have any views of lake, not is there any access to it, shame really.

Site area is surrounded by huge fir trees & is thus quite shaded & the pitches with electric are right under the trees, we had to move forward to edge of track to stop branches rubbing on the roof.

Can't comment on the toilets & showers as we never found them! there was nobody available to show us around, paid the cash & that was it.

In general could do with a bit of a makeover. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Colliford Tavern And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Colliford Tavern And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Colliford Tavern And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bodmin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3453 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement