Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Colliford Tavern And Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Colliford Tavern And Campsite
Colliford Lake
St Neots
Liskeard
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL14 6PZ
Tel: 01208 821335
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 40
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 21 Reviews
                7/10 from 21 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SeriousSerenity 3 reviews from this member

The website for the Colliford Tavern is extremely misleading about both the facilities and price for camping. The site is only one field with no paths/ roads or lighting and is a short distance from the very busy and noisy A30. The shower and toilet facilities are very dated, and don't look as if they've been cleaned properly since the 1980s. It's certainly not anything like the website claims and I was extremely disappointed to be charged top end rates (20 per night to pitch a tent) for such a seedy and run down site. There's no recycling facilities or campsite shop, let alone 'mod cons' like hair dryers in the showers (hand dryers don't work either) or camp wifi that other, cheaper and nicer sites in the area provide. The upside is that the place seems so poorly run anyone could probably just drive in and pitch up as no details are taken from new arrivals or proper pitches allocated.

The tavern itself looks like it's had a recent make over - think 1970's interior badly covered up by cheap flock wall paper and bedecked with red faux leather reception chairs, serving up canteen food and karaoke. There is a long, long way to go before the site and tavern come up to the standard of the prices being charged, and in all honesty, I probably wouldn't be so miffed if I'd been charged the 5pp per night rate that is advertised underneath the recent looking 'Under New Management' signs. The saving grace about this place is that it is next to one of the loveliest lakes in the county and with easy access onto Bodmin moor, so at least you don't have to spend anytime on site!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Breamarine 1 review from this member

This could be a really beautiful site, and so well set up with the tavern attached. Regretfully, the pitch was overhung with low tree branches that would have continually scraped the caravan roof so had to spend three days right on the edge of the roadway. Showers were clean and plenty of hot water but we were made to feel a complete nuisance both on arrival and again on the two occasions we tried to go for a meal. So ended up eating in the van.

Such a great pity it could all be first class and one of the best sites we have visited in 50 years of caravanning. A pleasant welcome on arrival and also when one visited the pub itself would be all the effort needed.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chaddite 11 reviews from this member

Made very welcome on arrival by a nice lady from the tavern, and then left alone; shown where everything was located. Showers and toilets are excellent and really easy to locate. Pitches are under pine trees so the sun doesn't always penetrate but this can be good in hot weather, needles make a mess though. There are other pitches for tents and caravans in a more open position. Located on Bodmin moor just off the a30 near to Jamaica inn so really easy to get to. The area is gorgeous especially if you get off the beaten track and explore. Quiet peaceful and perfectly located for accessing either north or south coasts I would recommend this site without hesitation. 5 pp per night and 5 for power.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Valiant-j 2 reviews from this member

Spent just one night here in late August but wish we could have stayed longer!

All the facilities were excellent, good hot showers and everything spotlessly clean.

As for the tavern itself, just perfect. Great friendly welcome in what is clearly a family run business. Reasonably priced drinks, good service and amazing food - the mixed grill was to die for and very reasonably priced.

Also very child friendly, our two year old loved the playground and the staff and owners were very attentive to her.

Great location just off the A30 but no traffic noise

and plenty of space and hook-ups in a lovely setting amongst the trees. Curiously still good TV reception despite the trees, we got over 70 freeview channels.

We will definitely stay here again, highly recommended to all.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Skippy 750 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site for one night stop over, what a gem. 5* toilets showers, park and pitches perfect well laid out, very good and safe play area away from pitches but close to bar/restaurant. Food in the restaurant was to die for and at a very reasonable price, staff was friendly and very helpful. There is a offer on in June and September of 2 yes 2 pppn +5 for elec. Bargain. It is a good site to tour to surrounding area. We even stopped on our return from Hayle for lunch and was not disappointed. Well done to all the staff and ground person we will be back in September. Well recommended to all families and older people, Lets support these new owners

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Simbadog 12 reviews from this member

Nice area, good for cycling around the lake. Site itself does not have any views of lake, not is there any access to it, shame really.

Site area is surrounded by huge fir trees & is thus quite shaded & the pitches with electric are right under the trees, we had to move forward to edge of track to stop branches rubbing on the roof.

Can't comment on the toilets & showers as we never found them! there was nobody available to show us around, paid the cash & that was it.

In general could do with a bit of a makeover.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Petel1961 2 reviews from this member

I spent a very pleasant 2 days and nights at this site. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, the facilities were very clean and more than adequate. A bonus is the on site pub, which is a real pub and not a holiday camp club. The location is ideal for sightseeing, being slap bang in the middle of Bodmin Moor. Lots of attractions and landmarks nearby, I was there off season, so the site was quiet but this added to my enjoyment. Hookups are close to the pitches, and the site is well maintained and run. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grumpy Old Gitt 1 review from this member

This site deserves and gets a 10/10 from us.

We are three adults who stayed at this site for one night only in order to check out a new tent.

The site has new owners who are doing there best to bring this site up to a very high standard.

The showers and toilets were very clean and the water was hot although a hand soap dispenser on the basins would be an advantage.

The food in the tavern was lovely and very reasonably priced. We spent the entire evening in the tavern chatting with the staff and other visitor sand playing pool.

We wanted a quiet overnight stay away from the madding crowd and that is what we got. There is a small play area for children but there were no children there when we visited.

There is no shop on site but I hope the new owners may look into that in time. So remember to take supplies before you arrive or go to Asda at Bodmin.

We shall return to this site for long weekend breaks. The situation of this site makes it ideal for walkers and people who want to explore Bodmin moor and the local area.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Madcampingcarman 3 reviews from this member

Great camp site. Facilities excellent, toilets and showers were spotless. The pitches are large enough for the biggest of outfits and when we stayed a tent was made welcome.

The pub is more like a grand country public house, and the staff were very friendly and the food 1st class.

A tranquil stop, very quiet although the A30 is in close proximity you wouldn't really notice once inside this haven.

The new owners took over on 1st April and we wish them all the luck in the world, they deserve it.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Saracen1 3 reviews from this member

My husband and myself Stayed for the whole of the last week of Sept

Yes it is isolated but that is just what some peole want like us peace and quiet with no kids

The lake is accessible sadly not from the Park but that is not the sites fault and they can hardly be blamed for that the lakes owner has caused that issue.

But it is still within a comfortable walk on a country lane ( not a main dangerous road as someone has described it previously)

This is Great Park for seasoned Campers and when it goes dark there are no lights which means the tent is in total darkness ( Yes this is a plus for some people like us who like to sleep in the dark and not have the tent lit up like a football field ) and yes it does mean you need to carry a torch but then what seasoned camper doesn't do that or have we all forgot how to rough it occasionally !

The showers are enclosed behind doors and not just a shower curtain as I was lead to believe from previous reviews. These are wet rooms they do have shower curtains inside room but you still have the wooden door to your individual shower cubicle as well.

As for bugs in the Sinks well I must admit the insect life is proliffic outside as well so to find a few in the toilet block is not to be unexpected ( to well travelled and seasoned camper like me :) )

The grounds are immaculate and well tended with various wildlife to be seen and heard and for the ones like us who explore their surroundings there is lots to do and see within a few hours drive in any direction

Landsend, Eden Project and Lost gardens of Heilgan to name but a few

For the shoppers Plymouth Falmouth and Newquay

And a good nights fishing can be had on the Harbour wall at Megavissy the locals are a great friendly lot and Makrel and garfish are caught spinning and float fishing by the dozen plus other varities which I am sure that fishermen out there would name easily

The Pub is great and not at all smelly as some one has reviewed plus thanks to the locals are very friendly and spoke to us every night

Friday was Karaoke night was a great night which we enjoyed immensely especially very vocal husband. We are just sorry we were leaving the day after we could of done with another few days to enjoy the area more. Thanks to martin and Cheryl for a great stay and we will be back

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3204 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938