Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Colliford Tavern And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > Colliford Tavern And Campsite Reviews

Colliford Tavern And Campsite
Colliford Lake
St Neots
Liskeard
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL14 6PZ
Tel: 01208 821335
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 22 Reviews
                7/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bestwood14 2 reviews from this member

 Very easy to find just off the A30

But disappointed that the kitchen was closed when we arrived although when I phoned them to say what time I would be arriving and was not told there would be no food available then or at breakfast as there was a big wedding on

Camp site was good, nice hot showers 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SeriousSerenity 3 reviews from this member

 The website for the Colliford Tavern is extremely misleading about both the facilities and price for camping. The site is only one field with no paths/ roads or lighting and is a short distance from the very busy and noisy A30.

The shower and toilet facilities are very dated, and don't look as if they've been cleaned properly since the 1980s. It's certainly not anything like the website claims and I was extremely disappointed to be charged top end rates (20 per night to pitch a tent) for such a seedy and run down site.

There's no recycling facilities or campsite shop, let alone 'mod cons' like hair dryers in the showers (hand dryers don't work either) or camp wifi that other, cheaper and nicer sites in the area provide. The upside is that the place seems so poorly run anyone could probably just drive in and pitch up as no details are taken from new arrivals or proper pitches allocated.

The tavern itself looks like it's had a recent make over - think 1970's interior badly covered up by cheap flock wall paper and bedecked with red faux leather reception chairs, serving up canteen food and karaoke.

There is a long, long way to go before the site and tavern come up to the standard of the prices being charged, and in all honesty, I probably wouldn't be so miffed if I'd been charged the 5pp per night rate that is advertised underneath the recent looking 'Under New Management' signs. The saving grace about this place is that it is next to one of the loveliest lakes in the county and with easy access onto Bodmin moor, so at least you don't have to spend anytime on site! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Breamarine 1 review from this member

 This could be a really beautiful site, and so well set up with the tavern attached. Regretfully, the pitch was overhung with low tree branches that would have continually scraped the caravan roof so had to spend three days right on the edge of the roadway. Showers were clean and plenty of hot water but we were made to feel a complete nuisance both on arrival and again on the two occasions we tried to go for a meal. So ended up eating in the van.

Such a great pity it could all be first class and one of the best sites we have visited in 50 years of caravanning. A pleasant welcome on arrival and also when one visited the pub itself would be all the effort needed. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chaddite 11 reviews from this member

 Made very welcome on arrival by a nice lady from the tavern, and then left alone; shown where everything was located.

Showers and toilets are excellent and really easy to locate. Pitches are under pine trees so the sun doesn't always penetrate but this can be good in hot weather, needles make a mess though.

There are other pitches for tents and caravans in a more open position. Located on Bodmin moor just off the a30 near to Jamaica inn so really easy to get to.

The area is gorgeous especially if you get off the beaten track and explore. Quiet peaceful and perfectly located for accessing either north or south coasts

I would recommend this site without hesitation. 5 pp per night and 5 for power. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Valiant-j 2 reviews from this member

 Spent just one night here in late August but wish we could have stayed longer!

All the facilities were excellent, good hot showers and everything spotlessly clean.

As for the tavern itself, just perfect. Great friendly welcome in what is clearly a family run business. Reasonably priced drinks, good service and amazing food - the mixed grill was to die for and very reasonably priced.

Also very child friendly, our two year old loved the playground and the staff and owners were very attentive to her.

Great location just off the A30 but no traffic noise

and plenty of space and hook-ups in a lovely setting amongst the trees. Curiously still good TV reception despite the trees, we got over 70 freeview channels.

We will definitely stay here again, highly recommended to all. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skippy 750 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for one night stop over, what a gem. 5* toilets showers, park and pitches perfect well laid out, very good and safe play area away from pitches but close to bar/restaurant. Food in the restaurant was to die for and at a very reasonable price, staff was friendly and very helpful. There is a offer on in June and September of 2 yes 2 pppn +5 for elec. Bargain. It is a good site to tour to surrounding area. We even stopped on our return from Hayle for lunch and was not disappointed. Well done to all the staff and ground person we will be back in September. Well recommended to all families and older people, Lets support these new owners 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Simbadog 12 reviews from this member

 Nice area, good for cycling around the lake. Site itself does not have any views of lake, not is there any access to it, shame really.

Site area is surrounded by huge fir trees & is thus quite shaded & the pitches with electric are right under the trees, we had to move forward to edge of track to stop branches rubbing on the roof.

Can't comment on the toilets & showers as we never found them! there was nobody available to show us around, paid the cash & that was it.

In general could do with a bit of a makeover. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Petel1961 2 reviews from this member

 I spent a very pleasant 2 days and nights at this site. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, the facilities were very clean and more than adequate. A bonus is the on site pub, which is a real pub and not a holiday camp club. The location is ideal for sightseeing, being slap bang in the middle of Bodmin Moor. Lots of attractions and landmarks nearby, I was there off season, so the site was quiet but this added to my enjoyment. Hookups are close to the pitches, and the site is well maintained and run. Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpy Old Gitt 1 review from this member

 This site deserves and gets a 10/10 from us.

We are three adults who stayed at this site for one night only in order to check out a new tent.

The site has new owners who are doing there best to bring this site up to a very high standard.

The showers and toilets were very clean and the water was hot although a hand soap dispenser on the basins would be an advantage.

The food in the tavern was lovely and very reasonably priced. We spent the entire evening in the tavern chatting with the staff and other visitor sand playing pool.

We wanted a quiet overnight stay away from the madding crowd and that is what we got. There is a small play area for children but there were no children there when we visited.

There is no shop on site but I hope the new owners may look into that in time. So remember to take supplies before you arrive or go to Asda at Bodmin.

We shall return to this site for long weekend breaks. The situation of this site makes it ideal for walkers and people who want to explore Bodmin moor and the local area. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Madcampingcarman 3 reviews from this member

 Great camp site. Facilities excellent, toilets and showers were spotless. The pitches are large enough for the biggest of outfits and when we stayed a tent was made welcome.

The pub is more like a grand country public house, and the staff were very friendly and the food 1st class.

A tranquil stop, very quiet although the A30 is in close proximity you wouldn't really notice once inside this haven.

The new owners took over on 1st April and we wish them all the luck in the world, they deserve it. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Colliford Tavern And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Colliford Tavern And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Colliford Tavern And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bodmin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6552 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement