Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Senlac Wood Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Senlac Wood Holiday Park
Catsfield Rd
Catsfield
Battle
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN33 9LN
Tel: 01424 773969
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 32+40
Open: 1 March To 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 58 Reviews
                7/10 from 58 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Martmart 2 reviews from this member

A well kept site with excellently kept showers and toilets, plenty of hot water, clean and tidy. Pitches are plenty big enough with space between and nice and level.

Staff were extremely helpful but also left us well alone when appropriate.

Nice little cafe on site that serves basic cafe food and does a lovely breakfast (even catering for us awkward gluten free folk) and a small bar for that goodnight tipple.

Set in a wooded area it gives a feeling of privacy and is fairly quiet, not allowing big groups helps this peace too.

Not really within walking distance of anything but a short easy drive to Bexhill or Battle.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Linniedo 1 review from this member

Just had four nights on this site, excellent, the owners are very friendly and helpful as we arrived later than planned. The facilities are very clean and but if site was very busy maybe could to with a few more. As only 3 showers in each of the men and woman shower block.

We had no children, but it has a good play park facility.

The bar was normal prices and food was good and reasonable.

We will definitely be returning and spending more time here.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happy Dandy 6 reviews from this member

We store our caravan here, but as we are going away for the first time this year in the next week, we decided to have our van (Bob) put on a pitch. It is an lovely site. The facilities are quite new I would think, and are amazing, but if the site was full I can't see that there would be enough showers (3 in the ladies). The café/bar is very nice, the drinks are what you would normally pay. They did food too, but we didn't partake so can't comment. There are further toilets here, one for each male and female. Clare and Steve are very helpful and friendly. The site is split up into areas, there are hard standing and grass pitches. You can walk through the woods to the showers, it's really lovely. We don't have small children, but there is a lovely play park and plenty of places to explore. We will definitely be spending more weekends here.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bigwilliam 1 review from this member

We arrived in the afternoon to very warm and friendly welcome we don't come from far but glad we picked this site.

The toilet block was clean and kept well but does need more showers it didn't affect our stay but I feel could be a problem when they are really busy.

They have a lovely café and bar on site again very friendly and helpful staff the food was delicious full cooked breakfast always goes down well.

We don't have children but they have a play area and games room with pool and table tennis, television, various games.

Pick and mix and iced lollies for sale in reception.

They need a laundry area, again didn't bother us as not there long enough.

Loads of pubs in Battle, Battle Abbey, Yesterdays world, actually the area is great for activities for all ages.

The bus stops at the entrance to the site there isn't an actual stop but you wave it down they have timetables in reception, the service is limited especially at weekends.

All in all I will definitely return and just with a few improvements it could be perfect.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babytanner 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from a short break at Senlac with the family. 3 pitches electric and non electric.

Started out very poor as the weather was against us. Very friendly and helpful staff giving us the pick of the place to pitch our tent. Also didn't charge us for extra cars and gazebo. The site is split up into secluded wooded areas. There seemed to be quite a lot of caravans fixed in place. The main toilet and shower block for us was located on a hill not good for one of our group who has walking problems. Clean hot free power showers and toilets but be warned very slippery floors when warned 2 of us went skidding in the shower block. More showers and toilet blocks needed.

The advertised shop is sorry to say rubbish only stocks sweets and fizzy drinks it seems which is a shame should source some local fresh produce to offer along with other basics. Did not try the pub on site but looked very nice. The kids play area was also very poor it really needs upgrading.

Overall I would say this is a reasonable site offering an ok stay but not one of the best places we have stayed.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ian Ellery 1 review from this member

My second visit to this lovely little site in beautiful woodland surroundings.

Good, clean showers and toilets.

Only a five minute drive into Battle with it's many attractions.

The on site Bar/Diner, Dumplings serves delicious food at incredibly reasonable prices.

For a more extensive menu visit The Squirrel pub, just a fifteen minute walk away. Apparently there are two other food pubs nearby which we didn't visit.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Henman123 1 review from this member

As previously stated it was freezing but not at all the fault of the site and on that note the heating in the shower block was lovely and warm and they were very clean.

Beautiful peaceful site, very friendly and helpful staff.

Pitches are well thought out quiet areas for quiet individuals and family areas for the more social people.

I disagree with a previous reviewer, there are loads of water points and 2 bin areas one at the top of site and one in the middle, in total there are 6 toilets we never had to queue.

My bad points are, play area needs some tlc.

I was unhappy with the so called eaterie as we wanted an evening meal and there was nothing to eat !

On the same note they advertise a site shop but the stock is very poor so get your supplies on the way, unless you like pick n mix !

To conclude we will definitely be returning this year with just a few adjustments this would be a perfect site.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy6973 20 reviews from this member

Cold! Technically not the fault of the campsite and just the great British weather!

We chose Senlac Woods as the C&C site up the road were not able to accommodate us for the whole long weekend, and I am delighted we chose Senlac Woods. We had a very friendly welcome, and shown where to pitch. The pitches are arranged in groups of 4 which gives a feeling of seclusion and we were fortunate enough to be in field E which was nearest to the toilet blocks and the bins. We used the games room with free pool but did not really use the bar as was being used for a private function.

Battle just down the road is beautiful and well worth a mooch around, and Hastings is only a short drive away.

We would definitely return to Senlac Woods due to the friendliness and proximity to Battle, and it only being half an hour from home

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Doinitinit 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned a night early from a 4 night booking at this site and feel that we made a bad choice.

We have a dog, and like to go on long walks from site, and expected this to be possible given the description - acres of woodland, local walks - but this proved not to be the case. There is a very small area of woods you can use, and only

When paintballing is not in progress! There's plenty of woodland in the area, but all marked private. To get down to the village or onto the nearest public footpath it's a scary walk down a main road with no path. Once onto the 1066 trail, however, it's a lovely circular walk to and around Battle, with great views, but numerous stiles with no doggy access so we had to lift our 35 kg madam over the top. Not funny. Despite that we enjoyed the walk, which was just under 8 miles.

The next day we drove out to Hastings, Bexhill & back via a stop in Brede Woods which was lovely. WE then found that other than driving out again today, we had no where to go as had exhausted the walking in the immediate area. When I asked on arrival about walks, I was told to ask at the Catfield Stores!

The other main annoyance about this site, is that apparently our neighbours were spoken to about being noisy at night on Fri ( they didn't keep us awake) yet on the Sat night we were subjected to mega noise from the site bar till gone midnight which sounded like a live singer performing ancient hits e. G. 'Cracklin Rosie; We don't like this sort of thing though appreciate many do, and would not have booked here had we realised.

Also, I should mention that the pitches are on the small side and I imagine the site feels very cramped in high season, and very noisy.

On a plus side, the toilets and showers were very clean, and no complaints there.

Basically then, this site is fineif you want a base to drive out from, or to sit by your van in the Summer but not if you want to be able to explore the local countryside by foot. It's good if you like weekend entertainment and socialising in the bar, but not if you prefer the quiet life!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jigsaw 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 night visit - we found this to be an expensive site considering the facilities. There were only 2 toilets - we were about 5 minutes away from our toilet. We also had to clamber up a steep slope to collect the water - bearing in mind that this is quite heavy. There was no recycling bins only one waste bin near reception. We will not be returning to this site and warn others of the problems.

Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3104 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019