Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Sunnyoak Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Sunnyoak Caravan Park Reviews

Sunnyoak Caravan Park
A49 Tarporley Road
Whitchurch
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4HF
Tel: 01948 664936  or  07938 965450
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: John R Kaye 1 review from this member

A nice open, flat site adjacent to the canal and within walking distance of Whitchurch.

A little too close to the road for our liking as the A49 is a busy trunk road and even though we asked for a pitch at the rear of the site it still disturbed our sleep.

Great pub right next door with good ales and reasonably priced food.

We didn't use the excellent shower block as, even though it is advertised as heated, the heating was never on long enough or high enough to take the chill off for a shower.

There is no hot water to the hand basins either hence the low site facilities and value for money scores

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: The Drings 9 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for two nights and we really enjoyed our stay.

The pleasant owner met us at the gate and told us everything we needed to know.

We had a great pitch on the top of a bank and near the toilets. The toilets and showers were really nice and very well kept.

The road noise did not bother us at all.

The Willeymoor Lock Tavern Inn was a short walk away and in a lovely position on the canalside. The people were very friendly and the food and ales were great. There was even a cow walking in the front of the pub. Which amused us greatly.

We walked along the canal to Grindley Brook Locks. My husband went fishing on the canal.

Overall we had a great time here. The overall niggle I have is that there was a code on the toilets and laundry room which I found difficult to reach as it was quite high up the door.

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Liptrot 3 reviews from this member

We have used this site quite a few times in the last 5 years and we love coming back. Bill and Donna, the site owners are always pleasant and their 3 boys help around the site during school hols.

The toilet block and facilities are always spotless.

The Willymoor Lock pub which stands on the canal bank is approx 3 minutes away across the camp. No roads to traverse and is a really nice spot to relax with a pint.

The food is basic but fine if you fancy a meal ready prepared for you rather than cooking and the staff are pleasant. Whitchurch is a five minute drive away and is a pleasant little town.

All in all a nice weekend or longer getaway.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Neato 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site.

Toilets and washing up block seems brand new and is incredibly well maintained.

Great hardstanding pitches with electric hookup available.

Bill was helpful and friendly throughout.

We had no issues with the noise from the road.

The pub at the back of the site serves great food and you can walk along the canal tow path into Grindley Brook to another pub. Whitchurch was great for a day out and can be reached along a tow path route.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Knottyd 2 reviews from this member

Warm welcome from owner, choice of pitches all level. Cost £20 per night. Read previous reviews re road noise but it wasn’t troublesome.

Lovely clean facilities, shower £1 for 5 minutes. No hot water at washbasins would be my only criticism.

Pubs serving food just a couple of miles along canal path in either direction also one adjacent to site but closed from 3 till 6.

All in all a lovely site

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Merylrushworth 2 reviews from this member

Well over priced at £30 per night.

No hot water in the toilet block to freshen up, smell from the Cess Pit, location of pitch right by the entrance even requested a quiet pitch due to having a young deaf pup who is scared by sudden movements.

Information leaflet given when arrived, more like a rule booklet, seems to be very defensive, so guess they have had a few complaints. We booked for Easter weekend but left early, tried to contact the owners by email, phone, facebook and also knocking at the caravan. Nothing. Sending a letter now

Artics and traffic 24 hours a day - Not a peaceful location at all, and this is also not taking into consideration the Quad bike that the owner and child used around the site, not even sitting on it, kneeling!.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mazzey 5 reviews from this member

Very friendly, helpful owners. A nice open site accessed from the A49.

Facilities. Entered via a code lock, this was quite high on the wall, so it was too far away to easily see the numbers which were small, and whilst accessing the facilities at night, the exterior lighting did not provide enough light to see the numbers and the buttons were small and hard to press for my arthritic hands

The lighting inside the ladies is very subdued, although once you pull the light cord, they do warm up - slowly. Very clean - looked quite new. Pay for shower with slots in cubicle - no problem, but when I was taking a shower - I hung my clothes on the hooks behind the door there was nowhere to put my shampoo or sponge.

The splash of the water on the tiles was wetting my shoes which I had to push out under the door to keep dry.

I was finished with over 2 minutes remaining of the hot water with no way to stop the flow. A stop button would be useful.

There was nowhere to sit to dry myself or to put on my trousers without them trailing on the wet floor. Some shower rooms on other sites have a stool to sit on and also a shower curtain to keep your clothes dry.

It would have been nice if there was a shower chair and shower head in the accessible toilet as it would be impossible for my disabled friend to manage the shower facilities in the ladies toilet.

Overall a good stay though

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Malcbev 10 reviews from this member

What a lovely site toilets and showers spotless, very quiet and rural.

Lovely walks along the canal to Grindley Locks and a stones throw away from Willey lock pub where you get a warm welcome omega and lovely food.

Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 76 reviews from this member

What a cracking site, welcomed by the owner and we had the choice of pitches, all nicely laid out.

We have a Hymer and this fitted on the pitches no problem at all.

Facilities were all superb, modern clean and centrally positioned.

Lovely grassed area to walk and play, Ours Dogs had a great time plus follow the path to the Canal from the site. There you cross a nice lock to the pub, nice pub but note it closes at 9 !

We walked up and down the canal and very pleasant.

Some road noise so a pitch near the road wouldn’t be ideal but other than that, a great site.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

A superb Adult only site about four miles north of Whitchurch town. Stayed four nights including the weekend. Mid-week had only a few units on site; by Saturday pm the site was well occupied, although there were still about half a dozen pitches available.

Met at the gate by the warden 'waving like a dervish' to attract our attention (his words!). The entrance is a bit abrupt off the fast and busy A49 road, so need your wits about you - especially coming from south as there is another drive immediately before the caravan site.

Entrance has a coded padlocked gate, which is a nuisance; an electronic lft-aem barrier would be better and safer, as there isn;t room for more than one car and caravan in the entrance.

Facilities all newish; (I'm told four years old). Kept well cleaned and regularly checked.

Leave the site by the rear 'hole in the hedge' and you're in the pub carpark. Pub is over the canal bridge. Interesting selection of local beers, and lovely food at reasonable prices. Does get busy!

Whitchurch is a sleepy little town with no big stores. It does have buses, but many routes are not too frequent, so your car is essential. A decent Sainsburys as you run into the town.

Really enjoyed our stay; site on our 'must go back to' list.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Sunnyoak Caravan Park?   There is a shop within 5 miles    View all facilities

Is Sunnyoak Caravan Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Shrewsbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3511 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020