Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hatchers Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Hatchers Farm
The Street
Preston
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 1ED
Tel: 07779602185
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: Easter To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leftcrankz 1 review from this member

Hatcher's Farm was a welcome final stay on the St Augustine Camino pilgrimage trail, from Rochester Cathedral to the new shrine of St Augustine in Ramsgate.

As a solo backpacker, the campsite was ideally suited for my needs and budget.

The pitch amongst the plum trees was perfect for me, scenic, quiet and private, but reassuringly close to the farm amenities. The communal facilities were well maintained and the working farm atmosphere is charming. The shop in the village was only a short walk away, allowing me to resupply for my final days walk.

The owner John, and his wife, truly went above and beyond to make me feel a welcomed guest, and I unreservedly recommend Hatchers Farm to all fellow passing pilgrims.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eveningshift 2 reviews from this member

If you want to go camping in Kent, Hatchers Farm has to be on your shortlist.

We arrived at the site, and John met us. He told us we were the only ones on site, and we could have whatever pitch we liked.

Now, when I say 'pitch', it's not a small rectangle in a field. This is a field with rows of cherry trees. The pitches run the full width of the field, in between the rows. I'm sure when they're busy, this might change, but this is what we had the use of.

The bathrooms are immaculate, almost everything you don't know you've forgotten is available (washing liquid and such), and they have no issue with you charging your phone or powerbank. There are also fridges for you to put your milk and such in, so they don't go off.

The Half Moon and Seven Stars is a 60-second walk away, and does excellent food. There is a family butcher another minute away, and a convenience store another two minutes after that.

All in all, it's a lovely site, with no restrictions placed upon us. We will definitely be going back, as it was so in-the-middle-of-nowhere, but handy for most of Kent.

Thanks for a great weekend!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allan family 1 review from this member

We spent a wonderful weekend camping at Hatchers farm as a group of 5 families. We stayed in a lovely spot at the end of the cherry orchard and felt like we had our own private space. It was the first weekend of the school holidays, so peak time, however the layout of the campsite meant it did not feel busy. There was sometimes a queue for the toilets and showers (hence the 9/10 score on facilities) however bearing in mind the peak time, this would not not put us off returning. The facilities were always spotless. Plenty of space in the fridge freezers and also good washing up sinks. There was always hot water. The free veg and honesty box for eggs etc was a lovely touch - delicious corn on the cob to cook on our fire. Fire pits are scattered around to use for free and there are also some BBQ grills for the fire to borrow for free too. Dogs are welcome. Some lovely walks from the campsite, step outside the site and you are seconds walk from a lovely pub with good food and a beer garden, corner shop, butchers and garden centre! A perfect small, friendly, peaceful campsite, we'll definitely return!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IngridCat 1 review from this member

We visited Hatchers Farm as a group of three families and had a wonderful weekend. The site is a working farm with a central access track flanked by a plum orchard and cherry orchard. The pitches are strips of short, soft grass between the fruit trees. We were greeted by John who showed us round and we ended up pitching at the far end of the cherry orchard which was perfect for a larger group. Although we had had trouble finding a site for the weekend due to relatively short notice, Hatchers Farm was quiet with only 3 or 4 other tents some distance away. The children had loads of space to roam free, climb trees and the grass strips are perfect for games of football. The orchard setting was just idyllic, surrounded by talll hedges which give it a real quiet and secluded character.

There is a small toilet and shower block which was beautifully clean, with hot showers, hand wash and even soft loo roll! There are two fridges and free veg to help yourself to.

John the owner was so laid back and friendly, letting us pick cherries from the trees, introducing the chickens and geese to the children and generally lending a chilled out vibe to the place.

The site is well placed for the Kent coast and we had a great day out in Margate. There seemed to be loads of nice looking pubs in the area and a farm butchers right next to the site which we didn't get the chance to use.

Can't recommend this site highly enough and will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BillyOcean VWCali 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Hatchers Farm for 2 nights in April 2017 in our campervan.

Idyllic site, very relaxed setting with long and level pitches (around 10 in total) each located between rows of cherry trees. We 'hired' a fire basket and a big basket logs for open fires both nights - bliss!

Toilets and showers are in a converted ban and are kept clean.

A lovely vibe about this place, owners on-site and very friendly.

Perfect for striking distance into Canterbury, Broadstairs and the Kent coast.

We will definitely return and would recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Boroughonian 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site, really pleasant. Some really nice touches from the owners, such as the constant radio playing in the shower/toilet area, quite comforting. Bits of fruit and veg left out for 'sharing', corn husks runner beans, marrows, plums.

Unfortunately I missed the cherries, I will plan my trip better next year!

John and Tanya cannot do enough for you, you can tell that they are taking this seriously, not always the case with farm sites I find.

Great butchers in the village, I kept buying their 'three amigos' burger, forgot to ask why three Amigos. Nice sausages too. Village shop is adequate and fairly priced.

All in all a 10 from me.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KewGardener 11 reviews from this member

This could be my perfect site. The pitches are flat, large and spacious with the fruit trees forming green rooms for shelter and privacy. Probably the nicest pitch I've ever stayed on. The owner puts out home grown fruit and veg for the campers to share. There's a pub just across the road and access to the coast and Canterbury is easy. There are clean showers, loos and washing up sinks with plenty of hot water. The problem for me is a large groups was accepted and there was drunken shouting and laughter well into the early hours rather spoiled an otherwise lovely weekend camp for us.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campleaderlara 1 review from this member

My friends and I were kindly accepted on this campsite after being turned down by many places due to the fact that we were a large group of 18 year olds. We found that the owners were very welcoming and accommodating, whilst giving all campers the ability to do their own thing unless help was needed.

The campsite is lovely and each pitch, located between the rows of the orchards, offers lots of space. Upon arrival we were given a tour of the site and loaned a fire pit which the owner had reserved for us. Although in a rural setting, the facilities aren't basic. Instead they are well kept and up to date, with separate shower and toilet cubicles for privacy. There are also two washing up stations and a communal fridge-freezer and large fridge for campers to store their food and drink. On our walk down towards these facilities there are also chickens which offer great interest, especially for children and those that like animals. Plums and other produce are available freely by the fridge area and an honesty box for the purchase of certain items such as chutneys and fresh eggs.

Whilst washing up one of the owners suggested places locally that we could go such as a near by woodland walk and the local butcher for bbq supplies. The walk was lovely and offered an adventure like aspect to our trip.

All fellow campers were very friendly and the general atmosphere on site was brilliant and very laid back. My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hatchers Farm and have already started planning our return within less than a week of leaving! I would definitely recommend this campsite and cannot express enough how grateful myself and my friends are to have been allowed to stay there.

Thanks for giving us a chance and having faith in the youth of today! We loved it.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nosha35 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights, What a gem, a wonderful campsite, HUGE pitches set in orchards, the biggest we have seen so far, immaculate toilets and showers, very friendly hosts, we felt very much at home staying here, we were made to feel very welcome, the local shop was only a 5 minutes walk away and the prices was very reasonable. We didn`t try the local pub or butchers but we will next time.

We went to broadstairs (viking bay) which is only about a 30 minutes drive away, lovely beach, and had fish and chips from the high street (star of the sea chip shop) and walked to the beach to eat it, best fish and chips we have had in a long time.

Wingham wildlife park was a great day out too, only about 3 miles away from the campsite.

We are looking forward to camping at hatchers farm again, for longer next time.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KentCat 1 review from this member

My husband and I visited Hatcher's Farm with friends of ours for a weekend. The site is beauitful, very picturesque camping amongst the cherry orchard. The cherries are coming into season and it was an added bonus to be able to pick them straight from the tree.

It was really easy to book via email and John who run's the site was incredibly friendly and helpful. The site has one communal block with two toilets, two showers and two washing up points. They also have electric and usb phone charging points. The communal facilities were very clean, some of the best I've seen and whilst not the most powerful of showers there was always hot water.

The farm is at the edge of a village making it a short walk to the local farm shop, butchers and pub. We didn't go to the pub but I can vouch for the butchers, in particular their mint marinaded chicken legs.

A simple camepsite perfect if you're content to spend an evening sat around an open fire.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1672 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019