Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Park Gate
Coniston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA21 8LA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 148 Reviews
                9/10 from 148 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (6) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  148 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 539 reviews from this member

The campsite os fat enough off the road that there was zero road noise. Its one of the most peaceful sites we have stayed at.

Facilities as expected, typical Caravan Club high standards. The three toilet blocks are well spaces but still a fair hike from several parts of the site.

We chose a non awning (blue post) pitch when booking. On arrival we were limited to a choice of 8 pitches - there are very few non awning pitches so if you want a very specific type of pitch, or to be near facilities blocks beware and maybe go for the awning pitches.

We walked into Coniston, lovely off road walk along the paths by the lake, a couple of shops and cafes in the village worth an hours stop. There is a steam gondola running from the village and also the John Ruskin museum to visit. We also walked the other direction to Torver, where again there is an off road path all the way, The Wilson Arms is a great place to stop for a coffee, meal or a drink.

For us this is a great campsite for exploring the area - close to coast and only 20 minutes from Ambleside. There was a pizza van in site one night and we understood a chippy van also visited. To eat out you would need to drive or taxi unless you want to walk on dark paths by the river at this time of year(in summer would be lovely evening walks to pubs along the foopaths).

Would use again for sure.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steveb50 10 reviews from this member

A quiet peaceful campsite close to Coniston water.

Suitable for families or couples this quiet campsite is set in the forest on the hillside going down to the lake. There are some quite steep hills so pick your pitch carefully if you’re not keen on walking uphill to the toilet block or to refill the water.

Friendly welcome this being our first time on a caravan and motorhome club site, we were told to drive around and pick a pitch then let them know which one we had gone for and get the toilet key and barrier pass. This seemed a good idea but it generated arguments in the car as we dragged the caravan around the narrow roads trying to find a spot that suited everyone’s needs.

I liked the way the pitches were set in small individual areas, no rows and rows of caravans in straight lines which meant you weren’t looking in other peoples windows.

Toilet block were plentiful and very clean. And amazingly the first site I’ve stayed on where the showers actually stay on until you turn the, off. No fumbling about for wall mounted buttons through shampoo covered eyes to start the shower again! Amazing.

You can cycle or walk to Coniston Village across a footpath avoiding the narrow road.

Highly recommended.

16A EHU and a plug for TV signal pickup on the EHU bollard so bring a lead to connect the TV.

Small young children’s playground down the bottom of the site.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Paddy61 4 reviews from this member

Very, very nice site. Set in Woodland within a stone's throw of Coniston lake. You can walk from the site on a path over to Coniston village or in the opposite direction by the lake to Trover. We took a boat trip from the marina near Coniston which was fabulous. The showers/toilets are very clean and well maintained. Plenty of fresh water, bins and chemical waste points within easy reach. Also TV aerial plug ins on the EHU points so take your extended white cable for excellent reception. 4G for interweb no problem. We didn't use are chocks but a lot of people needed them. We could choose our own pitch which was nice. Keep up the good work folks!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Climbergirl 14 reviews from this member

This was my first time staying on a C&MH club site and I was really impressed. The site was well laid out with generous pitches. Due to the woodland you felt quite secluded. The little shop on site had a good selection of bits that you might need and the toilets were always clean. We were there the week before Easter and the site was quiet so some of the showers were closed. It would have been nice to have them all open. From the site you can walk directly onto the banks of Coniston Water and there is a lovely walk into the village. A great site for exploring the southern lakes.

The access roads to Coniston are narrow and if you have a big caravan or Motorhome you will want to be a confident driver preferably not at peak season

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HappyHippie 8 reviews from this member

This is a big site with all the usual Caravan and Motorhome standards. Each pitch is hardstanding and a good size, I suggest you bring Rock pegs if you intend using an awning. Leveling ramps are a must for most pitches. This is a good site for wildlife, lots of bird song and a cheeky little squirrel came to check out the bird feeder someone had brought along with them in the next pitch. There is forest work going on around the site so chainsaws can be heard through out the day. This will continue until mid June. A short walk to Coniston where you'll find shops and cafes which all seem to be dog friendly. Head off in the other direction for a nice walk along the lake side where you can let dogs off lead for a splodge about in the water.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Summersmum 27 reviews from this member

Enjoyed a stay here in the recent snow. Plenty of choice of pitches midweek though more arrivals at weekend. Approximately 60 pitches available to use when we visited as site only part open. Easy walk down to lake and in to Coniston - despite the ice and sleet! Lovely lunch at Herdwicks café just past Ruskin museum - very dog friendly. Approach roads are narrow in places and very windy but fine in a campervan, wouldn't fancy it in a motorhome or caravan when it's peak season. Toilet facilities are locked at all times - you get given a key when you let reception know your pitch number. Not sure why that's needed in winter - the campsite by the lake isn't open so quite who else would be using facilities I have no idea. We weren't told this when we arrived so wondered why we couldn't get in. Usual high standard of cleanliness and warmth which was good as it was freezing outside.
Useful tip if you want to check the state of the approach road is to look at Cumbria Council webcam as its a couple of miles up the road. Would be happy to stay here again when its not school holidays - imagine it's very busy then - especially when you get a midweek discount. We also liked that there were lots of woodland glades to pitch in - you wouldn't realise how big the site is as it is well laid out. Several play areas for kids too

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 61 reviews from this member

Wow what a great site.

Despite its size it still offers much privacy yet cannot be seen from the Lake !

Great location and great wardens all with superb facilities.

Lots of great walks on your doorstep and Coniston a nice steady flat walk, lovely little village with nice pubs and a few shops.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scek21 7 reviews from this member

This is one of our favourites. A stunning site that is hidden in woods. Toilets spotless, wardens very helpful. The area is great for walking - Old Man, walk down the lake side, or walk into Coniston. We also walked to Tarn Howes which was an all day walk. Nice pubs in Coniston and Torver. Every where is Dog Friendly.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Retep123 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful site in a great location, staff super friendly and very helpful. Toilet blocks absolutely spot on, well heated and kept very very clean at all times. Most of the pitches are of a good size although as it's a site in a natural woodland area most pitches do require levelling blocks to get a good level when setting up. The walk from the bottom of the site in to coniston is a very scenic and easy walk (takes about 30 - 60 mins depending how fast you walk ) perfect to work up a thirst for a pint of good ale and great plate full of tasty food in the black bull. Also close by (by car) is grizedale forest, A great place for walking and bike riding, with plenty to keep the kids happy too searching for all the interesting sculptures etc hidden throughout the forest. The last few miles to the site can be a little tight in places but this is not a real issue if you take it nice and steady. This was our first visit to this site, and we will most certainly be going back again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camogirl- 15 reviews from this member

Fantastic site.

Very well kept with hughe amount of space. As with caravan club sites you can choose your own spot, would imagine that the lower section is more busy in the summer so people can get to the lake, but their is parking down the bottom if required to drive a boat down or to lazy to walk.

Lots of different play areas for the kids with different types of games etc.

Site has club wifi but no 3/4G on o2 mobile.

Short walk (20 minutes ish) into Coniston on a choice of 2 paths, I would choose the lower through Coniston hall.

Good information section with loads of things to do. Lots of walks straight from campsite as well.

Previous     148 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2766 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0977