Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Coniston > Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Park Gate
Coniston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA21 8LA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 240
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 163 Reviews
                9/10 from 163 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  163 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Keith8 1 review from this member

 Lovely site set in woodland with hardstanding pitches easily accessible and plenty of room,

Shower and toilet facilities exceptionally clean fresh.

Water, and waste reasonably close for all pitches and ehu. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lis+Robster 6 reviews from this member

 Too many positives to list ! the help-yourself herb-garden is a nice touch as is the food-outlet & tourist-leaflets.

Short walk down to Coniston lake from the site.

Very helpful staff. Great facilities, clean & well maintained. Tokens for laundry room which came in handy with so much rain.

The walk-back to confirm pitch # & obtain facilities-key was long but great to select own pitch. Sheep wandering about were amusing.

Wish there was an off-lead fenced area for dog exercise.

Definitely would return here 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: M & G On Tour 25 reviews from this member

 Beautiful forest setting over a huge area so the site is very spread out. Little clearings with several pitches dotted about. Due to the environment with many trees, a lot of pitches don't benefit from the sun all day so you need to ask at reception for advice on best pitches to suit yourself. They were very helpful when I asked for suggestions.

It would help if they had a sign with the pitch numbers at the entrance to each clearing as it can be very confusing. And can be quite a walk back to the reception to let them know where you have chosen. However, it's worth this inconvenience as it is a beautiful and scenic area and peaceful.

Very good facilities. Lovely walk down to the lake. There is another private campsite with minimal facilities near the lake (not belonging to Coniston Coppice) so you will have key access to the loos etc to avoid people from the other site coming in to use them.

30 mins walk into Coniston, no path in some places, although you can walk there from the lake area to avoid the road, slightly longer walk but nice.

Lovely village with pubs, shops etc. Bus stop to various places, such as Hawkshead. And bookable steamboat and lake cruise boats at Coniston.

Food truck on site doing different food on certain days such as Pizza, fish and chips. We didn't use it this visit but understand the food is good. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: StephMcL 6 reviews from this member

 Pro's - Beautiful site, didn't feel like a large site with the way the pitches were laid out, felt more like a small, friendly site. Pitches were scattered throughout the forest, allowing pockets of "units" and felt quite sheltered. Facilities were good. Lovely hot showers, well maintained, good lighting, Friendly and helpful staff.

Con's - Nowhere we could let the dogs off lead, even walking into Coniston itself. We thought there would be areas in the forest we could let them off lead, but no.

It's a nuisance having to go back to reception to tell them which pitch we'd chosen when they don't mark up a map of free pitches.

Bit of a hike uphill to reception and Aunt Sally's food van.

Comments - we seen evidence of the WiFi upgrade, which will certainly be a bonus in future as there's no TV signal on the pitches. It would be good if the site advertised the fact they have TV aerials points on the power stand. They will sell a lead at 25, but we have 2 at home that we didn't take with us, so didn't buy another.

The road into the site isn't for the faint hearted. If you have a big unit, be prepared to reverse at some points, or to wait for traffic to move past. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LBBK 56 reviews from this member

 There are ten tent pitches, all with electric hook up, on this site. I believe they are in use early May to late September. This is a heavily wooded site but the tents are in their own little grassy "glade" giving a decent chance of catching the sun.

The ground is rocky: if possible bring a spare groundsheet, rock pegs and a large mallet! If the 4am "dawn chorus" of birdsong is not to your taste then I would also recommend ear plugs.

Cars can be parked by your tent. There is water, waste bins and a small playground in the glade.

The toilet/washing up block is a short walk. You need to remember to take the toilet block key, given to you at check in.

All facilities immaculate.

The tents are at the top of the site: it is probably a half mile walk downhill, and ironically through the neighbouring Coniston Hall camping site, to the actual lakeshore.

We had enough EE 4G mobile phone signal at our tent to keep track of the news/ weather/ basic emails.

We booked in advance online but paid on arrival. Staff friendly and helpful.

No remaining Covid restrictions as far as we could tell.

We would book again.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Peterh 1 review from this member

 Clean well organised site

You need leveling blocks

Nice walk into Coniston with several bars and shops

Short walk to Ship Inn selling fabulous home cooked meals, a good selection of locally brewed ales and dog friendly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Lynne3 2 reviews from this member

 We travelled with two other couples as part of a trip around the lake district and Scotland.

Very helpful staff, lovely site.

Good facilities, beautiful setting.

Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 98 reviews from this member

 Agree entirely with previous review and spookily we also went on pitch 42.

Majority of pitches are amongst the trees so not a lot of sunshine and when it rains it falls off the trees onto your roof with the accompanying noise.

Slight change to wristband system. Bands are now in buckets of Milton. You take a band and hang it on hook, when all hooks are occupied, maximum number of people are inside. When you exit, remove band and drop it back in bucket.

Wardens will stop and chat (at social distance) now.

Road in either direction is narrow in many places and you need to use passing places, we drove a 6m campervan, wouldn't like to tow a caravan on this road. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 50 reviews from this member

 We arrived in the rain to a packed forecourt. The wardens were marshalling the traffic efficiently and with humour. 2people only allowed into Reception at a time-had to wear masks and receptionists were behind screens. We were given a map of the site which luckily we had already seen online.

Staff seem very reluctant to make any recommendations but eventually when pushed directed us to a quiet area of the site-Area A which is the furthest from the lakeside. We chose number 42 and sited our caravan sideways on in order to fit our awning evenly-as has been said before the terrain is very variable.

We really disliked the system of driving around trying to find a pitch then having to return to reception to inform them which one before you can get a key to the facilities block and security fob. Dragging a 7. 4 m van around and around isn't my idea of fun !

One night we saw a lady practically in tears of frustration after the couple had passed us several times in their large motorhome trying to find a suitable pitch. The layout of this site definitely doesn't lend itself to that system. We knew about it before we arrived obviously but still found it stressful.

There are 3 areas-each with a facilities block. Cleaning times are clearly posted on the doors. The blocks are locked at all times but you get 2 keys. Spotless after being cleaned. System of hanging wristbands on hooks outside to indicate how many people inside-works fine until someone takes your wristband ! Best shower in ladies and gents is the one in the general use cubicle with adaptations for less abled. One sink of 3 available in dishwashing room which we used without having to queue

The walk into coniston is on hard core, first through coniston hall campsite then a field with cows and sheep. There were some calves with the cows so they were fairly wary and skittish-no problem walking through the field though. The shoreline path is a bit more uneven and muddy terrain but on our last and only sunny day we took some chairs down and sat lakeside-peace and beauty -bliss.

We can recommend the Herdwick cafe in Coniston and the Blubird Cafe at the boat launching site Not so much the pubs- full of active types - fairly crowded outside and in. Food very basic in the yewdale.

There is no longer a functioning shop on the site you can purchase toilet chemicals and gas by phoning reception, paying over the phone and arranging a time to pick up outside reception-only found that out from a notice in the toilet block. -all the online info makes no mention of this.

Mobile pizza truck outside reception-very handy but not open every night. 20 for 2 12 in pizzas. Thin and crispy delicious. We didn't try the fish and chips

Contact with site staff absolutely minimal. Covid precautions seem to preclude them stopping to chat !

Basic shops in Coniston. Make sure you take any fancy stuff you may require from home.

Glad we've been there, but wouldn't go again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LozzaS5 32 reviews from this member

 Great site in forested location close to lake and town. Hard to believe there are over 200 pitches. Well organised and CAMC have nailed C19 regulations.

Great for walking, boating, biking, pubs and being relaxed

Only downside is noise from rain as most pitches under tree branches

Mobile Vodafone and 02 coverage good. Tv coax connection useful.

Pitches vary hugely but most very pleasant and spacious.

Takeaways available a few nights a week.

Three facilities blocks 


Previous     163 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coniston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55733 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement