Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Coniston > Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Park Gate
Coniston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA21 8LA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 240
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 157 Reviews
                9/10 from 157 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  157 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Lynne3 2 reviews from this member

 We travelled with two other couples as part of a trip around the lake district and Scotland.

Very helpful staff, lovely site.

Good facilities, beautiful setting.

Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 82 reviews from this member

 Agree entirely with previous review and spookily we also went on pitch 42.

Majority of pitches are amongst the trees so not a lot of sunshine and when it rains it falls off the trees onto your roof with the accompanying noise.

Slight change to wristband system. Bands are now in buckets of Milton. You take a band and hang it on hook, when all hooks are occupied, maximum number of people are inside. When you exit, remove band and drop it back in bucket.

Wardens will stop and chat (at social distance) now.

Road in either direction is narrow in many places and you need to use passing places, we drove a 6m campervan, wouldn't like to tow a caravan on this road. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 38 reviews from this member

 We arrived in the rain to a packed forecourt. The wardens were marshalling the traffic efficiently and with humour. 2people only allowed into Reception at a time-had to wear masks and receptionists were behind screens. We were given a map of the site which luckily we had already seen online.

Staff seem very reluctant to make any recommendations but eventually when pushed directed us to a quiet area of the site-Area A which is the furthest from the lakeside. We chose number 42 and sited our caravan sideways on in order to fit our awning evenly-as has been said before the terrain is very variable.

We really disliked the system of driving around trying to find a pitch then having to return to reception to inform them which one before you can get a key to the facilities block and security fob. Dragging a 7. 4 m van around and around isn't my idea of fun !

One night we saw a lady practically in tears of frustration after the couple had passed us several times in their large motorhome trying to find a suitable pitch. The layout of this site definitely doesn't lend itself to that system. We knew about it before we arrived obviously but still found it stressful.

There are 3 areas-each with a facilities block. Cleaning times are clearly posted on the doors. The blocks are locked at all times but you get 2 keys. Spotless after being cleaned. System of hanging wristbands on hooks outside to indicate how many people inside-works fine until someone takes your wristband ! Best shower in ladies and gents is the one in the general use cubicle with adaptations for less abled. One sink of 3 available in dishwashing room which we used without having to queue

The walk into coniston is on hard core, first through coniston hall campsite then a field with cows and sheep. There were some calves with the cows so they were fairly wary and skittish-no problem walking through the field though. The shoreline path is a bit more uneven and muddy terrain but on our last and only sunny day we took some chairs down and sat lakeside-peace and beauty -bliss.

We can recommend the Herdwick cafe in Coniston and the Blubird Cafe at the boat launching site Not so much the pubs- full of active types - fairly crowded outside and in. Food very basic in the yewdale.

There is no longer a functioning shop on the site you can purchase toilet chemicals and gas by phoning reception, paying over the phone and arranging a time to pick up outside reception-only found that out from a notice in the toilet block. -all the online info makes no mention of this.

Mobile pizza truck outside reception-very handy but not open every night. £20 for 2 12 in pizzas. Thin and crispy delicious. We didn't try the fish and chips

Contact with site staff absolutely minimal. Covid precautions seem to preclude them stopping to chat !

Basic shops in Coniston. Make sure you take any fancy stuff you may require from home.

Glad we've been there, but wouldn't go again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LozzaS5 31 reviews from this member

 Great site in forested location close to lake and town. Hard to believe there are over 200 pitches. Well organised and CAMC have nailed C19 regulations.

Great for walking, boating, biking, pubs and being relaxed

Only downside is noise from rain as most pitches under tree branches

Mobile Vodafone and 02 coverage good. Tv coax connection useful.

Pitches vary hugely but most very pleasant and spacious.

Takeaways available a few nights a week.

Three facilities blocks 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 597 reviews from this member

 Excellent site - it was packed full on bank holiday weekend yet facilities were kept immaculate and there was plenty of space on site.

Nice lakeside or farm walk into Coniston.

Great base for the fells or for the lakeside. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: SelinaKyle 1 review from this member

 My husband, 9 year old child and myself have just returned from a two night stay in our tent. This is honestly the best site I have stayed in.

The location is stunning and although itís not a small site it doesnít feel crowded because the pitches are so well laid out.

The facilities are clean and there was always lots of hot water. We found staff member so friendly and welcoming.

We loved it so much here we will be returning for a full week later on in the year 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 32 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site. We have had a great week on this site and would recommend coming here.

The facilities are excellent with lovely heated shower blocks which are clean and a pleasure to use. The wardens are friendly and helpful.

We walked into Coniston several times which was a pleasant walk. From Coniston there are buses to Grasmere and Windermere.

The site is set back from the road and if you go on the pitches nearer to the lack itís very quiet. Thereís a small shop on site selling the basics.

A lovely site for touring the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: UK motorhomer 2 reviews from this member

 Easy to find, idyllic location right alongside Coniston Water.

There are three facility blocks, meaning you are never far from any one of them.

Coniston, a 30 minute walk way, is a charmingly unspoilt village, such a contrast to the busy and greatly over-commercialised Ambleside and Windermere. You really need two or three visits to take it all in. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Neil684 36 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, albeit fairly hilly. Pitches well separated in woodland above Coniston Water. Excellent facilities, very friendly and helpful staff.

Coniston can be reached on foot, either by the old railway line or along the lake shore, a distance of 1-2 miles. The Ship Inn is about halfway along the railway line and does good food and is dog-friendly.

There is a bus service at the site entrance and even more connections in Coniston - useful for us motorhomes who like to leave their van on site and explore by foot and bus.

Coniston Old Man and the surrounding fells are also accessible directly from the site.

For us and our OES Daisy, an almost perfect site which have visited before and will do so in the future. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 621 reviews from this member

 The campsite os fat enough off the road that there was zero road noise. Its one of the most peaceful sites we have stayed at.

Facilities as expected, typical Caravan Club high standards. The three toilet blocks are well spaces but still a fair hike from several parts of the site.

We chose a non awning (blue post) pitch when booking. On arrival we were limited to a choice of 8 pitches - there are very few non awning pitches so if you want a very specific type of pitch, or to be near facilities blocks beware and maybe go for the awning pitches.

We walked into Coniston, lovely off road walk along the paths by the lake, a couple of shops and cafes in the village worth an hours stop. There is a steam gondola running from the village and also the John Ruskin museum to visit. We also walked the other direction to Torver, where again there is an off road path all the way, The Wilson Arms is a great place to stop for a coffee, meal or a drink.

For us this is a great campsite for exploring the area - close to coast and only 20 minutes from Ambleside. There was a pizza van in site one night and we understood a chippy van also visited. To eat out you would need to drive or taxi unless you want to walk on dark paths by the river at this time of year(in summer would be lovely evening walks to pubs along the foopaths).

Would use again for sure. 


Previous     157 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coniston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3582 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder