Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Coniston > Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Park Gate
Coniston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA21 8LA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 240
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 153 Reviews
                9/10 from 153 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  153 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 540 reviews from this member

 Excellent site - it was packed full on bank holiday weekend yet facilities were kept immaculate and there was plenty of space on site.

Nice lakeside or farm walk into Coniston.

Great base for the fells or for the lakeside. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: SelinaKyle 1 review from this member

 My husband, 9 year old child and myself have just returned from a two night stay in our tent. This is honestly the best site I have stayed in.

The location is stunning and although itís not a small site it doesnít feel crowded because the pitches are so well laid out.

The facilities are clean and there was always lots of hot water. We found staff member so friendly and welcoming.

We loved it so much here we will be returning for a full week later on in the year 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 21 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site. We have had a great week on this site and would recommend coming here.

The facilities are excellent with lovely heated shower blocks which are clean and a pleasure to use. The wardens are friendly and helpful.

We walked into Coniston several times which was a pleasant walk. From Coniston there are buses to Grasmere and Windermere.

The site is set back from the road and if you go on the pitches nearer to the lack itís very quiet. Thereís a small shop on site selling the basics.

A lovely site for touring the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: UK motorhomer 2 reviews from this member

 Easy to find, idyllic location right alongside Coniston Water.

There are three facility blocks, meaning you are never far from any one of them.

Coniston, a 30 minute walk way, is a charmingly unspoilt village, such a contrast to the busy and greatly over-commercialised Ambleside and Windermere. You really need two or three visits to take it all in. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Neil684 35 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, albeit fairly hilly. Pitches well separated in woodland above Coniston Water. Excellent facilities, very friendly and helpful staff.

Coniston can be reached on foot, either by the old railway line or along the lake shore, a distance of 1-2 miles. The Ship Inn is about halfway along the railway line and does good food and is dog-friendly.

There is a bus service at the site entrance and even more connections in Coniston - useful for us motorhomes who like to leave their van on site and explore by foot and bus.

Coniston Old Man and the surrounding fells are also accessible directly from the site.

For us and our OES Daisy, an almost perfect site which have visited before and will do so in the future. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 598 reviews from this member

 The campsite os fat enough off the road that there was zero road noise. Its one of the most peaceful sites we have stayed at.

Facilities as expected, typical Caravan Club high standards. The three toilet blocks are well spaces but still a fair hike from several parts of the site.

We chose a non awning (blue post) pitch when booking. On arrival we were limited to a choice of 8 pitches - there are very few non awning pitches so if you want a very specific type of pitch, or to be near facilities blocks beware and maybe go for the awning pitches.

We walked into Coniston, lovely off road walk along the paths by the lake, a couple of shops and cafes in the village worth an hours stop. There is a steam gondola running from the village and also the John Ruskin museum to visit. We also walked the other direction to Torver, where again there is an off road path all the way, The Wilson Arms is a great place to stop for a coffee, meal or a drink.

For us this is a great campsite for exploring the area - close to coast and only 20 minutes from Ambleside. There was a pizza van in site one night and we understood a chippy van also visited. To eat out you would need to drive or taxi unless you want to walk on dark paths by the river at this time of year(in summer would be lovely evening walks to pubs along the foopaths).

Would use again for sure. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steveb50 10 reviews from this member

 A quiet peaceful campsite close to Coniston water.

Suitable for families or couples this quiet campsite is set in the forest on the hillside going down to the lake. There are some quite steep hills so pick your pitch carefully if youíre not keen on walking uphill to the toilet block or to refill the water.

Friendly welcome this being our first time on a caravan and motorhome club site, we were told to drive around and pick a pitch then let them know which one we had gone for and get the toilet key and barrier pass. This seemed a good idea but it generated arguments in the car as we dragged the caravan around the narrow roads trying to find a spot that suited everyoneís needs.

I liked the way the pitches were set in small individual areas, no rows and rows of caravans in straight lines which meant you werenít looking in other peoples windows.

Toilet block were plentiful and very clean. And amazingly the first site Iíve stayed on where the showers actually stay on until you turn the, off. No fumbling about for wall mounted buttons through shampoo covered eyes to start the shower again! Amazing.

You can cycle or walk to Coniston Village across a footpath avoiding the narrow road.

Highly recommended.

16A EHU and a plug for TV signal pickup on the EHU bollard so bring a lead to connect the TV.

Small young childrenís playground down the bottom of the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Paddy61 4 reviews from this member

 Very, very nice site. Set in Woodland within a stone's throw of Coniston lake. You can walk from the site on a path over to Coniston village or in the opposite direction by the lake to Trover. We took a boat trip from the marina near Coniston which was fabulous.

The showers/toilets are very clean and well maintained. Plenty of fresh water, bins and chemical waste points within easy reach. Also TV aerial plug ins on the EHU points so take your extended white cable for excellent reception.

4G for interweb no problem.

We didn't use are chocks but a lot of people needed them. We could choose our own pitch which was nice. Keep up the good work folks! 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Climbergirl 14 reviews from this member

 This was my first time staying on a C&MH club site and I was really impressed. The site was well laid out with generous pitches. Due to the woodland you felt quite secluded.

The little shop on site had a good selection of bits that you might need and the toilets were always clean. We were there the week before Easter and the site was quiet so some of the showers were closed. It would have been nice to have them all open.

From the site you can walk directly onto the banks of Coniston Water and there is a lovely walk into the village. A great site for exploring the southern lakes.

The access roads to Coniston are narrow and if you have a big caravan or Motorhome you will want to be a confident driver preferably not at peak season 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HappyHippie 8 reviews from this member

 This is a big site with all the usual Caravan and Motorhome standards. Each pitch is hardstanding and a good size, I suggest you bring Rock pegs if you intend using an awning. Leveling ramps are a must for most pitches.

This is a good site for wildlife, lots of bird song and a cheeky little squirrel came to check out the bird feeder someone had brought along with them in the next pitch. There is forest work going on around the site so chainsaws can be heard through out the day. This will continue until mid June

A short walk to Coniston where you'll find shops and cafes which all seem to be dog friendly. Head off in the other direction for a nice walk along the lake side where you can let dogs off lead for a splodge about in the water. 


Previous     153 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Coniston Park Coppice Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coniston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4274 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020