Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ruda Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Croyde > Ruda Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Ruda Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Croyde Bay
Croyde
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX33 1NY
Tel: 0844 335 3548
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 593
Open: 15/02/2021 to 11/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 86 Reviews
                7/10 from 86 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Pickled Onion 7 reviews from this member

 We have been going to Ruda in Croyde bay for approximately 35 years. Firstly in a frame tent when the family were small, then a trailer tent, a folding camper, and until recently in one of their static caravans. This year as we weren't going to France we decided to take our touring van down there. I had a little trepidation regarding the narrow cliff road overlooking Saunton Sands and then getting through Croyde village to Moor Lane but as we seemed to hit a quiet time on arrival, all went without incident.

We were given pitch 89 which was pretty huge and grassy with fresh water and drain close bye. It was lightly sloping towards the dunes with a soft grassy pitch with holes and rutts from previous occupants' attempts to get off the pitch as the surface was soft due to rain and no drainage. 16 amp electrics completed the offering. None of the pitches are 'hard standing' or 'Super' pitches with grey water drainage.

The toilet block entry doors were wedged open with a lump of concrete as the coded locks can't be used with Covid-19. There are signs stating haw many people can be in the toilet (6) area of Showers (10) at any one time but no enforcement of these unlike the CMC or C&CC, which use a strict pass system. Copious use of striped tape was used on both the central wash hand basins as well as the urinals, (CMC & C&CC don't allow the use of urinals due to water particle contamination), no instructions regarding the tape, you had to work out it was for separation for yourself. All toilet cubicles were in use, no separation at all there, one toilet cubical had no lock all week and no attempt had been made to rectify it.

The showers only had a couple of hooks to hang your clothes on, no seat or shelf. It didn'r really matter, the force of the water meant the spray hit the door and wet your kit, in fact there was way too much water pressure at the basins as well, it almost came out on the floor. The water was a good temperature.

The site in general has looked like it is tired, kinda rundown and needs a great deal of money spent on it to return it to it's former glory. The pool needs a paint and tidy up, All the toilet areas need knocking down and starting again. This is not a cheap site and must make some money for Parkdean but from the beach to the 'Entertainment' it all needs to be revamped. It is living on former glory and the fabulous surroundings to keep people comming. With the rise in motorhome customers, it needs an area specifically for them to load fresh water and unload grey and black water.

If you are a fisherman, don't bother, the pools have been neglected like the rest of it and have weeded over.

In summary, it looks like any profits made are not being reinvested in this camp site. Covid-19 security is hit & miss, it is given lip-service unlike places like 'the Thatch' in the village which does it properly. I write this with sadness as I rememer it in the days when Harry Shapland and family-run it properly. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Angelwings353 1 review from this member

 I was really disappointed with Ruda holiday park it was very expensive campsite for a tent and this is what we thought. The shops price were really expensive Which meant we had to travel to find a Tesco.

The toilets were really dirty and never looked clean Which you ended up cleaning the floor before you had your shower. Always running out of toilet paper not enough hand wash only one by the first sink.

Chip shop wasnít that great the fish looked over cooked and didnít taste that great. And on a night time there is a lots of noise with music and other people not taking in to consideration of people or children trying to sleep. The good part is and there is one is the beach itís very close and a beautiful place to go.

So if you donít mind lots of noise until 11. 30pm at night And crappy toilets and expensive shop this is the place for you 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Alex0076 3 reviews from this member

 A really friendly reception and a seamless check in process. The pitches are level, well marked and large enough for the biggest units plus awning plus pup tents. The facilities were always clean and well lit. The site literally opens up onto the beach and dunes. Club, shop and Fish & Chip shop all reasonable. A must is a visit to the Thatch Pub in Croyde (only a 10 min walk along a footpath out the back of the site). 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ballycfc 5 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location for an active beach holiday. Surfing, bodyboarding, coastal walks. We had a generous sized plot (approx. 15m x 10) with electric hook up. Superb view over Croyde Bay from our pitch. Bar/ Restaurant providing food of pub quality, not the usual microwave meals most big sites serve. Entertainment there if you want it, but not rammed down your throat. On site shop providing most that you need including fresh bread from their bakery. Swimming complex charging £1. 50 per person for an hour for residents, also available to non residents at a higher price. On site surf gear shop providing sales and hire. Two toilet blocks serving the camping site busy at times but if you timed it well you were fine. Cold water shower to clean down your beach gear.

Met all our needs and we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MGL262 9 reviews from this member

 I've been a regular visitor to Ruda for years. I have to say guys, you are letting things slip. I remember only a few years ago, Ruda was a premium campsite but now there is many examples of costs being cut.

We booked an EHU camping pitch for 4 nights in July. At first we were directed to a non EHU pitch but when I questioned this we were reallocated another pitch.

The toilets and showers were 'ok' nothing special, just basic facilities. We didn't use the pool but it looked popular by the large queues that formed outside. The site shop sold lovely fresh baked goods at a reasonable price, but the rest was quite expensive.

There was a nice atmosphere in the clubhouse/bar, but the service was soooooo slow. This was due to the lack of staff, at one point there was a queue out of the door! We liked to sit outside in the decking but it was quicker to buy drinks from the nightclub bar and bring them back. The food was 'ok' but again quite expensive so we chose to walk 10 mins into the village and use the pubs there most nights.

All the staff at Ruda were great though, whoever you spoke to, did everything they could for you, from the bar staff to the toilet cleaners. So 'GOLD' star for the staff, if only there was a few more of them!

One final comment. My 4 nights on an EHU camping pitch this year was £176, there was a £25 discount if I booked a holiday next year before I left so I spoke to reception about it and (including the discount) for 4 night the same week as this year, they wanted £210. I thought £52. 50 per night was very expensive - I didn't book, but will be looking at other sites in Croyde. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattyboy1 8 reviews from this member

 If you're after a more commercial campsite which is more or less right on the beach this is the campsite for you. I went during term time so was quite quiet however I can imagine during the school holidays it gets very busy. Lots of facilities on site including swimming pool, shop, takeaway, bar/restaurant and kids arcades. It has lovely views over Croyde Bay and with being so close to the beach perfect for the kids. Plenty of toilets, showers and washing up facilities which were very clean. Only downside is apart from the beach there isn't much to do around Croyde so you have to drive for quite a while to get to anywhere else. Overall though pretty good, I would go again. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spoon1982 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks stay at Ruda. I will start with the positives: The pitches (for caravans)are a reasonable size and have good access to water and electric hook up and the shower and toilet blocks are exceptionally clean. The site has excellent access to the beach but it is worth noting that the touring section of the site is directly opposite the public car park for the beach and is across the road from the main section of the Parkdean site.

Now the negatives: Access to the site is through small villages and small tracks. The pitches are muddy and water-log easily in even the slightest rain. It is worth noting that this site is very windy! We were not aware of this before arriving but speaking to a couple of regulars they advised that this is generally the case. Unfortunately the week that we stayed we experienced gale force winds (up to 80mph gusts!) and neighboring vans had their awnings ripped up by the wind :( I would suggest no awning or good storm straps and pegs!

Overall we were very disappointed with this site - we have stayed at other Parkdean sites so felt comfortable booking for Ruda. The site is very small and very quiet! We went in the Easter holidays and expected the site to be full of people - there were only 5 caravans pitched! The staff were not at all helpful and the entertainment was exceptionally poor - not what was advertised and with the entertainment crew making things up as they went along (including playing backing tracks from a crew members phone and asking the audience how to do a particular dance as they didn't know!) The amenities on site are small and there isn't much to do nearby - most attractions/days out are at least a 45 minute car journey away. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bradbttl 1 review from this member

 This is an excellent site. Decent pitches, although could be a tiny bit bigger. The on site toilet block is well kept. Excellent pond and play area. Amazing privately owned beach. Good bar and restaurant. Overall fantastic site. Would definitely recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PercyVolvo 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site. It was very busy, as you might expect in August. However, it was quiet and everybody was really friendly. The staff in reception are mixed, some are welcoming but one particular member of the reception team was rude, lacked customer service skills and seemed to not know what her job was. I suspect she was a manager!.

The pool was extremely busy and we would like to see an adults only pool area or at least a second pool. Having to pay for the privilege of the overcrowded pool was not really worth the money and we did not go again. A shame when you consider how much we paid for this site - the most expensive by far that we have ever been on. The toilets were messy and I do despair of the toilet habits of some of my fellow campers. Hope that they do not treat their own toilets like this. However, the pitches were clean and tidy and the food in the restaurant was okay, probably average priced. A note to Parkdean, please do not feel the need to blare out rap 'tunes' all day and night. Surely some gentle background music will suffice.

Honest opinion, we will return but that is only because of the direct and brilliant access to the beach. Wake up Ruda, if you did not have the beach feet from the resort, you would lose trade. We certainly would give this site a miss if there was another with equally good access to the beach. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sled40 2 reviews from this member

 We had a great time here with our 4 children aged 3 to 8. The facilities were great, always kept clean, the staff on the site were pleasant and helpful and the entertainment was great. Our children loved the kids entertainment in the evening. The position of the site is brilliant, right next to the beach and we were lucky enough to have sunshine every day. Would not hesitate to recommend this site and will be back very soon. The only improvements I can think of would be a children's bathroom to make bathing them easier and maybe an outdoor pool? 


Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ruda Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Ruda Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ruda Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ruda Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Croyde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3496 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement