Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Coniston Hall Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Coniston Hall Camping Site
Haws Bank
(lake District)
Coniston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA21 8AS
Tel: 01539 441223
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 164 Reviews
                7/10 from 164 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  164 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 14Lesley 1 review from this member

Just returned from 4 nights at this beautiful campsite with my husband and two teenage daughters. Arrived on Monday early pm so pretty quiet and able to choose a nice area to pitch our 6 berth tent. The field is not flat all over but this adds to the character of the site. The views from the campsite are amazing and there is a short walk to the lake which is lovely (very lucky to have lots of sun). The toilet block is very basic (but clean)- no soap and nothing to dry your hands with. Only 3 sockets which caused a bit of a queue when wanting to dry your hair as some used them to charge their phones. The on site shop will charge up your phone for 50p and it is open from 8am til 8pm. It sells basic bits and you can ask them to freeze your freezer blocks at a charge of 10p each (most sites these days have a couple of freezers for you to help yourself). Just a 15 - 20min walk to the lovely village of Coniston where there are a few shops to buy your basics and the Premier has a butchers tucked at the back which sells beautiful sausages, amongst other things. There are also 3 pubs in the village which were nice to sit outside and relax on a hot summers day after a long walk. There is a pub called the Ship Inn just a 10 min walk from the campsite where we had an evening meal. Although there is a sign at the entrance to the campsite saying 'no fires', there were plenty being lit during the evening which was great for us. This seems to be a 'no rule' campsite with a large group of 20 somethings enjoying themselves well after 11pm (but they weren't overly noisy). Would we camp here again? Absolutely 'YES'. I can honestly say that this is one of the best campsites we have been to in the Lakes.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Amber86 12 reviews from this member

We had a quick overnighter midweek on this site. There are brilliant views from the site, over Coniston Lake, & a path leads from the site to the nearby Coniston village, or in the other direction, around the lake itself. There is a small shop in the magnificent Colston Hall itself, selling some basics. Midweek, there was plenty of space, but I can imagine this is a popular site with water lovers at peak times, & space/noise could be a nightmare. Watching the farmers separate sheep & cattle & herd them into a different field using their dogs was great early morning entertainment.

Small downsides to this site is that there is only one massive toilet block, so it can be a fair walk from some of the pitches. They are basic, & a bit rough round the edges. No EHU available, so camping back to basic, but at the weekend there is a burger van up by the toilets offering hot food & drinks. Personally, I probably would return, but not at peak times.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: APMoore 1 review from this member

Fantastic first camping experience. Site was clean and well maintained. Toilet block in the centre of the site. Not far to amenities. Surrounding areas where simply excellent. Returning in a couple of days time.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trishnandyuk 1 review from this member

We've been coming here for last 30 years. It's an excellent campsite. It's right on Coniston water which is brilliant for us as we use our canoes here.

The facilities are clean.

It's not too strict and lots of groups have lots of fun. It can be a bit rowdy, but we've never had any problems. It's a 20 min walk into the village where there are a few pubs.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Siandali 5 reviews from this member

Great site for Walking/watersport/cycling, pitch at the far end and your a stones throw from the water. Farmer and family are friendly and helpful. Theres plenty of room but it fills up fast at weekends ect, so get there early for the best pitches. The shop on site opens 8am/8pm and has all the bits you forgot. Coniston village is a 10min walk away down a stone track across the fields. Showers/toilets were ok and clean and the mobile cafe serves bacon egg sausage tea and coffee ect. It was a busy site when we were there but we enjoyed it and will be going back again this year.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Superbadger 8 reviews from this member

Saw a sign for this during my cycling tour of the lakes and decided to stay. It's a full working farm, sheep everywhere so watch out where you tread etc! haha. The hosts are lovely, met the farmer, his wife and daughter; very friendly and helpful.

Well stocked shop with good hours (8am-8pm), camping field about 400 yards away from shop/reception which is fine. The camping field is massive, it's more like a huge common actually. Access to the lake via a few paths, with a huge log and large boulders to sit on while you take in the scenery of the lake. Toilet/shower block on site just a short walk away. Showers are 50p but last a good 6-7mins, wait for it to warm up but once it has temp was perfect.

Saw farmers daughter trying to herd sheep which was entertainment in itself. Oh and they charge your mobiles etc at a cost of 50p! which was great. Coniston a short walk away up a long driveway so you are near enough to visit pubs, boats, old man of coniston. Loved it so much I made a detour to stay again on way home!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Taffymotorhome 28 reviews from this member

We found this site by chance, just driving past and saw a sign. What a great 'rural ' site, plenty of space, looking one way you had the mountains, then the other way, the lakes. What more could you ask for. Didn't use the toilet block as it was to far away, .

It was a friday we were there, and by 21. 00hrs, loads of canoeists had arrived, but in the morning to our surprise, dozen more had turned up and pitched tents in the middle of the night. With no regard to the '18 foot distance rule'. Glad we were there for one night and not the whole weekend. But I can see why it is a very very popular site for the outdoor type. Having said all of this, if we were back up the lakes, we would definitely stop over for a night or two, but only midweek.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alicemaylara 7 reviews from this member

Like others have mentioned. This site can get VERY busy with young children/young adults at weekends or school holidays which can spoil the otherwise quiet surroundings. This said if you stay not in peak and choose your pitch wisely it's a great site. Lovely Lakeland walk to Coniston. Pitches run parallel to the lake and there's loads of chose of where you can pitch.

Reasonably priced but disappointed that hot water is extra.

Tiny shop on site with milk, chocos, sandwiches and other handy things but with Coniston only a few mins walk with ESSO garage and spar it's not needed

Would definitely stay again if visiting Coniston.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

Note firstly that the HUGE tent field does NOT run along the shoreline. You are separated by a long strip of field with trees and shrubs almost completely obscuring the lake in summer. The minimum distance to the lake is about thirty metres. However, plenty of tracks allow access for walking or launching small boats.

Trees almost completely surround the field, so views outside of the field of hills are limited too.

That being said, since the field is vast, with some trees within it to provide shade, we did enjoy this site.

We stayed on the last Monday in June, and found lots of other campers there, but no idiots. We settled down to watching other campers rather than enjoying being at one with nature. Lots of teenagers were setting off or coming back from walking trips with their 'backpacking' backpacks on. Others were being taught how to ride a bicycle or were playing football.

The toilet block seemed adequate, if a long way away, with hot and cold water, but no soap in the gents.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Very camp 6 reviews from this member

We have been coming to this camp-site for many, many years on and off, and it has never disappointed.

The location is great, being along the shores of the lake, and it has the fantastic backdrop of the Coniston Old Man fells behind it.

Being away from any roads, there is no noise, other than the usual sounds of the campsite itself. And nature!

The facilities, ie toilet block and shop are quite adequate.

Coniston village is a 15 minute walk away, with all the usual shops, pubs, etc.

Previous     164 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth 109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2830 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938