Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Coniston Hall Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Coniston > Coniston Hall Camping Site > Reviews

Coniston Hall Camping Site
Haws Bank
(lake District)
Coniston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA21 8AS
Tel: 01539 441223
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 170 Reviews
                7/10 from 170 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  170 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brumfield70 3 reviews from this member

 Jam packed, like sardines, no consideration for other campers

Lots of people breaking the Rules:

No Noise after 11..... No-one enforced this so noisy till 3am, Adults drinking, music pelting out.

Dogs on Leads at all times..... dogs running everywhere off lead, no good for nervous dogs

No open fires..... Campsite full of open fires till all hours

It was mainly full of groups whose kids were better behaved and quieter than the adults !

Packed up after 1st night, couldn't stand a moment longer despite the perfect Launching location

If you like this atmosphere then its perfect for you. If you prefer quieter then maybe not for you

Saying that, it did not apply to everyone as there were others who were respectful and stuck to the rules

Don't get me wrong the location is spot on to launch from 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Styve100 18 reviews from this member

 I stayed for the amazing weather week July 21.

Cycling and kayaking.

First off, I have read reviews and was skeptical at staying.

Before I get into the detail. I had an amazing week, mainly because of what I was doing and the weather.

I cycled round coniston every morning and kayaked and swam all day.

The toilet block was surprisingly clean given its load whilst I was there, but toilet seats needed repairing.

Shower rooms have only one peg, so limited for stuff. 50p a shower but quite long.

It’s literally right next to the lake, has its own footpath to coniston and not far from fish n chips and a pub.

You can camp where you like.

So they are the good bits.

Here are the facts;

The food shack near the showers is expensive, £5 for a bacon roll, £9 for a pizza.

You cannot book. I don't know if they track numbers, but there will be a maximum they probably go to, once achieved you wont get in, its a bit like shell island.

You pay cash, you pay £20 for the key card, it used to be £5 but people just didn't return them and stayed until after 12.

If you leave up to 12 the day of departure you get your £20 back.

If you pay £5 you can leave up to 8pm on the day of departure and get £20 back.

If you leave after 12 and didn't pay the £5 you don't get your £20 back.

Younger people tend to go here to do things they wont get away with on other sites, or don't want to be a member of a club.

But people of all ages go, its pot luck where you end up next to, but people come and go. I had good neighbourly campers.

People also that are first time campers.

People also who have little regard or respect for others.

Groups of people go for parties and raves, drinking etc.

There seems to be no policing on the site, so speed limits, fires etc, people do what they like.

When I left, I advised them that they should instal speed ramps.

I saw cars driven by youths thinking they were impressing others and on the open road.

Someones kid one day will wander across the tarmac from behind a tent or vehicle and be hit.

There was even a guy with a trial bike who used it to go to the toilet block, he was camping at the end of one ramp to the showers and used it to ride to the other ramp. He thought he looked cool revving it and popping wheelies.

Its just not the place to do this?

There is no distance control between tents and other units, but it you’ve just got back to your tent and someone has set up with guy lines crossing there is not much you can do.

These are the new campers who just don't care and its the only time they might camp in a year.

Someone left a used nappy by the Elsa toilet point, seriously what rock do these people appear from under?

This is typical of some of the people who end up at such a camp site.

My week was good though and I was surrounded by friendly respectful people, until Thursday, a lot changed over and the youths moved in, mainly from Merseyside.

There was a party on the beach so rave music until 3 in the morning, then the nearby tent to me with respectable cars had 2 couples in who decided it was ok to talk at normal volume from 4 in the morning and listening to the women with scouse accents talking about ‘their’ Cameron not being allowed to stay at mums is not what I want to hear!

Also the two guys behind me seemed to sit in a gazebo all day, which are not allowed, swearing every other word, all day, then after their open fire at night which got a bit out of control, not allowed, they slept in their cars, doors opening and shutting….

So, there are some good and bad points.

There are a lot of people go here that just don't fit into the Lake District or camping, but they go because they can, other sites would not tolerate them.

If you go, you have to go with this in mind and choose your location carefully, I think the best places are just as you go in where there is less space and campers form a row because its not as wide there, once you get into the main area, its a huge space and people can pitch anywhere.

I guess also during the week out of school hols would be ok. But if you are used to clubs sites and a bit of peace and quite avoid the weekends. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Hillhopper 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site but spoiled especially at weekends by large groups drinking, load music till early hours, like 4am. Rules state no noise after 11pm but it's not enforced.

It was really crowded which is a concern during pandemic. Owners want your money but don't do anything to deal with anti-social behaviour which is a concern as a lot of families with young children use the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Prospector16 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site which I have been going to for many years. Sadly I will not go again.

The last two visits have been spoiled by loud music and rowdy behaviour. On our last visit this started in the afternoon, and continued until after midnight. I was told at camp reception that nothing could be done because it was a family causing the problem!

It is sad to see the reputation of this site suffer as word gets around. Everyone on the site was speaking about it! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: BigtallKath 10 reviews from this member

 I have very mixed feelings about this site. The location is amazing, right on the shores of Lake Coniston so lots of opportunities for swimming, kayaking and hiking. The village is about a 20 minute walk along a footpath.

There are no set pitches; it's a case of find a space and pitch up. Payment is due on arrival and is cash only. The one large wash block was very basic but clean; not sure the facilities justify £10 per adult per night.

My big problem with this site was the other campers, especially at the weekend when it got very busy and there were lots of large groups with blaring music who were talking really loudly until 1 or 2 in the morning. I've never been on such a loud site aside from when I've been at a music festival. There seemed to be no expectation of usual camping etiquette of quiet after 11pm and no one around to encourage the party people to let others sleep.

To be fair to the owners, they were quick to respond the next day - they asked a particularly noisy and sweary group to leave. They also dealt with a wasps' nest in the washblock very quickly.

I think we would come back, but I'd choose my pitch carefully and I'd bring earplugs! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 14Lesley 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 4 nights at this beautiful campsite with my husband and two teenage daughters. Arrived on Monday early pm so pretty quiet and able to choose a nice area to pitch our 6 berth tent. The field is not flat all over but this adds to the character of the site.

The views from the campsite are amazing and there is a short walk to the lake which is lovely (very lucky to have lots of sun). The toilet block is very basic (but clean)- no soap and nothing to dry your hands with. Only 3 sockets which caused a bit of a queue when wanting to dry your hair as some used them to charge their phones.

The on site shop will charge up your phone for 50p and it is open from 8am til 8pm. It sells basic bits and you can ask them to freeze your freezer blocks at a charge of 10p each (most sites these days have a couple of freezers for you to help yourself).

Just a 15 - 20min walk to the lovely village of Coniston where there are a few shops to buy your basics and the Premier has a butchers tucked at the back which sells beautiful sausages, amongst other things. There are also 3 pubs in the village which were nice to sit outside and relax on a hot summers day after a long walk. There is a pub called the Ship Inn just a 10 min walk from the campsite where we had an evening meal.

Although there is a sign at the entrance to the campsite saying 'no fires', there were plenty being lit during the evening which was great for us. This seems to be a 'no rule' campsite with a large group of 20 somethings enjoying themselves well after 11pm (but they weren't overly noisy).

Would we camp here again? Absolutely 'YES'. I can honestly say that this is one of the best campsites we have been to in the Lakes. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Amber86 12 reviews from this member

 We had a quick overnighter midweek on this site. There are brilliant views from the site, over Coniston Lake, & a path leads from the site to the nearby Coniston village, or in the other direction, around the lake itself. There is a small shop in the magnificent Colston Hall itself, selling some basics.

Midweek, there was plenty of space, but I can imagine this is a popular site with water lovers at peak times, & space/noise could be a nightmare. Watching the farmers separate sheep & cattle & herd them into a different field using their dogs was great early morning entertainment.

Small downsides to this site is that there is only one massive toilet block, so it can be a fair walk from some of the pitches. They are basic, & a bit rough round the edges. No EHU available, so camping back to basic, but at the weekend there is a burger van up by the toilets offering hot food & drinks. Personally, I probably would return, but not at peak times. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: APMoore 1 review from this member

 Fantastic first camping experience. Site was clean and well maintained. Toilet block in the centre of the site.

Not far to amenities. Surrounding areas where simply excellent. Returning in a couple of days time. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trishnandyuk 1 review from this member

 We've been coming here for last 30 years. It's an excellent campsite. It's right on Coniston water which is brilliant for us as we use our canoes here.

The facilities are clean.

It's not too strict and lots of groups have lots of fun. It can be a bit rowdy, but we've never had any problems. It's a 20 min walk into the village where there are a few pubs. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Siandali 5 reviews from this member

 Great site for Walking/watersport/cycling, pitch at the far end and your a stones throw from the water. Farmer and family are friendly and helpful. Theres plenty of room but it fills up fast at weekends ect, so get there early for the best pitches.

The shop on site opens 8am/8pm and has all the bits you forgot. Coniston village is a 10min walk away down a stone track across the fields. Showers/toilets were ok and clean and the mobile cafe serves bacon egg sausage tea and coffee ect.

It was a busy site when we were there but we enjoyed it and will be going back again this year. 


Previous     170 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Coniston Hall Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Coniston Hall Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Coniston Hall Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coniston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3702 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement