Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oxwich Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Swansea > Oxwich Camping Park Reviews

Oxwich Camping Park
Oxwich,
Gower,
Swansea
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
SA3 1LS
Tel: 07926 166096
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 77 Reviews
                9/10 from 77 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Joeggonabutty 1 review from this member

 Owners couldn’t do enough for you. Charging facilities and ice block hire. Great pitch. Basic pool but kids (teenagers) loved it.

Brilliant sun bathing terrace by the pool. Walk to water sports, beach, hotel/restaurant, chippy, ice creams, shop.

Drive to endless beaches with views.

Highly recommend it and will definitely be going back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bede 4 reviews from this member

 I'm more than happy for Oxwich to remain our little secret but it's far too lovely not to review it. This was our third year there and, despite not having been for three years, I'm not sure much has changed.

You still need to take your own loo roll and towel; you still need 20p for the washing up and for the showers (7 minutes and as hot as you like). Dave and Carol and the team are still as helpful and yet unobtrusive as they were (though Carol careering across the site in her golf buggy to admonish or help campers is still a site to behold. )

The pool is still a bit cold but a great treat if only they'd allow it to stay open a bit longer.

The shop in the village stocks the essentials (including gas and ice cream) and Knelston garage has everything else.

Slade beach/The Sands is well worth the effort.

The top fields are still louder and busier and the bottom field is still hillier and quieter.

For babies, you can still bathe them in the big sinks in the laundry room (dryers only) but you can now leave your phones to charge in reception on the extension cables.

At £20 a night, it's still utterly fantastic. The only thing that would improve it is if they offered food and waste recycling. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: A May 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite, always feels calm and not too busy. Staff are very friendly and welcoming.

Stunning views from the top part of the campsite. Pool is very good for the children. Also, areas to explore in the trees.

Excellent value for money 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Klmx 4 reviews from this member

 We only stayed for one night but what a lovely site. It was fairly windy so the owner pointed out a nice sheltered spot, perfect for early May.

The site is really well kept with nice facilities and the owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful. A nice little walk into the village and beach.

Oxwich is great for families, lots of variety for walks and a fantastic beach. Will be going back soon! 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paddyandchris 10 reviews from this member

 We were surprised to be the only visitors at this site for the three days we stayed. Lovely site, friendly and helpful staff. The ground had no surprising stones to hinder tent-pegs. All of the site seemed to be sloping (good for drainage).

Our constant companions were pheasants, magpies and a woodpecker! Toilet blocks were clean with plenty of hot water, but as other visitors have said, would benefit from hand driers & loo rolls!

Situated on the Gower, there are plenty of attractions nearby. The Gower Heritage Centre is definitely a must, especially for children. This is only a short drive away from the site.

We weren't impressed with the nearby bay-side hotel, which was expensive, littered and had no 'pub' type atmosphere. NOT a fault of the site. If we were to return to the Gower, we would definitely book this site again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alfachick53 1 review from this member

 This campsite is in a lovely location and we arrived during a particularly wet spell, so the ground was waterlogged. The management did their best to help us find a better drained pitch. This is the first campsite I have visited in the UK with no toilet paper or hand dryers provided. We were not told this on booking or arrival ( we did just turn up, no prior booking). Facilities were spotlessly clean. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cleggi 1 review from this member

 Beautiful area of Wales, modest local shop, charming Elizabethan castle a short walk away from campsite as is the glorious Oxwich beach, rich with shells, sand dunes and marshland to explore.

Facilities are okay-ish. Take toilet rolls for facilities and 20p for 7. 5 min showers (which are warm but weak during high usage times), 20p also for hot washing up water (comes through after 5 mins wait)and for clothes drier. Clothes drier is okay for modest amount of items. Level pitches few and far between, expect a gradient. No electricity hook up. Tight access for large vehicles. Fun little pool. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SereniaM 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site spread across 3 fields. Family focused with very friendly staff. Shower facilities always clean, and reasonable 6 minute shower for 20p. The shop is approximately half a mile away, although we were under the impression it was on site. The local beach was great, but slightly further afield is Rhossili Beach (and Worms Head) which is amazing and a must see (with pub, good food great views!). Beware the climb down to the beach as it is very steep.

We found the campsite to be in a lovely spot, and residents followed requests for quiet after 11pm.

This site could benefit from freshening up the pool area and dish washing area, but I'm being picky in order to present both sides! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Loopyspice 1 review from this member

 Facilities all as described by other reviewers, mostly clean, 20p for 7 minute shower - prevents queuing quite well, 40p to hire ice blocks - there is no facility to freeze your own, 20p for hot water at pot wash.

Sadly, unless you are prepared to spend your day guarding your pitch, when it gets busy every time you come back either the new neighbours will have pinched your parking, or the tents across from you will have made access to the toilets a minefield of guyropes with no way through which isn't great if you're bursting. This place would benefit greatly by marking out some of the pitches. The staff are very friendly but presumably they are also at least partly to blame for our pitch being invaded. We booked for two weeks and ended up wishing we could leave after 6 days!

Pool is always heaving, and bring your own toilet roll!

As more happened to upset us we spoke to the and she was wonderful. The situation was resolved immediately! I have had to adjust the stars awarded.

I would like to add though that the location is beautiful and only marked down due to the access roads being so narrow. There are obvious good and bad points to this.

Everything else has to be compared to Gwithian Farm in Cornwall and while the people are lovely and everything is good, they aren't quite at their standard due to the pitches not being marked out and no 'on-field' road or pathways so I imagine the going would be very difficult in poor weather.

As more happened to upset us we spoke to the owner and she was wonderful. The situation was resolved immediately! I have had to adjust the stars awarded.

I would like to add though that the location is beautiful and only marked down due to the access roads being so narrow. There are obvious good and bad points to this.

Everything else has to be compared to Gwithian Farm in Cornwall and while the people are lovely and everything is good, they aren't quite at their standard due to the pitches not being marked out and no 'on-field' road or pathways so I imagine the going would be very difficult in poor weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The coldys 3 reviews from this member

 Originally booked as brother was having his wedding at a nearby hotel and this was the cheaper alternative to staying at the hotel. How pleasantly surprised where we as a family. We had a swimming pool, very clean toilets, fabulous views overlooking oxwich bay, (sunrise was amazing) not too far to the shop for all your essentials, utility room with sockets to charge phone. IPads etc, 20pence for 7minutes shower, again spotlessly clean, 20p for hot water at pot wash but never needed to put any money in as there always seemed to be hot water. Children loved it here. Don't forget loo roll as not provided. Beach shop, beach, cafe, and oxwich bay hotel with outdoor dining and seating all within walking distance,

Driving distance within 10 minutes we ate at both the King Arthur hotel/restaurant (fab steak). Also ate at the gower inn pub. Was very nice only went as showing sky sports but ended up having a meal.

All in all a very clean looked after site, carol and the other 2 staff work considerably hard to ensure all guest have a good sized pitch will definitely be returning in the future 


Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Oxwich Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Oxwich Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oxwich Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Oxwich Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swansea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2030 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement