Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Stanton Lakes Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Leicester > Stanton Lakes Touring Caravan Site Reviews

Stanton Lakes Touring Caravan Site
Broughton Road
Stoney Stanton
Leicester
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE9 4JA
Tel: 01455 283043
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 17
Open: 15/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Patric 1 review from this member

 Very nice site by the lakes lots of walks if you are able.

The toilets and showers were unavailable due to Covid-19. Bar and restaurant on site.

Had a relaxing stay 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wendyg 2 reviews from this member

 Return visit, lovely site with great views.

A very relaxing long weekend. The bar is a bonus with lots of choice of drinks and friendly staff.

Hope to return soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gkmero 1 review from this member

 Beautiful peaceful site overlooking lake. Excellent shower block and a warm welcome.

Bar & restaurant on site with helpful & friendly staff.

Opportunity to join open water swimming sessions twice weekly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fatboy34 4 reviews from this member

 Met by owner on arrival, a warm welcome. the site is clean and well run. Close to Leicester but really quiet

The restaurant and bar are fantastic, the food is beautiful and great value.

We will be coming back soon. We didn't use the toilet block although it looked ok, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wendyg 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, excellent facilities. Good dog walking and very nice bar to cool off in.

Fabulous location, easy access to shops and restaurants. We will definitely return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiznlil 37 reviews from this member

 Overnight stay after visiting Richard 111 exhibition (really good) on the way to Cotswolds.

Close to Leicester but very peaceful.

Nice new shower block with a loo/shower suitable for disabled guests, but it was really chilly in there.

On site bar/restaurant which looked nice but we didn't use.

Just be aware that they have been doing quite major groundworks to improve the lake. The owner phoned me the day before to make me aware but as a one night stop we didn't mind.

When the work is complete it will be lovely 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Thecornishlass 1 review from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay here. It was peaceful with the most amazing sunset, despite the site being full, it did not seem too busy at all. The bar/restaurant is beautiful.

When the new shower block is finished it will be even better, but I think we will be returning here more than once.

Kids not allowed ball games, but there is a largish space in the middle of the pitches for handstand practise and similar. 
Management response: Please note our brand new shower & toilet facility was completed in 2018.


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ernt25 16 reviews from this member

 We had a relaxing two night stay at this site. As noted by a previous reviewer the camping area is a small field in an elevated position that overlooks the large lake. We were fortunate enough to have a pitch that looked straight over to the lake which appears to be used for an array of activities including; fishing, outdoor swimming & canoeing.

We took a slow amble into Stoney Stanton where there are a couple of convenience stores, including a coop to stock up on any food items.

The only downside to our stay and this site that we could note was the lack of toilet /shower facilities. Although there is a shower /toilet block in the process of being built, this was still a work in progress during our stay.

We have a small campervan without a toilet/shower so had to make use of the site’s facilities which is attached to the bar/restaurant and doubles up as a changing room for outdoor swimmers – one toilet and shower is not sufficient, especially when the bar /restaurant is closed and unable to take advantage of the toilets there.

We intend on returning to this site and hopeful that the toilet/shower block is completed soon. 
Management response: Please note our brand new shower & toilet facility was completed in 2018.


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ADYJET 7 reviews from this member

 We have just had three days on this site and it was great. The site is raised from the lake with fabulous views across it. I had a days fishing in the smaller lake caught 6 carp 4-8 lbs

We had a meal Saturday night, overlooking the lake, the staff were all very friendly and the meal was good too.

The owners have been here for 9 years and apparently the place was a wreck when they moved in. They have certainly done a great deal of work which is a credit to them and all their staff. It is still work in progress but the toilet block is still needs to be finished.

52 swimmers in the lake Sunday morning, must be mad! Mind you our dog loved the swimming so there must be something in it.

Nice walks around the lake and other walks locally.

We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue Foxon 3 reviews from this member

 Stanton Lakes is a delightful small campsite situated on a fairly level field in an elevated position overlooking the largest of the two fishing lakes on this site with amazing views of the sunset if you're lucky with the weather. Dogs and children are very welcome. The site owners, have recently made improvements to the campsite by marking out the pitches so there should be no problem with other campers and caravanners pitching too close together. They have also put in new electric hookup points so that there are now eight sockets spread across the back edge of the campsite. A new toilet and shower block is under construction close to the campsite which will be very welcome to campers who do not have their own washing and toilet facilities. At present, the only toilets, showers and washbasins available are quite some distance away at the back of the restaurant and there is only one each for men and women. Also, there are no pot washing facilities on site. There is one fresh water tap and a separate waste water and chemical toilet disposal point which is a little tricky to use if you have problems bending as the lid is at ground level and has no handles but is otherwise ok.

The site does get quite busy at times and you can sit outside your unit on some days and watch the canoeists, swimmers and Newfoundland rescue dogs in the large lake. There is also a model stock car racing circuit on site and occasionally, you can hear the cars racing around and the lady doing the commentary but that was not loud enough or frequent enough to spoil our enjoyment of this campsite. At night, you can just hear the sound of traffic in the background at times but on the whole it is very peaceful and the loudest sounds you can hear are the buzzards calling in the daytime and the owls at night.

The two unfenced fishing lakes are well stocked, mainly with carp and, if you're not into fishing, you can have a very pleasant walk around the edge and even feed the fish from the patio area behind the restaurant.

The bar and restaurant are really good and has a very welcoming atmosphere. The food is excellent too with a good selection of freshly prepared meals with vegetarian options. The staff are brilliant, so polite, efficient and helpful. I discovered that it has an excellent reputation. It also caters for weddings and other occasions so it is best to check the Stanton Lakes website or phone them to make sure the restaurant and bar are open although the owners did offer to have drinks brought up from the bar to the campsite.

The owners are brilliant. They do everything they can to make your stay on the campsite or visit to the restaurant a really happy experience. They were a great help to my husband and me as we had to extend our stay in our caravan when our car broke down and had to be taken away for repair. We found a bus stop 3/4 mile away which ran to Leicester (via Fosse Park) one way and to Hinckley the other way but the buses (X55) are very infrequent. To avoid the main road which has no footpath we used the bridle path at the far corner of the site.

There are a few walks from the site via these footpaths to Stoney Stanton, Croft Hill and Stoney Cove diving centre.

TV & mobile signal is very good.

All in all, this is a lovely site and we'll definitely be back there next year. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stanton Lakes Touring Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stanton Lakes Touring Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Stanton Lakes Touring Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leicester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2276 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December