Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Carrog Station Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen > Carrog Station Camp Site Reviews

Carrog Station Camp Site
Carrog
Corwen
Denbighshire   (Browse area)
LL21 9BD
Tel: 01490430237  or  07977211046
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 64
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 76 Reviews
                8/10 from 76 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 39 reviews from this member

Our third visit here in three years [see my reviews July 2017/2018].

Nothing to add except that once again it was a very enjoyable stay at this lovely site.

And that we'll be back again next year.

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mark1200 3 reviews from this member

Overall a good site but could be great. It may be because it was very early season but a little extra effort would make it very nice, e. G. The toilets and showers etc were clean but the bins, shelves etc in them had not been cleaned for a while. Someone, not me, had enscribed a large question mark in the dust on the lid of a waste bin in a toilet that had been there for sometime. The only reason for this comment is that at £21per night 2 adults and 2 dogs, it’s not cheap, you can stay at club sites for that much with heated and very modern facilities.

The area is intensively farmed with sheep and we couldn’t find anywhere to let out dogs off lead which is a problem for us as we keep our dogs fit. So this is the only reason we wouldn’t return.

The local pub, The Grouse, is warm and welcoming, the food was “adequate” But a little overpriced, we can understand this as it’s expensive to keep a pub running is a small village.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Baileyjake 8 reviews from this member

I have stayed at this site before for a motorbike rally and stayed again last weekend for the same.

When I stayed before the showers and toilets inside the barn, over the road from the 'Rally field' seemed recently built and were in good condition. This visit it seemed that they had not been cleaned since my last visit. The portacabin in the 'Rally field' was dark, dirty, smelled like public toilets and full of cobwebs maybe its because I have been spoiled by the french campsites I have just sepent 15 nights in but I felt the standard of these facilities had fallen since my last visit and I wouldn't bring my family to this campsite. We also attend a bike rally at the Erwlon campsite in llandovry and the facilities at this campsite are excellent.

The grouse pub was great the scenery and local attractions too.

I hope that the owners think about refurbishing the wash facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 39 reviews from this member

After visiting last year, we have just returned from another great [long] weekend here.

Whilst there, we rode into Llangollen on the railway, visited Llyn [Lake] Brenig, Betws-y-Coed, Horseshoe Falls, Ffestiniog and took a barge ride over the Pontycylt Aquaduct.

WE had a meal one night in the 'Grouse Inn' at Carrog, excellent food at a reasonable price [the beer is quite nice too, £3. 50 per pint]. The only fault was that England lost to Croatia at football that night, it did'nt put us off our dinner though.

A nice touch on the campsite was the eggs, fresh hens eggs, of varying sizes, under a box in the washroom area. Under a box with a sign saying 'please keep covered, as crows enter and eat the eggs'. At £1. 20 for six, a real bargain, just the thing for a hearty breakfast.

Showers are free, the only problem being that one needs to press the button every 6-7 seconds or so. Irritating.

Cost?. £20 per night [2x adults, touring van plus awning with EHU ] our one small dog was free.

The weather was fantastic, really hot, and both myself & our dog took a dip in the river [just down from the campsite at the other side of the road]. Have you ever taken a swim with your dog?. LOL. Try it, its good fun.

I can only repeat what I said in my review last year. [the facilities are of a very high standard etc]. And we'll be back again next year.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Twowok 4 reviews from this member

Just bought our caravan, and drove straight to this camp site. Lovely place and everyone was so friendly and helpful, we had lots of questions being new to caravanning. The site is basic but has all you need and just £20 a night for two with awning can't be bad. We were lucky with the weather too had a great week and are going back for a long weekend next week, can't wait so much more to explore there.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LOOPYLUNAR 9 reviews from this member

Nice little site and very easy to get into. If you like steam trains then this is the place. The toilets/showers are very basic and whilst we were there the large field opposite had a very large rally club with lots of 'vans and tents and although they were supplied with toilets in a mobile unit most of them were using the caravan site toilets. The pitch sizes are generous and the site is peaceful most of the time. You can take the train to Corwen or Llangollen which is a nice day out. We would certainly visit again but probably not when the rally/club field is in use. Good stopover site if travelling to or from Holyhead.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spear303 1 review from this member

Really nice site mix of hard standing & grass. We only went for 7 days, & end up staying an extra 2. Toilets & Showers are good plenty of room, loads of hooks for your gear, we have stayed there over Christmas, the waters hot, but Showers are drafty in winter. I would recommend bring your leveling ramp, as some pitches have small tilt cross ways.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pluggit 1 review from this member

Nice pleasant farm site with basic facilities.

Hard-standings small and ok for summer use but soft and muddy in other months when more rain etc around.

This is an adequate site for good weather but is NOT an all year round site by any means. Showering/toiletry is very basic even in warm months with unheated facilities but not acceptable out of season. Visitors expecting winter facilities will be most disappointed.

Also, supply is 10amps and really should be 16amp to be considered an all year site.

Pls note that the site does not claim to be a 4 star club site but to claim to be a 4 season site it really needs to upgrade to basic 4-season grade facilities.

Would we return again?. Not as it stands.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jasmo 10 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site over a very busy Bank Holiday with our 15 year old and his friend. It is situated in the beautiful Dee Valley with views of wooded mountains and the picturesque heritage Llangollen

steam railway right next door. The site has one field with electric hook ups and fairly basic toilets and showers, waste and water. Two other overflow fields (one across a minor road) were full too, there is no doubt that the facilities were creaking at this very busy time but everyone seemed happy and many campers were frequent visitors. The site is well kept, it had a nice friendly and family centred vibe.

There was no excess noise, apart from the steam trains during the day.

The owners are a charming and very hard working young couple who were very helpful. The surroundings are beautiful and the river where you can have access to swim or canoe is a short walk away. We ate at the local pub The Grouse and it was a great meal, good value and delicious. The steam train to Llangollen was a great trip and the little town has good shops, some nice cafes and a lovely walk by the river or canal. Other places to visit include Pontcysyllte viaduct a World Heritage Site and stunning, Bala, Conwy, Betws y Coed, and loads of great local walks.

We really enjoyed the area, plenty of things to do and see and the views are stunning.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 39 reviews from this member

WE stayed here with members of our Car Owners Club, we were booked into the field over the [quiet] road from the main site, but the grass was cut short, the field was level and the toilet facities [in a portacabin] were reasonable, if a little basic, and it was'nt too far just to walk over the road to the site facilities, which are excellent [good hot showers [free too] and good clean toilets].

The site is bordered on one side by the Llangollen Steam Railway and the River Dee[?] on the other side. The village of Carrog is just over a very pictuesque bridge and looked nice, but we didn't really get time to look around it as we were too busy doing other things.

When we booked in [at the last minute] we were told there was no EHU pitches left, we were prepared to accept this [and use our 12v system]. But one of the campsite staff heard about us, and helped us out by plugging us into the electric supply for the toilet portacabin [now that's what I call real 'customer care']

Whilst there, we visited 'The Great Orme', we took a drive up the Llanberis Pass [we would have liked to have gone up Mt Snowdon, but unfortunately, the Snowdon Railway does not allow dogs on their trains]. We had a day on the Llangollen Railway and an afternoon in Betys-Y-Coed.

Would we go back?. Most definitely, and if our 'Car Owners Club' don't book it again next year, we will be going on our own anyway.

Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Denbighshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3845 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019