Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carrog Station Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen > Carrog Station Camp Site Reviews

Carrog Station Camp Site
Carrog
Corwen
Denbighshire   (Browse area)
LL21 9BD
Tel: 01490430237  or  07977211046
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 64
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 80 Reviews
                8/10 from 80 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jasdwilliams 3 reviews from this member

 This is a fabulous site surrounded by mountains and near Carrog Station. The site is level and plenty of hand sanitisers and social distancing was taken into account.

The washing and shower facilities are located in a barn but don't be fooled by the appearance, it's very organised and clean. Even has a place to put your recycling items.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and even the chickens came to greet us as we arrived on site.

Would definitely come back to this site. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hbrai1 2 reviews from this member

 Loved the site, spotlessly clean facilities well spaced pitches, and lovely hosts.

The location is handy for walking, cycling and The Grouse Inn is within 5 minutes of the site. An added bonus is the proximity to the Llangollen steam railway but unfortunately due to Covid it is currently only possible to board the train at Llangollen and is not running as far as Corwen.

We'll certainly return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ljulif 1 review from this member

 Nice site, friendly owners,

Decent facilities and nice pub with good food 10 minutes walk away.

All in all would definitely recommend and will go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 30 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, with super facilities without the frills, lovely showers, fresh eggs and put the money in the honesty box,

railway station across the road for the steam train to Llangollen, and the Grouse Inn a few hundred yards down the road is excellent, good food and the outside table and seating area overlooking the river is worth a visit, 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 43 reviews from this member

 Our third visit here in three years [see my reviews July 2017/2018].

Nothing to add except that once again it was a very enjoyable stay at this lovely site.

And that we'll be back again next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mark1200 6 reviews from this member

 Overall a good site but could be great. It may be because it was very early season but a little extra effort would make it very nice, e. G. The toilets and showers etc were clean but the bins, shelves etc in them had not been cleaned for a while. Someone, not me, had enscribed a large question mark in the dust on the lid of a waste bin in a toilet that had been there for sometime. The only reason for this comment is that at £21per night 2 adults and 2 dogs, it’s not cheap, you can stay at club sites for that much with heated and very modern facilities.

The area is intensively farmed with sheep and we couldn’t find anywhere to let out dogs off lead which is a problem for us as we keep our dogs fit. So this is the only reason we wouldn’t return.

The local pub, The Grouse, is warm and welcoming, the food was “adequate” But a little overpriced, we can understand this as it’s expensive to keep a pub running is a small village. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baileyjake 11 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this site before for a motorbike rally and stayed again last weekend for the same.

When I stayed before the showers and toilets inside the barn, over the road from the 'Rally field' seemed recently built and were in good condition. This visit it seemed that they had not been cleaned since my last visit. The portacabin in the 'Rally field' was dark, dirty, smelled like public toilets and full of cobwebs maybe its because I have been spoiled by the french campsites I have just sepent 15 nights in but I felt the standard of these facilities had fallen since my last visit and I wouldn't bring my family to this campsite. We also attend a bike rally at the Erwlon campsite in llandovry and the facilities at this campsite are excellent.

The grouse pub was great the scenery and local attractions too.

I hope that the owners think about refurbishing the wash facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 43 reviews from this member

 After visiting last year, we have just returned from another great [long] weekend here.

Whilst there, we rode into Llangollen on the railway, visited Llyn [Lake] Brenig, Betws-y-Coed, Horseshoe Falls, Ffestiniog and took a barge ride over the Pontycylt Aquaduct.

WE had a meal one night in the 'Grouse Inn' at Carrog, excellent food at a reasonable price [the beer is quite nice too, £3. 50 per pint]. The only fault was that England lost to Croatia at football that night, it did'nt put us off our dinner though.

A nice touch on the campsite was the eggs, fresh hens eggs, of varying sizes, under a box in the washroom area. Under a box with a sign saying 'please keep covered, as crows enter and eat the eggs'. At £1. 20 for six, a real bargain, just the thing for a hearty breakfast.

Showers are free, the only problem being that one needs to press the button every 6-7 seconds or so. Irritating.

Cost?. £20 per night [2x adults, touring van plus awning with EHU ] our one small dog was free.

The weather was fantastic, really hot, and both myself & our dog took a dip in the river [just down from the campsite at the other side of the road]. Have you ever taken a swim with your dog?. LOL. Try it, its good fun.

I can only repeat what I said in my review last year. [the facilities are of a very high standard etc]. And we'll be back again next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Twowok 4 reviews from this member

 Just bought our caravan, and drove straight to this camp site. Lovely place and everyone was so friendly and helpful, we had lots of questions being new to caravanning. The site is basic but has all you need and just £20 a night for two with awning can't be bad. We were lucky with the weather too had a great week and are going back for a long weekend next week, can't wait so much more to explore there. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LOOPYLUNAR 9 reviews from this member

 Nice little site and very easy to get into. If you like steam trains then this is the place. The toilets/showers are very basic and whilst we were there the large field opposite had a very large rally club with lots of 'vans and tents and although they were supplied with toilets in a mobile unit most of them were using the caravan site toilets. The pitch sizes are generous and the site is peaceful most of the time. You can take the train to Corwen or Llangollen which is a nice day out. We would certainly visit again but probably not when the rally/club field is in use. Good stopover site if travelling to or from Holyhead. 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carrog Station Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carrog Station Camp Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Carrog Station Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corwen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Denbighshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1670 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement