Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Watergate Bay Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Watergate Bay Touring Park Reviews

Watergate Bay Touring Park
Tregurrian
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4AD
Tel: 01637 860387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 171
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 80 Reviews
                8/10 from 80 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Topshelf 13 reviews from this member

 Very impressed with the pitch sizes and the cleanliness of this place, some facilities were not open due to the virus, the skateboard park is FAB, basketball ring could do with a net on it though.

Access via the airport road, but do not miss the site entrance as there is limited turning places or a very big hill to come back up.

Definitely go back again 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Choceclair 2 reviews from this member

 This is a huge site but extremely quiet. All the pitches were neat and tidy. Good washing and drying facilities.

They had washing lines provided between 6 pitches, high enough to dry wet suits on. A swimming pool is on site and the use of tennis courts.

The staff were lovely and always helpful. They even provide a mini bus from the site to near by Watergate Bay. There is a lovely coastal walk from the campsite.

Thoroughly enjoyed our time here 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tansell 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site with lovely facilities

Showers a plenty and nice ad clean with plenty of hot water

Nice clean toilets

Cafe does some lovely food and the breakfast and pizzas lovely and a reasonable price not cheap but not over expensive and the staff are lovely

Nice walk to the beach and the views are lovely

Staff all very friendly and they run a free bus to the beach and back several times a day and the driver is a great chap

Easy to get to lots of different places 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gjw1980 1 review from this member

 Our first camping trip to the West Country and this site had everything. It is a big site but you donít feel crowded. Excellent site for kids and families. Dog friendly and they even have a big dog walking field.

The main club house has great entertainment in the evenings for all ages. The showers were excellent and well maintained. Onsite swimming pool was great for a raining mornings entertainment.

All in all a great site with easy access to Newquay and the rest of cornwall 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wbber 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 7 nights. Great location with good facilities for kids.

The downside for us was that we were pitched next to a group with a dog that was never on a lead, even though we had made a complaint at reception with the owner, they didn't pay any attention.

The dog pooed on our pitch 3 times, which was left. This seemed to happen a lot on the site, where dogs had messed and it was not cleaned up.

For this very reason we would not return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Opal0313 26 reviews from this member

 First visit to this campsite. Spent just under two weeks here. Was greeted by two lovely receptionist. We chose this campsite not for its facilities but for the location and price. There's a good choice of pitches different sizes and different ampages on the hook ups. As did not use the swimming pool clubhouse and cafe, we cannot comment on those. The site shop had the necessities and was reasonably priced you could also get hot snacks bread etc. The toilet block was clean and with toilet washbasin and shower cubicles. The pitch was lovely and spacious. It drained well as we had a mixture of weather from hot sunny days to gale force winds and driving rain thankfully at night. Watergate Bay is within walking distance, we chose not to walk as it's down a steep narrow lane which is dangerous with small children. There is a minibus in the main school holidays but as you can imagine it's very popular and by the time you get to the beach you could have got there in the car and paid parking. There's a large car park but when the weather's good it soon gets full. Newquay and Padstow are only a short drive away. Morrison's in Newquay. It's near Newquay airport but the planes were not flying at night, it was no problem for us. Lovely coastal walks. Had a lovely holiday here. Staff are all helpful and pleasant. Would definitely return here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kimjacq 4 reviews from this member

 Folding Camper.

Having been let down and extremely upset with our booked site we were extremely grateful that Watergate Bay were able to put us up for some of our time in the area.

The lady on reception was extremely pleasant and helpful and tried to fit us in with some juggling to complete our holiday but we decided to move on to another site.

Having visited the site before we were once again pleased with our pitch. Once we were set up we visited the on site cafe and had a lovely meal, good value for money, we then joined in with the quiz which was very good.

The coast walk is lovely and after a great day on the beach the minibus back up to the site is a gods send.

The teenagers with us enjoyed the pool.

This site is one we would visit again due to it's closeness to the Watergate Bay and Newquay and the facilities it has are great. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Djespie1 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here again for the third year running and as usual we knew what to expect.

Reception were more helpful than last year and more friendly too. I am big on first impressions and was pleased with how we were recieved this time.

The on site shop is reasonably priced and stocks a great selection and variety of wares. Nice to be able to get hot pastys all day long if required. Friendly Nephew and Uncle running it too, always a bit of banter and a smile. Great with the kids too.

The Cribbar clubhouse is good too, prices not too bad either. Good selection of drinks and always polite service.

Now. The new franchisee of the on site eatery/cafe, very friendly, nothing is too much to help but extortionately priced. I appreciate it's a seasonal business and they need to make hay while the sun shines but they were caning the prices. Food is about average but costs way above average prices so buyer beware. We got take out on the first night for convenience but did not eat there again.

The covered and heated pool was a god send as it was typical Cornish summertime, grey, overcast and wet for 6 out of 9 days stayed. The last time I enjoyed a run of decent weather was 2007. Not withstanding this we are still in love with Kernow!

The shower blocks seemed to be better kept this year and cannot fault them for cleanliness, however, the lights are set on timers and my sons and I were routinely left without light when showering.

We didn't buy wifi this year owing to being extremely dis satisfied last year by the provider, not the campsite so cannot comment for this year.

All in all another uneventful stay. Would happily recommend and use again but we are looking to stay nearer Perranporth next year as this is the beach of choice for my 5 boys it seems. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DaddyWeston 2 reviews from this member

 A great site. This is our second visit this year and fifth visit overall. Fantastic facilities for the whole family. A good play area and swimming pool for the kids and a good bar with entertainment for the adults. Very handy on site shop which is reasonably priced. Superb location with a lovely cliff top walk down to Watergate Bay. I feel this is quite an expensive site but it is comparable to all others in the locality and has better facilities so works out to be the best option. We will certainly be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twinmummyplusone 2 reviews from this member

 We've just got back from 2 weeks here. The kids really enjoyed it and made use of the play park and little smugglers club. The pool is brilliant, never saw it overcrowded even on wet days. Plenty of toilets and shower and they were kept nice and clean. The Staff are lovely and friendly. The Shop was well stocked and reasonably priced. There are 2 good sized fields to let the dog off in. The best part of stopping here is the free mini bus to the beach. The site was nice and quiet from about 10. 30 onwards. Wouldn't like to stop in the outer park though as you are too far away from everything. 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Watergate Bay Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Watergate Bay Touring Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Watergate Bay Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Watergate Bay Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1866 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement