Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Graffham Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > Petworth > Graffham Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Graffham Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Great Bury
Graffham
Petworth
West Sussex   (Browse area)
GU28 0QF
Tel: 01798 867476
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2024 to 02/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 123 Reviews
                8/10 from 123 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  123 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chelli 1 review from this member

 Fantastic hospitality by campsite staff Sharon was awesome.

Facilities perfectly clean, hot water for washing dishes at lower section, which was brilliant.

Showers hot running water & clean, pressure a bit low but they’re on that & have planned maintenance to sort it.

Site pitch was perfect with electric hookup. Lovely to be in under trees with enough privacy for all. Lots of foliage & leafy overhead canopy. Lovely to feel immersed in nature. Although only a short distance from Midhurst & Petworth.

Although it was only a short break we quickly felt relaxed & had a wonderful break from busy work life.

The weather was kind to us, which is always tricky for autumn. We hope to steal another weekend before the site closes in Oct.

We’re super chuffed with our first time experience as new members on the Camping & Caravanning Club. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Colin21 17 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 8 days at Graffham C&CC site and loved it! If you are the sort of caravanner that likes to see rows of caravans, all equidistantly spaced with millimetre precision, on pristine newly-mown grass or hard-standing, alongside a smooth tarmac roadway, it is definitely not for you, but if you like freedom to put your caravan how you want within a couple of feet either way and any way round, it is great.

It is not so much a campsite, more a forest where you are allowed to pitch-up for a night or more in a little individual clearing among the trees. As we had fantastic weather while we were away, the canopy of trees kept our caravan nice and cool, and it was great to wake up to bird-song and to hear the owls overnight.

A real get-away in the beautiful countryside that is the South Downs Park. The site wardens were very friendly and helpful and a credit to the Club.

We couldn’t have had a warmer welcome, despite them being very busy with the Goodwood Revival Weekend, which we knew nothing about until we arrived. Those 3 days the site was full.

The only thing that spoilt it, and for which I have to knock off a couple of points was the access road. It was absolutely dreadful. Very narrow and difficult to even pass someone on foot, so if you met anything coming the other way, one of you would have to reverse maybe 200 yards and possibly out into a busy road.

That in itself was difficult enough, but add into that the surface of the site's access “roadway” which was just a continuous string of huge pot-holes.

Such a shame for such a lovely site, perhaps next time we go the access road will have been improved. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kateandjames 64 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet site nestled in woodland with walking from all corners of the site. Most the pitches have some shade, very few are flat so chocs, levellers a must. Also site is sandy so it can get very dusty and a it's a nightmare when it rains, damp claggy dust getting in the van.

Facilities are good and kept clean, though it would be nicer to have maybe a couple more water taps dotted about. There is a new motorhome service point.

The village can be reached along footpaths and tracks, there are a couple of pubs (one being renovated) and a shop that sells local produced food, including various flavours of samosas, lovely homemade cakes and meat products. There are plenty more pubs in surrounding villages that are a comfortable walk away or short drive.

Well worth a visit when staying here is the Weald and Downland Museum at Singleton and the beautiful gardens at West Dean College. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Booketta 55 reviews from this member

 Graffham is a woodland campsite. Our pitch was in shade. On arrival we found that another van was on our pitch, we're not sure if they were allocated the wrong pitch or moved their van to get a tiny bit more sun!

We were told that there were no other pitches available as flat as ours but we think that the staff didn't want the faff of reallocating people.

We arrived with washing which had to be tumble dried on a sunny day because our pitch had too much shade that the sun didn't get through. Very sandy and mucky therefore the caravan had to be vacuumed every day and when wet it was really mucky!

A nice quiet secluded area for quiet downtime to escape from the rat race and very popular with young people.

It's not for us and we won't stay there again. Also the drive to the site is in a terrible state of repair. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kbjb41 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet rural site within forest area and 5 minutes drive from the local village store and pubs.

The wardens are extremely helpful. It is possible to walk to Petworth through a beautiful forest with masses of rhododendrons - although it is a long walk.

Arundel is also close by. The only downside - the facilities are a little dated but they are very clean. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Caroli 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet location with very hpful staff.

It was a shame the local pubs were both closed but the shop in Graffham village was perfect for picking up some food for our dinner.

Beautiful area for walking.

Lots of nice footpaths and handy for the South Downs. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ritchieroo 10 reviews from this member

 Our second visit this year to Graffham with the little caravan, this time with our friends in their tent joining us. The staff are friendly and helpful despite being really busy. Showers and toilets nice and clean, lots of hot water for a good shower.

What we liked is that pitches are fairly secluded each in its own little grove and there are many walks from the site. You can pick up a guide from the office which has several good walks 4 miles and upwards. The village is 25 min walk with a pub and village shop for essentials. Can have coffee and cake at the village store too.

Our first visit in June there were cuckoos at dawn and owls in the night, lovely forest sounds so long as you don’t mind that kind of thing. And mice who eat your snack bars at night if you forget to keep them safe from little creatures.

The site is in woodland so may need to clean your vehicle after your visit

If you want a supermarket like coop it’s a bit of a drive. We ate at the Forresters pub in the village on the Saturday night and the food was good with meat, veggie and vegan options.

No play area for children but little ones seem to make their own fun and adventures in the woods.

Nearby - Arundel castle, Petworth House, beaches 30 mins away in the car.

I’m sure we will return some time for another long weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Carola 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite brilliant for walks,

Showers were lovely just had to walk quite a way so took the car,

Would go again but would request to be near the shower units 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marclewis 27 reviews from this member

 We only did the one night at Graffham to try out our campervan and came across the campsite in a google maps search. It sounded pretty unique and it clearly is with camping between trees in the forest.

Some pitches are tight on space and you need levelling ramps. Also not all pitches have electric hook up.

It's definitely a campsite we will return to. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chris5mph 54 reviews from this member

 The approach track is a bit of a tight turn off the road and is corrugated - may scramble your eggs.

The pitches are scattered amongst the trees which means that there are no straight lines to pitch in and plenty of shade. It also means it keeps raining on you after it has ceased in the open and birds will roost in the trees with the inevitable mess on your roof.

At last here is a site with none of those dreadful lights scattered all around so there is some night sky (and we are all capable of using torches at night so we do not need glaring street lamps to keep us safe at night).

Plenty of birds around, including a chorus of owls overnight. The footpath along one side of the site is much more heavily used than I expected, but I suppose this is the overcrowded south east.

Plenty to do in the area, we found two not in the stewards' list - Wealden & South Downs museum and Arundel castle, both well worth the trip. 


Previous     123 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Graffham Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Graffham Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Petworth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


28073 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement