Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Graffham Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Petworth > Graffham Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Graffham Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Great Bury
Graffham
Petworth
West Sussex   (Browse area)
GU28 0QF
Tel: 01798 867476
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           01/04/2022 to 02/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 117 Reviews
                8/10 from 117 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ritchieroo 5 reviews from this member

 Our second visit this year to Graffham with the little caravan, this time with our friends in their tent joining us. The staff are friendly and helpful despite being really busy. Showers and toilets nice and clean, lots of hot water for a good shower.

What we liked is that pitches are fairly secluded each in its own little grove and there are many walks from the site. You can pick up a guide from the office which has several good walks 4 miles and upwards. The village is 25 min walk with a pub and village shop for essentials. Can have coffee and cake at the village store too.

Our first visit in June there were cuckoos at dawn and owls in the night, lovely forest sounds so long as you donít mind that kind of thing. And mice who eat your snack bars at night if you forget to keep them safe from little creatures.

The site is in woodland so may need to clean your vehicle after your visit

If you want a supermarket like coop itís a bit of a drive. We ate at the Forresters pub in the village on the Saturday night and the food was good with meat, veggie and vegan options.

No play area for children but little ones seem to make their own fun and adventures in the woods.

Nearby - Arundel castle, Petworth House, beaches 30 mins away in the car.

Iím sure we will return some time for another long weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Carola 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite brilliant for walks,

Showers were lovely just had to walk quite a way so took the car,

Would go again but would request to be near the shower units 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marclewis 25 reviews from this member

 We only did the one night at Graffham to try out our campervan and came across the campsite in a google maps search. It sounded pretty unique and it clearly is with camping between trees in the forest.

Some pitches are tight on space and you need levelling ramps. Also not all pitches have electric hook up.

It's definitely a campsite we will return to. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chris5mph 38 reviews from this member

 The approach track is a bit of a tight turn off the road and is corrugated - may scramble your eggs.

The pitches are scattered amongst the trees which means that there are no straight lines to pitch in and plenty of shade. It also means it keeps raining on you after it has ceased in the open and birds will roost in the trees with the inevitable mess on your roof.

At last here is a site with none of those dreadful lights scattered all around so there is some night sky (and we are all capable of using torches at night so we do not need glaring street lamps to keep us safe at night).

Plenty of birds around, including a chorus of owls overnight. The footpath along one side of the site is much more heavily used than I expected, but I suppose this is the overcrowded south east.

Plenty to do in the area, we found two not in the stewards' list - Wealden & South Downs museum and Arundel castle, both well worth the trip. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Crowf7 2 reviews from this member

 I didn't like the unhelpful chap on site as asked if could charge mobile anywhere. No the office shut! ( Could have had an extension lead out under a plastic box thought I. )

Looking around we noticed lots of pitches with electricity, unoccupied.

We asked same man if there were any free as I had tried to book with electricity initially he said he thought there were some cancellations and would come back to us. He didn't. Next day we asked lady site manager, she found us one. Great!

Due to Covid, no shower or toilets were open, there are two blocks, you could only wash up at the block near the entrance, which for a lot of people was a bit of a trek. Couldn't understand why other washing up facilities not open.

The site is absolutely beautiful set amongst the trees. The driveway in is not as rough as I had expected having read reviews. ( Folkestone site far far worse!)

Really enjoyed our few days here. Nice to get away and hear laughter from children dogs frolicking and birds tweeting.

Local pub in Graffham really expensive, £5 for 1 pint of cider!

Would visit again! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Queenie99990 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely natural campsite among the trees, very peaceful & secluded. Love the fact that there are pitches dotted all over hidden in rhododendron bushes. If you are looking for wide open spaces this is not the campsite for you as you are camping under the trees.

There are tree roots everywhere so be aware if camping in a tent as they could split the bottom of the tent. It was wonderful to wake up to the sounds of the birds dawn chorus every morning & spend hours watching the birds, they come right up to you.

As you are in the woods the floor is sandy/gritty with lots of leaves so I would recommend shoes that you can slip on/off as it gets everywhere. The showers were spacious with lots of hooks they were hot and not the push button showers that you get at most campsites so were a bonus.

The wardens were very friendly & helpful even lent us their own map when we went on a cycle ride. We walked to the pub in Graffham-map from reception, lovely walk through fields & woods.

We also cycled into Petworth 5-6miles-map from reception, this was mixture of quiet roads and off road. Definitely going to re-visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WHeaps 12 reviews from this member

 We have been meaning to visit this site for ages, and really pleased we finally got around to staying. We had previously had a look when passing, and decided to ask for one of the grassy pitches when booking, which we got. A lovely site, really peaceful and secluded. Quite different from other club sites we have used, as it is much less 'regimented', but still all the advantages of a friendly efficient welcome, and spotless excellent facilities. Yes, you need a torch (and good sense of direction) to get to the main loo block after dark, but that is the fun of camping.

Location is perfect. South Downs literally on the doorstep, but don't ignore the fantastic heath-land walks immediately out of the campsite entrance.

Graffham village has an excellent (if rather up-market) shop and a nice pub (both of which set prices and range of goods to suit the rather affluent local population, but much better than driving miles for supplies)

An excellent site which we will visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tanyacat 2 reviews from this member

 We spent 2 nights here during a warm spell in April. We took our van and awning and our 2 young kids.

The campsite was easy to find down a long, fairly well maintained road. On arrival we were met by one of the campsite staff who allocated us a spot and then walked us to it. We found the staff very welcoming and helpful.

Our large level pitch was tucked away on its own which was very nice. The whole campsite seems to be like this - with bigger sections of a few pitches where you could camp with friends and family. It is very woody, so perfect for not getting to hot in summer! The ground was fairly easy to put pegs in but you would need a mallet.

The wash facilities were clean and well maintained and, above all, heated which really makes a difference in the colder months. Hot water was plentiful.

There was a fish and chip van that came on Friday evening. We didn't try the fish but the chips were amazing!

It is worth noting that you cannot do any charcoal BBQing here as it is woodland and therefore under strict fire rules. You can use a gas stove however, to cook things.

For walkers there are loads of lovely trails directly from the campsite that we loved.

We will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Vivebunny 3 reviews from this member

 Myself and my 2 teenage daughters stayed for 2 nights. Unfortunately it rained for 90% of the time. No doubt more experienced campers than I would have looked at the weather forecast and not bothered turning up. More hardy campers than I wouldn't have minded the horrible weather.

Whilst the site is very pretty I did come home with a lot of mud, sand and leaf debris because the pitches are woodland and not grass. I also had a lot of condensation in my folding camper - more than any other trip.

The Site Owners were lovely and very helpful. The facilities are great; clean; well organised and when 1 set is being cleaned the other set remain open. The site is very, very pretty, lots of walks and nearby attractions (but we are local so didn't do them). I went on a short walk that was well signposted, into nearby National Trust property.

I'm not sure I'll come back here. I camped for 2 days but cleaned up and dried out for 3. I'm notching this trip up to experience. I think I'm a grass camper at heart. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cactusprawn 3 reviews from this member

 Slightly bumpy pot holed approach road. Site set in a wooded area on different levels with small Ďlay-bysí off the main access road through the site. Mainly hard standing (ie not grass but hard earth some a bit sandy). Very pretty in the woods and many very private. Some share two plots. Staff very helpful and show you to the site on foot or on bike if itís a bit far away. Small shop selling essentials and ice creams. Two sets of toilets / facilities. Site pretty dark at night (no street lighting) so take a torch. Lots of birds (robins) to feed. Great fun and you really feel tucked away in the woods. Nice pub about an hours walk away (?) and do stop at Graffham village shop which is well stocked and interesting to look around. We had a great stay and will return if we are in the area again 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Graffham Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Graffham Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Petworth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2339 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window