Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sandringham > Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Sandringham Estate
Double Lodges
Sandringham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE35 6EA
Tel: 01485 542555
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: 13/02/2021 to 04/01/2022
           13/02/2022 to 04/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 166 Reviews
                9/10 from 166 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  166 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pauledgcott 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a nine night stay at the C&CC Sandringham site, we had a great time out and about. But this site is clearly past it's best, toilet blocks are in need of a urgent revamp, the same chipped shower tray as three years ago!

A lot of the pitches are getting far too much use, no grass left at all. Worst of all is the groups allowed, talking and laughing loudly into the dead of night and not a site manager(?) to be found.

If you have rules then they are completely useless if you don't enforce them. This is quite a common theme for C&CC sites, there are always those that are going to come away for the weekend and be very noisy on a Friday and Saturday night.

It wouldn't take much for a couple of the so called managers to walk around the site after 11pm and control the noisy groups you allow. It is a great shame as it is a great site to walk or cycle from and very close to a lot of other things to do and see.

It seems to me that the C&CC are being left behind by independent sites that provide cleaner, tidier, quieter and more relaxing sites, that realise that it can't be just about raking in money and that you have to provide a reasonable level of service.

After 22 years with the C&CC I think this will be our last. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carolinek9 1 review from this member

 Easy to find, luckily arrived after rush but witnessed queue the next day at peak period. Hard standing on gravel.

Site itself clean and well presented.

Toilets and showers need a bit of updating.

A busy site that shows after facilities used. Don't forget flip flops for shower use as some of users do not clean after use.

Shop NOT open as advertised so take everything you need unless you are travelling out and about. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bridgeywidge 23 reviews from this member

 This was my second visit after promising myself to return having had a 2-night breakaway in 2019. I had planned on being with my OH but a new job meant he was unable to travel (despite booking in Feb. ). So, I spent 3 nights on my own, and had a friend come and stay for the middle two nights. We had a lot to catch up on.

We had amazing weather so I'm glad I decided to give the Cabanon an outing which gave us both room to breathe.

I had a pitch near the perimeter fence under trees: given the heat this was OK but, it was a tad gloomy and I think I'd have preferred a little more light at breakfast (on a practical note, had it been damper, some sunshine would have been vital to dry out the cotton canvas if needed).

Having no-one behind did mean it was very peaceful, in fact, the whole site seemed to quieten down after 9. 00. Amazingly tranquil (but it wasn't quite school holidays) and I didn't feel hemmed in by others so pretty happy really.

The trees did mean I wasn't woken by someone turning on the lights but, woodpigeons are a bit of nuisance: I caught one walking into the tent, purposefully, strolling like the grouse from the famous whiskey advert.

I was in somewhat of a minority unit wise, with many more caravans, camper vans and motorhomes than I remember seeing 2 years ago - the site was pretty much full.

The Covid effect. The pitch was very level but although a bit of judicious clearing of pine cones and twigs was required. The soil is a bit sandy /muddy and despite the dry, my groundsheet became quite grubby as it was bare ground so, be aware of that.

I was nearest amenity block one which was fine and generally very clean although only 3 washing up sinks (one only on arrival due to social distancing measures which were rescinded) meant a bit of a queue at peak times.

I didn't have to wait for the loo or shower but again, in the holidays this might be stretched. Reception was efficient and dealt with my change of travelling companion smoothly and need for Test and Trace check-in.

The site is set in a lovely wooded area and the proximity to Sandringham does lend an air of seclusion. It's also so close to the coast which is always a massive plus for me.

I felt very safe when lone camping and would stay again.

It is quite large site but the wooded areas and slope made it feel cosy. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 37 reviews from this member

 This is a large campsite handy for National Cycle Route 1 into Kings Lynn.

Negatives:

- Wifi falls over as soon as you connect (so go to the Sandringham visitor centre and use theirs as it's much better)

- Water in the showers is just ok, but not hot (in contrast to Cambridge where we stayed for the next 4 days)

- Sandy soil where we were pitched got a bit everywhere, the problem being tree cover meaning bare patches.

- A bit of noise from other campers - large family group - not appreciating sound carries when you laugh loudly at 11pm on one night.

Pluses:

- Helpful staff

- All very very clean (as is the norm at the CCC sites)

- Fish and chips on site Tues/Thurs/Sat but get the the queue as soon as the van sounds his arrival as it's very popular and things run out. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 664DaveS 37 reviews from this member

 This our second visit to this big site, the last in 2018. Due to Covid you stay in your vehicle and are checked in by the staff who show you to your pitch.

There was a bit of a queue even though we arrived around 2. 30 pm. Despite this the very friendly lady checked us in quickly and efficiently and were offered a choice of hardstandings.

Not a good idea to arrive before 1pm as you will have to wait and the approach road can get cluttered.

The great site team must be very fit given the amount of cycling they do on this big site!

Despite the size it's a very peaceful site although the pigeons can be noisy, and mess on your car! Thats because its in in a forest!

A fish and chip van visits a few evenings a week and is popular.

TV signal is ok but limited channels from nearest mast. The site wifi is ok, speed obviously depending on usage.

Phone signal on VIrgin was pretty poor but you are in a forest!

Sandringham visitor centre was open with cafe and shops. Its a nice walk from the site.

Supermarkets are available in Kings Lynn with fuel statio, plus a fairly new Lidl just outside nearby Heacham.

Heacham has miles of bechside walks as do Hunstanton and Wells. Cromer is a pleasant day out.

We enjoyed our stay despite varied weather, but there is plenty to see and do in the surrounding area.

There are 3 facility blocks all kept very clean by the hardworking team, our thanks to them. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevinw 1 review from this member

 Excellent site

Very clean including washrooms, toilet block brilliant

Great dog walks

Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly

Thanks for a great weeks caravanning 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: DAWN MILWARD 3 reviews from this member

 I stayed for 8 nights and really enjoyed this tranquil break. Although it is a big site the pitches are spaced out and I woke to the sun peeping through the trees most mornings.

I read mixed reviews but the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, the ladies pedal on their bikes tirelessly to show you to your pitch and nothing was too much trouble.

It is a great location for the beaches and Sandringham estate, which was understandably closed due to Covid, but tea room, shop, play area and toilets were all open at Sandringham.

I knew the facilities on this site were all closed when booking which didn't really make sense as facilities on most other campsites and at Sandringham itself facilities were all open, I think charging the full price still when no facilities were available was a little cheeky, hence the lower marking, but went here as my friend was staying on this site.

The fish and chip van visited regularly and they were nice enough, a long queue but to be expected on any site.

Overall I would visit again, it is a lovely location, feels secluded in the trees but plenty of open space too, lovely walks and cycle routes and staff had took the time to decorate the entrance with amusing autumnal/Halloween themed decorations which raised a smile.

Overall a friendly and well maintained site. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mick S. 35 reviews from this member

 We met up with friends here with the intention of visiting the nearby Sandringham Game Show - which was cancelled, in the end. We found the site clean and well run, and they seem to have the hang of the Covid rules pretty much.

The pitch was level (some arent), and well drained. The hook up box wasn't too far away, and had a tv point - which we needed, but our friends literally over the road, did not. They hire 20m lengths of co-ax, but we had our own.

There isnt much about as diversions go, apart from some nice walking in the woods, and to the Sandringham Estate. Driving to the nearby coast is easy enough, as well.

A Chip van, and pizza van visits every week, if you are interested. We didn't use the facilities, so cannot comment. More water points would be a plus though. Why they arent on the hook up posts, I don't know.

The site is peaceful - APART from the incessant trundling of the groundstaff around the site on their tractors/trailers. This was annoying in the end, and I don't know why they have to do so many circuits in a day. The record was 6 passes one day.

This aside (and it wont stop a return visit), its a good site. We wandered around the nearby 'enemy' C&MC site through the woods, and I have to say it didn't look as good all round. There can be some military aircraft noise, if it bothers you. But where in Norfolk isn't there! 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Stevem 1 review from this member

 Poor lawn maintenance, my 4 year old son twisted his ankle (twice!)in a divot/rabbit hole obscured by long grass ie it hadnít been mowed for some time. Pine cones were layering, because so many were falling on the ground. Letís hope you donít have too many ambulance chasing lawyers staying with you🧐

No recycling! isnít this the sort of place that teaches children that recycling isnít just a home practice? I heard that the local recycling area sorts it???? That must be very intense for them. Why not have it anyway to enthuse the kids and help the recycling plant. It really doesnít fit the image of a clean, green, healthy site.

Attractive site if neater and quietly located. We do intend to return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andy and maz 11 reviews from this member

 We've stayed here before and we enjoyed it but this time was awful. This review is not against the site staff but the C&CC itself.

The site was given only 3 staff to organise EVERYTHING which was a nightmare for them. They were also not allowed onto the site during lockdown to prepare for opening. Therefore with a site which has lots of trees and copses there were twigs, branches, pinecones and other 'tree litter' all over. Worse than this, the fields had not been mown and there was Ragwort growing all over the place (Ragwort causes liver failure in both humans and animals if ingested - its so dangerous its illegal to leave untreated on private land).

We were on a grass pitch which was claustrophobicly hemmed in at the back between a fence and 2 rows of caravans marked by yellow spray paint! The pitch was so uneven, our self leveller would not level! We eventually got to speak to the manager who agreed entirely with us and gave us a full refund!

We planned for 5 nights but only stayed 2 hours. On top of this, the facilities were closed but full price (£34 per night) was charged. We managed to get in at other site an hour away which was a fully serviced pitch, facilities open and was £24 per night!

We won't be returning. Once again I would like to reiterate that the on site staff were brilliant and it was the camping and caravan club who let us down. 
via mobile


Previous     166 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sandringham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3513 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement