Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Ashes Lane
Staveley
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 9JS
Tel: 01539 821119
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: 04/07/2020 to 01/01/2021
           14/03/2021 to 01/01/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 128 Reviews
                9/10 from 128 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  128 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Truediamond 88 reviews from this member

 A bit of an odd feel to this Site, we thought, although there were plenty of units of all sorts, glamping, statics and pods, there never seemed to be many people about and it wasn't unusual to be the only person in a toilet block, for example. Where were they all?

As usual with C & CC, front line staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. They gave us a very good pitch near a toilet block. We tried to get a meal at The Sun Inn, Crook but it was closed early in the week. It was also unclear whether they delivered to Site as claimed in brochures.

Overall, like all our stays in this short, odd season, great to get away. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Damaca 49 reviews from this member

 This site seems to be copying certain airlines with regard to its name. It is not at, or very near, Windermere (neither the lake nor the town).

It is much nearer to Kendal, and very close (1 1/2miles) to the village of Staveley, but those names might not bring in so many punters. There is in fact another Staveley which is on Windermere Lake, confusing to those old fashioned types who rely on maps rather than satnavs.

The site, which is large, was in fact full during the time we were there. It's a nice site, in a large clearing in woods. The facilities are very good, the staff helpful and friendly, and there are good walks to be had in the vicinity.

We found the site expensive, even for Club members. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Angiejojo76 2 reviews from this member

 Very welcoming even at a social distance, showed me to our pitch and gave me a couple of options which was good as first option was very wet!

Clean facilities and some closed due to covid, all staff and other campers considerate of 2 metre etc.

Good position for visiting the lakes.

Weather wasn't kind but we'll be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mauree 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite

All staff lovely and friendly and very helpful

Good for walks

Facilities really good, spotless showers and toilets

The site is well looked after

A good base camp Close to Kendal town 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mauree 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite

All staff lovely and friendly and very helpful

Good for walks

Facilities really good, spotless showers and toilets

The site is well looked after

A good base camp Close to Kendal town 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Squire 1 review from this member

 A very nice and well kept site, with friendly and helpful staff.

Good little bar on site with good food.

Very handy for the M6 if traveling north or south.

Will certainly us again. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Siobha 1 review from this member

 We camped at Park Cliffe campsite for 2 nights in a VW camper van.

The toilet / shower facilities were really clean and well maintained and we enjoyed a great cooked breakfast in the bar / restaurant.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and we would definitely visit again if we were staying in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Annxsm 1 review from this member

 Well laid out site with little clearings in the woods for small cozy groups of 6 or so units

All services pretty close by,

Lots of paths for walking the dogs. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tonym3 1 review from this member

 Nice campsite with plenty of room to pitch tent

Good facilities on site

Bit expensive to stay but would return

Good for family's and couples

Nice pub on site and little shop 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Adewicks 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at Windermere CCC to a warm welcome and were quickly checked in and showed to our pitch near reception.

After setting up we had a walk around the site which is huge but because of the layout never felt that way.

The toilets and showers were spotless and although the site was busy we never had to queue. No one is going to complain that the showers are cold, I found them to be uncomfortable hot.

We had a lovely day out on the Windermere train and boat, £24. 80 each, £2. 00 all day parking at Haverthwaite Stn, train up to Lakeside then boat to Ambleside and return. We had a lovely meal over looking the lake at the Waterside Inn Ambleside.

From the site the little village of Staveley is about a 30 minute walk where you can catch a train or bus to Windermere in one direction or Kendal in the other.

We had planned to walk up Striding Edge to Helvellyn but had to call it off due to the weather. Itís a nice touch that the site put a mountain weather report near reception.

We had a couple of meals in the nearby Whistling Pig which were ok but pretty average to be honest.

We had planned to stay for 5 nights but decided to cut our stay short due to noisy neighbours partying all night.

All in all a nice site.

Just a word of warning I used Waze which took me to the wrong end of Ashes Lane via crook road, I then used Google Maps which found the right way off the A591. 
via mobile


Previous     128 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2071 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement