Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Ashes Lane
Staveley
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 9JS
Tel: 01539 821119
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 215
Open: 14/03/2024 to 15/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 136 Reviews
                9/10 from 136 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  136 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kathie20 15 reviews from this member

 The campsite is quite big but very quiet, pitches are a good size. Toilets and showers were spotless and plenty of hot water. Pizza van was there one night, pizza's were lovely but a quite pricey.

We had to drive into Kendal and surrounding towns as it was outside Kendal and you could not walk along the busy road.

I wouldn't say I wouldn't return but think I would prefer to be in the campsite in the town as we like to walk to places.

We did go to Windermere which we love as it's a beautiful place. 


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 50 reviews from this member

 Short break here - pitches appear a bit narrow-only enough room for caravan/small awning-no room to park car, but there was a gravel area next to the pitch which happened to be free so we used that.

Our particular pitch also was very close to the one behind.

No complaints about washrooms-very clean and warm although shower water extremely hot. Push button type with no temp control.

Nearby Stavely has great ice cream shop and lovely pub.

Ok for short stay but lots of seasonal with tremendous views.

Pub restaurant a great facility. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Twosom 1 review from this member

 No wifi at all on mob. And campsite wifi did not work at all.

Kids. Biking all over people pitch.

Only stay three nights. Not five.

Will not be booking this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site situated in a secluded location a few miles outside windermere. It is landscaped and divided up into many sections so you never feel you are on a site as big as this one is. Until you decide you want to 'pop' to the reception!

The facilities where always clean and staff where plentiful and friendly.

Small down sides for us where being pitched where we had to park a little distance away from our tent due to fire regulations, although this rule did not seem to apply to some other tents.

Also it was a shame we weren't told that the pub wasn't currently serving food which necessitated a trip out to the local chippy in Stavely. And freezing our ice blocks at 50p each did mount up over the week.

Overall I'd recommend this site and we would happily visit it again. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 98 reviews from this member

 All rather confusing calling this site Windermere as its 8 miles from Windermere but only 4 from Kendal but there's already a Kendal site. If you actually want to be at Windermere then you need Bowness on Windermere site which used to be known as Braithwaite Fold but now there's a site called Braithwaite Village. All very confusing, so make sure when booking that you've got the right site.

Windermere site is huge, feels more like a commercial site than regular club site as their are static holiday vans, pods and seasonal pitches scattered all around. Wardens compound unfortunately looks like a travellers site.

Can't comment on toilet blocks other than cdp as used our own facilities.

Other than Staveley there is little else nearby and exiting onto main road can be a nightmare as its so busy.

Not our type of site, so won't be visiting again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kellyannetowns 1 review from this member

 Great site, very friendly and welcoming hosts,

Will be great when all facilities back open and will definitely return.

Easily accessible from the main road, and Staveley is a gentle 2 mile stroll away for great pubs and walks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site on the main road between Kendal and Windermere.

Excellent access to the Lakes and some excellent hill walking.

Kendal is the closest town and Stavekey is a nice village within walking distance. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cazaj6 1 review from this member

 We liked this campsite, mainly because we love walking, it was a nice walk to Staverly- even in the rain, without having to take the car.

Very close to Kendal.

We would have loved the on site pub being open for an easy pub tea.

We would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Truediamond 111 reviews from this member

 A bit of an odd feel to this Site, we thought, although there were plenty of units of all sorts, glamping, statics and pods, there never seemed to be many people about and it wasn't unusual to be the only person in a toilet block, for example. Where were they all?

As usual with C & CC, front line staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. They gave us a very good pitch near a toilet block. We tried to get a meal at The Sun Inn, Crook but it was closed early in the week. It was also unclear whether they delivered to Site as claimed in brochures.

Overall, like all our stays in this short, odd season, great to get away. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Damaca 85 reviews from this member

 This site seems to be copying certain airlines with regard to its name. It is not at, or very near, Windermere (neither the lake nor the town).

It is much nearer to Kendal, and very close (1 1/2miles) to the village of Staveley, but those names might not bring in so many punters. There is in fact another Staveley which is on Windermere Lake, confusing to those old fashioned types who rely on maps rather than satnavs.

The site, which is large, was in fact full during the time we were there. It's a nice site, in a large clearing in woods. The facilities are very good, the staff helpful and friendly, and there are good walks to be had in the vicinity.

We found the site expensive, even for Club members. 


Previous     136 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


13734 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement