Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Staffordshire > Stoke On Trent > Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Cotton
Stoke On Trent
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST10 3DW
Tel: 01538 702219
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 280
Open: 01/03/2024 to 02/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 173 Reviews
                8/10 from 173 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  173 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Garry9 1 review from this member

 Great location for Alton Towers we went to scarefest.

The staff were friendly and welcoming and showed us to our pitch. Explained about Wi-Fi, showers, etc very thorough.

The site was clean looked very well maintained and managed. No dislikes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gray631 1 review from this member

 Very clean site and the staff were lovely and very helpful. Nice clean toilets and lovely warm showers. The site has everything you would need for your stay.

The only real gripe we would have is that the site is on a hill and not flat, its not a huge issue but something to bear in mind when using a tent.

Perfect location for nearby Alton Towers

The pub along the road is also nice and we had a lovely meal in there.

Asda and Morrisons only a 10 min drive away, although probably much smaller than you will be used to. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pollnbruce 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely very well kept site, close to alton towers,

Amenities very clean,

Parking by caravan if you want to, rules are you cant pitch your awning on grass yet tents were pitched on grass behind us, this rule doesn't make sense to me 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Garyan 1 review from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Star campsite, we will always call it that from years ago.

Midweek this time of year is quiet, as the weekend approached more families arrived lifting the Ďambienceí a little.

Facilities are good, with some old areas in need of some extra modernisation built adequate and fully functioning.

Good location to visit a variety of attractions if needed or to tour the Peak District without being in a town. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Chris Guy 1 review from this member

 A friend and I stayed at this site for two nights over the weekend so we could complete a charity hike organised by Macmillan Cancer support on the Saturday.

We asked a staff member whether we could be let out of the site at 6am rather than 7am (when the barriers are open). We explained to the staff member that we needed to leave at 6am because we were doing the charity hike for Macmillan and needed to be at the start line before 7am.

The staff member flatout refused to spare a moment of time to open the barrier slightly early for us, so we could get to the start line on time for the charity hike. This staff member then became increasingly hostile after we pleaded with them for some flexibility because we were doing a charity hike for Macmillan. The staff member then just said the same line over and over "the barriers are closed. The barriers are closed".

Because of the hostile and inflexible staff member who refused to support camping and caravan club members who have raised hundreds of pounds for Macmillan, we were forced to arrange emergency travel from the site to the start line in Ashbourne.

Overall the site was ok and as expected from a camping and caravan club site, but I can only give 2 stars due to the experience I received during my stay.

The Camping and caravan club have a motto of "The friendly club"; all I got from this site was hostility, inflexiblity and a refusal to support its members while they try to raise money for a national cancer charity.  
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Burton 1 review from this member

 We stayed in one of the safari tents- they are fully equipped and very comfortable.

The staff are really friendly and happy to help with any enquiries.

Bathroom area is clean and bright. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ScottiemanCamper 2 reviews from this member

 Site is ideally situated for Alton Towers but the approach is not easy.

Itís a busy site with plenty of children running around enjoying themselves and quite right too.

The toilet block had 2 showers and 4 toilet cubicles. The showers had missing and broken clothes hooks. How difficult can it be to replace them. One of the toilets was blocked and the others full of excrement. No toilet brushes. Staff said they were not allowed to have toilet brushes.

I checked with the Club and the embargo on toilet brushed had been lifted 2 weeks prior. I was scalded by the water temperature in the showers itís far too high. The staff told me that the temperature is within normal limits. The locks on some of the toilet doors donít function properly and a child could become trapped. The bins were always full to overflowing. There were rows of empty bins trapped behind.

The overall condition of the site is dated and poor but a lot could be easily sorted by installing dedicated staff

Who would take pride in their site.

The Staff whilst not rude displayed more arrogance than good customer relation skills. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ammdkids 29 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home after a fabulous stay in a 3 bedroom caravan with 4 children aged from 7-17. The site surpassed my expectations.

The website doesn't do it justice and as we just needed a base I wasn't too concerned about what the site was like when I booked but really it was amazing.

Check in was quick with friendly staff. The caravan was spotless and felt new and again exceeded my expectations. We were opposite the park which was a lot larger than expected and was very much enjoyed by the 7 year old.

The teenage boys loved the football field. We weren't on the site that much as we had two day passes to Alton Towers which was only about a five minute drive away and we also spent a morning at Stoke Waterworld which was fun.

We were lucky to have an extra half term week so it was quieter than usual.

The site was very quiet and peaceful whenever we were there and was regularly cleaned so it felt very safe from a covid perspective. I even noticed the warden disinfecting all the park equipment one morning before opening it. 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindho 1 review from this member

 Lovely, clean quiet park with very clean facilities.

Lovely for walking, easy access to Alton Towers and a very nice convenient pub just a few meters from gate.

Thank you for a lovely stay. Mr Grantham Lindholme Lakes 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gracyt 2 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely stay. The site is gorgeous. And the people was welcoming the toilet block was well situated and well maintained.

Very close to Alton towers which was perfect as we were off on adventures there but also perfect for family walks thereís lots of wild deers an great public footpaths near by!

There was also some nice pubs but you do have to book give the covid 19 situation.

The only downfall was the park was closed because of covid. Although government guidelines are that they can be opened now. It looked lovely though my kids was itching to get in there.

Could of done with a little shop 
via mobile


Previous     173 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stoke On Trent      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


49900 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement