Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Stoke On Trent > Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Cotton
Stoke On Trent
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST10 3DW
Tel: 01538 702219
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 280
Open: 01/03 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 160 Reviews
                8/10 from 160 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  160 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brian T 2 reviews from this member

Very hairy getting to the site with very narrow roads. Can't fault the site as its lovely. Please note there is no bus from the site anymore and 15 for a taxi each way into town not very handy if you have a motorhome

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cauliman 11 reviews from this member

Quite a big site for the C&C Club with a lot of static caravans and glamping tents. Wardens were very helpful as usual and toilet blocks spotless.

Very near Alton Towers.

We had a meal at the Star pub which was very well cooked. The pub is just a few yards from the site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 35 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a five night break at this campsite.

The wardens are very unobtrusive, friendly and informative.

The site is very well maintained the facilities are kept immaculate.

Its a large site. The on site children's play area and playing field was the reason we brought our grandchildren here for a short holiday.

The area is beautiful and there are plenty of attractions around and about.

Just be aware of your own preferences before you book, if you want to go for all out fun and adventure at Alton Towers I cant think of a better site. If you like to just allow the children freedom whilst you do nothing then yes its the one for you.

However If you like long walks, or off lead dog walks, as we do without driving off site then its a no. There are no pavements so walking off the site isn't great if you have children and dogs. There are numerous public footpaths but they are under-used and completely overgrown with thick undergrowth. Your going nowhere!

Yes I can recommend this site if you don't go stir crazy staying on site.

Site location 10 out of 10 if visiting Alton Towers. 10 out of 10 for beautiful countryside, but 0 out of ten for walking off site.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 41 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 nights to visit Alton Towers. The approach road is narrow, we came from the north. The reception was very friendly and informative. There was a small shop within reception and plenty of leaflets. We were shown to our pitch by one of the staff. The pitch was very large and level hardstanding with water electric and waste point on it. The pitch was divided by a hedge and had spectacular views. There were also undivided hard standings and grass pitches. There was 2 toilet shower blocks the smaller of which was closed. The toilets and showers were very clean. There were only 2 showers in the mens which seemed not enough for a site this size. The showers had no curtain or divided which meant you had to leave your clothes and shoes outsize or they would get wet, they were push button type 15 seconds duration. We used the excellent bus service to visit Alton Towers. There is a large well appointed play area on site which closes an hour before sunset. The site is very well laid out with trees and bushes and is very quiet. We would certainly stay here again if visiting Alton Towers. It is strongly advisable not to take a Motorhome from the site to Alton Towers as the road is very narrow. Take the bus as we did.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Theangrybudgie 4 reviews from this member

My wife and I stayed at The Star campsite for two nights over a weekend in our tent. We were going to a friend's birthday party at Alton Towers and The Star provided a great location to camp for the theme park.

The site is just a 5 minute drive from Alton Towers down Beelow Lane the site is easily located off the B5477 in Cotton. The small reception hut also house some essential supplies (food/drink mainly) with a small car park just beyond for you to check in. Once through the barrier, the first tent site is to your left, before you get to some static caravans. A little futher along is a large playground and the two toilet/shower buildings. Following the one way system along leads you round to the main caravan/motorhome area and a second tent field.

When camping in a tent, you have the choice of two fields. The one to your immediate left as you enter the site has a steeper slope (not unmanageable though) and is quieter. The lower field is flatter but busier.

We opted for the steeper slope for the quiet, granted we were staying in mid september there were probably 4 other tents in the large field so it was very quiet. Also in that field are 3 glamping tents. We had a large 6x9 meter plot with electric hook up. The toilets/showers were only a minutes walk. We opted to pitch our tent facing down the hill, on reflection we would do this differently if we stay again. The cold breeze came down the hill hitting our bedroom in our tent first. So it was cold at night. A small fan heater helped a lot though!

Toilets/Showers, two blocks one with just showers and the others toilets/showers. The main gents block was always clean and well lit. Warm too! Showers were strong and hot, with a mob/bucket outside for you to mop up after a shower. A tip for the shower, take a back to put your clothes in! The shower is strong so sprays the standing area as well as the shower tub. This means you need to hang up your clothes to keep them dry. No big issue really, just take a bag! I just left my shoes outside the cubicle to keep them dry.

Just outside the camp site is The Olde Star Inn which serves hot food if you don't fancy cooking yourself. A 10min drive away is Cheadle which has both an Asda and Morrisons if you run out!

All in all a great campsite and an ideal base if your visiting Alton Towers!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maui 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights for a visit to the very close by Alton Towers!

The campsite location is excellent for Alton Towers - literally 5 minutes from the park, so very convenient for getting back quickly after a long day of thrill seeking!

Upon arrival to the site, after a few minutes wait a friendly guide came and helped us to our pitch. He was great as even spent the time to figure out the best way to position our Trailer so it would be levelled the best way! Even helped us get the unit into position and showed us around all the facilities. Could not ask for more customer service in this respect!

I personally found the pitches to be tightly packed compared to other sites I've been to, but was not an issue. Also grass was a little wet and many (4x4's included) were churning the ground or getting stuck entering or leaving pitches, but to be expected that time of year I would say!

As for the other site things! Facilities were fine, if a little on the basic side - but certainly did the job, the playground kept our son entertained when it was not raining! The on-site shop is VERY basic (milk, some tinned food etc. ) - If you need anything more than this, it's either a 15 min drive to the nearest 'local' shop, or 30 mins to a supermarket. We admittedly did not go with the best of preparations in this respect!

Other than Alton Towers nearby, there is a nice local pub which is very friendly and has great food, however that's about it!

Would be happy to stay here again, was friendly and welcoming!

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The High and Lo 24 reviews from this member

We chose this site because of the close location to Alton Towers. We were pleased with the site as a handy stop over place for two nights. The friendly staff were helpful when we arrived after dark on a Sunday night. We were in a bay spot which was rather like being in a car parking spot. We were close to water and electric and the for a stop over in October that was fine.

The site is mainly on a gentle grass slope with pitches that are well spaced. So from most pitches there are great views over the countryside. The layout is typical Camping and Caravan Club so for members you get the high standard you expect. The toilet block was kept to a good standard and the site was tidy. There was a play area for the kids and had decorations for Halloween festivities which demonstrated the extra effort of the campsite staff.

Handy for Alton Towers in a splendid place to stop.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gail84 1 review from this member

Our family visited this site for the first time and I have to say we were very impressed all of the facilities were clean. There is lots of ground for the children to run around which is great for them to burn off steam. Also it so close to Alton towers which is great. We will definitely be returning soon.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kingnoel 3 reviews from this member

I stayed here for 3 nights when exploring Staffordshire including alton towers. It is an excellent location in lovely surroundings. The owners of the place are friendly and basically left us to it which was fine by us, although the personal touch could have been a little more. The value is excellent as we're the general facilities, which were on the basic side but clean, convenient and more importantly than adequate. I would stay here again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neil.C 5 reviews from this member

We booked this site as a last minute treat to take the boys to Alton Towers. And we were not dissapointed.

We were sited on the top field, which as previously stated is at somewhat of an incline, but with a little intuition and a few bricks and pieces of wood we soon had ourselves a level playing field. We stayed on the site for four nights, and found the staff to be nothing but friendly, and very accomodating.

The toilet block on the top field is a little dated, however it was very clean, and well stocked, the main toilet block was only a short walk away, and again very well maintained.

With two supermarkets, and two pubs very close their was always a good choice of food on our menu.

Albeit not the cheapest site around I would highly recommend it for its proximity to Alton Towers, which is only a two minute drive away. All in all we were very satisfied with this site, and would recommend to others.

Previous     160 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3969 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019