Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Staffordshire > Ashbourne > Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Cotton
Ashbourne
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST10 3DW
Tel: 01538 702219
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 280
Open: 01/03/2022 to 02/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 169 Reviews
                8/10 from 169 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  169 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Chris Guy 1 review from this member

 A friend and I stayed at this site for two nights over the weekend so we could complete a charity hike organised by Macmillan Cancer support on the Saturday.

We asked a staff member whether we could be let out of the site at 6am rather than 7am (when the barriers are open). We explained to the staff member that we needed to leave at 6am because we were doing the charity hike for Macmillan and needed to be at the start line before 7am.

The staff member flatout refused to spare a moment of time to open the barrier slightly early for us, so we could get to the start line on time for the charity hike. This staff member then became increasingly hostile after we pleaded with them for some flexibility because we were doing a charity hike for Macmillan. The staff member then just said the same line over and over "the barriers are closed. The barriers are closed".

Because of the hostile and inflexible staff member who refused to support camping and caravan club members who have raised hundreds of pounds for Macmillan, we were forced to arrange emergency travel from the site to the start line in Ashbourne.

Overall the site was ok and as expected from a camping and caravan club site, but I can only give 2 stars due to the experience I received during my stay.

The Camping and caravan club have a motto of "The friendly club"; all I got from this site was hostility, inflexiblity and a refusal to support its members while they try to raise money for a national cancer charity.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Burton 1 review from this member

 We stayed in one of the safari tents- they are fully equipped and very comfortable.

The staff are really friendly and happy to help with any enquiries.

Bathroom area is clean and bright. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ScottiemanCamper 2 reviews from this member

 Site is ideally situated for Alton Towers but the approach is not easy.

Itís a busy site with plenty of children running around enjoying themselves and quite right too.

The toilet block had 2 showers and 4 toilet cubicles. The showers had missing and broken clothes hooks. How difficult can it be to replace them. One of the toilets was blocked and the others full of excrement. No toilet brushes. Staff said they were not allowed to have toilet brushes.

I checked with the Club and the embargo on toilet brushed had been lifted 2 weeks prior. I was scalded by the water temperature in the showers itís far too high. The staff told me that the temperature is within normal limits. The locks on some of the toilet doors donít function properly and a child could become trapped. The bins were always full to overflowing. There were rows of empty bins trapped behind.

The overall condition of the site is dated and poor but a lot could be easily sorted by installing dedicated staff

Who would take pride in their site.

The Staff whilst not rude displayed more arrogance than good customer relation skills. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ammdkids 26 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home after a fabulous stay in a 3 bedroom caravan with 4 children aged from 7-17. The site surpassed my expectations.

The website doesn't do it justice and as we just needed a base I wasn't too concerned about what the site was like when I booked but really it was amazing.

Check in was quick with friendly staff. The caravan was spotless and felt new and again exceeded my expectations. We were opposite the park which was a lot larger than expected and was very much enjoyed by the 7 year old.

The teenage boys loved the football field. We weren't on the site that much as we had two day passes to Alton Towers which was only about a five minute drive away and we also spent a morning at Stoke Waterworld which was fun.

We were lucky to have an extra half term week so it was quieter than usual.

The site was very quiet and peaceful whenever we were there and was regularly cleaned so it felt very safe from a covid perspective. I even noticed the warden disinfecting all the park equipment one morning before opening it. 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindho 1 review from this member

 Lovely, clean quiet park with very clean facilities.

Lovely for walking, easy access to Alton Towers and a very nice convenient pub just a few meters from gate.

Thank you for a lovely stay. Mr Grantham Lindholme Lakes 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gracyt 2 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely stay. The site is gorgeous. And the people was welcoming the toilet block was well situated and well maintained.

Very close to Alton towers which was perfect as we were off on adventures there but also perfect for family walks thereís lots of wild deers an great public footpaths near by!

There was also some nice pubs but you do have to book give the covid 19 situation.

The only downfall was the park was closed because of covid. Although government guidelines are that they can be opened now. It looked lovely though my kids was itching to get in there.

Could of done with a little shop 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2020 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Siobhan2 kids 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, great accessible facilities and friendly.

We came to this site as a test run for our first trip in our trailer tent and for the kids to go to Alton Towers for the day while I set things up.

Everyone we spoke to was very helpful and gave me some suggestions for subsequent trips.

I would definitely return here so I can explore the local area more with my dogs. 


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 36 reviews from this member

 Arrived for a Derbyshire DA rally. Wrong weekend!

Did I feel a bloody idiot.

Well never mind we all had a bloody good laugh about it.

I booked on site and stayed.

And what great wardens all of them. And the site is a credit to them all.

Granddaughter loved the park, able to ride her bike safe, and the fields to walk the dog.

Pub next door was also great and site I can imagine to be very busy when Alton Towers is open.

Great views and facilities, will go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Elis 1 review from this member

 Really organised and lovely accommodating staff, high standards respected site by others.

Loved the mix of people and dogs.

Efficient site, large, only one grey water disposal took time to have to go back via one way system a pain in a hired camper van to organise ( not savvy with van or rental must dos, prefer a tent any day !). Best to have use of car when at site so used Nanas Taxis to Alton Towers, great service and Nana a cool fellow.

Star pub just what you need after 20, 000 steps around the park.

Short stay but showers excellent, dogs on site ideal for morning hugs.

Met lovely people, would use again great base, countryside is beautiful with views and rambling lanes, woods and quaint villages. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brian T 2 reviews from this member

 Very hairy getting to the site with very narrow roads. Can't fault the site as its lovely.

Please note there is no bus from the site anymore and £15 for a taxi each way into town not very handy if you have a motorhome 


Previous     169 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Alton The Star Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3471 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement