Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Netherwood Touring Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Chester > Netherwood Touring Site Reviews

Netherwood Touring Site
Netherwood House
Whitchurch Rd
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 6AF
Tel: 01244 335583
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Maddy Old 17 reviews from this member

 Love this site, our 4th visit.

Right next to the tow path with an easy cycle ride into Chester.

Lovely peaceful site in a beautiful location.

Chester zoo well worth a visit & nearby 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bandit64 2 reviews from this member

 Just had 4 nights at Netherwood, our experience is mixed really, I will start with the positives.

Nice location right next to the canal and you can walk to chester along it, we didn't though (i have mobility issues). But we did walk to a nice pub called the cheshire cat which is only a few minutes away.

On our first venture out we walked to the park and ride (20 to 25 minute walk along a busy road, although part of it can be done along the canal path) and the buses are every 12 mins, it was only £2. Great value. But I found it too far to walk for me at the moment.

The campsite provided a leaflet which gave directions to the bus, the stop is only about a 10 minute walk away (bus 41) from the village of Christleton and goes to the interchange (station) in chester. So we used that for the next couple of days.

There is another pub (the Rowton Poplars) and a petrol station a few hundred yards from the campsite. So overall the location is very good.

The site is surrounded by trees so very private and only 20 odd pitches (only 3 hard standing, ) so not too big. Now for the negatives.

The campsite just looks a bit unloved, a bit tatty or tired. The pot wash area feels and looks un-looked after, cobwebs everywhere and the water was tepid at best. Awful for doing dishes.

There is one female shower, which took a bit of working out, but nice and hot once id sussed it. But again, although not what I would call dirty, it wasn't the cleanest either. I hate spiders and there were cobwebs everywhere. I had to shower them down in the actual shower and wafted them and the spiders down (with a cloth left on the sink) from where you hang your clothes. I was on edge all the time.

The site is pitch black at night, no lights on or anywhere near the pitches. Only light is by the facilities which is motion activated.

I did read somewhere that the owners have plans to upgrade so I would definitely go back in the future to see if they have made any improvements. I think on balance the positives just outweigh the negatives. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Anthea York 5 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant site with trees, grass and shrubs alongside the Shropshire union Canal. By walking along the canal you can get to at least three good gastro pubs and in an hour or more you can get to Chester passing Waitrose on the way.

The only down side is a noise like thunder which is created by lorries on the A41. You do get used to it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brotherbung 12 reviews from this member

 This is a very quiet site, ideally situated for visiting Chester and surrounding area. Its right alongside the Shropshire canal which is convenient for walks along the towpath with many Public Houses along the way for watering holes.

The site is also dog friendly, provided they are kept on a lead. The facilities are basic but clean.

The A41 goes past the site and can be noisy but as someone whose lived under the flight path to Heathrow and alongside the A1M it wasn't a problem.

On the downside the premium wifi as the codes we were met with "not recognised every day.

Annoying but we enjoyed our stay there all the same and if we're going that way again "we'll ble back". 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stevel 1 review from this member

 Very relaxing break in lovely surroundings.

Nice and peaceful and in a handy location close to the park and ride which takes you the few miles into the centre of Chester 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Briles 1 review from this member

 A small site which we wanted to try because was next to a canal that was safe for cyclists rather than the main roads.

There are 27 pitches and only 3 hard standing, the toilet block has only 1 shower and 2 toilets for men and the same for the ladies which isnít acceptable given the price of £30 per night.

The washing up facilities weíre also lacking.

So unfortunately we would not be returning even though we met some nice people who shared their experiences of other sites up and down the country. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Graham 1 review from this member

 Nice compact site with good access to canal nearby.

Unfortunately all local pubs stopped serving food when we tried to get some on arrival at 6. 30 on Sunday night 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wendyr 1 review from this member

 Lovely dog friendly campsite right next to the canal within easy walking distance of local pubs.

Facilities were very clean and well managed.

We will definitely be returning would highly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Clair5 1 review from this member

 This is a real gem. We took a small motor boat so this was an Amazing location directly on the canal. Its only a 40 min walk into Chester along this and with great pubs a stoneís throw away. The Cheshire Cat was fab. The village is a ten minute walk part way on the canal and is just beautiful.

The ste itself is a lovely size and beautifully kept. Great central space for picnics and ball games which stops you feeling like everyoneís on top of each other.

It has a lovely vibe and would honestly suit everyone. Check in was great the young girl was knowledgeable and just lovely. Internet was fast absolutely no problems there.

The toilets are small yes( only2 femail), but always clean I never found I had to wait once! The shower was great, powerful with a Good charging space !

The washing facilities were great too, itís all beautiful and rustic with real charm.

I canít speak highly enough of it and I canít wait to come back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Susiea 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet site, excellent access to the canal for walking and cycling into Chester.

Close to family friendly activities such as Chester zoo and North Wales beaches. 
via mobile


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Netherwood Touring Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Netherwood Touring Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Netherwood Touring Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3313 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement