Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lizard Lane Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Tyne and Wear > South Shields > Lizard Lane Caravan Site Reviews

Lizard Lane Caravan Site
Marsden
South Shields
Tyne and Wear   (Browse area)
NE34 7AB
Tel: 0191 4551732
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 32 Reviews
                7/10 from 32 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Babskay 1 review from this member

 Beautiful, clean site. Betty and James couldnít be more welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

Ideally located for the beach and lovely walks. Booked to go again, thanks! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 541 reviews from this member

 The coastline stretching from South Shields along to Whitburn, Seaburn and Roker is lovely and lots of regeneration has gone on here in recent years.

Excellent beaches and loads of places to eat out. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EstherP 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed here whilst cycling the Hadrianís cycleway. The tent camping is a small area hidden among the statics. Awful weather in the night and in part due to the tent pitches being on a slope we were flooded by surface water running in, bad luck rather than anything that could be avoided. The site has very good shower and toilet facilities and wifi which was a bonus. Buses go up and down the coast road and we used these to get into town. Handy site. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Macduff 6 reviews from this member

 Located on outskirts of South Shields but there is a good regular Bus Service into the Town nearby.

Clean well kept site.

Friendly helpful Warden.

Excellent Shower Block, very clean with good roomy showers.

£33. 50 a night(quite a high rate) AND having to pay for Electricity on top of that we thought was quite expensive. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Felicity73 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed here at the weekend of the Great North Run. A little bit apprehensive as previous reviews werent too good. Arrived on the Friday. Those running the site were friendly and showed us to our pitch which had glimpses of the sea and backed onto the road. There had been plenty of rain so the grass pitch was very muddy. Wheels spinning we worried if wed get off the pitch as more rain was forecast. Sunday, day of the run the owner of the site decided to let cars park between caravans and motorhomes for a few hours whilst the run was on. I reminded him not to block us in as we were leaving after the run. We got off the pitch okay having put wooden planks under the wheels. Overall the site is basic. Good position near the seafront. Reasonable public transport along South shields. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sallyannm 8 reviews from this member

 We had stayed at Lizard Lane before, and decided to stay again when we had a funeral to attend. It is a very friendly site with the wardens being very helpful at all times - but there do not seem to be any designated touring pitches and when the weather turned bad with 24 hours of downpour the ground became very boggy. Some pitches are just where there has been a static taken away, some pitches are car parking areas beside static caravans not in use. Much of the site is on a slope and we had to be towed off our pitch twice because of the mud with no alternative other than to go back to the same pitch and park a bit closer to the edge to make it easier to tow us off!

Everyone was very friendly and helpful, as I said, but I would only go back here in the dry! However a huge positive is the shower block, which is kept absolutely spotless by a lady who lives on the site. You surely could eat a meal off her floors. Only one peeve about the shower block - please can we have a shelf of some sort by the basins, there really was nowhere to put soap, toothbrush and spectacles. A lovely location with easy access to the sea side and a nice little cafe at The Grotto. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Crazylegs 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this campsite. We went to the area to see my son and I was very surprised at the site. The site is lovely. The toilets and showers are immaculate and although there is some work being done down the bottom of the site it was unobtrusive, to us anyway.

The only problem we had was the fact the site is on a slope and is a little bit tight to get your van onto the pitch, this may have just be our area.

The cost was very reasonable and the camp shop sold all the basics including gas etc.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here. Anyone visiting the area really should visit the Marsden Grotto, a pu on the beach that is carved into the cliff caves. It is opposite the bottom of the site and the food is lovely too. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Franbee 169 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

Booked this site at the last minute as we wanted to visit Durham, about half an hours drive away from the site.

It is well signposted from the coast road heading south from South Shields.

Despite having arranged an arrival time with the warden, he had gone out when we arrived, however a man with a seasonal van showed us an empty pitch where we could use the EHU to make a drink before having to go off again.

On our return the warden was very apologetic, and booked us in on another pitch. As we were only to be staying for 1 night, he charged us £1 for EHU.

The site is on a slope so you have to choose carefully how you use your pitch. However, we had a great sea view. The site is nice and tidy, the grass was short.

The sanitary block has separate facilities for men and women, all nice and clean. Accessed with a card for which you pay a £5 deposit. No washing up sinks available.

At the bottom of the site is a gate onto the coast road, with a foot/cycle path along the cliff top.

To visit Durham, we drove to the Park and Ride, parking is free, and if you have a bus pass, the bus ride into the City is free too.

We would use this site again if we returned to the area. It was moderately expensive. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brionyt 1 review from this member

 We booked onto this site as the one further down the road, which we had used previously was booked. I had been aware of Lizard lane for many years, and to be frank it did have a dreadful reputation. However, I was surprised on arrival re how it has changed (for the better) in recent years. Negatives first: The site is on a slope so leveling ramps, large ones, are a must. That's it for the negatives!

Positives.

Excellent welcome from site warden, escorted to the pitch and given site orientation.

The site has a lovely atmosphere with a mix of tourers and statics, some folk choosing to reside there for best part of the year. Toilet/shower facilities are excellent, housed in what looks like a recent addition. The shop, although small is competitively priced and has pretty much everything you could need, including gas.

The views, from all pitches are fantastic, looking out to see with Marsden rock and bird sanctuary only 100m away.

Noise levels were really good, especially at night, so a decent sleep was had.

Dogs welcome and to be kept on a lead.

Price was £25. 00 per night with the added option of electric hook up £1. 00 per credit, which lasted me 2 days and there was lots left on the meter.

Overall, a great site, great location, friendly, clean, quiet and reasonably priced.

Will definitely use again 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bethceg2 6 reviews from this member

 Found this campsite quite by accident and really glad we did. What a lovely quiet and clean site, the staff couldn't do enough for you and made you feel very welcome. The toilets where lovely and clean with lots of hot water. Its only a small site but the surrounding area has plenty to do. The only negative was as our car is quite low the bumper caught on a couple of speed bumps. But this is definitely a site we will go back to. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lizard Lane Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lizard Lane Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lizard Lane Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near South Shields      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Tyne and Wear

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3987 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement