Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Holme Valley Camping And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth > Holme Valley Camping And Caravan Park Reviews

Holme Valley Camping And Caravan Park
Thongsbridge
Holmfirth
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HD9 7TD
Tel: 01484 665819
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 62
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 170 Reviews
                8/10 from 170 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  170 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Mandys tin tent 2 reviews from this member

We absolutely love this site. It is our favourite and we use it about 7 or 8 times a year. We usually stay if we are attending a music gig at the Holmfirth Picturedrome.

Our preferred pitch is around the pond by the camp shop but is is nice down by the river too. This is just a fabulous friendly site and exactly 1 mile into Holmfirth.

We just love it and can't recommend it enough!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IGTRUCKER 2 reviews from this member

What can we say that has not already been said. 4th time at this site. Very clean. Excellent staff. Spoke to a lovely lady cleaner very polite and helpful.

Toilet were very clean and warm. Great showers, very hot. The grounds were kept clean and not a bit of rubbish to be seen. A few more dish wash sinks have been added since our last visit, very nice.

It make no difference if the site is full or empty, the service you get is the same. Great all round. Could not ask for more and yes we will be visiting again and again without hesitation.

Keep up the good work. Well done all of you for making our stay a pleasant one.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eriba 9 reviews from this member

Really disappointed with site, both toilet blocks not very clean ! No hot water, no loo roll. Went to shop to get details to walk to Holmfirth, stood 20 min before staff noticed I was there!

Pitches are very close together- when we returned from a walk on our first night our van was blocked in by cars and kids running round everyone’s vans ! Will not be returning

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IGTRUCKER 2 reviews from this member

What can we say about this fantastic camp site. Its clean. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Can not do enough for you. The toilets and showers are always keep clean and the water is always piping hot.

Would recommend 100%. Been a few times before and will be definitely coming back again time after time. A little gem hidden away. Love it to all and a bit.

Thankyou to the staff for making our stay a happy stay. A credit to you all

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Cookiekid 37 reviews from this member

We stayed here last weekend with friends. We were pitched on pitch 1. Lovely views of Mill pond.

The site is convenient for walking into Holmfirth.

The reception staff are very pleasant and helpful. The shop is well stocked and not over priced.

The old toilet/shower block is ready for a refurb, although it is clean and warm. The new toilet /shower block is very clean. Well worth the walk round.

The drive down to the site is very bumpy. I know the owners are often filling in the potholes. So they are trying.

Some of the seasonal caravans could do with a clean.

We will be back next year.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dobboanddobbo 11 reviews from this member

2nd visit to this gem of a site. This time was very different as the Beast of the East 2 decided to join us!

It's a lovely little site, small playpark, shallow river for kids to build dams (not while the beast from the east is here though), really well stocked shop with the basics at reasonable prices plus a Lidl 5mins away. Lots of off lead walks for the dog plus a dog friendly pub 10mins walk away and a dog friendly cider brewery/cafe 45mins walk away.

Narrow steep access road but nothing to worry about.

On our leaving day we awoke to several inches of snow and the site spent hours clearing the access drive. We were concerned about the drive home so they very kindly allowed us to leave the caravan there for a small charge of £10 which will be refunded when we return.

There is a small fishing pond which is well stocked and on our last visit my hubby and kids spent ours catching tiddlers.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daveroberts62 1 review from this member

Just returned from this little gem of a site and loved it. It is down a lane which is a bit bumpy in places but we managed fine with our caravan.

There is a field for campers to pitch your tent where a river runs at the bottom off but we were pitched at the side of the pond set amongst the trees.

Lovely to hear the ducks quacking in the morning. There is two shower blocks - one brand new and the other one is a bit dated but spotlessly clean. There's a small shop on site which I can't comment on as we didn't use.

There is nice walks to take the dog for a walk although when we were there it was a bit muddy (not surprising for October). Th e staff/owners are lovely and very helpful. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tent folk 7 reviews from this member

Visited this site recently for the first time. Lengthy single track road to the site was very well worn with lots of potholes. One or two passing places but we noticed a car parked in one to allow it's driver to let his dog out!

Earliest arrival and latest departure time 12 noon, which could be a nightmare if 2 caravans meet, as full length of road not visible. Far better to have an hour's grace between the two times. Reception staff very helpful and observed the 6 metre rule between caravan/motor home units but this didn't seem to apply on the 2 of the tent camping areas, which appeared overcrowded.

Unfortunately one of the 2 washrooms had no hot water and was awaiting repair. This meant 3 showers each side for a huge area of campers plus private bathrooms at an extra cost. Floor mops in the washrooms looked old.

Some pitches near the river or a large pond. Would advise being a distance from the pond if a light sleeper, as very loud ducks double as alarm clocks from about 4. 30am! Useful Campers' Kitchen cafe open at certain times. Campsite situation pleasant with lots of woodland walks.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LesleyGinnelly 1 review from this member

Choose Holme Valley for mine and my 10 yr old sons first ever camping trip. We travelled on public transport to the site. Bus stops about 5-10 min walk from site. We had an electric hookup pitch because my son can't survive without his iPad. We were in the bottom field.

I think they have 3 areas, top field, bottom field and quiet field. We also saw a hard standing area near the lake. The bottom field has a newish clean toilet/shower/bathroom block which was always spotless. There is a little kids play park and pot wash / bin area.

There are ducks wandering around the site and there is a stream and woodland walks to go on. The reception building wasn't being used when we went, instead the shop was doubling as shop/ check in. All the staff are very helpful and friendly.

The shop though small is well stocked. There is a laundry next to it. The nearest pub on foot is the Rock inn about 5-10 min walk. They do food but don't open till 4 during the week but 12 on weekends.

The site has a hut which does food but at certain days and times only. It was open on the Sunday when we arrived but not the Mon or Tues. All in all a lovely well placed site and we will definitely be back !

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ariana 4 reviews from this member

We've visited several times and we are never disappointed. The toilet and shower facilities are the best out of any camp site we have stayed in - very clean and spacious and well stocked.

Very modern also. My children enjoy the play park and the woods around the camp site. The site silted sre helpful and friendly and they try to accommodate all requests.

The site is safe and secure. Some of the permanent parts look a little dated is the only downside!

Previous     170 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4833 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019