Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sykeside Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Sykeside Camping Park > Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 154 Reviews
                8/10 from 154 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  154 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2023 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Heath63 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed two nights here for my very first visit and no idea why I have not been before; what can I say. Location, Location, Location. Surrounded by mountains, walks straight from the site, open all year round and off the ground fires allowed, for that is all I need.

This site offers soo much more. The Staff are so friendly and helpful and go above and beyond. Jason was so helpful, checked on me, made sure I was fine, assisted me to put my canopy up, as it was very windy that day. So thank you Jason.

I had a hardstanding and EHU pitch; I turned my car into a micro camper with canopy, which was very comfortable. It was fab sitting out with a fire in the evenings.

On my first night; I decided to have my supper at Brotherswater Inn, which on site. Yet again very friendly and help. I was able to order food, even though I was a little late arriving at the pub for food. I could not fault the meal I had, a couple of drinks at the table looking out onto the views and a log fire, bliss.

Facilities were well attended, very clean, A little shop for those little basics which may have been forgotten or needed, breakfast baps can be ordered the night before, if feeling a bit lazy to cook breakfast. Reception is at the shop to book in on arrival, if closed, at the Inn.

Windermere, Ambleside, Patterdale all near by, for supplies or for a mooch. Plenty of walks to be had.

I will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Katier 1 review from this member

 Fabulous campsite!

Friendly staff and everything you need for a night away.

Beautiful views and even had breakfast sandwiches from the pub on site.

Would love to stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Jimridge88 2 reviews from this member

 Been here many times over years, great site and location.

Facilities are well kept.

We pitched up on the east end of the camp site, higher up and closer to the trees so had a nice view.

Will return! 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 This is a great site in a brilliant location, surrounded by spectacular scenery.

Decent pub on site, though the regimented booking system and 2 hour maximum stay rule is a bit of a setback.

We’ll placed for the hills and easy driving to Ullswster and Ambleside. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Hatki4 1 review from this member

 What a beautiful campsite, stunning views, clean facilities and the staff were so friendly.

The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced.

Walkers/climbers paradise and very peaceful.

Will definitely go again. Thankyou all. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dmkeys 3 reviews from this member

 Loved the views of the hills,

The staff were really friendly and helpful, loved the walk to water fields even though it was raining,

The toilet were very clean me and my dad partner will be staying again at the Camp site. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 45 reviews from this member

 What a stunning location. 360 degree views. Absolutely fabulous.

Staff helpful and friendly, facilities clean and everyone was wearing a mask inside. The site shop is surprisingly well stocked.

My only gripe is that the disposal of grey water from caravans means lifting the carrier over a step to empty it. I understand that the site has only recently been certificated for caravans, so perhaps this small but important detail has been overlooked.

IMPORTANT; if you are towing a caravan do not take the driving instructions to the site from Junction 36 of the M6. This involves going over the Kirkstone Pass. That was a pretty interesting experience to say the least but we got there in one piece even if the caravan brakes were steaming! Instead use the instruction from Junction 40 for a much easier and smoother approach to the site.

For those who like to keep in touch in a digital sense, your phone is unlikely to pick up a signal and the wifi is only available near the shop but don't let this put you off because this really is a delightful site and we shall return. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Collis 1 review from this member

 I stayed at this campsite with my 19 year old son in April 2021 and could not fault it.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming, even loaned us a fire pit to use.

The facilities were very clean and hygienic which for me personally is a potential deal breaker. Hard to put the setting into words but definitely “idyllic” is up there and liked the fact that you could choose your own pitch.

No WiFi unless you stand by the shop but who needs WiFi in such a wonderful location with stunning views, walks, lakes all around you.

Definitely recommend and I am extremely fussy! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Heikef 1 review from this member

 We loved the campsite - very friendly welcome, superb set-up for COVID measures and a cosy feel.

Lots of walking from the door and a pub right at the entrance which offers amazing food, has well-kept real ale and a great whisky selection. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Frankm 2 reviews from this member

 Adequate, showers good. Bit remote.

Camp fires allowed but it might be an idea for the shop to hire out fire pits rather than bring your own (not possible if backpacking). 


Previous     154 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sykeside Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sykeside Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sykeside Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55591 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement