Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Sykeside Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Sykeside Camping Park Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: 05/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 145 Reviews
                8/10 from 145 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Frankm 1 review from this member

 Adequate, showers good. Bit remote.

Camp fires allowed but it might be an idea for the shop to hire out fire pits rather than bring your own (not possible if backpacking). 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Marcel 1 review from this member

 The campsite is in a beautiful setting, . The location is great and close enough to Keswick for shopping.

They have a nice cafe on site with good breakfast. The staff is helpful and friendly, The pub just across the road is not cheap but quirky.

Showers and facilities are clean and spacious. Quiet in the night. Great place! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 40 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site with wonderful views and walks.

We arrived from the north so avoided the pass, though the roads around Ullswater were very busy.

Reception is through the car park to the Brotherswater Inn and down a steepish road. The shop which sells a good range of basic foods and camping requisites is part of Reception. The showers, toilets and washing up sinks are at the side of reception and the campsite itself futher down the slope in the valley bottom.

The site is basically 2 large grass areas with hardstanding pitches around the side of one of them and an additional terraced field for those with smaller tents. Hardstandings were allocated but tents could pitch where you wanted.

We were there under Covid19 rules so masks were required in all indoor areas and there was a limit of 6 people who could be in each of the toilet/ shower blocks at one time, controlled by a sliding 'Vacant /Engaged' board with 6 slots in each. Sanitiser was provided throughout.

The blocks were basic but clean and there was piping hot water (too hot at times) throughout. The shower cubicles are not the biggest but were more than adequate and each had a plastic stool inside which we found useful. Every other washbasin was taped off to maintain distancing.

Water filling was outside the toilet blocks but there was only space for one van at a time. Toilet emptying was opposite, so it's a walk up hill to empty the cassette if you are not very mobile.

The site was very busy but not noisy. Most people seemed to be there for the situation and for walking/biking/fishing. There are excellent walks for the both the front and the back of the site and guidebooks can be obtained from the shop. There's also a bus stop outside. Buses go to Penrith and Kendall, about one every 2 hours in the summer (Stagecoach route 508).

The Brotherswater Inn is at the entrance to the site. It's a lovely warm pub serving food. During our stay, due to Covid regulations, it was opening restricted hours and doing a basic menu. Inside tables had to be booked in advance but they were also serving food in takeaway containers to eat at the outside tables or to take away and eat at your pitch. The food was great and included things like beef mince stew with dumplings, pie, fish and scampi. Breakfast rolls were available from the Reception/Shop.

One thing to note is that mobile phone reception is very poor to useless but there is a payphone in the pub. We don't have a tv in our van but were told that TV reception is the same. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gedwards 4 reviews from this member

 Stunning setting with mountains surrounding the site. Friendly welcome and well stocked shop with facility to freeze ice packs.

Shower and toilet block adequate but in need of modernisation and proper ventilation. Shower cubicles small with no dry area to hang clothes or dress.

The site is flat and ground very soft for pitching. However, after a monumental storm and torrential rain on night 3 We found ourselves camped in a swamp. With tent pegs literally below the standing water. The awning was flooded and the water had seeped through the foot print and tent groundsheet. With more rain forecast that afternoon/eve we had no choice but to abandon a night early. Such a shame as had it not been for the soggy ground it would provide a perfect base. Sadly we won’t return purely due to the ground conditions. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Iaintaylor43 5 reviews from this member

 OMG it was wet but the campsite is fantastic, hot showers and toilets. We arrived late on Friday evening and as the weather had turned a little as there was horizontal rain we decided to stay in the warmth of the pub and had a lovely evening including as very nice meal.

Saturday the weather was improved and a short low level walk was just what we wanted so off to Patterdale on the bridal path. There was quiet a bit of flooding but we made it there and back after experiencing all possible type of weather, snow rain hail sun string winds!

The staff in the pub were very helpful, as it was low season the bar on the site was closed as was the shop but the staff available more than made up for this.

Many thanks we will be coming back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Juliam 1 review from this member

 Easy communication with staff, a friendly family running it.

It's a bit isolated if you don't have a car, but I knew that when I booked it.

Close to one of the paths to Fairfield Peak, great location to hike. The bunkhouse with heating and toilet is quite comfortable, nice views. I

N the common kitchen spot, I used my own campingas, we have fridge if needed.

Good value for money. Would like to come back :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alfearnley 8 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite in an amazing location.

This campsite is in a nice quiet location in the lake district but still not too hard to get to from the motorway.

The road from Windermere is steep but not single track with passing places so fine for campervan and normal size motorhome otherwise for caravans and v large units I think it's recommended you arrive from the north.

Also the views on the drive are well worth it.

The site itself has everything you need. We stayed in late December and even then there were plenty of campers even a few tents, very brave.

The facilities were spotless and plenty of them. Washing up area was good. P. Eanty of hard standing with EHU, all nice and level.

In winter you check in at the pub. The staff are very friendly and check in was simple.

There is no phone signal or tv in the area. Which is to be expected. WIFI is available in the bar but be warned at busy, meal, times it gets overloaded so runs slow. I would think if visiting in summer you might struggle.

The site is dog friendly and the bar always had 2 or 3 in it.

We had breakfast in the pub which was ok. Nicely cooked etc but my husband described it as not the best he'd had. (He's a bit of a breakfast expert) I had continental which was cereal, toast, fruit, coffee and juice.

Walks in the area are great. You can follow several foot paths straight from the site. We did a longer walk over high street but there are shorter walks too. A nice circuit from the campsite past the lake to the village and back can be done with just a small section on road.

We will definitely return. Only improvement could be Wi-Fi is £1 per hour. Perhaps each pitch should get an hour per day included or maybe if your eating it should include and hour free. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 566 reviews from this member

 Beautifully located site amongst amazing scenery.

As always, friendly welcome at the pub and site from the friendly and welcoming staff.

Food was disappointing - tough lamb overpriced.

Will be back but they need to avoid inconsistency with bar meals. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smileyman762 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent location and nice site.

Facilities are good, warm and clean.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Pub on site is very good with nice food and dog friendly.

Would come again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Donski 5 reviews from this member

 Unbelievably my first time in the Lake District. The drive in and the actual campsite are simply stunning.

The site is small but neat. A lot of the pitches you will need to carry your gear from the car, it wasn’t a problem.

One side of the site does allow you to park next to your pitch. Showers were well heated and a nice size. Kept very clean but muddy feet are muddy feet right.

You can walk to the nearby lake from the site which is a lovely evening thing to do. Nice little pub at the entrance, a bit of an uphill walk, staff were lovely and food good.

The WiFi proved useful as there is no mobile phone service at all ! Just up the road it kicks in though which was great for the phone sat nav.

The weather was exceptional for me so just had an amazing few days. I will definitely be back, probably very soon.

All in all an easy recommendation. 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sykeside Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sykeside Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sykeside Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2111 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December