Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sykeside Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Centreno13 10 reviews from this member

We, ve been visiting this site now for nearly 20 years, probably one of the best locations for a campsite surrounded by fantastic veiws and fells. If you like your fell walking there are tons of good walks from the site.

The pub is great with good beers and decent food and the staff are always friendly and pleasant. But one thing we have noticed over the years is the lack of investment in the site, the showers and toilets are very old and tired, some locks on the cubicles don't work and one on our last visit was dropping off. The showers are small and its very difficult to keep your clothes on the back of the door dry, Showers are initially warm, then hot enough to take your skin off then luke warm again, which is usualy where the tempreture stays. The chemical toilet disposal has seen better days and is a bit out of date.

All in all we love the site because of the location and friendly people (and the pub!), facilities on other sites have moved on in quality in the last few years so please spend a bit on updating the facilities.

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 489 reviews from this member

We spent two nights at Sykeside just before New Year.

As always, friendly welcome, great pub and good facilities.

The site is very secluded but there is lots of excellent walking in the area.

Will certainly return.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 489 reviews from this member

This is a brilliant campsite.

Located in one of the most picturesque spots in the Lakes.

Access to classic walks available from the site.

The pub is good, with good selection of beers and decent food.

Always a friendly welcome!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ArtieMiss 6 reviews from this member

This was a lovely, well spread out campsite in the valley of surrounding beautiful Lake District hills. The drive to get there was something else though! winding, very narrow roads! If you like hillwalking, you'd love this place. Unfortunately I don't and neither did the lots of kids that were dragged there by their parents. They hung out in the toilet block to chat for something to do. The showers had VERY short timings once you pressed the button. I have long hair and normally need to wash it twice before applying conditioner. I couldn't do that as I got so frustrated with the button pushing. You had to pay for Internet by the hour in the Brotherswater Inn at the back of the site. 1 per hour. I was a godsend though as there was nothing else to do here when the weather was bad and it was, even though it was fine outside of the surrounding hills! Thank goodness for the delicious food and hospitality of the Brotherswater Inn! There were no lights around the site at night so it made finding the toilet block a bit difficult. The washing machine and tumble dryer are used with tokens from the shop. 3 for a wash and 1 for half hour tumble dryer but they are excellent commercial ones. Oh my son complained that there was no hairdryer in the mens toilet. Men have vain needs too!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beattie Family 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a long weekend, it was the first time we had stayed on the site although had eaten at the brotherswater arms last year. Very impressed with the site and as we arrived at lunchtime could choose almost anywhere on the site. We found the ground very flat and did use as recommended hard ground pegs.

The toilet/shower block was very clean and showers nice and hot and free! They are closed between 12 and 14. 00hrs but you could use the toilets in the pub which is a short walk away. There are no electric hook ups for tent users which we were unsure about but if was great fun going back to basics! The staff were very helpful and we really enjoyed the quiz at the bar/clubroom on the Saturday night.

There are so many walks from the campsite which was fab and we really enjoyed our climb up middle dodd and then dove crag including the priesthole as well. Will definitely use the site again.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardh1905 15 reviews from this member

Stunning location amongst the Lake District fells; ideal for hill walking.

Large level grassy area available for tents. Limited parking as a large part of the camping ground had been cordoned off as the ground was too wet to drive on. There are also some terraces that have been dug out of a slope; suitable for smaller tents only. I chose one of the terraces; a good level pitch with a fine view across the rest of the site to the hills beyond.

Facilities are fine.

The nearby Brotherswater Inn is welcoming, dog AND child friendly, has good beer and food, and an enormous wood burning stove; very welcome on a frosty February evening after a day on the hills.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 489 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Sykeside recently, this time as part of a Lake District tour for New Year.

As always, excellent service, great facilities and excellent walking from the site.

Great site!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 489 reviews from this member

We've stayed at Brotherswater a number of times. It has to be one of the best sites in the Lakes.

Warm welcome, excellent pitches and good facilities. Pub serves excellent beer and good food. Handy on site shop in season.

Stunning surrounding, with some of the best walking available in the Lakes right from the site!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Maddiedarlingx 1 review from this member

Stayed in a glamping pod here, such a lovely area! Loads of great walks, and the villages near by were just stunning! Everyone was v friendly, and the pub was super handy to stop off for a couple drinks! However, the field does flood pretty badly in bad weather, most of the tent campers left because of it! Cant say I blame them though!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fmt3 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic location. Immediate access to some great walks. Excellent pub and shop on site with very friendly staff. Beware, some parts of the field flood during heavy rains! Excellent breakfast served at the pub!

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1328 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!