Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Side Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Side Farm Campsite > Reviews

Side Farm Campsite
Patterdale
Ullswater
Lake District
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NL
Tel: 01768 482337
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 60
Open: 28/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
                8/10 from 39 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: SlackPacker 8 reviews from this member

 I decided to give this site another chance after a bad experience back in 2006 (I hasten to add- it was no fault of the campsite!), but this time round in 2023 it couldn’t of gone any better. So glad I came back!

Nestled in a stunning location right next to the southern end of Ullswater- the views are fantastic. You really are in the middle of all the good stuff.

Lake access is reasonably easy if you have a kayak or small boat- just a short slope to negotiate down to the water’s edge (there is no trailer access for anything bigger unfortunately).

Showers and toilets are basic but brilliant and always clean. Ground is uneven with limited flat spots so I would imagine finding a flat spot during busy times would be a challenge.

But all in all this is a wonderful basic little site with very friendly staff and if you pick your times you can find a good spot.

I will be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Kirsty 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights with my 12 year old daughter.

Site is a little hidden gem. Beautiful surroundings with direct access to a small ‘beach’ area on Ullswater.

Easy walk into Glenridding from the site.

2 Push button showers in the ladies with good power.

Toilet block is basic with breeze block and concrete floor but was clean and spacious.

Useful laundry room (didn’t use this).

You can pitch up wherever you like, a lot of the pitches are slightly sloping, but this didn’t bother us too much.

The site was quite busy when we arrived but easily found a nice spot and the quiet rule of 10. 30 was adhered to.

It appears there was a cafe here at some point, but this was not open during our stay.

Would definitely return here in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gill Greenwood 1 review from this member

 Fantastic campsite at Ulleswater.

Excellent toilet, shower facilities, washing up area, with sinks, washing machines, driers.

Ideal base for walkers. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Ellisq 1 review from this member

 Great campsite in ideal location by the lake, perfect for swimming/sunbathing and boating.

Facilities were basic, but showers were hot and plenty of loos and cleaning facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sazza79 1 review from this member

 Myself & my ex-boyfriend used to visit this site regularly during the summer months. We were always given a warm welcome & booked in efficiently.

The tea room was amazing, providing home made cakes & other essentials. The site itself is in a perfect location, right beside Ullswater lake. Pitching can be a bit of a a problem due to uneven ground & the site can be overcrowded at peak times. Showers are always hot, toilet facilities are basic but do the job & you can use washing machines & tumble dryers for a small fee.

There are a few pubs within walking distance, that serve home made food at reasonable prices. If you fancy a longer walk Glenridding is a beautiful little village with country pubs & coffee shops. There is access to watersports & boat trips from the lake side & there is also facilities to hire bikes.

Would definitely recommend & can't wait to go back there in the future & introduce my little boy to the joys of the lake district. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sleepingontheground 2 reviews from this member

 Easy to find, from the south look for the Patterdale Hotel and its a few hundred yards on the right. Long dirt track to the farm to pay on arrival, then another drive up to the field.

Its a beautiful site set under Place Fell and overlooking Ulswater. The field does slope quite a lot but there are plenty of flat spots to get comfy in.

Good size shower block, only 2 showers but plenty of sinks for washing in. Has a good utility room as well with washer/dryer but I didn't use them.

Locally its ideal for doing walks up to High Street, or along the valley floor north or south.

Thunderstorms and heavy rain one night but the ground stayed firm so that is a plus. In fact bring a hammer as the ground is a little rocky in places. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hilly V 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Side Farm for two nights. Stunning location but hard to find. Sat nav takes you to wrong place and have to notice a small sign on the roadside. Long track takes you to farm and cafe, where you book in. Rates are reasonable - £40 for two people, two nights plus car. Then drive a 1/2 mile on a rough track to the camping field. Not allocated pitches - we found lovely level spot, not overlooked with great views of Ullswater and near to the washrooms.

As mentioned in other reviews, they were adequate but only two showers and with school groups staying there could be a queue, also bin was overflowing with paper - seemed a bit uncared for and there was no mop or anything to clean out the showers before or after use.

Good wash up facilities and clothes washer/driers.

Nearest pub was quite a hike away and no petrol station near by so fill up - we had to get emergency 5L can from Sharmans the local shop!Lovely walks, views and can take steamer boat trip round Ullswater. Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PaulaMB 19 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night, arriving on our bikes. The location is absolutely stunning £19 for one night, two people.

The site is lovely, very removed from the farm which is lovely but I imagine that it isn't policed much in the evenings.

The showers are hot and free, facilities absolutely adequate. Unfortunately when we were there the toilet block had not been cleaned or the bins emptied for some time. The general rubbish bins were overflowing with rubbish piled all around them which is a shame because it gives a poor impression.

The road from the farm to the camping field is very rough and has a lot of potholes, we were on our bikes but it would be interesting in a car!

We will return, I wouldn't return in peak season though. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chumbeiro 13 reviews from this member

 Location, location, location. Says it all really. Beautiful views with immediate lake and fell access. Twenty minutes on foot to the pub. Unfortunately that's where the positives stop for me. I'd estimate less than 10% of this site is anywhere near flat. Don't get me wrong - we do plenty of wild camping and have camped here in the past; I don't expect a bowling green or Caravan / Camping Club style regulation but too much of the space has a significant slope. On the whole field there are approx a dozen relatively flat spaces, anywhere else and you're going to find you slide out of your tent during the night.

Two male and two female toilets in a block built 15 years ago (which also looks like it was the last time decorated) is not enough for a site which advertises it's capacity as 70 tents.

£20 for two adults in a camper van for 24 hours is poor value; the owners must be laughing their way to the bank.

Get there early or when it's quiet otherwise there are better options close by. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Millseyboy 5 reviews from this member

 The wife, dog and I have just returned from a three night camping trip to Side Farm. As someone who has stayed at over 15 campsites across the Lake District over the last five years, I have to put this straight into my top three without any hesitation. This is truly an absolute gem of a campsite and is also great value for money.

Price

£17 per night for a couple and a dog. No restrictions on tent size. Cannot knock that!

Access Road

As long as your car is not a ‘low rider’ there is absolutely nothing to worry about. There are quite a few potholes to negotiate on the track but as long as you stay in first or second gear you are not going to do any damage to your car. In terms of gradient, it is slightly steep for about 10 metres in one place but again, nothing to worry about. Our fully laden 1. 2 Renault Modus made light work of the hill. There are also two gates to open/close on the way to the campsite which is a two minute drive from the farmhouse down the track.

Ground

The ground was not the best to hammer a peg into. I used two or three rock pegs along with standard pegs but it was not really a problem. The site is 30% flat and 70% sloping. We camped on a slight slope but to be honest it was not too bad. Previous reviews have expressed concern at the sloping ground but once the tent was up and we were settled with a beer we did not even notice it. As you drive into the campsite there are roughly 6 pitches on flat ground beside the shower block to the left. Further up the campsite there are more flat pitches with a slightly better view of the lake but I would imagine you will need to be very early or very lucky to bag one of those.

Atmosphere/Hospitality

We travelled on a Friday and left on a Monday. This was not during school holidays so the site was only really at 40% capacity. Overcrowding was not an issue. I can understand how some previous reviews have criticized the fact that other campers were right on top of them and space and privacy was non-existent. Once you pay your money at the farmhouse there was no contact/patrol of the campsite by the farmer that I saw, so I am not sure how they monitor any overcrowding. It is not the biggest campsite in the world. We had no issues with overcrowding. The staff working at the little shop built against the farmhouse were very friendly. The shop stocks a good range of products and was open most of the day. For a small donation we put our ice blocks in the ice lolly freezer which was very useful.

Facilities

Shower block was always very clean with plenty of liquid soap. There are a few cobwebs high above your head but it was not anything unusual for a farm shower block. The hot water pressure was excellent and always a nice warm temperature. Showers are free but there are only two showers in both the male and female washrooms (confirmed by the wife!) which may be an issue at busy times. I always shower in the late afternoon after walking so there was no problem waiting for a shower. There is a pot wash area with four sinks, again with good water pressure and temperature. There were also two washers and two driers which were £1 for a 30 minute spin.

View/Walks

No much to say here except amazing. One of the finest views from a campsite in the Lake District. It would take some beating. We climbed High Street from the campsite which took around 2 hours 30 minutes to get to the top at a gentle ascent.

Location to Pub

Patterdale is 15 mins walk back down the access track and past the farm house and farm shop then left at the main road. There is one pub, The White Lion, which has a good selection of real ales and reasonably priced food. I had fish and chips which was really tasty and I paid £9. 95. There is also the Patterdale Hotel which has a huge beer garden and a good lake view. It is on the main road though.

Glenridding is 30 mins walk away. Again past the farm house but turn right at the main road an go past the church. There are some nice off road sections here which were good for our dog to have a run about on the way. There are three pubs and two hotels. I recommend the Ramblers Bar which is built onto the Inn by the lake hotel. It has been recently refurbished and had a great atmosphere and selection of ales and wines. The food also looked good but we did not eat.

I will be returning here without a doubt. Cracking little site. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Side Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Side Farm Campsite have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Side Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Side Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1884 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement