Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South End Caravan Park Walney Island

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

South End Caravan Park Walney Island
Walney Island
Barrow In Furness
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA14 3YQ
Tel: 01229 472823
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RANDM 8 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site on Walney Island. Hard standing serviced pitches but we have a large caravan and found pitch fairy tight to get a car awning and caravan on, could of just done with being slightly larger. On site heated swimming pool, games room and sweet shop for the kids and club house and bar. Walked down to the beach but not over impressed just a rocky coastline rather than a beach. A fairly narrow winding road for the last 2-3 miles of your trip to this site but accessible just watch out for a few rather large pot holes. WC/Shower block clean and well maintained. We would return to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Canyaker 5 reviews from this member

Excellent friendly site. Touring area is relatively small in comparison to the site's main business of mobile homes. But is has a great kids play area as well as a good sized indoor pool and indoor play pool area where children can be supervised by their parents in a bar annex. Yes there is a good bar as well where hot food is available in the early evening. There is also a good games room. Each pitch has electric, water AND grey-water drainage point. There is a beach just offsite where there are no restrictions on access to the sea, unfortunately only when the tide is in as there are mud flats and the sea is only usable around high tide. But otherwise no moronic signs as are depressingly prevalent over much of the country regarding 'no launching of private water craft'. We would be very happy to return to this site if we wanted to be in that area which is also very good.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davidsteel 14 reviews from this member

Just had a long weekend here with touring caravan. Pitches are level with fine gravel surface and a grass area adjacent. Electric, water and drain on every pitch. Site was busy as it was school holidays, lots of children around. Plenty for them to do as there was a large play area, and also the free swimming pool and splash pool. Bowls and tennis available on site with equipment to hire. Did not use the bar/club so can't comment but prices were very reasonable, everyday basics also available from the bar. Shower facilities were first class and very clean, always cleaned at 7am.

However, the site is very remote, 2 miles from the nearest pub/restaurant in Biggar Village and 5 miles from Vickerstown where their is a carvery at the Ferry Hotel. Otherwise, it is over the bridge into Barrow for the main shopping area.

Walney can get very windy as it is quite exposed, would recommend storm straps for an awning. All the tourers on seasonal pitches were anchored down.

To sum up, a nice site especially if the weather is in your favour. Enough for kids to do on site especially if they have bikes/scooters. A good base to tour the wider area.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Johncarroll 1 review from this member

A great family site, we went in vw camper the pitches are gravel with grass for your awning. The best cleanest toilets I ever seen, all large cubicles, showers were the same spotless. Great club with kids disco bingo, and a group on, the pool is indoor and you can have a drink and watch the kids having fun, thewildlife and bird sanctuary are amazing easy to walk round even for me and I use a stick. There's piel island you can see it from the site, I cant find 1 fault on this site so much to do I cant name it all. You can hire a bike there, and there's no drunk yobos for a change just nice friendly people, like camping used to be, and the food in the bar is really tasty first time my girls cleaned there plates, cant wait to go back.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Dopeydwarf 1 review from this member

Stayed at Walney Island last year and the year before with family and friends as a friend owns a mobile home on the site. Had a great time. Great facilities, pool fabulous, bar very pleasant, staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Great laundry facilities. Had a sauna on site, play area and games room. Wonderful views over Piel Island. Had a lovely time and would recommend to anyone who wishes to holiday with a family. Went to the Lakes which wasn't far away, ideal place to base for touring the area. Only a few minutes from Barrow but you would not think it. Very peaceful site and everyone very friendly and welcoming. Loved it so much I am going again at the end of August this year as I didn't get chance to go to Piel Island or the zoo, both on the agenda this year.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phantom309j 13 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the Jubilee week, site was very busy for the whole week. Staff friendly and always seemed cheerful. Toilets showers and pool areas always very clean, but pool is small and can get very crowded. Site in general was very tidy and presentable, our son loved the outdoor play area and when we were on site spent most of his time there.

The site is a little remote, meaning quite a drive to visit surrounding attractions, but if you are happy to spend your holiday on site then no problem.

The pitches all have electric hookup (with good supply, no tripping out even with heating tv and electric kettle on) along with a water tap and grey water drain. But they are on the small side meaning cars are parked across the front of caravans. Children speed round the site on bikes sometimes getting very close to the cars.

But the biggest put off for us was the noise made by people returning from the club at night, twice we were woken, once at almost 2am and the second time at around midnight. I know it was the Jubilee week but I don't think it is too much to expect people to respect those who are sleeping, I like to be up by 6am but I don't go out waking those who sleep till 9am.

All in all a nice site, but not one we will return to due to the pitch sizes and the noise.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kitty1303 2 reviews from this member

We have stayed here many times as its a friendly, clean site, But our main reason to go again was due to the new splash pool been advertised, and having a 2yr old its brilliant. Kids loved it. The food is gorgeous, served hot and toilet and shower facilities are great with Hot water, the nearest shop is a fair bit away, but they do sell the basics on site. The staff are really helpful and cheery which makes a difference to your break. Lots to keep the kids entertained including a large clean play area :-)Nothing at all to moan or complain about. Would certainly return ! xxx

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

This is more of a 'holiday park' type of site, with many facilities on-site. As others have mentioned, it has a swimming pool and a large bar/restaurant area that appears to be used for entertainment/bingo etc.

We stayed on a Monday night which made it all look a little quiet, not that we'd use many of these facilities ourselves. I'd imagine it would be more active at weekends.

It's a tidy and well kept site throughout.

The site is located towards the south end of Walney Island, which is pretty remote, but allows for some relaxing walks on roads and lanes with very little traffic. It's quite a distance from Barrow, so you'll hardly be walking into town :-), but with all the facilities they have on-site, you'd hardly need to.

There's a nature reserve within walking distance if you want to spend some time investigating, and from most of the site you can watch the shipping going in and out of the port.

A very relaxed location out of the way of the busy Lake District, but within reach of it if you want to investigate it on a day trip.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janienich 11 reviews from this member

Would agree with most of the others here that this is a great little site with good amenities, having a small water tank the tap on the pitch was a real added bonus.

I felt that the pitches were actually a little on the small side, by the time you have your 'van on site and your awning, it left very little room for the car and it felt a little squashed.

From the touring section the facilities are on your doorstep and it's only a five minute walk to the beach.

The pool was very clean (and free!) which is a bonus for wet days, and there are bar meals available on site, but be warned, they can take a very long time! We were a party of 10 admittedly, but the time difference between the first and last meal being served was 40 minutes!

Walney itself has fantastic beaches. You could be better off popping into the car and going up to Sandy Gap or Earnsee Bay towards the north of Walney as they have better and bigger beaches, that said, the south end of the island tends to be quieter, although, you can't exactly moan about Walney's beaches being overcrowded.

The Round House at Sandy Gap is a lovely Chinese with great views over the sea, and Andy's Chippy on Hastings Street is very good and also serves Chinese. You can't beat their meat and potato pies, they're the same ones as featured on the Hairy Bikers!

In good weather, Walney is brilliant, and the site is too, if it's a little cooler then you will need a car. Have to say I'd be reluctant to stay here without one as you really are at the wild end of the island. All in all a great site.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Busterpot33 42 reviews from this member

What a brilliant site, well spaced, tidy, clean and very helpful, friendly staff. Lovely walks from the site, ideal for dogs, who are well catered for with a large space for them to run and then a gate onto a walk alongside of the marshes. So peaceful, feels like you are miles from anywhere.
We had rather a bad storm whilst we were there, and the only bad point although not only relative to this site, it occurs on many sites now. The 'scurge' of the 'seasonal touring vans' left on site all year, who cram 'everything' underneath and around their vans.BBQ's, awnings, bikes, windbreaks, push chairs, tables, chairs, plant pots even a 'garden shed'! You name it, its crammed underneath or around the van, and it looks awful. Very dangerous in this storm as several loose items, took flight and sailed passed our motorhome, fortunately not damaging us or the vehicle.
There are a lot of seasonal vans here who also have the best pitches, nevertheless still a nice site, with club, and pool in the season. Facilities clean and modern. Good play areas for children too.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2702 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!