Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile Reviews

Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile
Chapel Stile
Great Langdale
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 9JR
Tel: 01539 437150
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 106 Reviews
                9/10 from 106 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Katier 1 review from this member

 Stunning views - mountains and lakes

Great area - stones throw away from lake you can swim and play in

Adequate toilet/shower facilities - very basic and equipped well for Covid-19 (hand sanitiser outside)

Long walk up to facilities from bottom camping area - not a major issue if you donít mind walking

Great value for money - £10 per adult per night and £5 per child per night

Lots of space for tents. Donít worry about turning up there should be plenty of room. If in doubt email and they get back in touch straight away (although customer service skills once there could improve - maybe he was having a bad day)

Would visit again :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Campanula 7 reviews from this member

 This is a decent basic campsite - all the facilities you need (toilets, showers, washing up sinks - I think you could ask for ice block freezing at the farmhouse but we didn't need this). It is a big site and all the facilities are by the farmhouse - as there are some none camping fields between the upper and lower camping fields this means you will be a long way from the toilets in some areas.

It was very busy at the weekend of our stay - we were glad we arrived on the Thursday when it was a bit quieter. There did seem to be quite a lot of groups around so very noisy during the day, and I'm not convinced that all the fires were enclosed (one quite near us was in a fire basket which had quite a sizable fire underneath on the ground), but it did quieten down for the night.

Then the only thing disturbing us was the bird life :) If you come at this time of year and hear some really weird noises in the night, they are the display 'drumming' or 'bleating' sounds of Common Snipe: the males make the noise with special tail feathers! Very bizarre noise - we couldn't think what could be making it!

As others have mentioned, the sinks are placed really high in the main toilet blocks - I think someone 6'6" must have put them in! There's a small sink round the corner, and the smaller toilet block had a single sink at a more normal height, so my younger son used this one. The showers only have a few hooks and no internal divider, so plan accordingly, and there was no mop so the shower floors got very messy at the weekend.

Overall, it's not my favourite campsite ever, but it's decent, good value for money and in a superb setting - and the snipe were a bonus I've never encountered before! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beri 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite in a beautiful location. Pubs and village shop within walking distance. Facilities very good. Plenty of places to pitch up. Quieter near to shower block on my visit. Reasonably priced tariff. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Andy-hew 2 reviews from this member

 Stopped here last Friday evening on a trip to the Langdales to cheer a friend on his Bob Graham Round.

Fantastic location, and huge site set over a number of fields. Stayed near the farmhouse and facilities as it would be a bit of a trek form the fields near the river. Glad I did as it was a bit quieter here, whereas the fields a bit further away had a bit of a party atmosphere.

£9 a night for one person in a campervan. Red hot free showers too made for excellent value. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leshem 16 reviews from this member

 Good site at a great location! Does the job!

Site location is great, the view is amazing and lots of hiking options around.

Site itself is very big with several field to choose from, though some of them are very far from the shower a toilet block! The fields themselves are relatively flat with good drainage. No designated pitches just go and find your spot.

The whole place especially toilets and showers was kept clean during our stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Claireuk 14 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 2 night stay. Great place to camp to explore this area. Basic campsite ( it's a farm !) but toilets, showers (free ) and dish washing area are kept amazingly clean ! This is a turn up and pitch site. It's got a tricky entrance and narrow track leading down to it so anything bigger than a campervan don't think I'd chance it ! Views are amazing. We had a beautiful sunny day and we walked from the site to Stickle Tarn. Next day was wet and the views around you are just as amazing with the low clouds. There are lots of walks from the site we just didn't have the time. We will have to go back ! £6 per person plus £3 per vehicle was good value.

We camped on the field near the toilets and it rained really heavy one night. The campers in the field nearer the entrance looked really water logged so beware.

Couple of pubs and a shop with a tea room close by. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hilly V 5 reviews from this member

 My husband and I visited Baysbrown farm campsite this summer for two nights and loved it!

Bit tricky to find the entrance - could have better signage and then there's a narrow track to drive down - about 3/4 mile but the road is okay. Check in at the farm house and then it's free range to pitch in any of their many fields. Far fields are quite a walk from the facilities though.

Although not near a lake, the views are wonderful - you are in the valley below the Langdale Peaks. It's quiet and serene, apart from the noise of cows and sheep. About a 20 min walk to the local shop (with lots of local produce and essentials)and pub, which served excellent food. About a 15 min drive to lovely Ambleside with all the shops you need and a quaint arthouse cinema, art gallery and selection of take aways, if you want to eat in the tent and enjoy the view!

The facilities were fine - plenty of hot free showers, although no mop to clean your cubicle before or after use and good washing up area. All kept clean, if you don't mind the odd spider's web etc - which you expect.

A few school groups were on site but there was no noise or disruption and you can drive up next to your tent - very handy. The prices were very decent too - one of the cheapest we found in Lake District

A lovely relaxed site with lots of space - highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mlcreed 7 reviews from this member

 This was the first time we had ever stayed in the Langdales and were really impressed.

The campsite was very spacious with lots of flat places to pitch. We arrived on the weekend which was relatively busy but still had a really nice ambience. It got much quieter during the week.

The owner was very friendly, the toilet facilities were spotless and the rates very reasonable for the lakes.

There was great access to Causey Pike and the Stickles, on the longer days we also made it over to Bowfell and Scafell. There were plenty of pubs in walking distance. It was dog friendly but didn't charge extra for having them there which was lovely

We were camped at the very bottom of the field near the road so it took a good 5 minutes to get to the toilet and shower block, having a bike to get there and back was a huge bonus.

Only negative the recycling was really difficult to work out. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Earlyriser 3 reviews from this member

 The site is amazing. Back to basics camping. Loads of room for the kids to run round and a lovely stream to play in too. Stunning views and the Langdale Coop is a 10 minutes walk for basic provisions. Never had to queue for the facilities.

It can be very windy so bear that in mind. The farmer will freeze your freezer packs for you and charge phones for a small fee. Just spent 5 nights there. Will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catarinabod 55 reviews from this member

 Just back from a fantastic 3 night break at Baysbrown Campsite. The site was busy due to school holidays and excellent weather, but plenty of space for all. Occasional queue for wash-up sinks but showers/toilets were always available. Access is via a single track and over a narrow bridge (not suitable for caravans or large motorhomes). Middle of stunning views -. As other reviews have said, if you are camped in the bottom fields, it is a trek to the toilets/showers but we were happy to do that for more space - we camped against the hedge on the right hand side as you drive up and had no-one between us and the views - fantastic for evening sun. Various footpaths from the site. Dungheon Ghyll, Sticklebarn and Wainwrights pubs in walking distance. Great co-op in Chapel Stile that sold everything we needed. River walk through wood leads to Elterwater. Opposite way leads to the Langdales. 516 Rambler bus connects with Ambleside although we didn't use it. The drive up to the farmhouse and facilities is busy as some campers chose to drive up rather than walk. Very short list of rules and very informal campsite. No kids play area but field next door appeared to be available for ball games and shallow river had small beach areas and rope swing. I would say that this site suits families particularly with older children and also keen walkers. We would love to visit again - particularly if we can time the weather again! I particularly liked the fact that we didn't need to drive anywhere - plenty to keep occupied within walking distance. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7171 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement