Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Waterside Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Waterside Farm Camp Site
Barber Booth Road
Edale
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 7ZL
Tel: 01433 670215
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: Easter To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bath Bell Tents 2 reviews from this member

We stayed three nights and found this to be a lovely simple, back to basics farm campsite. The owners were very friendly, as were the lambs in the field next to the campsite! The facilities have been recently updated and were very clean and tidy and had everything you need for basic camping. Plenty of space, shower, toilet, washing up area, water tap and rubbish disposal area. The site was gently sloping, not a problem whilst it was quiet but maybe more of an issue if busy. Location was fab, right in between Kinder Scout and Mam Tor, with stunning views, and only a 15-20 minute walk to the nearest pub. The on site shop was great as we got caught out forgetting the sun cream. The only negative was that the train line was really close and it was a bit noisy throughout the night. Wouldn't stop us staying here again though.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikenfm 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night on hot and sunny weekend. Greeted by owner who was very pleasant and pointed me in the right direction to find a spot. Even though the site was extremely busy there was no noise late at night. Location is perfect for walking and close to local pubs. Views from site are simply stunning!

The facilities are basic but kept very clean.

I will definitely stay at this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wi11b 1 review from this member

We have just returned from spending 1 night at Waterside Farm. We had a great time assisted by great weather.

We were very impressed with the simple site and its close proximity to Edale. The lovely couple who run the site are firm but fair. They are known to monitor for noise and fires after 10-11pm, after-all, they are trying to keep the site nice for everybody to enjoy.

We found the utilities to be great. They have an outdoor washing-up station, customary outdoor tap, toilets and (FREE) shower. Being a working farm, they have fresh eggs for sale too.

I would (and will) go back again, and again, and again!

ABOUT EDALE

The site is approx 1/2 mile from the centre of Edale. However, we chose not to walk down the road, we instead walked 100 yards away from Edale to access a public footpath which then doubles-back and runs parallel to the railway line (below) and the Pennine Way (above). This enabled us to walk off-road and enjoy the views of the Hope Valley (you also get to see your tent on the camp-site too as you pass!)

Edale is a very small hamlet with 2 pubs, railway station and cafe. Most visitors are hikers (and cyclists) who are there to access The Pennine Way. I would recommend visiting an ATM before you go as although some places accept cards, some do not and there are NO cash machines.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ninkynonk 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site with amazing views from all directions. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Toilets and showers were basic but clean and well kept, showers are free of charge. We really enjoyed staying on a working farm, loads of animals for the kids to see. We would visit again much enjoyed, thankyou.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claire6692 2 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite. Little shop on site. The owner is a lovely woman who works hard running the site.

Strict on noise during the day and a zero tolerance policy on noise at night.

The local town which is a short walk away is beautiful. A nice walk with some lovely pubs. All people friendly. We found it was a quite busy area.

Facilities were basic but generally clean.

Train tracks running at the very back of the site but not much noise. Close to the road. But nothing to keep any one awake.

Overall a really nice campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Team Monkey 17 reviews from this member

We loved our short two nights stay here. Our son who loves trains loved seeing them passing through just above the site field. Hens were roaming the site which the kids loved seeing too. They have free showers, loos and a pot wash area. Friendly chatty lady owner. She kept watch over the site regularly too.

Edale village is walkable over some back fields, nice walk, took us about half an hour with young children to walk it.

Great basic back-to-nature type site, great for young children as you can just let them play with them always in view.

We will definitely return to this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kittyboochris 4 reviews from this member

Came here for an adhoc weekend away, it was a last minute booking and had availability and the reviews looked decent, so we went for it.

The owners are lovely, the site it well located for Edale and hikes. Only a 10-15 walk to the local pub.

The site is basic but the facilities were clean and well kept. There was only 1 shower in each male/female toilet but I never had to queue and went straight in both Sat/Sun mornings. The shower was weak (seemed to be affected by anyone else running water) but it was hot and free so we didn't care.

It's next to a train line so you do hear the odd train during the night, but it's not much of a bother.

There was also a sheep with a particularly comical bleet which kept a few campers entertained.

The owners let you pitch anywhere and it's a fairly relaxed place.

Minor downside is a lack of local shop for buying food/BBQ stuff etc (although the owners do have a mini-snack shop in reception).

There's not really anything here for children, so you'd have to make your own entertainment.

We'd stay again if we were coming to this area.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1992lw 1 review from this member

Stayed for three nights (Friday-Sunday). Fantastic stay. Shower and toilet facilities were great with the cleanliness being kept up as much as was practical. Although some areas were on a slight slope, there were no problems with our pitch. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The surrounding views are incredible, great views of Mam tor and Kinder Scout. The animals kept on the farm did not make as much noise as expected and were all very human (including children) friendly. 20 minute walk to Edale centre, where there are pubs and shops and the start of the Pennine walk.

The only issue we had was the issue of no hand drying facility in the shower/toilet area other than toilet roll however this was only a minor issue.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aaronsharpe 1 review from this member

Just back from our second visit to this site and our first camping trip this year.

The ladies' toilets have recently been refurbished, my partner was rather impressed. The gents have just had a lick of paint. The cubicles now have toilet paper in them (a welcome improvement) and the shower worked well. The toilets are the only facility on site, it's just a few small fields.

We paid 6. 50 pppn I think which I thought was fair. Some basic supplies are available (tins, packet food and fresh eggs from the farm) from the farmhouse. I think the Tesco in Whaley Bridge is the nearest big supermarket, but a bit closer is the Aldi in Chapel-en-le-Frith. There are a few shops in Hope also but I haven't been in any.

Didn't go this time but on our last visit we enjoyed few drinks at the Ramblers inn and also had a great breakfast at the small cafe near the train station. Both can be reached after either a bit of walk through the countryside or a slightly shorter walk along the lane.

The site is dog friendly, we took our German Shepherd.

The site is a working farm so there are the usual farm noises. There is also railway line very close to the site. It didn't bother me or my partner, but trains do start early and finish late.

Obvious nearby attractions are Kinder Scout and Mam Tor. We visited Lyme Park and Quarry Bank - making the most of our National Trust memberships.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Panerai ninja 1 review from this member

Stayed at Waterside over a very busy weekend in July for 2 nights with a family of 4.

We had originally booked a different site in Edale only to find our booking had been handed to lots of last minute late comers!

With no advance booking, when we arrived the owner was extremely friendly! She went out of her way to ensure we got a pitch and didn't have to make the journey home. It was very busy, however organised.

The owner made regular checks for noise after 11 pm. I heard no noise.

The facilities were basic which was the only let down. Having said that, the location and views were AMAZING! This made up for it.

After a very busy Saturday night, most of the site departed on Sunday morning and we were left with a field to ourselves, giving us the opportunity to see how great this site really is.

We'd return here if in the area again.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1961 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019