Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: 01/02/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 308 Reviews
                8/10 from 308 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  308 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TiaP 2 reviews from this member

 I had mixed feelings about this site. Negatives first. Arrival on Fri at 1pm was not good as we arrived at 12. 45 to signs saying "strictly no admission before 1pm" and the barriers were down, only time I saw them down. Several of us queued till 1pm! I do understand this but in March. Really?

Cost of bringing a dog is 3 per night which I find ridiculous, why? They should charge for children who are far more disruptive than a dog!

The dog field wasn't even fenced well enough, my dog got through the fence onto the access road!

The showers and toilets soon became filthy on a busy weekend and 3 showers are not enough, also very cramped and nowhere to put anything down or rack for soap/shampoo.

No toilet brush either, need I say more?! Our neighbours arrived and had their door pointing at ours which meant we lost our privacy and we had to share the grass space, I've never known this!

The pitches do feel to be rammed in when the site was full. They are rather tight for a big motorhome and it felt much better during the week when empty!

The site is in a beautiful position and has the makings of a fabulous site but we just felt it lacked in the above ways.

The views are lovely, pitches well cared for and flat and the staff were friendly and nice.

Aldi is just a short walk down the road and there's a few nice walks, details given in a good leaflet in the office.

We enjoyed our stay but felt it could have been so much better with a little more tlc. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rutland Belle 23 reviews from this member

 First impressions were not good. Empty beer kegs alongside reception, a twisted live electric cable stretched across the path to the toilets (this was removed for a couple of days, but returned at the weekend), and an overflowing rubbish skip.

We had specifically asked when making enquiries and when booking if they could provide a quiet pitch as far from the facilities as possible. We were given one approx. 50 yards away with an uninterrupted view of the chemical disposal point.

We were allowed to change pitches, but when asked about a quiet spot we were told that it would be quiet ' until Friday. ' How right they were. The neighbours from hell and a large number of their friends \ family took over on Friday. We left on Sunday morning as we were told that there were no restrictions on noise until 11pm.

The only good thing about this site for us was its proximity to Bakewell. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Opal0313 29 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights. Not the friendliest welcome. As we had had a pup since booking here, we were charged an extra 3 a night for the pup. I expected to pay around a 1 but 3 .... I also asked if we had been allocated a pitch near to our friends with which he replied yes and issued me with a form to sign that was about noise levels and quiet time after 11pm. Which I agree with. I feel because we were with another couple we were signalled out to be rowdy when we have trouble staying awake after 9pm. We were given a sheet of paper to where the pitch was, no info at all just a list of rules. We had to search for water, waste water disposal and bins/recycling.

The first impression of the pitch felt cramped. I expect the 6 metre rule was done to the centimetre. The toilet block I went in was clean and tidy but the showers could have been a little warmer. There was another toilet block at the side but didn't go in. The bins were overloaded skips which were not nice.

The pub was lovely and welcoming but didn't serve food. The dog walk was also very good but a good walk away from pitches.

This site is in a great location been able to walk to Bakewell and lot's of other walks but it's not for us. Too cramped and 3 a night for a pup takes the biscuit.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sea Sharkey 1 review from this member

 Great site, helpful staff,

The pitches are sound,

The bar on site was very pleasant (drinks were pricey though)

The location is about 1. 2 miles from Bakewell which is about a 1/2 walk. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kevinsheldon 36 reviews from this member

 The site itself is fine, hardstanding pretty level, the amenities block is clean, fixtures and fittings look quite new. We strolled into Bakewell along the A6 ('cause it rained the might before), and had a decent lunch.

My main purpose for writing this review is to warn drivers NOT to slavishly follow their sat nav. I did, and took us along a rat run which brought us out just shy of Bakewell close to the A6.

On this rat run I had to descend a 12% hill followed by another, this one was 20%!

The road got narrower and narrower until we finally encountered 2 hairpin bends that wouldn't have looked out of place on the mountain section of the Toir de France!

At the bottom, the road was only wide enough for 1 vehicle.

On the return journey I made sure every road had the letter 'A' in front of it.

Take care

Kevin Sheldon 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 22 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site.

Pitches are pre-allocated. Arrival and booking in was well managed and we set off to fill up the motorhome with water. There are few fill up points available and these are not designed to be used by motorhomes.

We found one where we could be without causing a blockage. The pitches are 8m x 8m and we were on the limit of that length. Our pitch had been cut into the bank and so it was impossible to overhang the hardstanding at the rear and this meant we were too near the circulatory road for our liking. We were quickly and easily relocated to a flat pitch.

The pitches are close together and whilst we do not use an awning I could see that proximity could be an issue. The site has been running for many years and it has the feel of a little lack of love being paid to the site itself.

There is a bar on site with an outside seating area which we did make use of and was very good, never too busy. To my knowledge they do not serve food.

The site is close to Bakewell (about 1 mile) and can be reached by walking along the roadside or via a riverside walk. (This means you begin by walking in the opposite direction at first and end up on the roadside anyway).

Supermarket just down the road which is big enough to get your motorhome onto.

For cycling - Access to the Monsal Trail is to be found in Bakewell which is a great ride along a disused railway line.

All in all a good site, convenient for Bakewell, and we had a good stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tregun 1 review from this member

 Good clean camp site. Friendly pleasant informative staff.

Good facilities toilets, laundry room, games room, bar( drinks and meals)

Very central for surrounding countryside. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jomch4 1 review from this member

 Site well maintained, clean and tidy. Surrounded by well managed hedging and trees.

Play area for the children.

Bar very welcoming after a busy day out shopping or walking some of the beautiful countryside surrounding the site.

Bakewell is a good local town to visit.

Recommend walking the Monsal Trail. Take a look at Monsal Head - great!

I think the only point I would want to make is about the disabled washroom/shower room. The shower is not accessible (in my opinion) and where some of the handrails have been fitted in the room it doesn't feel right.

The opening to the shower doesn't open very wide so if a person needed support to get into the shower they would struggle. Although the disabled perons shower room/ washroom/ family room was very clean. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Clearsheep 1 review from this member

 The main toilet and shower block is very good, and having an extra block when the main one was busy was great. The bar with outdoor area was good, the staff were very helpful, and the washing up and laundry facilities and cooler block freezer made life easier in a tent.

The location is very good, too. You can easily and safely walk into Ashford village and to the Aldi store and the Thornbridge brewery tap on the outskirts of Bakewell, and into the town centre if feeling energetic.

Only downside really was that we were at the bottom of one field where water collected, and the pitches were very well-used and had become muddy. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Pippab 1 review from this member

 Reasonable sized pitches with clean showers and toilets.

There's an Aldi within walking distance- though pubs etc in Bakewell are a bit of a long walk but it's definitely worth a visit.

There's a bar on site and you can order take-aways from there also. 


Previous     308 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Greenhills Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenhills Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Greenhills Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2437 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement