Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX   See Map
Tel: 01629 813467
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 258 Reviews
                8/10 from 258 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  258 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Marclewis 17 reviews from this member

First time at Greenhills and it's in a beautiful location. Facilities were clean and well kept. The shop looked well stocked and there was a cafe that looked good too.

There was a good marked route to a pub. I did walk the route, but only to a friends house to watch England play in the World Cup.

I thought £19 for the night in the filed with no hook up was slightly overpriced.

Overall a great site that I would definitely return to

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daves mate 17 reviews from this member

We picked this site for a two night stay as we were attending a wedding nearby, for this it served our purpose adequately but we were less than impressed.

The pitch sizes are very small and all hard standings in the caravan fields, which is the bulk of the park. We pitched up in such a way that we had the caravan and car on the hard standing with the door opening onto the grass. We were later informed that we should have parked the car on the grass with the caravan and awning (should we have had one, on this occasion we didn't) on the gravel. As we were only there for the 2 nights we were let off with this but were told had we been booked in for any longer we'd have been asked to change. With all the hard standing there is more gravel than grass giving the place the look and feel of a refugee camp rather than a holiday park/caravan park. This is a real shame as the surrounding area is stunningly beautiful.

The on site shop is small and adequate for any forgotten items but don't rely on them having everything you want. Bakewell is a 10 min drive away.

There is also a small bar/clubhouse on site which we didn't use but did look to be quite nice and they were showing the world cup games while we were there.

The facilities block is adequate but far from luxurious. Plenty of hot water in the showers but the cubicles are very small.

Overall the site suited our needs as all we needed was 2 nights accommodation. Our appetite for the area has been wetted and we will return for a longer stay some time, unfortunately it won't be at Greenhills.

Could be a lovely little spot if more attention was given to matching the look of the park to the beauty of its surroundings

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The swifties 7 reviews from this member

Quite a nice campsite but over priced for the facilities. We went for the Easter holidays. People running the site were very nice. Problems with the power going off - 6 times in one evening, 5 times another evening. Some pitches without power overnight but the owner did provide gas for them. Hard standing pitches a godsend after all the rain, but difficult to get awning pegs in and not sure how they would have survived if it had been very windy - they pulled out very easily. Showers way too small, no where to put your stuff apart from 2 pegs on the back of the door. A large person would really struggle. Also not many showers for the number of pitches. The showers were nice and hot though, and the shower area heated for key parts of the day. On the whole an okay site but won’t rush back.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liz+ ant Slade 9 reviews from this member

Great location with lovely views.
Staff really helpful and friendly.
Couple of issues with site though. Facilities, although ok are very tight. Its like getting showered in a cardboard box. Secondly, the pitches are really tight. First of all getting your caravan on the pitch.
If like us you've got a twin axle then if there are caravans sited opposite your pitch you will really struggle to get it on.
When we stayed two people got stuck having to go onto the grass (it was in Feb)
Then when you are sited, if you have a awning then there is bearly enough space to park your car.
Don't think we will be rushing back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julieegan 3 reviews from this member

Nice clean site but small pitches, and disappointed we weren't allowed to hang washing out despite there being a laundry. Also, rather noisy as groups allowed to camp and party during the day/evening with loud music. Awnings not allowed on grass.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bigedd 4 reviews from this member

Visited this weekend, will not be back.

It's not a bad site but it has some misgivings. They have added pitches since we last visited last year, there are now more than 150 but not added to or improved the facilities. There is only one block (if you discount the sheds by the waste bins) which gets filthy real quickly, the gents urinals are on the far side of the showers so people in shoes walk across the wet shower floors, not ideal.

The bar and shop seem to be run by the same person, so if one is open the other is closed.

Worst by far this time though was the noise! 'Campers' partying until 2. 00 in the morning, this was Friday and Saturday night. There is no one checking out the site later and no one to complain to and the next day is to late. There are better sites and we will go there.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S64miller 25 reviews from this member

Had a warm welcome at the reception when we arrived with everything explained in detail. The pitches were quite large and would easily have been sufficient had we opened the canopy which still left us with a grassed area before the next unit.

Toilets and showers were always clean and there was always unlimited hot water. The new part which the previous reviews refer to are now complete and there is no mud to be seen although reseeded the grass needs time to establish. It does need a few trees or shrubs just to break it up a little. It cost us £104 for four nights which is a bit higher than we normally pay so we were slightly disappointed that the Bar and Shop were never open. Having said all that we had four great days due partly to the glorious sunshine.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Slimming1 3 reviews from this member

Very overpriced, the facility's are far from first class although they put new hard standing pitches which are level and we'll drained.

Would not stop here again there are far better sites around this area

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vashka 13 reviews from this member

Dirty, run down, small pitches, poor facilities, would not recommend and won't visit again.

Spent two nights here in early March and was very disappointed. The main problem was the site was filthy, there was work going on to build new pitches and obviously the mud had become churned up and the campsite was a mud bath, there was no warning of this on booking and the site fees of £22. 50 per night didn't reflect this. Other issues were:

- dirty toilets and really small shower cubicles

- only one water fill up point which wasn't suitable for motorhomes and which meant parking your motorhome on the road and blocking the whole campsite!

- shop and bar not open even though the site was very busy

- tiny pitches. Our motorhome is fairly small but we were virtually on top of the caravan next door, we couldn't even have put our roll out awning out if we'd had wanted to!

- rubbish and recycling facilities, not marked out which bin was which and also had to tramp through a mud bath to get there

- no indoor washing up facilities which really is a necessity in a site that's open in winter

Overall a real disappointment. The only positive is it's close proximity to Ashford and Bakewell

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lobraes 26 reviews from this member

I think we pick the wrong time of year to visit this site as I think in summer months it would be ok.

Main issue was mud, you expect it in winter but it was particularly bad. They are installing new pitches and dumpers and machinery have no doubt contributed to the mess, but you couldn't even go to the loo without getting covered in it.

We were disappointed that everything was 'shut for the season' no bar or shop open, yet this wasn't mentioned on the website. Nothing in reasonable walking distance either.

Pitches are very close together and the lanes around site are also very narrow.

The showers and loos however were warm and spotless, always a big plus for us.

Location of site is an excellent base for bakewell, Matlock, chatsworth etc.

Dogs : I have two large dogs and I was pleased to see a large dog exercise field with a mowed path cutting through it, plenty of dog poo bins too. Shame the selfish dog owner on site ignored the keep dogs on leads signs and let his lab poo right in front of a pitch in broad daylight for all to see and just left it there. YOU are exactly the person that ruins it for the rest of us

I would probably visit this site again but not out of season.

Previous     258 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth £239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6761 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977