Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 268 Reviews
                8/10 from 268 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  268 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julie149214nas 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Greenhill over weekend and it was very clean and tidy site

Staff very helpful as it was first time caravanning

They have everything in place for covid 19 but does not make you feel uncomfortable

I will going again in September hopefully 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jennlol 2 reviews from this member

 The park is well laid out, and well kept, with enough space for us to feel comfortable with the requirements of social distancing.

Greenhills were well prepared for Covid. Lots of hand sanitiser stations around the shared areas. The bar was open, but one in one out and seating outside.

A taxi into Bakewell cost £5 and the driver was masked and gloved.

A virus centred review but I generally agree with the other positive reviews 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karson 1 review from this member

 Very friendly staff, extremely organised with covid 19 safety measures, making us feel very safe. Didn't use any of the facilities so can't comment.

However we used the bar and took our drinks back to our caravan, all drinks served in disposable glasses and a well thought out system in place.

Lovely stay thank you. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The Yorkies 5 reviews from this member

 Good location

Nice toilet/shower block but water not hot enough

Clean site - other than the big dollop of dog poo on our pitch when we arrived and another left there while we were out for a few hours one day during our stay!

ZERO good will though, we booked this site as our daughter and daughter in law were walking the McMillan Mighty Hike to raise money for the Cancer charity. We chose the site for the location and facilities however as the walk was cancelled due to the pandemic and both girls and myself work in the NHS I contacted to ask how we stood if we needed to cancel as it was likely that our leave would be cancelled. A curt reply was "we do not give refunds under ANY circumstances" so much for thank you to NHS/Keyworkers.

As it turned out my husband and I were able to go and when I explained the girls were unable to make it due to them still being needed in their NHS jobs the response - "Oh Dear"

Also no refund due to limited facilities and no refund of 15% reduction in VAT

Needless to say we will not return.

But if you do go you will need a jack hammer to peg the awning down be warned we bent several pegs just pegging a ground sheet over the sharp stones on the VERY HARD standing didn't attempt the awning!

The site is poorly signed from the road so take care. 


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shaunb39705jnh 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent from the welcoming to the pleasant way the staff served you

Beautiful all round views even if the rain didn't stop

Shower and toilets spotless

Bar is cosy and well worth a stop

Only grumble would be the 5 mph speed limit which very few seem to take notice off

But what a site fantastic will certainly be returning

Thank you 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sheffield Steve 8 reviews from this member

 Having read a good number of reviews before we visited Greenhills, we were a bit apprehensive about what to expect, but we had no need to worry, the site was excellent, and proves once again that you shouldn't take too much notice of reviews. Here's my take on the recent negative comments:-

1 "Showers aren't hot" - They were plenty warm enough for us

2 "Bakewell too far to walk" - Took us 20 minutes

3 "Not allowed early on to site" - What if everybody turned up early??? It'd be chaos.

4 "Too many signs" - Signs are an indication that a site is well organised.

5 "No choice of pitch" - We were told to pitch up where we wanted. Maybe this was because we were there out of season? If the place was full on the day someone wasn't offered a choice it would be a nightmare for the admin people swapping people around all the time.

6 "Not enough bathroom facilities" - 2 blocks looked plenty to me

7 "Pitches tight" - No problem for our motorhome.

8 "Shower cubicle as small as a cardboard box" - Depends how big you are! Us medium sized people didn't have a problem

9 "Too expensive" - Location, location. In life you have to pay more to be close to somewhere as lovely as Bakewell, that's on a bus route, and to enjoy a beautifully landscaped site in great surroundings.

We will be back, with our Grandkids for a week next Summer. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrea5594vwb 1 review from this member

 Arrived early but was allowed to go to pitch. Good size drive straight through as towing small car.

Close to Bakewell and supermarket down the road.

Disappointed the bar on site was only open Friday and Saturday due to time we went.

Showers clean but no way of turning heat up on them could have done with being a bit warmer 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: 68Kimberley 1 review from this member

 The site was clean, friendly. Fabulous in fact. The only down side is they have only 1 hair dryer in the ladies shower block, so at peak times you can be queuing.

Everything is so clean. The shop on site is very basic but there is an Aldi 2 miles away.

They have no restaurant but the bar is awesome.

Would I stay here again. Absolutely. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Espy81 2 reviews from this member

 Could be better!

The site is in an almost perfect location. Slightly too far to walk into Bakewell centre, but close enough to walk to the local ALDI.

The facilities are clean and well maintained and there is a small shop on site. The site is heavily let down by the people running it. Itís far too strict.

There are two signs refusing access to the site for new arrivals before 1pm before youíve even reached the entrance. We called to see if we could arrive just one hour early to help settle our baby down for her nap at 1230 and weíre told that it wasnít allowed and we would be charged £5 for the privilege.

I can understand the need to charge if the site was full, but we arrived mid week to a half empty site. There was plenty of room and no obvious reason to refuse an earlier arrival, other than because some management people have decided.

On arrival we were made to feel that we were an inconvenience rather than a welcomed guest. There were over 20 empty hardstanding pitches, but we werenít offered and choice and just informed as to which empty spot we were instructed to occupy. Again I can understand the need for this on a full site, but the site didnít fill up in the four nights we were there.

Once on site there are signs everywhere in various states of repair telling you other things you arenít allowed to do. All in all it makes it so I relaxing and formal that we wouldnít be coming back.

Hopefully one day new owners will come in with a welcoming attitude and on that day it will be a perfect site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ratcatcher 7 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a couple of days at Greenhills me and OH in motorhome and son and grandson in a tent. They have a caravan but wanted to introduce grandson to camping.

The location is good and within walking distance of Bakewell

The pitches are a bit tight and we saw a lot a larger units struggle. Most of the tent pitches are on a slope (and who wants to sleep in a tent on a slope)

The facilities are fine and kept clean but are woefully inadequate for the site, particularly for one that accepts tents

If you enlarge the site as they have surely the facilities should be enlarged two

Wont be going back 


Previous     268 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Greenhills Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greenhills Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Greenhills Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5484 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement