Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Callow Top Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Callow Top Holiday Park > Reviews

Callow Top Holiday Park
Buxton Road
Sandybrook
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2AQ
Tel: 01335 344 020
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 22/03/2024 to 10/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 331 Reviews
                8/10 from 331 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  331 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Martin 1 review from this member

 Loved the site as soon as we arrived

The facilities are superb

Loved the pub

The kids are well catered for

The toilets were spot on, the showers I thought where a bit basic and it was cold in the cubicle so much so that I didn't want to get undressed but it wouldn't put me off. the summer would I've no doubt be better 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Riocx 4 reviews from this member

 Very nice clean and tidy site. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The toilets and showers were all very clean.

The children's play area seemed very busy. Lots of the hard standing areas have hedges between them, so that you're not looking in each others widows which I liked.

It was a nice walk to Ashbourne, and the cycling in the area was great. The pub was nice too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Kk1700 3 reviews from this member

 Visited 1st in May this year, thought may be a nice visit with our son and his younger family,

If the weather was kinder to us the site is ideal, a pool, play park, pub on site,

This site is not cheap tho, pub meals are short on choice, expensive ta boot, showers need a revamp now, as do the toilets, it's a massive site so think there taking 's in, come on a little more investment I think.

Know its supply and demand but come on. Will take a gander round got a newer venue,

But don't bank on the weather. Spoiler all rnd when wet. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tracey 1 review from this member

 Very enjoyable stay. Booking in quick and friendly. Plenty of space to pitch motorhome and gazebo.

Showers are free and there are plenty of them for use anytime of the day. Toilets are clean except after unsupervised children have used them as they don't flush after.

Didn't use the pool this time as it was very busy with children and no room to swim.

There was only one day when it didn't rain and we went out for the day. Beautiful countryside close by so plenty of things to do offsite.

There are plenty of activities for children on site but not so much for adults and older children. Other peoples children can be annoying, riding bikes up and down the road, they are not road savvy and we witnessed several times when they have passed behind moving cars or nearly ridden into one. Children near us were playing underneath the bushes behind our gazebo and making our dogs bark or they would stop near to them and just look at them which would set them off. I was constantly having to warn children not to touch them as I don't know how they would react with strangers.

On the plus side the park is peaceful at night (no noisy parties) and we managed to sleep in until 10:30 most mornings.

We were worried that the electric hook up might trip out with all our cooking equipment and we were very pleased that it did not, even once.

The park has an excellent range of services for rubbish, waste water, washing up and an on site shop which surprisingly has a lot of camping accessories as well as groceries.

Weather was disappointing as it rained most days and nights, we always seem to get bad weather when going away in the school holidays!. Where we were located a lot of wasps were an issue. They would come into the gazebo when cooking and eating and there were a lot around our car each time we tried to go out. Luckily I had a bottle of Avon's, skin so soft, I sprayed it over the car and around doorways and it seemed to keep them away.

Nice to see wild rabbits nearby. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ronjo9 2 reviews from this member

 A very friendly site with exceptional staff. It was pleasantness and professionalism bring the word go. Well done staff.

The site was clean and comfortable. The shop was well stocked and prices reasonable.

Everyone we met, staff and visitors, seemed to be enjoying the site. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Djjeff 1 review from this member

 Liked friendly atmosphere. Field 5 big pitches other parts of site very small pitches.

Site poorly maintained no thought to drainage so even though hard standing we were flooded out.

2 grandsons. Said boring after 3 days. Park is for little children.

Facilities very dirty. Even after they had just been cleaned!

Club house very friendly but basic. Pizzas or burgers. No entertainment. Didn't like the public footpath directly behind our pitch. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rocking 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely family campsite, security barriers on entrance, showers and toilets good, pub/restaurant on site serving beers and basic food, burgers pizzas, opening times could be better open Fri and Sat but closed on Sunday, which was surprising to me,

Pitch was at end of small field 172, we felt away from other campers, there is better ones!

Ashbourne about a mile away with couple of steep hills, other walks from camp as well to explore, staff friendly, playground and field for kids and also to walk dogs,

No ehu for tents, only so many for caravans/ camper vans, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TheBigPL 13 reviews from this member

 Good sized pitches, great location by the tissington trail. Pub on site was great to grab a meal when we arrived.

Walked to Mappleton from the site for a pub lunch on the Saturday and then into Ashbourne in the other direction Saturday night.

Toilets/showers were reasonable and despite the size of the site had no queues.

Good playground for the kids and an inside room we didn't use. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sjcmkc 2 reviews from this member

 Really likes Callow Top, it was peaceful, and not really many people about so early.

I would definitely stay again.

Toilets were clean, washing facilities were good.

Very nice for a relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Leonpi 1 review from this member

 We found the camp site to have excellent facilities.

The camping pitch was stated as small when booking but it was a perfect size for a small family and the each pitch is separated by trees in field 1/2 which added a sense of privacy.

Swimming pool was great.

Thanks and will be booking again. 
via mobile


Previous     331 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Callow Top Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Callow Top Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Callow Top Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Callow Top Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4266 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement