Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Callow Top Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Callow Top Holiday Park Reviews

Callow Top Holiday Park
Buxton Road
Sandybrook
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2AQ
Tel: 01335 344 020
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Easter To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 307 Reviews
                8/10 from 307 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  307 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: EmmaP1504 11 reviews from this member

Having been told about this site by my sister we decided to give it a go for ourselves and we are so glad we did, it is absolutely brilliant.

This site has everything you could want or need and you don't need to go off site for anything.

There is an excellent play area for children, a huge playing field, a great little bar/cafe with pool tables and sports TV, a great pub that does gorgeous food, a well stocked shop, cash machine and immaculate facilities.

We will definitely be going back and would recommend to anyone thinking about visiting.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Opal0313 24 reviews from this member

We visited here for the bonfire special weekend. This was our first visit. Lovely reception was told where everything was and given information sheet. Pitch was spacious although it was hardstanding it had very small gravel pieces that kept getting in the caravan.

We had a meal in the Bowling Green inn on the first night. It was a 5 min drive away. We decided to go by car because although it was only a 20 min walk the long approach road to the site has very steep hills in places.

The Bowling Green Inn food was excellent and the staff very welcoming. This site has a pub with limited opening hours, a cafe bar the meals here were edible but tasted like frozen chips fish and tinned mushy peas but was expected as you cannot expect them to do anything else in a large busy holiday park.

The one thing I did not like was having to pay 20p for a shower, I no it doesn't sound like a lot but I hate having to shower against the clock. 20p wasn't long enough 40p was too long, also the site is not a cheap site.

The site has a shop outdoor swimming pool that was obvious closed at this time of year and a good playground that is near the bar and pub and a green with tables/benches on it which I expect would be nice in summer.

There are several footpaths from the site. We walked down two steep fields that leads to the Tissington Trail. Here one direction leads to Ashbourne the other to Parsley Hay where it joins High Peak Trail. The bonfire and fireworks were on the Saturday night and where fantastic. Lot's of fireworks. We had an enjoyable weekend. Would we visit again as yet we are undecided.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Whizzowes7 2 reviews from this member

Had our 2nd visit this year, 1st was in May, both times the weather was absolutely glorious. Sunburnt, but loved it. Bit too hot at times doing nothing, not the parks fault, however, they seemed to cope in Arnolds with what must have been a very steady stream of kids going for slushies, mainly mine.

Again, in a very good Summer in the UK, the site coped well and you wouldn't have said, from pictures, that we had had a long heatwave.

Love this site and have a shorter weekend lined up in October, can't wait, excited already.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BradfordJohn 3 reviews from this member

A large well organised campsite. Location within walking distance of Ashbourne. There is a public house on site (limited opening) selling beer made in a micro brewery (also on site), also sells the usual beverages too.

There is also a licensed cafe on site, a shop and a very good reception. Open air pool, very good fenced play area for children and extensive green areas. The Tissington Trail runs through the site and bike hire is available from reception (very good value).

The facilities (showers/toilets) are cleaned regularly.

It is a very good site, better than I expected. I will certainly be visiting again.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of nights arriving on a Sunday which meant the site was just quietening down after the weekend. Well located, friendly staff in reception, looked a good shop and bar but didn't use either. Amenities were good.

Had a walk down the fields into Mapleton (10-15 mins) and enjoyed a few beers in The Okeover Arms, the pub were doing a roaring trade with Sunday Dinners and because of this we were not allowed in with the dog. When its quieter dogs are allowed in.

Monday we walked into Ashbourne on the very pleasant Tissington Trail which took about 30 mins. Spent a few hours around town and a pleasant walk back. Enjoyed the break.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cookiekid 37 reviews from this member

We've just returned from this lovely campsite. This site is very well kept. The toilet/shower facilities are kept very clean. There is an indoor pot wash area with plenty of sinks and freezers for ice packs, ideal if you're camping.

There's plenty of hardstanding pitches with ample room for unit, awning and car. There is 2 very large fields which are ideal for tents.

The on site shop was well stocked and not over priced.

It's a pleasant 30 mins walk into Ashbourne with some lovely shops, pubs and eateries.

It's over 4 yrs since we visited this site. We won't leave it as long nxt time.

Keep up the good work guys.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scarletts 6 reviews from this member

Easy to find. Checking in was efficient, but not a welcome or a smile. The information sheet was overloaded with small print.

Shop was well stocked with those forgotten camping items you need. Even quilts.

Pitches average size but need a lot of attention. Grass and hedges cut, but pitches are very worn.

The pub on site was not open until the evening 7. 00 to 11. 30 so didnít visit.

Superb location for the Tissington trail. Be aware of the extreme hill getting to it.

Large amount of feral children riding bikes hoverboards and walking dogs on their own. Not an adult in sight.

The same in the toilets. (which is next to the play area. ). Shouting and screaming children.

Showers 20p for 4minutes which is clearly to stop children playing in them, plus keeps a turnover of showers.

Site needs a re vamp, old and worn.

Would not return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Whizzowes7 2 reviews from this member

We visit this site a lot as its just down the road, about `sour away. On this occasion, we went as a group as it was someones birthday. The site security is excellent, with the fact nobody can visit the site, leaves you knowing your children are fairly safe going about their business around the park. We did see some people driving on site faster than the 5mph limit, however, this was a very remote case and generally everyone abided by the speed limits.

The kids can fly about on their choice of transport with relative safety. Apart from hurting themselves by being too confident.

The pitch we had this time was a much better one we normally book and opened our eyes on where we pitch there now. This after coming for nearly 4 years now, just shows you need to check the whole park out when your there for pitches that suit yourself.

Bars and shop all supply whatever you need whether its a night out at the pub with sport on, disco, or even pool and darts, Arnold`s is the place. Maybe slower pace, the Callow Inn is the grown up chill out. The shop stocks enough to get you by at any crisis.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pattythefish 2 reviews from this member

We camped for 2 nights with our 4 and 6 year olds and had a great time.

The field we camped had large pitches and was nice and flat. The site has great facilities including a pool, pub, cafe, playground and arcade room which kept us all happy.

The site is a gentle 20 minute walk in to Ashbourne along foot paths so safe for the kids.

The only negative point is the site is large and quite chaotic due to the number of kids running around. They could do with some gentle policing on the playground and on the paths as the kids (mine included!) were causing chaos which my not be appreciated by those with gentle kids or those without kids.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ladybaby53 6 reviews from this member

Arrived to find dog poo on grass next to pitch. Good size pitch. Staff friendly and polite. Toilets clean. Showers outdated 20p. For the price you are paying should be included. Well stocked shop. The Inne only open at Weekend. The cafe sold good food and alcohol. Stayed midweek and in term time but still children running around shouting and riding around on scooters and kicking balls some at caravans and awnings. Parents not in attendance. Residents of cottages rowdy and swearing. Pool a bonus. Sadly would not return as it is in a lovely area and otherwise well maintained.

Previous     307 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5398 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019