Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southwold Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Southwold > Southwold Camping And Caravan Site > Reviews

Southwold Camping And Caravan Site
Ferry Road
Southwold
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP18 6ND
Tel: 01502 722486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 78 Reviews
                7/10 from 78 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Motorhome123 8 reviews from this member

 Perfect location, next to beach and harbour area and only 10 minute walk into town.

Pitch was close to the new self contained shower / toilet cubicles so only used those and they were good cannot comment on the other shower / toilet blocks.

Only thing that would stop me returning is the cost of the site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JoleneCamper 1 review from this member

 Welcoming staff.

Excellent location, near beach, short walk into Southwold town.

Quiet at night.

Basic site.

Facilities in dire need of updating.

Smell from drains overpowering. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louiejr01 2 reviews from this member

 Great place altogether, would stay there anytime.

Great location and knowledgeable staff,

Super walks and check out the harbour Inn, town is lovely 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marion 1 review from this member

 Campsite well organised and pitch had plenty of room.

Great location close to Southwold with plenty of pubs and cafes.

Showers nice and warm and clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Dory66 3 reviews from this member

 Good size pitches, great location, facilities are good.

Friendly staff greeted us, gave us site map etc.

Pitch was a good size for our 4 birth tent and vehicle.

Wood fired pizza van was there on Friday evening.

Nice walk into Southwold or ferry to Walberswick.

Have stayed before and will stay again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Jamesp99 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely, well-maintained site in an excellent location right next to Southwold harbour. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Paid £24 for a basic tent pitch which is very reasonable for Suffolk in July.

Toilets and showers were clean, with a choice of two blocks plus extra temporary units bought in to help with Covid restrictions. It's run by the local Council so is tidy and well-organised, with plenty of hand-sanitiser stations.

Southwold town is a mile's walk along the coast so that was handy for stocking up on supplies and visiting the pubs.

Overall, a clean and quiet site, close to the sea, which was perfect for me and my son as we were hiking the Suffolk Coast Path. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Grantw 1 review from this member

 Great location but an annoying booking system.

The site was very clean and good value for money but the booking system meant we had to move pitches for our second night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl n Rob 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 4 nights, arriving on a Friday. It is quite an expensive site and as the place filled up with what we now know were weekend visitors, we felt very cramped - compared to other sites we have been on. There is not much room between bays and if someone has a large awning, they can be quite close to your van.

We didn't use the showers or toilets but I did have a look, and again sadly, I have seen a lot better facilities for a lot less money.

The upside for the site is the location.

The beach is just across the road and it is only a 15 minute walk into Southwold which was excellent.

Probably wouldn't return. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stationhouse26 12 reviews from this member

 We visited this site a large family group, most of which were in tents and us in our caravan, no ehu. If you are looking for a campsite to have a quiet weekend then this isnít it. It was absolutely packed solid. It is half statics and half camping with one field for electric hook up and another, larger one, without. The electric field looked a lot quieter than the tent field so if we were to return then this is where we would pitch. As per other reviews, the facilities are old and not kept clean. You have to pay 20p for hairdryers and there are no electric points. We werenít too bothered as we have our own facilities. It absolutely tipped it down the weekend we were there too and the site was waterlogged and people were getting stuck when they were leaving.

It is, however, in a very nice spot so if you like the beach its great, albeit a bit of a trek from the (very quaint) town. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Aysteph 5 reviews from this member

 I have stayed here numerous times over the last 8 years, albeit not by choice but as necessity.

The location of this site is superb and cannot be faulted. However, as one of the most costly sites in europe it is suffering from lack of investment and is very poorly run by the local council. In 16/17 the council have spent some money, primarily on health and safety but much remains to be done.

Clearly the joy of this site is its 'natural' feel but that should not excuse poor quality services when you are paying top dollar. Problem areas are as follows:

1. Too few showers which are in a poor state.

2. Cleaning leaves much to be desired.

3. Waste skips are a centre piece of the site clearly visible from most pitches and after a weekend overflowing with gulls all of them and unfortunately the odd rat.

I would suggest visit the site but also register your views for improvements. The Council needs to be made to take action. 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southwold Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southwold      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4597 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement