Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Southwold Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold > Southwold Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Southwold Camping And Caravan Site
Ferry Road
Southwold
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP18 6ND
Tel: 01502 722486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: Ist Marchto 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 71 Reviews
                7/10 from 71 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cheryl n Rob 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights, arriving on a Friday. It is quite an expensive site and as the place filled up with what we now know were weekend visitors, we felt very cramped - compared to other sites we have been on. There is not much room between bays and if someone has a large awning, they can be quite close to your van.

We didn't use the showers or toilets but I did have a look, and again sadly, I have seen a lot better facilities for a lot less money.

The upside for the site is the location.

The beach is just across the road and it is only a 15 minute walk into Southwold which was excellent.

Probably wouldn't return.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stationhouse26 11 reviews from this member

We visited this site a large family group, most of which were in tents and us in our caravan, no ehu. If you are looking for a campsite to have a quiet weekend then this isnít it. It was absolutely packed solid. It is half statics and half camping with one field for electric hook up and another, larger one, without. The electric field looked a lot quieter than the tent field so if we were to return then this is where we would pitch. As per other reviews, the facilities are old and not kept clean. You have to pay 20p for hairdryers and there are no electric points. We werenít too bothered as we have our own facilities. It absolutely tipped it down the weekend we were there too and the site was waterlogged and people were getting stuck when they were leaving.

It is, however, in a very nice spot so if you like the beach its great, albeit a bit of a trek from the (very quaint) town.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Aysteph 5 reviews from this member

I have stayed here numerous times over the last 8 years, albeit not by choice but as necessity.

The location of this site is superb and cannot be faulted. However, as one of the most costly sites in europe it is suffering from lack of investment and is very poorly run by the local council. In 16/17 the council have spent some money, primarily on health and safety but much remains to be done.

Clearly the joy of this site is its 'natural' feel but that should not excuse poor quality services when you are paying top dollar. Problem areas are as follows:

1. Too few showers which are in a poor state.

2. Cleaning leaves much to be desired.

3. Waste skips are a centre piece of the site clearly visible from most pitches and after a weekend overflowing with gulls all of them and unfortunately the odd rat.

I would suggest visit the site but also register your views for improvements. The Council needs to be made to take action.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marytod 1 review from this member

This a delightful site, shaded in part and located 5 mins from the beach. There is a cycle hire facility and surf board rental with some tuition. The site is located in the area of the quay.

With no shop on site ( but water and milk are available) the walk into town is a 1 mile away. Good for the exercise but needs to be planned into the day. Conversely, many campers had their own bicycles and there was a regular peloton of cyclists sent on errands. In Southwold Tesco and Co Op have well stocked stores.

The town, pier and beach is olde worldly. There are plenty of eating and drinking pubs/ restaurants but it seems to be devoid of the usual sea side outlets. What there is, is fairly subdued. If possible avoid driving though the high street until the evening. This is a mecca for tourists during the day so traffic and pedestrians make the going slow.

Areas which could have improved the site included the nearest amenity block. With two narrow showers and a a dozen hand basins, there needs to be little privacy for those who need it. With so many elderly people on site, it surprised me that the showers had no grab rails or anti- slip devices. It seems that campers need to be able bodied and capable of avoiding unsafe areas. One shower had a seat but there are only hooks for towels and clothes. Keeping clothes dry was out of the question. In good weather this would be no problem but in inclement, cold weather, wandering around in a towel would be hell without a towelling dressing gown!

This was a personal complaint but watching parents with young children, similar concerns were noticed.

For the cost of the pitch, I would have expected a more up to date and disability friendly facilities.

Regardless of the above complaint, I would return to the site for its friendliness and location to the beach and town.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisinhove 8 reviews from this member

This is a great spot, close to beach, harbour and lovely Southwold.

Expectedly busy in the height of the summer, but just a little too crowded.

. And the facilities were filthy as well as scant (2 male showers for the whole tent field). Yes, some people are messy, but the cleaning regime is clearly inadequate. If it's busy, it needs to be cleaned more. Simples.

It's depressing that elements of the English tourism industry still operates on this 'we've a great location so people will book anyway, regardless of how little we bother' basis. And why we have our main camping holidays in France.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sulla 7 reviews from this member

Booked two pitches for the Bank Holiday Weekend in August. Booking very easy thanks to excellent staff. We had pitches 501 and 502. These were next to the toilet block which was fine. The only downside was a thicket of small trees and bushes which screened the toilet block. This attracted kids who climbed and played around the trees and wasps that seemed to be attracted to the bushes. This was fine as long as you don't mind either.

The pitches are large and flat. The loos and showers reasonably clean for a busy site.

We loved the proximity to the beach. Easy for the dogs.

There are loads of great food and drink places in Southwold. You are right by the harbour which has some amazing seafood eateries. The Harbour Inn is nice and very convenient.

We didn't have any problems with late night noise.

All in all I would recommend this campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rolyberkin 2 reviews from this member

This site has long had it's day! I have been camping and caravanning since I was a kid and have been to the Southwold site on many occasion. On my latest visit nothing has changed, the main modern toilet and shower block is far below the standard of a public convenience and is probably cleaned less often! I live in Chelmsford and the public toilets there are absolutely immaculate, almost clinical by comparison! Where else would a toilet block used by upwards of 300 people a day be cleaned once a day? In short they constantly stink of urine and the floors are often just covered in mud, the paint is peeling and in the words of my seven year old they are filthy. The second toilet block is a 1960's wooden shower block which is 100% better with excellent showers but still way below any modern standard. The site has little or no security with no lighting with even the pathways being pitch black, the lack of a 24 hour warden is apparent with camp fires being rife (although banned) to the point of on occasions being like a smoke house. Only 10 of the pitches have electric hook up which is woeful. The washing up facilities are adequate and water pressure etc is good. The hook up pitches are very close together almost to the point of being claustrophobic. If it rains the site floods and has huge standing puddles where there is no adequate drainage, the pitches become a quagmire. On a positive note the site is in Southwold and ideally placed for the beach and all local amenities. Anywhere else and the site would have been out of business long ago. There are no facilities for kids although the beach is a stones throw across the road. In short this site really needs to transferred from the local council to the C&CC or private ownership so it could be run more efficiently and to an acceptable standard and receive the investment it has desperately needed for many years! After recently staying at the immaculate and nearby Dunwich Camp site why would you choose to stay at Southwold?

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: London Viv 17 reviews from this member

A straightforward site with basic but clean facilities, friendly staff and a great location. The shower block near us was unheated but there was a heated block not far away and though basic rather than luxurious both blocks were very clean. The site is extremely handy for both the town, 15 min walk in one direction and the harbour, 10 mins walk in the other direction and we enjoyed the walk along the harbour, across the bridge and down to Walberswick and a very pleasant pub, The Bell Inn. The price seemed a little high at £23 per night with hookup, given the standard of the facilities but the town being so near made it worth the cost.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Missfi 7 reviews from this member

This is a mixed review, the site itself is great, toilets and showers spotless.

However, there were a huge group on site, they had about 20 kids between them. The adults spent all night up with campfires, filling surrounding tents with smoke, loudly talking until 3am, the kids then started shouting and screaming at 5. 30am.

Although campfires are not allowed and noise is forbidden 9pm-10am, no one enforces it, so people do as they like. In the morning the site manager was able to move us to a different pitch and had a word with families, (they ignored him and were worse the following evening)

So, if you want a peaceful site, this may not be the one for you. Shame, as it would have been perfect otherwise, perhaps night staff may be the way forward

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stan on tour 47 reviews from this member

The location of this campsite is fantastic. The beach can be reached directly across the road to the site. Southwold is beautiful and a 15 minute walk along the beach. The working harbour is in the opposite direction and is well worth a look persevere walking along the harbour to find a lovely cafe and pub.

The site itself and facilities are very basic and exposed to the elements. If is council owned and run, we stayed Thursday night and wanted to stay Friday as well but the whole touring field was being used by school groups for the weekend, we escaped as the marque's were being erected!

Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4525 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019