Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cosgrove Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes > Cosgrove Leisure Park Reviews

Cosgrove Leisure Park
Cosgrove
Milton Keynes
Buckinghamshire   (Browse area)
MK19 7JP
Tel: 01908 563360
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 400
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Baileys77 1 review from this member

 Great site not far from home but felt a million miles away. Lovely walks around all the lakes and along the canal. Didn't use any of the hygiene facilities due to covid. We have everything in the van.

Well stocked shop. Lots of things to do for kids even though we haven't got any. Staff really friendly.

Definitely would return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Spedley 1 review from this member

 I don't usually go to the larger sites and this is by far the biggest I've been to.

First the bad points. It was so large that the kids playground was a good 10 mins walk from my Folding Camper (they don't allow tents or trailer tents). The ground wasn't very flat for the awning but it was very dry and cracked. There was a lot of goose **** everywhere but that's expected near lakes. The dog runs were poor - didn't find anywhere I could let my dog off the leash.

The good points. It has the best shop I've ever been to on a site. Very well stocked with very reasonable prices. The playground and cafe were both well above average. The place was very clean and tidy - most people had caravans and therefore didn't use the toilets/showers/washing much.

The staff were excellent - polite, competent and helpful.

There seemed to be a lot going on, especially with the lake but were were only there for the weekend in scorching heat so didn't partake much.

I doubt I'll go again because I don't see much point in camping in such a large place, may as well go to Butlins! But if large sites are your thing then put this at the top of your list. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ady Davies 7 reviews from this member

 I organised a rally for a Motor Home FB group here. The staff were very friendly and the site is well maintained, The facilities were spotless and cleaned regularly. The only bad point is the MH waste water point is not to clearly marked.

The number of sited touring vans make having a large group get together difficult but it is worth the effort.

We went during a deal weekend purely by accident and this made the event even beter 35. 00 for 2 nights 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Swerve 7 reviews from this member

 First visit and booked with them on an offer weekend plus added a few days before, which was very good value for money.

One price no extras - very good value.

I saw the reports about a bit tight on road in which it is, but nothing that bad as we have large twin axle and had no problem.

It is a very well kept site and very good facilities.

Allthough it is very large site and there are statics and a lot of year long sited tourers, we found it did not feel like you were too compacted in or overcrowded.

Everyone was very friendly.

Our pitch was very large, with small hedge each side.

We did try the on site chippy and it was very good, didn't try the bistro but looked okay.

The on site shop had more than enough range at fair prices.

It was too cold to use swimming pool but again it looked to be very good.

We thought the dog walking areas were the best on site one we have ever come across.

We also walked just off site along the grand union canal which was very pleasant and stopped of a couple of days at the Barley Mow pub/restaurant.

A bit expensive but well worth a visit, with a very large garden and seating area outside.

Only downsides were the weather and they couldn't do the late stay on the Sunday which was the only good day weather wise.

When we go back later in autumn will make sure ask for the same area and prebook late stay, as these pitches, with the dog walk at the rear, were the best by far. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yotanka62 9 reviews from this member

 Again agree with the sharp bend but we were lucky and didn't meet another vehicle. Was given a map of site and a Black rubbish bag and told where our pitch was. At the end of V in the road and level. Surprised as a Open Weekend we weren't given any flyer with what's on. No handout with times of shop, cafe etc.

Opposite us a large and very loud party in one van. Lots of loud comings and goings not the best start.

Showers. Ok but just a cubicle and no stool and just a hook to hang bag, towel etc. Nowhere to put shower wash and had to stand it on the floor. A wire holder on wall wouldn't go amiss. No mops to wipe floor after use for next person.

Cafe. Made nice latte but can't comment on the food as didn't have any in there. Fish and chips were ok but quite greasy.

Nice walks round the lakes. Many static vans on the best lakeside pitches along with tourers for the season. Some of these were amazing, settees, large TV 's and even kitchen cupboards in the awnings plus of course the gnomes!

We felt this site just lacks the little things like soap holders in the showers, the hanging baskets all had last years dead flowers in them. Showers could have been cleaned more often as a busy site.

It's too big for us but if you have children then I'm sure it is fine.

Would we go again, unfortunately we had already booked another weekend with our grown up kids otherwise no, lots of other sites far better and same cost. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sas1981 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend and I can't think of any negative comments whatsoever!

The on site park is fantastic and we lost the kids for hours due to them playing there all day, swimming pool warm even though it's outside. Bike hire available on site. There is an arcade, take away and cafe which we didn't visit but always seemed busy, there's Well stocked shop and all staff very friendly. The toilets and showers were always clean and well maintained, In all we had a fantastic weekend and will return again! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Huntfamily5 1 review from this member

 Firstly, as said by previous review - there is a narrow (one vehicle at a time) and blind bridge, and a sharp narrow turn just before you get to the entrance to this site (google map it), cars come round both very quickly, and it could be very, very nasty.

Once on site, you enter and exit through electronic barriers and the security seemed very good. Make sure when checking in that they allocate you a pitch big enough to accommodate your van, although we had stated several times we had a large twin axle, the pitch allocated (110) was far too small, and resulted in several phone calls whilst driving around the site trying to find a vacant pitch that wasn't waterlogged. They were very nice dealing with it, but could have done without another 20 mins or so before pitching as the rain got worse.

The children's play area and pool are very nice, unfortunately for us, the weather was so wet that neither were really usable. This is a very large site with a mix of statics and grass pitches. All the pitches surrounding the lake appeared to be seasonal tourers (there were lots of seasonal pitches). I would guess if fishing is your thing this would be heaven.

The showers and toilets were clean and well maintained. Elsan and grey waste were both emptied into the same place, but were very open. And the cafe and shop on site were nice if a little overpriced. The shop/cafe do not sell alcohol at all (part of the contract for the sale of the land).

We were unfortunate that from arrival to leaving it never stopped raining, and having walked around the site, all the pitches matched ours, which basically resembled a mud pit (including inside the awning), as the grass became waterlogged there was no way of stopping the water rising beneath the groundsheet. As there was no let up on the rain, we are not sure if these pitches would normally have drained well.

In the local area, there is a pub nearby (the Barley Mow)that serves food and is dog friendly. A short drive also takes you to Buckingham and Milton Keynes, we enjoyed both places, visiting the Gaol in Buckingham and the Cinema in MK. We also had a really nice meal in Buddies USA, right next to the Travelodge on route to MK.

We liked the area and would definitely look to return, however, possibly not to this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Devil99qa 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely location, with easy access of the A5. The village is the only access route and has a hard left blind turn just before the campsite, suggest a lookout ahead to prevent a head to head with an exiting towing vehicle and a complicated reverse for either party.

Shower blocks adequate but very poor flow. Clean and tidy and maintained. Elsan point had easy access and fresh water had hardstanding to avoid mud and pools of water. Lakes are wonderful and ample walks for dog owners and families. Good level pitches. Good on site shop and staff are very nice. Road around site is hardstanding and has humps at appropriate locations to safeguard walkers, however saw many who ignored speed restrictions which is always a parents nightmare! The site seemed to overlook the No commercial work vehicle policy. Used the only local pub, Barley Mow in Cosgrove Village and friendly and they welcome families and dogs. Food was Ok but kids portions were poor. We had to feed our kids when we got back to the van.

Great place for us to start off the season. It was nice not to see fields of one time weekend campers in tents who like to get totally off their heads on snakebite. No tents for this location which I guess helps keep its appeal. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mitzimad 1 review from this member

 Excellent site good location staff were very friendly and in a great location

Pitches are screened by hedges everywhere was very clean and tidy

Several pubs around and lots of nice walks around the lakes and down the canal

My only down side was the showers low flow heads are fine push button mixers are fine but not both and set for 8 seconds? the basin taps were like Niagra and stayed on for ages needs looking at 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

 POSITIVES

Beautiful lakes, Dog walks and setting.

Fab site shop stock everything except alcohol as it is not licensed, great staff and cheap prices fresh cooked bread and danish superb.

Good nightly price which includes fishing usually a costly extra on other sites.

NEGATIVES

Small pitch sizes, unless you are seasonal you will not get a pitch river or lakeside. No fully serviced pitches on site.

Rubbish bins located at site entrance a good 10 - 15 min walk from our pitch defo need more bins centrally located a massive bug bear

Seasonal tourers have loads of friends visiting be prepared for up to 4 cars parked around a pitch, large groups & noise at times

Seasonal pitches very protective of their riverside pitches and close it off with windbreaks, small fences, flags everything they can get their hands on enter these areas at your peril

Lots of noise, cars up and down and kids on bikes

Too noisy and busy 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cosgrove Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Cosgrove Leisure Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cosgrove Leisure Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cosgrove Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Milton Keynes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Buckinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2944 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement