Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glenmore Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Aviemore > Glenmore Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Glenmore Camping In The Forest Site
The Cairngorms
Aviemore
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH22 1QU
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 206
Open: 26/04/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 167 Reviews
                8/10 from 167 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Yates5 1 review from this member

 Lovely place to stay. Woke up to a beautiful breakfast in amongst the tress.

Very helpful staff helped us with our motorhome.

This was our very first time staying in a motor home.

The price for the pitch was excellent and certainly very good value for what you got. Well spaced pitches. Great location.

Would book again. Thank you 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alitol 3 reviews from this member

 Well run site. Very friendly staff.

Facilities very clean.

Great location for walking, water sports and cycling.

It would have been useful to have a few more water points around the site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jenni3 1 review from this member

 Great location, very friendly staff, facilities were spotless.

Different pitches depending on availability & preference, eg more in the open or tucked away in the woods. 


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Biimcg 4 reviews from this member

 First time on this site and enjoyed the facilities.

I suspect it will be extremely busy in high season.

Toilets and showers where well cleaned by staff even though ground was muddy. 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gadair149 6 reviews from this member

 We have camped at Glenmore for many years but the site management this Christmas perplexed us.

We had booked a hard standing non-electric pitch because that was all that appeared to be available at the time of booking. We phoned and asked on our way up if any electric pitches were available and were told no, we’re full. We arrived at the campsite to find it half empty. Again were told there were no electric pitches. Next morning we enquired again and the lady on reception after some debate released a grass electric pitch. We were told there were definitely no hard standing electric pitches.

The explanation was that some pitches were closed pending weather forecasts, because if it snowed there would be a need to clear site roads. This made no sense because although limited pitches were in use they were spread over the whole site - so following the logic given, in the event of snow all roads would have to be cleared.

We moved onto the grass electric pitch.

Meanwhile about an hour later our friend (who had not yet travelled to the site) enquired about an electric pitch, and was told that was fine, and he could have any pitch he wanted “over the bridge” which are mostly hard standing. This seemed contradictory to the position we had been given only short time before.

On our departure day we asked for a late departure and we were told we could have it but that we would need to move into the car park. When my husband enquired about remaining on any pitch at all he was told no, the site is full. It very clearly wasn’t, and between that time and the time we left, there were only a handful of new arrivals.

I don’t understand this attitude to site management. A great deal of revenue must have been lost because this site is so popular that it could easily be full at this time of year. Indeed the lady who released an electric pitch for us told us she’d better book it quickly because it would be snapped up by people looking online for a pitch.

We were left feeling like second rate customers and certainly not like valued repeat customers. This is not to criticise any of the reception staff who are always extremely polite and welcoming, but it seems that the management policies being applied are illogical and arbitrary at best. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lancaster20 5 reviews from this member

 Location great for outdoor activities.

Open all year.

Facilities good. Showers lovely and warm with underfloor heating - great for winter months.

Staff helpful and friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dotsnine 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site, close proximity to the beautiful loch Morlich shores overlooked by the stunning Cairngorms mountains.

Perfect for families who enjoy the outdoors and well connected to Aviemore and wider national park via bike trails.

The site itself has great facilities.

One of our most favourite locations, we return every year! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Triedtiree 1 review from this member

 Booked though the Camping and Caravanning Club, and on arrival at Glenmore, the staff jumped out of their chairs and made a song and dance as my campervan had a trailer!

They then charged me an extra £20 for the 4 nights and claimed the C&C Club "were a bit cheeky for not explaining this fee"! What this fee was for is a mystery, and with hindsight I should've unloaded the trailer and secured it somewhere off site, saving myself 20 quid in the process.

The wardens then guide you onto your selected pitch, almost to the cm where your tyre should be. They can be heard repeating this process over the course of the day as campers arrive. Inbetween times one warden was cycling around ensuring that site permits were displayed. We were given three, one for the van, a second for the awning, and the third for the trailer, so much for saving the planet.

The toilet and showers were cleaned regularly, plenty of hot water for dishes etc. Magnificent beach was accessed just through the trees. Marvellous spot, but I won't be hurrying back due to staff attitudes and being charged for having the cheek to pull a trailer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Smart Family 61 reviews from this member

 Has to be one of the best locations for a Caravan Site in the UK. Surrounded by high mountains and on the shore of Loch Morlich. The Campsite itself is showing signs of wear and tear.

We stayed here for 5 nights over the New Year. The arrival at Reception was very welcoming and friendly and we were shown to the Available pitches by one of the wardens.

The site gives direct access to the many paths and walks in the area and has an outstanding beach area next to Loch Morlich right on its doorstep. There is a small Shop Come Cafe Come Pub adjacent to the site.

In the area where we were pitched there was only 1 tap that I could see for a very large number of pitches and as far as I could see not many water taps on site in general. The roads and paving on site were in pretty poor condition also. The toilet Blocks are showing signs of age with doors that don't lock in cubicles and showers. Hooks missing. The dish wash area and Laundry were very good and water could be obtained from these when the outside tap was frozen.

We walked into Aviemore twice (6 miles each way) but there is a good bus service also. I will definitely return to this site for its location alone, but Camping in the Forest would do well to upgrade the site and facilities. 


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nao1 10 reviews from this member

 Nice site, bit expensive but great location for loch access. No wifi which was a surprise considering the cost of the site, and little mobile phone signal. Pitches are nice and toilets clean. We had a hardstanding with electric, all worked fine. Some pitches are very close to the footpaths through the site, which I imagine may be annoying, but we were far enough away. Nice cafe-bar next door. 


Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glenmore Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glenmore Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Glenmore Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aviemore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5904 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement