Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Glenmore Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Aviemore > Glenmore Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Glenmore Camping In The Forest Site
The Cairngorms
Aviemore
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH22 1QU
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01479 861271
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 206
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 160 Reviews
                8/10 from 160 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  160 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Triedtiree 1 review from this member

Booked though the Camping and Caravanning Club, and on arrival at Glenmore, the staff jumped out of their chairs and made a song and dance as my campervan had a trailer!

They then charged me an extra 20 for the 4 nights and claimed the C&C Club "were a bit cheeky for not explaining this fee"! What this fee was for is a mystery, and with hindsight I should've unloaded the trailer and secured it somewhere off site, saving myself 20 quid in the process.

The wardens then guide you onto your selected pitch, almost to the cm where your tyre should be. They can be heard repeating this process over the course of the day as campers arrive. Inbetween times one warden was cycling around ensuring that site permits were displayed. We were given three, one for the van, a second for the awning, and the third for the trailer, so much for saving the planet.

The toilet and showers were cleaned regularly, plenty of hot water for dishes etc. Magnificent beach was accessed just through the trees. Marvellous spot, but I won't be hurrying back due to staff attitudes and being charged for having the cheek to pull a trailer.
via mobile

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 43 reviews from this member

Has to be one of the best locations for a Caravan Site in the UK. Surrounded by high mountains and on the shore of Loch Morlich. The Campsite itself is showing signs of wear and tear.

We stayed here for 5 nights over the New Year. The arrival at Reception was very welcoming and friendly and we were shown to the Available pitches by one of the wardens.

The site gives direct access to the many paths and walks in the area and has an outstanding beach area next to Loch Morlich right on its doorstep. There is a small Shop Come Cafe Come Pub adjacent to the site.

In the area where we were pitched there was only 1 tap that I could see for a very large number of pitches and as far as I could see not many water taps on site in general. The roads and paving on site were in pretty poor condition also. The toilet Blocks are showing signs of age with doors that don't lock in cubicles and showers. Hooks missing. The dish wash area and Laundry were very good and water could be obtained from these when the outside tap was frozen.

We walked into Aviemore twice (6 miles each way) but there is a good bus service also. I will definitely return to this site for its location alone, but Camping in the Forest would do well to upgrade the site and facilities.

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nao1 10 reviews from this member

Nice site, bit expensive but great location for loch access. No wifi which was a surprise considering the cost of the site, and little mobile phone signal. Pitches are nice and toilets clean. We had a hardstanding with electric, all worked fine. Some pitches are very close to the footpaths through the site, which I imagine may be annoying, but we were far enough away. Nice cafe-bar next door.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monkeymias 1 review from this member

From the first to the last impression, this site gives a good, and lasting impression. We were looking for somewhere we would feel closer to nature, and this site delivers. The forests, mountains and lake are wonderful, with plenty to do. The staff are friendly, helpful and have extensive knowledge of the area to insure that their guests get the most out of the experience. Which we certainly did - we plan to return soon.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kellymo 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site. Very well run, clean and ideally situated for the water. We hardly used the car. Places to eat and drink within walking distance and excellent shop on site. Plenty of space and good park for the kids. Site staff were always visable and chatty. Can't wait to visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jocks Away 3 reviews from this member

If you want a base for exploring Scotland's largest mountain range, this ticks many boxes. Adjacent to the site is the lovely Loch Morlich, where you can play on or in the water. The beach shop rents boats, paddle boards, canoes, etc. If you don't have your own equipment and the boathouse cafe will fill you up afterwards.

From the campsite there are also lots of easy, and a few not-so-easy, walks through the forest and surrounding hills. Alternatively, a short car drive will take you to the Cairngorm mountain (with a train that takes you most of the way up for the less energetic), to Aviemore village, or to the Rothiemurchus estate where you can find every type of outdoor fun.

Glenmore campsite is run by Camping In The Forest, which is a positive or negative depending on what you are looking for. It is a little more expensive than similar sites, but it is very efficiently run and well equipped. It can feel a little soulless though. Unlike other campsites where I have stayed, you don't get many cheerful 'good mornings' from fellow campers; everyone keeps pretty much to themselves. The wardens do ensure that everyone keeps to the rules (and there are lots of rules) so, for example, there were no late night parties or dogs running loose around the site. If you are taking young kids, you will be able to get them to bed without being disturbed by other campers.

You can theoretically pick where you want to pitch on the large site, but it was so busy in July that there was only one location left that could take our not particularly big 3x4m sized tent. I'm sure that out-of-season it will be much better; there are some fantastic locations among the trees for when it is less busy. The ground was undulating, so you will be lucky to find a flat level area for your pitch. Using rock pegs is a good idea too; there are some hard rocks a couple of inches under the surface.

The facilities are more than adequate for the size of the campsite. Despite it being very full, the toilets, showers, and wash-up room were never busy and were always clean and well-maintained. The showers do take some getting used to: there is a push button that gives you about 15 seconds of water and needs to continually be pushed in to maintain a consistent flow. Even then, the water temperature in a couple of the cubicles fluctuated between very hot and completely cold while you showered. Younger children are going to need some assistance to use them.

Being a Scottish campsite, I have to give the mandatory midge report. There were some, but not too bad except around the loch at dusk. The usual anti-midge sprays were enough to keep them in check.

All-in-all, it's an ideal campsite for families needing a base for a Scottish Highlands holiday or for the more adventurous wanting somewhere to sleep after a long day of hiking. If you are looking for a 'wild camping' style experience or to get away from the crowds for a weekend, this is probably not going to be your first choice.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachel10 5 reviews from this member

This site is in a lovely area. We stayed for 7 nights. The tent area is large and you choose where you pitch. You can be near the toilet block if you wish or choose somewhere more private if you don't mind a trek. The facilities are good, plenty and clean. The laundry is good. Mobile signal minimal. Most pitches slope a little.

Some midges I'm afraid! Pine Marten bar next door is attractive and shop very well stocked and open all day and evening. Lots of forest tracks for walking or cycling. Bike hire available at Pine Marten bar. The town of Aviemore is a short drive away and can provide any goods you might need. There is a bus service from Aviemore and going up to the Cairngorm carpark from the site. You can do watersports on the lake. You can have a meal at the youth hostel opposite.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 31 reviews from this member

What can I add to what has already been written? A good, well equipped site in an exceptional location. Great for dog walks, gentle strolls, hill climbing or serious hill climbing - take your pick from well marked tracks through the forest or up the hills; great for beach lovers and water lovers (yep - a picturesque loch and a REAL sandy beach!); great for photographers, both landscapes and wildlife, and, if you choose the right time of year, great for peace and quiet. I suspect if you come in summer it will be the opposite and great for big beach parties. There can be few people who would not find something to enjoy at this lovely site.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GAVWTD 7 reviews from this member

Our family LOVE the Glenmore Camping in tje forest site and have visited on numerous occasions and will be back later this year. Amenities are spotless and showers hot. Peace and tranquillity in the forest area with direct access to the stunning beach around Loch Morlich. Many walks for humans and dogs direct from the site (always a bonus) and independent shop and bar on site (Pinemarten Bar has live music at weekends with the band Gilly being particularly great). Book it you wont be disappointed but ask to be pitched in the forest grass pitches to be one with nature.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

This is a cracking site situated in an outstanding area just a few miles from the Cairngorm sky centre, Aviemore and is set alongside the beautiful Loch Morlich (which was frozen over during our stay) there are some lovely walks though the pine forests around the site which is teaming with wildlife (red squirrels included)

The site itself has two large modern, immaculately kept facilities blocks (only 1 open out of season) the wardens were extremely friendly (Claire & Freddie especially went out of their way for us) The Pine Marten bar is situated at the entrance serving real ales and good food ! nice place will definitely be back

Previous     160 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Aviemore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4015 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019