Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burnbake Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wareham > Burnbake Campsite Reviews

Burnbake Campsite
Rempstone
Corfe Castle
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5JH
Tel: 01929 480570
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 130
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 87 Reviews
                8/10 from 87 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Orangefoot 3 reviews from this member

We have stayed at Burnbake several times over the last 5 years and the site is now changed beyond all recognition.

On the plus side, the toilet/shower blocks have been completely refurbished and now have lower ceilings, better lighting, new flooring and new toilets and sinks.

On the downside, the site is now very small and you feel more like you are in suburbia than the wild as it used to be.

The area down by the brook is now not for camping but is filled with a street of lodges. The little clearing on the right near the brook also has a lodge on it now. There are lodges all round the lower edge of the area left for camping and this makes it feel hemmed in, not wild.

There are no tree swings and any found are cut down. My children were told not to be in the new play area as they are 'too old', you cannot access the woodland over the bridge from the site any more and too many cars drive too fast between the lodges and the exit.

We will continue to visit the site with community groups in the events field but I won't ever camp there again independently.

Thank goodness we have good memories of times we camped in the wild and loved it.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jerome 2 reviews from this member

This was our third visit, although we were not there in 2015. In the intervening time the lodges have been built on one part of the campsite. We have always enjoyed our visits to Burnbake in the past because of the character of the site, the fact that you can have a fire in the evening and because it is easy to cycle to Studland, Corfe Castle and other places. The walking in the area is also highly recommended.

However, we felt this year that the site was becoming very crowded. The cost had almost doubled since our last visit two years ago, to the extent that we really had to consider how many nights we could afford to stay. The showers in the gents and ladies areas were a good temperature but would quickly run out of hot water due to the number of people on site. Conversely, the outside block of showers were scorching. - far too hot for children. There are two washing machines but the quality of the £3 wash was disgraceful, even after putting things through the machines a second time. My children previously used to enjoy visiting the on site shop. However, they found that now the stock was much reduced and too pricey for their pocket money. There used to be a small charge for freezing your ice blocks and a donation for charging you phone. You now have to pay 50p to use their blocks and £1 to charge your phone.

On the positive side, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The setting is ideal and children can wonder round safely. Take bikes as they are useful both on site and for exploring the area. Although we were initially disappointed not to be in the central camping area, we found our location in the field to be much more suited to our needs.

So while the site has much going for it, we are no longer able to afford their charges and will need to look elsewhere next year.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fombers 3 reviews from this member

Spent one Sat night here with a small group of friends. Very busy but we found a quiet corner in the trees. Seems a bit haphazard layout wise but gives it a relaxed feel. Campfires allowed, can hire pits and buy wood. Well stocked shop, nice little cafe at weekends. Toilet block clean, can't comment on showers as heard someone say hot water had run out so just went home for one. Owners very friendly, other campers mainly families and couples in the main field. Dog friendly. Handy for corfe and swanage. I would think in main season it might be a bit too big and busy for us but was great for a Sat in June.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardgamtoos 1 review from this member

After many reviews of this campsite and looking at pictures online of the campsite, I was a bit hesitant.

I was scared it was going to be too rustic and too quiet and out of the way.

However after being there, I can thoroughly recommend this.

However I must add that that I think it is especially good for families with kids.

The ablutions were good, but quite basic. But as would be expected in any campsite. I would not mark them down on that. However I'm sure you would get a few folk who would.

The place was busy, even though it was a regular weekend in june. However personally I like it when it is full as that adds to atmosphere, if you wanted a very quiet pitch then I'm sure you could find a spot.

I think they could do with a warden at night to keep noise levels a bit lower but saying that, I can still very much recommend and the noise didn't seem to bother either my 4 month old or 2 year old. So it couldn't have been bad.

The camp area is so peaceful, relaxing and beautiful. As well as the surrounding area, beautiful beaches, towns etc.

And a great steam train to experience in swanage.

This is definitely a great campsite, a typical camping experience, beautiful area, lots of children for kids to make friends with and a less maintained site compared to your typical camping/caravan park.

The only reason I would mark this down is because I would like a camp site walking distance to the beach, and this is not. But still not a big issue.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ejgthomas 2 reviews from this member

I had high hopes for burnbake having read other reviews. I could be a lovely campsite, but being a lovely sunny weekend (not even in school hols) it was absolutely packed to the brim!

Other tents pitched up really close to ours and no one seemed to be controlling it. There was also a large party of teenagers in the events field, who seemingly didn't want to use the portaloos in their field so the queues for the toilets and showers were really long.

Speaking to a (very) nearby camper, they said that it seemed the same number of tents were allowed even though the space was more limited because of the chalets that are now on site.

I would love to go back to burnbake, but would only do so if it was quieter. I don't want to hear others snoring in their tents throughout the night!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tim50stroud 5 reviews from this member

Big changes this year, new management and the camping in woodland areas is much reduced, replaced by glamping lodges with hot tubs.

However, we arrived on monday to an almost empty site and stayed till the following Sunday, very good value and they were happy for us to pay daily as the weather was a bit iffy.

Good showers and clean toilets, through they said the facilities were due for an upgrade.

Weather great by the end of the week and it started filling up rapidly; no noise, and friendly neighbours.

Really hope they don't loose great atmosphere as they move up market. Beware the midges. Skin So Soft is a good deterrent!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Philhambrookmoore 2 reviews from this member

Loved it!

We spent two nights here while visiting Dorset. Old school campsite with a slight hippy vibe. Pitch where you want just leave six meters between tents. Loads of woodland to explore. Great little shop and a gazebo cafe open at weekends. 15 quid for a two man tent and two adults with a tarp and windbreak was very reasonable. Fire pit hire 4 pounds a night but log bags at 6 with only five logs not good value. Better to collect your own wood or buy from local garage. Facilities good for this style of site with nice hot free showers.

It was very peaceful with everyone observing the no noise after ten thirty rule. On the second night we were treated to a thunderstorm which was fantastic to watch from the safety of our tarp with the fire crackling away.

Site is remote with no man made noise to be heard, although this does mean the nearest pub is a good hike away. Best to shop while your out for the day as not a lot close by. The campshop is however well stocked with the basics.

The group fields looked well set up and I think we will book one for a group kayak tour of the jurrasic coast we are planning later in the year.

Well done to the owners, great relaxed site!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Plankymonkey 5 reviews from this member

Uuuuummmmmm. Not sure what to say, we love camping and have been to many campsites and had high hopes looking at the site and reviews, but left disappointed and wouldn't go there again.

Firstly we arrived after work on Thursday - so later in the afternoon and no one was available to help, poorly signposted and so my sister in law ended up setting up camp in the events field by mistake. The staff were most displeased that we had pitched there the following morning and made us feel like total idiots. We were saved by a lovely group in the events field who said we could pitch with them - they had paid a significant amount to have exclusivity of that part of the field and so we offered to pay our share towards their bill but the team at Burnbake had other ideas and double charged. (Bit naughty we thought!)

The showers were poor. Long wait to get a shower despite attempts at different points in the morning and the hot water had always run out. Toilets with seats missing as well. The facilities were not great really.

The porta loos in the events field were okay but quickly got a bit grim with the arrival of more people. The event field holds a very large number of groups and there didn't seem to be enough toilets for the amount in the events field.

The shop was nice and stocked a good selection considering it is only tiny.

Camp fires allowed which is always a bonus and they stock wood but it is pretty wet and so better to take your own.

A relaxed campsite with lovely surrounding area but I wouldn't go again for the price and facilities offered

The campsite itself was rammed and I am glad we weren't pitched there.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Orangefoot 3 reviews from this member

We have loved camping at Burnbake for several years now but if you have camped there before you may be hugely disappointed when you visit this year, as we were.

The lovely area beyond the shop, by the stream and the access to the woodland has been turned into a suburban street of wooden lodges. The play area has been removed and the availability of space for campers has been drastically reduced.

Th showers are super hot which is lovely, the shop is still well stocked and the site is still well cared for and offers good value but I think we may not visit again as my daughters are super disappointed not to be able to access the areas they used to and we will need to find another wild-ish woodland site to visit - any suggestions welcome!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jerome 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit, having previously camped here three years ago. We camped with three of our children aged 7 to 13. The campsite is very welcoming and we looked forward to staff coming round to collect payment as we always had entertaining and interesting chats! The facilities were generally clean and adequate. The children enjoyed the freedom of the campsite and nearby woods where they collected wood for the fire. The fact that open fires are allowed was a great attraction. The location gave us plenty of interesting cycle rides, being in easy distance to Studland beaches and Corfe Castle. Short car journeys enabled us to get to fascinating places such as Tyneham and Lulworth. The walks available in the area are first rate. The fact that many of the other campers on the site had been there year after year is evidence enough of the popularity of the site.

Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4532 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019