Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Riverside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Riverside Holiday Park Reviews

Riverside Holiday Park
Lane
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4PE
Tel: 01637 873617
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 98
Open: March To End Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mich50 1 review from this member

Just had two weeks holiday on riverside. Fantastic site. Nothing is too much trouble. Very friendly staff always there to help you. Andy the bar man was brill always ready to have a chat. Pitches are clean and tidy kept cut. Clean toilet and showers. This is the second time we have been here carnt wait to go again. We had lovely hot weather for the hole holiday. Fantastic site would recommend it to every one. Happy campers. Michele and John

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave.jacko 1 review from this member

This is the forth year we have been to this site for our main holiday. We stayed for 11 nights at the end of July.

The site is very clean and well laid out with easy access to all the services available. There is a lovely family bar where all are welcome, although we sit outside having dogs.

There is a nice little shop well stocked with the essentials. There is an indoor pool that is great for the family to enjoy.

The facilities are kept very clean and although at times are very busy they are adequate for the size of the site. There is a washing up area indoors, washing machines and dryers for those wet days.

For the young ones there are a games room and a good sized outdoor play area with plent to keep them entertained and in easy sight for the parents.

The staff are all very polite and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them.

There is also a small takeaway on site for those evening treats.

With the site not being on the main roads it is quite quiet.

The site is within walking distance (if you like walking) of Newquay and also there is a Morrisons store very close.

We really enjoy coming here, so much so as our children are now grown up we are going again in September just the wife and I with the dogs.

With it being a family only site it's brilliant for every family

I have already booked for 2016

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Urbexia 1 review from this member

Finding the site was easy. The lane is a little narrow so take your time as you don't have much room should cars come the other way.

On arrival to the site we found the owners and staff really helpful and welcoming. They explained where everything was and directed us to the pitch. They also explained that tv reception was really bad, so for a a small fee they provide a lead that plugs into a box on each pitch. Brilliant - no messing with aerials!

The site itself is very tidy, a good amount of room on each pitch, and mostly level. The swimming pool is great! Heated and very clean.

The play area is well maintained and will keep the little one's happy for a few hours. It has a shop that is well stocked for essentials, and a bar with outdoor area, it's all very informal and your made welcome by staff and other holiday makers alike.

The toilet block we found better than a lot of sites. Its was clean, the showers were plenty hot enough day or night. There is also a laundry (we didn't need to use) with washers and dryers. This was not marked on the little map outside the main office, but just ask and you'll be pointed in the right direction.

To give you an example of the type of people running the site, on our departure I left the side skirt hanging on the fence. By the time we got back home there was an email saying that it had been put in the post and was on it's way back!

This is a little gem of a site that we will be going back to again and again. It's not huge (a good thing) so I would recommend booking to save disappointment.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Christine08 1 review from this member

We stayed 14 nights on this site, this is our second visit and had a really enjoyable stay.

The shower/toilet block was mostly clean and tidy. It did get a bit busy every day from 5pm onwards until about 7pm with people returning from the beach and wanting showers. The supply of hot water was a bit hit and miss during the first couple of days we were there, with boiling showers in the gents side and lukewarm at best in the ladies, but the owners of the site sorted this out quickly. The toiliets and showers were cleaned daily at around 3pm.

There is no family bathroom on this site, which we knew about anyway. Our youngest child of 20 months hates showers, so we overcame this by purchasing a large gardening trug for 3 from a local discount supermarket for his bathtime, which we part filled from the shower and topped up with hot water from the sinks. He loved it, and it got so many positive comments from other mum's of young children on the site, who were also struggling with the same issues. Perhaps the site could provide their own 'riverside' bathtub?

The site is clean and tidy, and kept that way by the owners and the other campers. All the pitches were flat and due to it's valley location shelterd from the winds and the worst of the cornish weather. Waste bins were emptied daily and were never allowed to 'overflow'. There were also plenty of recycling points for cans/plastic/glass/paper/card. The grass is mown short on an almost daily basis. There are washing up sinks and washing/drying facilities, which we couldn't be without with 2 young children.

The play area is brilliant for the children, and boasts a slide, tyre swing, and a zip wire. Our 5 year old, loved playing and making friends with the other children on the site there, and we felt confident enough with the security of the site to allow him to go to the park and play without an adult chaperone all the time, and just checking back regularly to make sure everything was alright.

The owners of the site and all the staff there, made us feel most welcome, and were helpful with any assistance or enquiries that we needed. The bar and restaurant were very welcome, we ate there a couple of nights. Bingo night seemed to be very popular on an evening.

We have booked to go back next year and are very much looking forward to another stay.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T4Steve 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our trip to newquay we stayed at riverside the staff are great and the site is very clean and tidy the many rabbits that roam freely kept the dogs occupied all day. The pool is very clean the toilet blocks are also very clean the small bar is great to as the kids amusement arcade is attached so no need to worry about them the shop stocks the essentials and is NOT overpriced if you need a supermarket there is one about 5 mins drive away.

Would we stay here again. Yes we would. Would we recommend to anyone.

Yes we would. Till next time

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MrMrsMagill 5 reviews from this member

Arrived at site at 5pm, with no-one to great us and reception closed. We telephoned the site number to be told that we were welcome, could park up where ever we want and they would see us at the bar later! And that is exactly what happened! Lovely site, good sized pitches with local friendly rabbits who keep the grass nice and well kept! Good facilities, very well kept and accessible. Children's play area, games room (with pool tables etc) and a nice little friendly bar. Nice and close to town and supermarket, although the road up and down to site is a little tricky and larger caravans could struggle. Overall a great stay, would recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lembi2001 1 review from this member

This was my family's first camping trip and we chose Cornwall as I had been previously with my Parents.

We arrived on Site at just after 11am and our pitch was waiting for us. We checked in at Reception and were given a stack of leaflets pertaining to the various activities available to us in Newquay and surrounding areas.

We were directed to our pitch which was well kept and water free. Granted this was July however we didn't have the greatest of weather before we set off down. Whilst we were pitching the tent it was great see some rabbits hopping around, they kept my Daughter entertained whilst myself and the missus erected the tent.

The pitches are large enough to fit a tent/caravan on with your car next to it. Once we had finished we took a walk around the site.

A little way down the road in front of the tent was the river (well it is called Riverside) with high banking to help prevent flooding. The Playground was almost directly opposite from out pitch so the little one was impressed with that. The on site shop is a little sparse however it carries the essentials and doesn't rip you off in the process. The bar area is attached to the shop/reception area and boasts a healthy selection of beers. There are 2 games rooms, one off the main bar and the second is in it's own portakabin. We used the takeaway one night and the food was very nice. The swimming pool is heated however it is not monitored so if you have children please make sure they are accompanied. There is a sign requesting this however we witnessed multiple children in the pool without supervision. One nice feature they offer is Wi-Fi access. You can test the Wi-Fi out for 1 hour a day I think, however if you need longer you can purchase blocks of time. We bought a week's worth for 12 and the speed and coverage was very good. Handy if you need to keep up to date with Candy Crush and Facebook (don't pretend you don't know what I'm talking about).

The site itself is located down a narrow country road off the main road but access to places like a Newquay Town Centre and Morrisons is very easy.

We were that impressed with our visit we have already booked on for this year but for 2 weeks this time.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ewing 3 5 reviews from this member

We booked this park partly because we had called in there many years ago and remembered how nice it looked and partly because of all of the good reviews it has received on here, however after booking in we were quite disappointed by what we found.

We paid for 5 nights with the option of extending our booking if we wished for another 4 nights but as soon as we had set up I was on the phone booking somewhere else. The pitches looked as if they had been in constant use over the summer season without any chance of recovering and consequently had very little usable grass on them and due to the wet summer the staff had put straw all over them to absorb the moisture. You can't blame the staff for the weather but to cover them in straw which kept treading into the caravan, awning and car did not please me at all. On the first morning mud in the form of worm casts had come through the awning ground sheet too so everywhere was messy. I would suggest that the park put in some hardstanding pitches to improve the ground conditions.

The toilet block, despite some favourable comments on here was disappointing too. Whatever time of the day you went in, early in the morning or last thing at night the radio was blasting out inappropriate music from a local radio station. I have no problem with piped music in the shower block but the volume and style was inappropriate for background music. The shower cubicles had nowhere to sit after showering to dry yourself down or get dressed or leave your clothes and only one hook to hang everything on. We also felt that the cleanliness could have been much better too. In the ladies on one morning was a rabbit hopping around ! It really made us appreciate the facilities found on Caravan Club sites.

Some scruffy seasonal pitches spoil the area around the toilet block.

Having said all that I could not fault the friendliness or helpfulness of all of the staff and regular customers who made you very welcome. It sounds like we are over critical but you will see from other reviews that I have left on here we are not, but this site did not turn out to be what we were expecting.

The bar was fine for a quiet evening drink, we did not use the pool or takeaway so cannot comment there.

Due to our disappointment we only stayed for 4 of the 5 nights paid for before moving on to our favourite Caravan Club site in Devon. The park has a lot of potential but it just needs more attention to detail. Sadly we will not be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camping12345 2 reviews from this member

Last august I went on holiday to riverside holiday park and I am pleased that we did it was absolutely amazing.

The facilities were great the staff were the friendliest I have ever seen. The pool was always clean and the location of the site was excellent as it was about an hour to everywhere we wanted to be.

One of my favourite things is that there are rabbits everywhere. When I got bored I went and fed them.

The river that runs down the side of the campsite leads down to a lovely beach nearby. There is a morrisons nearby that sells all the things that the shop doesn't.

It has a lovely playground with a zipwire, slide, swings and climbing apparatus it is full of sand so if you fall of anything you won't get hurt.

It also has a nice bar that has bingo and quizzes on some nights(if you want to stay at home on some nights you can't hear any entertainment).

It has a games room and tv room with 2 pool tables, a kid pool table, some slot machines, tv and a freezer (for ice packs).

I have been there in 2011 and 2012 and I strongly advise people to go there in 2013!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Studee 2 reviews from this member

We are staying here at moment for 7 nights. We arrived very early on Saturday morning and met by the owners and was told that it would be no problem to set up our tent on any pitch we liked.

The owner was extremely helpful, told us about the site ( no mention of any rules which was good) even gave us a big info pack of leaflets about the area. We chose pitch no. 9 which is next to the river. Nice flat pitch and plenty of space for our Monte Verde 700, windbreak and car.

Toilets are extremely clean, the ladies has just been redecorated, new shower curtains. Very bright( even toilet seats were bright, each one a different colour!). Small bar, games room and takeaway on site although we didn't use them so can't comment on them.

There is also an indoor swimming pool which we didn't use but did see plenty of people using it. Also a children's play area which looked good.

Overall we would highly recommend this site and would definitely come back.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2752 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020