Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Shell Island Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Llanbedr > Shell Island Camp Site Reviews

Shell Island Camp Site
Shell Island
Llanbedr
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL45 2PJ
Tel: 01341 241453
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 800
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 286 Reviews
                8/10 from 286 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  286 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rosa43 2 reviews from this member

 Out of this world, gorgeous amazing magical location.

I do think some of previous comments are a little unfair I didn't feel it was overrun by chavs and it might be they have dealt with some of the previous issues although as we left on Saturday morning may have missed some of the saturday night action!

We stayed on the harbour side in a sheltered field because 45 mph winds were forecast so wanted to find a sheltered spot and it was very quiet most campers camped nearer to the facilities with views to die for. We enjoyed our 10 minute walk each morning to the shower block although appreciate some people would want something more 'ensuite'

Unfortunately I just feel the general cleaniness lets the site down. There was a porta cabin style toilet near us but the ladies was smelly. The bin full on Tuesday still was not emptied on Friday, a muddy puddle in the ladies shower block toilet on Tuesday remained for the duration of our stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Taafe75 3 reviews from this member

 We go to Shell Island every year as a large group.

As some people have said you do get the odd noisy family.

The new shower and toilet facilities near reception are excellent and are regularly cleaned.

There are some smaller toilet blocks located around the site that can be a bit dirtier but again they are cleaned every day.

The bar and cafe area arent really for me, Ive been there to watch the football once and it was ok.

There are a number of shops for different items you might need whilst camping.

The staff are always very helpful.

There is a great pub just up the road and Barmouth has a supermarket that isnt too far away.

Overall a great site that we will continue to go to every year 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Stealth20673 4 reviews from this member

 The location of this site in reagrds to the views and the sea is fab and the fact you can pitch where you like rather than being sectioned off is a nice touch. Ive been to shell island with my family and friends 5 times now. We pitch down by the dunes away from the busier sections nearer reception.

What I will say with this place is that you NEED the weather on side. We suffered terrible winds off the sea every day which makes doing anything very difficult. This was the first time we actually pitched ON the sand. Don't do it! Its a nightmare - especially in the wind.

The bar is reasonably priced but the little food shop they have is quite pricey and doesn't really offer a broad selection of fresh food for bbqs etc. The bar also sells alcohol to take back to tents such as tins of beer, wine and spirits which is handy.

The cafe is a little over priced (more like a Haven site) but the food was good quality in fairness.

There did appear to be a larger % of what I would call "chav families" this year. The ones that make a lot of noise, swear, don't watch their kids and generally lower the tone for everyone else.

The toilet blocks were cleaned regularly and the shower block was impeccable.

The biggest drawback for me here is the distance to the nearest shops. There is no electric here so keeping food/drinks cool for more than a day or so is almost impossible. The food shop on site doesn't cut the mustard for a decent bbq and the nearest shops are in porthmadog which is a 30 minute drive. Here you will find a Lidl and Aldi but as I said, they are an hour round trip away. There is a little Spar with a butchers attached to it about 15 mins away but that's nore expensive than the shop on site!

On several occasions idiots decided it be a good idea to come and drive like baffoons on the sand right next to where we were camping.

All in all we enjoyed our stay again this year but its not a place to come for more than a few nights in my opinion and as we plan to camp for 7 nights next year we wont be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Storeman_uk 7 reviews from this member

 The location is excellent with fantastic views to wake up to. Unfortunately there are now so many anti-social people turning up, car radios blaring out, one night until 2:00am. Others having a domestic slanging match with plenty of abusive language for all to hear. The number of dog owners who believe they are exempt from the 'Dogs must be kept on a leash' rule is unbelievable.

I did approach security about the radio noise and to their credit they had a word with the offenders who did turn it down substantially but the next night made up for it with the aforementioned domestic.

After 3 nights of disturbances I approached reception regarding the issues I have mentioned and told them we were thinking of cutting short our 5 night stay. They were sympathetic and said if we did cut our stay short because of the issues they would refund the unused nights, as it turned out, most of the unruly groups were leaving so we decided to stay, Predictably those that left were replaced by other noisy visitors. They also said they would leave a message for the night security to increase their patrols.

I didn't see any patrols (apart from the time I complained). The standard of the people visiting this site has turned a great site into something akin to a festival site so if you prize peace and quiet along with the ability to get a decent nights sleep then I would advice looking elsewhere. It's a pity as the site is great with friendly and seemingly helpful staff. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Vturner 4 reviews from this member

 This has to be our favourite campsite of all times. With an abundance of space you simply can relax and take in what amazing views you have.

Facilities cannot be faulted and the staff are always here to help. You can explore the woods, the sand dunes, the harbour, or crab fish along the tidal road.

It is great fun watching the tide come in and covering the road and that feeling of suddenly becoming an Island (even though there is access for emergency purposes)

Thank you time and time again for all the amazing memories we have shared whilst at your site 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Martin131166 11 reviews from this member

 We've been coming to shell island for over 12 years.

It can be great, but more and more 'bad groups' are coming.

Kids fighting on the park, whilst the parents sit as far away as possible, music blaring away til the early hours, dogs doing their mess anywhere and not cleaned up, family arguments/fights, rubbish left all over and not cleaned up.

Such a shame. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Lhugs1711 1 review from this member

 Been staying at Shell Island each year for the last 20+ years and each year I visit I love it that little bit more.

Such a beautiful place to stay, I just love how close to the beach you can camp, waking up to the sound of the waves is just heaven.

Lots for kids to keep entertained and taking a push bike is just amazing to go exploring the island.

Beaches are fantastic and amenities are non plus, recently upgraded shower and toilet blocks are just everything you need.

Highly recommend this place to anyone who hasnít visited! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Coffeegirl_forever 11 reviews from this member

 The Tent Graveyard. Definitely true! It's a lovely site for the location to the beach but make sure you're well pegged down, guy ropes attached and pitch in a sheltered spot.

It depends on what you're looking for in a campsite but I'll give you my opinion.

Positives: tavern for relaxing in the bar, well stocked camping shop, friendly staff, games room for children, security patrols, friendly other campers, gift shop, beach, fixing poles for a donation to charity, supermarket for basics.

Negatives: noisy and inconsiderate campers, windy weather, lack of recycling facilities, tide covering the causeway at certain times. This year there were several thefts but the police dealt with it, less toilets than previous years.

I will go again but will be more wary of people stealing. I've met some amazing people who visit every year so this outweighs the negatives for me. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 211 reviews from this member

 I've wanted to visit Shell Island since we first drove past it 14 years ago and on this tour we finally made it.

You of course have to be aware of the tide times as the causeway gets covered at high tide, but once on the island the reception area was well signposted and we soon checked in. The staff were friendly, explained where we could pitch, etc. And charged me £12 per night for one person in a VW and a dog.

We drove on to the site and the place is simply huge and split in to many different camping areas, some in the sand dunes, some on top of the hills and some more sheltered down the hills, but without the sea views. There are many secluded spots where you can be the only one in the pitch however we wanted 360 views so camped on the top of one the hills to the right of the main complex.

The views are simply stunning looking out to sea, over to Snowdonia, North Wales, South Wales and on a good day you can see for miles.

The site is surrounded by sea and beaches and we enjoyed a couple of great walks and the dog could run free too.

On site there are plenty of toilet blocks and these were all kept to a very high standard and always stocked. There are fresh water taps at all the blocks, so it is never far to walk to use the facilities.

The shower block is housed by the main complex and there were plenty of showers in the block and these are push button type and non directional, but were a good temperature and had a small wall in each to stop your clothes getting wet. These were free to use.

There is a washing up area, laundry, bar, shop, accessory shop, restaurant and takeaway. We used the bar and the first night the cider tasted a bit weird, but was fine on the second night. The pizza we ordered was freshly made and very good. The shop stocked all the essentials and was priced ok. The laundry was £3 per wash and £2 for the tumble dryers.

There is a huge play area by the main complex and this was fenced off and had loads of stuff for kids to play on.

As the site is so big you never felt on top of anyone and we had loads of space around us and were able to enjoy the stunning sunset in the evenings.

There is loads to see in the area but you need a car to get around and I will be back and will recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in the area. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Louisecat123 1 review from this member

 Fabulous campsite, amazing beach, friendly helpful staff. Love it here, come every year. So many places to set up camp with sea, mountain, sanding view. Restaurant open daily and the Tavern. 3 shops and ample toilets and shower. Very dog friendly also 


Previous     286 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shell Island Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shell Island Camp Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Shell Island Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanbedr      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3140 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020