Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shell Island Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Shell Island Camp Site
Shell Island
Llanbedr
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL45 2PJ
Tel: 01341 241453
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Pitches: 800
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 277 Reviews
                8/10 from 277 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  277 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coffeegirl_forever 8 reviews from this member

The Tent Graveyard. Definitely true! It's a lovely site for the location to the beach but make sure you're well pegged down, guy ropes attached and pitch in a sheltered spot.

It depends on what you're looking for in a campsite but I'll give you my opinion.

Positives: tavern for relaxing in the bar, well stocked camping shop, friendly staff, games room for children, security patrols, friendly other campers, gift shop, beach, fixing poles for a donation to charity, supermarket for basics.

Negatives: noisy and inconsiderate campers, windy weather, lack of recycling facilities, tide covering the causeway at certain times. This year there were several thefts but the police dealt with it, less toilets than previous years.

I will go again but will be more wary of people stealing. I've met some amazing people who visit every year so this outweighs the negatives for me.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 187 reviews from this member

I've wanted to visit Shell Island since we first drove past it 14 years ago and on this tour we finally made it.

You of course have to be aware of the tide times as the causeway gets covered at high tide, but once on the island the reception area was well signposted and we soon checked in. The staff were friendly, explained where we could pitch, etc. And charged me £12 per night for one person in a VW and a dog.

We drove on to the site and the place is simply huge and split in to many different camping areas, some in the sand dunes, some on top of the hills and some more sheltered down the hills, but without the sea views. There are many secluded spots where you can be the only one in the pitch however we wanted 360 views so camped on the top of one the hills to the right of the main complex.

The views are simply stunning looking out to sea, over to Snowdonia, North Wales, South Wales and on a good day you can see for miles.

The site is surrounded by sea and beaches and we enjoyed a couple of great walks and the dog could run free too.

On site there are plenty of toilet blocks and these were all kept to a very high standard and always stocked. There are fresh water taps at all the blocks, so it is never far to walk to use the facilities.

The shower block is housed by the main complex and there were plenty of showers in the block and these are push button type and non directional, but were a good temperature and had a small wall in each to stop your clothes getting wet. These were free to use.

There is a washing up area, laundry, bar, shop, accessory shop, restaurant and takeaway. We used the bar and the first night the cider tasted a bit weird, but was fine on the second night. The pizza we ordered was freshly made and very good. The shop stocked all the essentials and was priced ok. The laundry was £3 per wash and £2 for the tumble dryers.

There is a huge play area by the main complex and this was fenced off and had loads of stuff for kids to play on.

As the site is so big you never felt on top of anyone and we had loads of space around us and were able to enjoy the stunning sunset in the evenings.

There is loads to see in the area but you need a car to get around and I will be back and will recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in the area.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Louisecat123 1 review from this member

Fabulous campsite, amazing beach, friendly helpful staff. Love it here, come every year. So many places to set up camp with sea, mountain, sanding view. Restaurant open daily and the Tavern. 3 shops and ample toilets and shower. Very dog friendly also

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dustie 3 reviews from this member

Shell Island # GREAT Welsh institution, A GEM, GREAT for free range kids #Freedom camping.

Only campers spoil it !

By leaving/dropping litter & burning the grass with fires on the ground.

& camping too close to others when the site is humongous!

Warning: once again I came across broken glass in the sand dunes and lots of litter/beer cans # children bare feet

Big Jelly fish on the beach

Kids use snow sledges down the dunes (big fun)

Great for Kites (when windy)

Other areas further down are for bird and wildlife conservation and even a nudist beach!

MY SUGGESTIONS:

I would like to see hooks for hanging toiletry bag/coats at the back of the toilet doors and the hand washing area in the new toilet block. A shelf would be handy for putting items on instead of the floor (and a mirror?)

Kids washing off sand in the sinks (so a rinse off sand sink tap/area outside instead of just the water tap).

?? maybe one more toilet block further down past the skips.

MORE RECYCLING BINS next to skips!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wetwellies 6 reviews from this member

It was okay, but more suited to large groups than our smaller family unit.

Site is very large. That you can pitch anywhere is both a blessing and a curse, it was very windy and we drove around for ages looking for somewhere to pitch. Having more sheltered places shaded on the map would really help. It was so windy, luckily we had Delta pegs, I would certainly advise you to take them. Also we had a baby with us and it's hard to find shade or shelter on the site. None on beach either. If you have small children take bikes scooters prams or something, site too big to carry them from place to place.

Staff exceptionally helpful and friendly, although the non toilet facilities like cafe are rather rough and ready. Toilets were immaculate until the sunny weekend arrived and the place was packed, then I felt that the staff struggled to keep up with replenishing toilet roll. No mirrors in the loos around the site, or warm water! But both available if you trekked to the main block. Long trek to loos with small children.

Loads of large groups of people, even in term time although they were all pleasant I was a bit wary due to signs warning not to drink drive. Could imagine it being rowdy in high season. Lots upon lots of dogs here but I did not once see a poo, and some fields were labelled as dog free on the map.

Location was great, my three year old son liked the slate mines about ten minutes away at Harlech, torches and hard hats given but no real darkness or small spaces, farm park at same location was excellent fun. Harlech castle also had a clue finding trail for little ones and gave a lovely flag and comic strip as a prize. Barmouth was a nice place to visit but the railway across the harbour at another town was overpriced, disappointing views, and we have been on many. Portmerien was a lovely place to visit and worth paying for, I was sceptical but it is beautiful with plenty of shade and places to rest and eat.

The takeaway on shell island was very basic, freezer burgers and chips sort of thing but not overpriced. Supermarket on site very well stocked with everything you could ever need. Beach very clean and great for rock pooling and toilet near entrance to sandy beach.

Overall I would say go if you like it lively.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JAHunt 1 review from this member

Location is great it's getting there that's a bit of a mission. The tight, narrow roads for miles leading in are difficult and I would think hair raising for big vehicles. The site is vast, so vast in fact that there aren't nearly enough facilities further out which means that the shower facilities located at the main building are inadequate to say the least. The site was probably only at 50% capacity and already there was a queue for the men's showers.

We camped further out in the dune area, which was more rough and ready, that's what we wanted, however. The rules didn't seem to apply or be enforced out there as there was evidence of ground fires and unfortunately for us the 'noise' after 10pm and early in the morning was not applied and enforced which made the experience sound like a street party and not the outdoors.

The 3 families camped together close by although far enough away that we shouldn't have heard them were having a good time so you couldn't blame them but someone just needed to remind them of the curfew on noise and the impact on fellow campers.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lamornamoon 1 review from this member

Just back from another wonderful weekend on Shell Island. What can I say about this place? It is just beautiful, the location - on a peninsula in Cardigan bay, jutting out into the sea and cut off from the mainland once or twice a day - is magical. The views are stunning, the size of the site is breath-taking and the diversity of camping areas - sea-front slopes, sand dunes, sheltered fields, open fields ringed by mountains, the harbour-side - is incredible. Add this to the on-site shop, laundrette, bar and café and to me, it's the perfect campsite. So many happy memories here, especially seeing everyone's fires dotted about as the sun goes down. Vive la Shell!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ncdlloyd 3 reviews from this member

We were here over the bank holiday weekend at the end of May. We found a great spot with amazing views over the site, the beach and the causeway. Choosing your own pitch certainly has its advantages, but having never been before it was pot luck we got somewhere so nice. We based it largely due to the short walk to the new toilet block.

That's the downside of the site. The block we used was new, but the others looked pretty ropey. Also only one shower block for such a huge site is poor. There was also quite a problem with litter, the people running the island must know this is an issue and it could be better managed.

We were disturbed one night by singing/music until gone midnight, obviously no monitoring by the site management of the 10pm curfew on that.

The views and freedom of pitching are probably hard to beat, but facilities wise and site management there's much better to be had. Unfortunately I doubt we'll be back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rickngayle 5 reviews from this member

We had this site recommended to us by family and we thought to try it out.

Arrived with no problems as the causeway was not flooded (the Shell Island website is a great help with tide times) and check in went smoothly. The Island must be geared up for weather as computers telling you wind speed etc are available to view in reception.

We got our tent placed not far from the complex on the brow of a hill with a great view of the sea and a great view of Snowdon to wake up to.

Shower block and toilets spot on, site was not far from being full, unfortunately the staff, more than one in the cafe and one in the pub, must have had enough of the season as their customer service left a great deal to be desired.

As we neared the end of the week the storms were coming so many people, including us, chose to leave early and I was amazed that we got a credit for the time remaining.

All in all it was a great week with plenty to explore, Barmouth, Harlech, Blue Lake, Portmerrion, the list is endless.

Will we be back next year? Yes of course we will!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CRaw_1983 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at shell island for three nights during the summer holidays with another so there were four adults and three children in total. Never stayed here before and quite frankly I was blown away by the beauty of the place. Although the site was at capacity there was plenty of space and we managed to find a place near the sand dunes away from other campers which was ideal for us.

Our nearest toilet block was small and not the best but we had a portaloo so not a problem for us. The main toilet and shower block was plenty big enough and always clean and tidy.

The on site shop stocks all the essentials and not too over priced although you're better going off site if you need lots.

Beach is amazing! And very clean

We loved it-didn't want to come and hopefully we'll be taking the kids back next year!

Previous     277 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth £149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2294 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.1367