Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shell Island Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Llanbedr > Shell Island Camp Site Reviews

Shell Island Camp Site
Shell Island
Llanbedr
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL45 2PJ
Tel: 01341 241453
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 800
Open: 08/04/2022 to 11/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 293 Reviews
                8/10 from 293 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  293 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Keithc63 1 review from this member

 Again a great time

Fortunately the weather was Perfect

So much to do, fishing, crabbing, eating, drinking, lazing about,

Been coming Here for Over 40 years when all there was, was a check in at the House/shop and the little Beach shed next to the telephone box / wishing well.

For the Size of the camp site it is well Maintained. Usually clean,

The shop is well stocked, not over priced really.

The Bar/tavern ( unfortunately due to covid restrictions, TV room was closed so unable to watch the Football. )

Everyone we met outside in temp Marquee was friendly and happy to have a bit of banter about the footie "Man Utd vs Wolves "

Cant wait for 2022 season. When Hopefully all restrictions are lifted, and back to normal  


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: BatNan6 1 review from this member

 What can I say about beautiful Shell Island. Something for all ages.

Beaches, woods, sand dunes, sea fishing, nice club with food and entertainment.

If you havenít experienced this land of honey, then put it on the bucket list ❤️ 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Martin131166 13 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with something for everyone.

Great views, lovely beaches,

Some great places to pitch.

The bar/tavern was covid restricted, so table service under the big marquee, staff worked hard and very pleasant and polite.

Shop is reasonable priced all things considered, burgers and bacon were pretty expensive but of a very good quality.

Camp shop is quite dear.

We went sea fishing, on the western flyer (the islands own boat), fantastic trip, we even had dolphins swimming next to us.

The staff at reception and the lads on the gate are first rate, and quite undervalued by the customers.

This year they had recycling bins, which is great,

BUT people used them as bins for normal rubbish, rather than the skip right next to it?

That's what let's the place down, the visitors.

As with everywhere, 90% are great, the rest are only interested in themselves (it's worse at weekends, which is why we only go Sunday to Friday)

We've been coming for nearly 20 years, and will still come, it's just a shame about the idiots. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ilikepie 1 review from this member

 Love it here, been coming since 2009, choose your own pitch (but choose wisely) couple of nights got a bit loud but security were on to those with radios After 10.

Staff friendly and helpful, camp, souvenir and supermarket on site. Tavern serves a lovely pint of Erdinger which can be enjoyed outside.

Facilities were mostly clean (it's a large place so they have a lot to keep clean). But of course the main reason to go here is the beach.

My two girls loved it. Oh grab yourself an ice cream from the souvenir shop.

Will return again and again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Lizfle 1 review from this member

 Amazing time as always Covid rules in force and managed well.

Can't wait to go back.

Toilets and showers immaculate each time we used them. Staff very friendly and helpful.

What more can I say but we had a brilliant time first time away in 16 months. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jangwy 1 review from this member

 Fantastic as always weather great didn't want to leave sea sun sets we will be back

Love the area something special there

Excellent service from office shop takeaway helpful maintenance guys. Good value for money. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rosa43 2 reviews from this member

 Out of this world, gorgeous amazing magical location.

I do think some of previous comments are a little unfair I didn't feel it was overrun by chavs and it might be they have dealt with some of the previous issues although as we left on Saturday morning may have missed some of the saturday night action!

We stayed on the harbour side in a sheltered field because 45 mph winds were forecast so wanted to find a sheltered spot and it was very quiet most campers camped nearer to the facilities with views to die for. We enjoyed our 10 minute walk each morning to the shower block although appreciate some people would want something more 'ensuite'

Unfortunately I just feel the general cleaniness lets the site down. There was a porta cabin style toilet near us but the ladies was smelly. The bin full on Tuesday still was not emptied on Friday, a muddy puddle in the ladies shower block toilet on Tuesday remained for the duration of our stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Taafe75 10 reviews from this member

 We go to Shell Island every year as a large group.

As some people have said you do get the odd noisy family.

The new shower and toilet facilities near reception are excellent and are regularly cleaned.

There are some smaller toilet blocks located around the site that can be a bit dirtier but again they are cleaned every day.

The bar and cafe area arent really for me, Ive been there to watch the football once and it was ok.

There are a number of shops for different items you might need whilst camping.

The staff are always very helpful.

There is a great pub just up the road and Barmouth has a supermarket that isnt too far away.

Overall a great site that we will continue to go to every year 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Stealth20673 4 reviews from this member

 The location of this site in reagrds to the views and the sea is fab and the fact you can pitch where you like rather than being sectioned off is a nice touch. Ive been to shell island with my family and friends 5 times now. We pitch down by the dunes away from the busier sections nearer reception.

What I will say with this place is that you NEED the weather on side. We suffered terrible winds off the sea every day which makes doing anything very difficult. This was the first time we actually pitched ON the sand. Don't do it! Its a nightmare - especially in the wind.

The bar is reasonably priced but the little food shop they have is quite pricey and doesn't really offer a broad selection of fresh food for bbqs etc. The bar also sells alcohol to take back to tents such as tins of beer, wine and spirits which is handy.

The cafe is a little over priced (more like a Haven site) but the food was good quality in fairness.

There did appear to be a larger % of what I would call "chav families" this year. The ones that make a lot of noise, swear, don't watch their kids and generally lower the tone for everyone else.

The toilet blocks were cleaned regularly and the shower block was impeccable.

The biggest drawback for me here is the distance to the nearest shops. There is no electric here so keeping food/drinks cool for more than a day or so is almost impossible. The food shop on site doesn't cut the mustard for a decent bbq and the nearest shops are in porthmadog which is a 30 minute drive. Here you will find a Lidl and Aldi but as I said, they are an hour round trip away. There is a little Spar with a butchers attached to it about 15 mins away but that's nore expensive than the shop on site!

On several occasions idiots decided it be a good idea to come and drive like baffoons on the sand right next to where we were camping.

All in all we enjoyed our stay again this year but its not a place to come for more than a few nights in my opinion and as we plan to camp for 7 nights next year we wont be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Storeman_uk 7 reviews from this member

 The location is excellent with fantastic views to wake up to. Unfortunately there are now so many anti-social people turning up, car radios blaring out, one night until 2:00am. Others having a domestic slanging match with plenty of abusive language for all to hear. The number of dog owners who believe they are exempt from the 'Dogs must be kept on a leash' rule is unbelievable.

I did approach security about the radio noise and to their credit they had a word with the offenders who did turn it down substantially but the next night made up for it with the aforementioned domestic.

After 3 nights of disturbances I approached reception regarding the issues I have mentioned and told them we were thinking of cutting short our 5 night stay. They were sympathetic and said if we did cut our stay short because of the issues they would refund the unused nights, as it turned out, most of the unruly groups were leaving so we decided to stay, Predictably those that left were replaced by other noisy visitors. They also said they would leave a message for the night security to increase their patrols.

I didn't see any patrols (apart from the time I complained). The standard of the people visiting this site has turned a great site into something akin to a festival site so if you prize peace and quiet along with the ability to get a decent nights sleep then I would advice looking elsewhere. It's a pity as the site is great with friendly and seemingly helpful staff. 


Previous     293 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shell Island Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shell Island Camp Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Shell Island Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanbedr      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2746 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement