Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dunn Street Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Ashford > Dunn Street Farm Reviews

Dunn Street Farm
Dunn Street
Westwell
Ashford
Kent   (Browse area)
TN25 4NJ
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35 (10 with electric hook up)
Open: Late March To End Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Toointents 1 review from this member

Just spent a week here and had a really good time, the site is a bit spartan but everything worked, its how camping used to be before huge sites, clubhouses, pubs, fishing lakes, restaurants etc. And that's how I like it I'd rather spend the evening round a campfire with a few beers than listening to some really bad singer in some run down 'holiday camp'

The area is great nice working farm, gliding airfield a mile or two away, really nice friendly pub down the road (although coming from Lincolnshire the Kent prices are a little steep I nearly fell over when she said 20 quid for a steak, went for the cheaper pie and it was excellent)

We didn't stay on the site during the day as we visited several places each day Dover, Canterbury, Deal etc.

One thing don't forget (like I did) to update your satnav the week before you leave and not the morning you do only to find that the maps hadn't loaded properly :-( had to use the phone all week and it was less than ideal and led to the odd raised voice, some people have moaned about the 'narrow lanes' you're in the countryside deal with it!

I've never really spent much time in Kent but its a lovely area and I only wish we'd had more time (and money) to explore it a little more.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dannibriant 1 review from this member

Relaxed atmosphere. Kids loved the tractors and animals. Lovely apple juice. My favourite campsite so far.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SmileyAJ 1 review from this member

Stayed over the weekend with my husband and 9 year old grand daughter. I received a quick response from the owners regarding availability with full details of how to check in, best route etc. Payment is requested on arrival at the farm and you pop your money/cheque into an envelope and post it in their allocated post box. I really liked the general laidbackness of the site - free range eggs, fruit juices and a few grocery essentials are available to buy - again you just post your money into the box. Once you arrive you are pretty much left to your own devices but contact details are available if you run into trouble. We were allocated to the Strawberry field, even though this wasn't my first choice (because you can't park your vehicle next to the pitch) I actually preferred it to Brocks Field because you didn't have to cross the country lane (although it did't seem to get hardly any traffic) to reach the toilet and shower facilities. These were good, a shower and 2 toilets each for ladies and men blocks plus two extra showers in the kitchen area - ample for the size of the site. I found that the shower in the ladies block was much better than the kitchen one which kept running hot and cold! The kitchen also has use of two large fridges with a freezer compartment, kettle, washing machine and sinks for washing up which I thought was really good for a basic site. Strawberry field comprises of electric hook ups on one perimeter half of the field, we had a tent so didn't use this but you get plenty of space to pitch and the field had a nice feel about it. The perimeter of the field is nice and flat and the grass mown with large hedges around the edges, while the centre of the field is left with long grass. The kids seemed to love playing in it and hiding and my grand daughter loved riding her bike around. The site seems very family friendly but quiet too. There's also farm animals to see on site :) Location was good, there's lots of good walking, the Pilgrim's Way is just at the end of the road and we walked and cycled some of it. However there's no shops in the near vicinity, only a local pub about 10 minutes walk into Westwell, although we didn't visit it. We did go into Ashford, about 15 minutes drive and that has a shopping centre and a good range of shops, supermarket, pubs and restaurants if you need provisions. I thought the site was nice but the only gripe I would have is that the toilets/showers are a little far away but it wouldn't stop me from visiting again!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stationhouse26 11 reviews from this member

We wanted a site near to Ashford to visit our daughter. To be honest this one wasnít our first choice but it actually turned out to be a very laid back and relaxing stay. We never actually saw the owners and just posted payment into the postbox as requested! We used the facilities in our caravan as the shower block looked a bit basic and the weather wasnít great and I didnít fancy the walk! The actual field we were in was very picturesque- we were all pitched around the edge with a meadow in the middle. Thereís no park or any kind of tv room which suited us. The lanes leading up to the site are a bit narrow so if youíre towing make sure you follow the site directions and not Google!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tiddles23 3 reviews from this member

We visited the site for 4 days in August and instantly felt very at home. We were impressed by the beautiful field we chose, and the neighbouring campers were very nice and respectfully kept all noise to a bare minimum after 9pm. Parking away from the tent meant that the site was quieter than others visited, and the animals on the way to the toilet block were very cute! The showers were hot, and quite acceptable and the washing machine and few groceries for sale work via an honesty box which was quaint. The facilities were tidy, clean and there was no queue, even in August.

Views from the site were delightful, the grass was cut and the site was free of rubbish. It was also handy to have recycling facilities. This is a site we will happily return to, it seems a fair few campers use this for a short break, as we had quite a few neighbours leaving after a night possibly to catch a ferry or to break up a long trip. Can highly recommend this to families and couples alike.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: THOMC10 2 reviews from this member

This is definitely a 'marmite' site. You will either love it or hate it. On the plus side its quaint. Its a working farm, so there are lots of animals around. Its peaceful and there is a lot of room in the main field. A nice site for walkers. In the washroom, there is a washing machine, fridge and freezer for use by campers. On the minus side its a cross between 'roughing it' and a serviced campsite. On the main field there is one water stand. If you are pitched on the far side of the field (ie with no EHU)its not very close to you. There is no facility on the field itself to empty waste water. This has to be done down the chemical waste (we couldn't find anywhere else) - which is a covered manhole. The toilets are in converted farm outbuildings. There is only 2 wc's and 1 shower in each of the male & female blocks, plus 2 extra showers in the washroom. Not a problem while we were there (only a few units on site) but I imagine it could be if the site was full. The showers could do with a bit of TLC (for example, shower curtains were old and marked with mildew marks). The very downside for us was access to the site. Even if you follow the farms directions there are narrow lanes (single line traffic) that you have to go through. The pub is within walking distance (across a field) but there is no local shop.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geoffntrish 2 reviews from this member

Spent a week here and practically had the place to ourselves, a great big grassy field with open views to one side and sheltered by trees and hedges on the other three sides. The few other visitors mostly seem to use the place as an overnight stop, presumably on their way to the Channel. The owners are lovely people, happy to chat but not the least intrusive and very relaxed. It was very reasonably priced at £18. The sheep and goats and chickens made the trek to the loos almost a pleasure (and it wasn't that far, we've had to walk much further at other campsites!)The facilities were basic but very clean, my only criticism being that the hot water in the ladies' wasn't working but the shower was hot and plentiful so I didn't mind too much. The dishwashing area had fridges and freezers, a washing machine and even a kettle, and there were eggs and (real local) bottles of fruit juice to buy if you wanted. All in all it was a pleasure to stay there, great if you're not bothered about luxuries. Sometimes you heard the motorway and sometimes you didn't, the acoustics were odd, but the owls were plentiful! Its position makes it relatively easy to get to the big towns.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RandK 2 reviews from this member

An absolutely fantastic gem of a site with old school camping which felt warm and inviting.

The owners are extremely helpful and friendly but without being intrusive.

There are two camping fields; one on the farm and one 'Brocks Paddock' across the very quiet road. We stayed on the farm and with an electric hook-up. You can pitch where you like and most people tend to give you space, apart from one set of Belgians that decided to set up almost on top of us but they were quiet and friendly and so it wasn't any bother.

The setting is idyllic with lovely scenery and you occasionally hear the sheep up on the hills. We didn't really hear traffic at all, or maybe we just switch off and enjoy the surroundings. A lovely sunset and sunrise greeted us each day and the weather was amazingly hot that we came home with a tan!

The facilities are adequate for the site, we were there when it started to get busy and there were no queues for the toilets/showers. As others have said, the facilities are a slight trek to get too but not any trouble at all. They were kept clean at all times with plenty of toilet roll and lashings of hot water for the showers and washing areas. The owners supply washing up liquid and sponges, in addition to liquid soap in the toilets (which is unusual for most campsites).

Fresh eggs are available to buy daily (laid by their own chickens which are on the farm) in addition to pear juice and charcoal.

There are horses, goats, chickens and ducks on the farm which I am sure is lovely for the children and adults alike.

The nearest pub is The Wheel in Westwell which we tried once and then once again but it lacked atmosphere and the chef was constantly shouting and swearing from the kitchen (which is separated from the main pub by a thick velvet curtain which smelt of old chip fat)- we also saw a very young child sitting in a highchair in the kitchen where he was preparing food for the public. We gather it has just changed hands but as the only pub in the village, it lacked the charm and the locals appeared not to be using it. We won't be returning to this particular pub anytime soon.

We walked into Charing via the North Downs Way and it was a lovely walk. Charing is a small little village with all the amenities you need, but no watering hole for that well deserved beer after a long walk in the sun! There are however many lovely walks along the North Downs but bring your walking boots as some take you through fields.

All in all, we had a lovely time and will be returning.

The only thing that spoilt our holiday was that my partner stood on a wasp and ended up in hospital on our return home :(

We will definitely be returning in September with a couple of friends as we loved it here so much.

Tip: When driving to the site, go into Westwell village rather than along the winding roads. We were lucky enough not to meet anything coming the other way but discovered on our walk that the road directly from the village was an easier option as the road was slightly wider with passing places.

Thank you to all at Dunn Street Farm and see you again soon!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pauland 5 reviews from this member

Lovely, quiet site with lovely walks and scenery. Little village nearby. Facilities were good and helpful owners. Always on hand if needed. Lovely week away. Family came over for the day to visit. Farmers sells fresh eggs and local apple/pear juice. A pleasant and peaceful site to relax and chill out. Good for families and safe for children.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cypsygal 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here 2 nights, with hook up, £36 inc for 2 with motorhome and a small dog. Our aim was to walk part of the North Downs Way, Westwell to Ditchling. The NDW crosses the road in front of the site. Great spacious site. Facilities comprehensive, what you would expect and very clean. Chickens, sheep, goats, horses to see. It was quite busy Saturday night, and probably more showers and toilets would be welcome on nights like these.

We walked to the Wheel Inn, via the footpath just opposite the farm (10 mins max) - good food, convivial atmosphere.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3429 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019