Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Searles Leisure Resort

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton > Searles Leisure Resort Reviews

Searles Leisure Resort
South Beach Road
Hunstanton
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE36 5BB
Tel: 01485 534211
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 328
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 189 Reviews
                8/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Windingdown 12 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here numerous times on various size pitches including grass and hardstanding. The grass pitches are clearly marked but as we generally visit out of season when it can be wet we prefer hardstanding. Some of the pitches we’ve stayed on do get surface water and you obviously pay more for larger pitches with facilities.

This time stayed on Riverside on a 12m x 8m main service pitch for £93 for 3 nights and it was lovely. We were opposite the children’s play area but it was quiet. We’ve always got tv reception but no free WiFi.

The barriers at the main top entrance, which are normally up, were manned, due to Covid, with security who gave us an envelope with all the necessary information.

We don’t usually make use of any of the entertainment so don’t come into contact with staff but a couple of years ago the grandkids absolutely loved the pools.

The toilet/shower facilities were cleaned regularly and there is a drive over grey waste disposal.

This site is very convenient for a walk along the flat promenade into Hunstanton. Whilst some parts of Hunstanton are hilly there are regular buses to Kings Lynn or Cromer via Sherringham and Wells. Near the top entrance is Tesco, a pub that serves breakfast and other meals as well as a bus.

No doubt we will visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dgjaco 1 review from this member

 Very nice site but obviously limited facilities due to the present situation

Our pitch was next to the exit for the beach and had I had known this I wouldn’t have booked, it wasn’t private and although the sign on the gate said it would be locked at dusk for security it wasn’t and this was a real negative

Would still return though and request a different pitch! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thrust 1 review from this member

 Great site, very friendly staff and most helpful. Weather was appalling but plenty to do.

On site facilities are very good and the site shop was well stocked and covered a wide range of items including a TV aerial cable which I needed to connect the new TV. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Parttimecamper 1 review from this member

 Booked a last minute break for 2 nights, tried booking online, search showed electric pitches but unable to book. Phoned up and all they had were basic grass pitches. However when we were there, we counted several electric tent pitches which were free during our stay.

On arrival, the reception staff were polite and the site looked good.

As it was a grass pitch, told we can pitch where we liked I now the marked areas.

Toilets were ok, bit grubby at times and frequent blocked toilets.

Site has indoor Andy outdoor play areas, indoor and outdoor pools, chip shop, and a mini market, all of which were good.

Pool was open late which was good. There are also some bars and restaurant which were ok. There is also a land train to take you into town.

The actual site and facilities were good, only thing I could fault was the toilets getting blocked regularly and the floors being dirty.

The clientele on the other hand, most were quite and respectful. However there appeared to be a lot of travellers on site, and some fairly rough people, pitching where they liked, in road ways, very loud and foul language into the early hours.

Also, there was a strong aroma of weed in the air, more than someone having a little puff, more like a whole months supply on a BBQ. 


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dragon04 19 reviews from this member

 I felt the staff, on arrival, could have been more helpful, found our pitch, we had an 10x8 mtr and it was fine for our 8 metre motorhome. Toilets were clean, but as others have stated wished they had toilet brushes. The deep sink/washing up area was left in a deplorable state one morning and it took over 24 hours for the sink area to be cleaned.

We used smokey joes twice during our visit, good value for money and food was o. K. We didn't use any of the other facilities whilst staying.

Staff were generally friendly but some seemed to just going through the motions.

Site is a nice walk to Hunstanton and as other have said Tesco's is just at the entrance to the site, the site shop was closed during our visit. The bars, restaurants and entertainment were only available at the weekend, if going out of season I would ask what facilities were available. The Fountain bar/ golf course was open everyday until dusk for food and drink. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Handyrew 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed on a area called the Hedges. 8 metre by 8 metre pitch size. Well run site, with clean facilities and friendly staff. Ideal for children with plenty to keep them occupied, and the beach is a short walk away.

Plenty of ducks about to keep the children amused. We had a day out at Sandringham country park, ideal if you like walking as there is a 3 mile walk through woodland, with the usual facilities at the visitor centre, at the start of the walk.

If you are lucky enough to see the sunset from the beach, they are amazing, worth the short walk from your pitch. One criticism with this site and many more, please supply toilet brushes!. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ghart386 32 reviews from this member

 Another lovely stay at Searles. My major gripe is that after giving caravan dimensions, we were pitched onto Washway. Very tight for a twin axle to enter and then to find that the mains service post was at the centre of the pitch, what's that all about??? Great area for a two berth caravan but not for a big one!

Anyway, managed to get pitched ok with a bit of jiggling, due to bush at one side of pitch.

Really nice site but wished we could have been on Tennison field or a more open area of the site that had bigger pitches.

Grumbles over.

Love the site and facilities offered, push shower times could be improved.

Didn't use the bars or restaurants much, but when we did everything seemed good. Very nice to be able to sit with our dog inside at La Piazza and enjoy a drink inside as the breeze was a bit fresh outside!

Fountain Bar very good as regards dog friendly too, outside.

Had fish and chips from Harry's fish bar once but will will never do it again. The wait of 15 mins plus and the smell of rancid cooking oil put me off it before I got back to the caravan. Very little fish and what we did get was full off grease. Lesson learned.

Tesco very handy and a new Lidl about to open towards Heacham, so shopping not a headache. Shop on site also very good for newspapers and every day items and also licensed.

Very convenient for Hunstanton which is a short walk away, or a ride on the land train from the site.

Had dinner at the Honeystone very near the site, very good value for money, good service.

We like Hunstanton as it is a quiet, old fashioned little town by the sea with beautiful beaches. The sun also sets over the sea, which is unusual for Norfolk, absolutely stunning!

We will be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hmgvs 12 reviews from this member

 Took our grandchildren (4 & 2) here for 5 days mon-fri in August 2017. It was good that there was a lot for them to do – especially as the weather was so bad!

Just a few disappointing bits – the adult indoor pool looked extremely ‘murky’ and green, couldn’t even see the bottom, think it needs a good clean – didn’t even want to chance it!

On the other hand the new indoor splash pool for the littles’ is just right.

We never ate in the restaurants as they were always booked up. It would be good to give arriving guests a heads up that if they want to eat at any of them during their stay they need to book on the first night.

Entertainment staff lacked a bit of warmth and were a bit lack lustre apart from Sarah who was excellent. Was a bit disappointed that we only saw 2 characters – Cherry & Sidney – when 3 are advertised. This is peak season so they should all be around. Would also have been nice to see them around the campsite or even just in the Plazza without having to go to a show.

Shop is good but VERY expensive, staff can’t be bothered & very lack lustre – Tesco down the road!

Needed to hire a buggy as son forgot to pack it but was pleased to find one available on site and only £2 a day so not ripped off there.

Be aware that the camping area is right at the back of the site and it quite a trek for little people’s legs and those with mobility problems. It would be really excellent if there was some sort of transport running on a loop to take people back to their sites. There is a train but doesn’t run regular enough round the site as it goes into town and you have to pay for every trip.

There is a path to the beach near the camping area with a gate that’s locked at night but if you are coming from the beach area and didn’t use it to go out of the camp (i. E. You got the train into town & walked back along the prom) you will never find it! Luckily we saw some people walking up the path & asked them if they had just come from Searles and they had and showed us where the path was.

Overall we had a good time despite the weather but at £227 for 4 nights camping I think it was a bit expensive. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 186 reviews from this member

 Don't usually use these type of sites but now it was out of season and had a 3 for 2 mid-week deal thought we'd give it a go. Generally a nice, pleasant stay-had a fully serviced pitch near the toilets. Quiet at night though heard some traffic noise in the morning, ducks didn't bother us and only added to the experience. Fantastic location near the beach and easy walking to Hunstanton or further to Heacham. Tesco and a Marstons pub just outside the site. Bus stop nearby to afar as Kings Lynn which we did once and another time caught the bus to the Norfolk lavender farm. Toilets/showers a touch basic but clean and functional, didn't use any of the facilities on site which would have been free. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dmurray1 3 reviews from this member

 The weather was against us but we always had something to do here. The super pitch had ample space for our campervan and large awning. These were also separated by hedges, adding to your privacy. Large grass areas for the kids to run around and play football. The toilets/showers were very clean but the water pressure wasn't so good. The ladies block had useful plug sockets and large mirrors in separate cubicles. The pool areas were clean and even though we had drizzle we still went in the outdoor pools which were nice and warm and suitable for babies to adults. The soft play is decent and the entertainment was ok. More importantly, the chippy is very nice and actually reasonably priced. The beach is 5 minutes easy walk through the site with plenty of rides, crazy golf etc. 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Searles Leisure Resort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Searles Leisure Resort have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Searles Leisure Resort?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Searles Leisure Resort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hunstanton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1804 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement