Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park ( Adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park ( Adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS
Tel: 01458 831 437
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 315 Reviews
                10/10 from 315 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  315 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Cazzamowbs27 8 reviews from this member

Simply the best touring park we've ever visited. Immaculate adults only site divided in to small little sectors all hedged for privacy. Toilet and showers nicer then my bathroom at home! Very dog friendly, secure dog walk with free doggy wash and shampoo!
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JohnandPauline 3 reviews from this member

The only word to describe this site is 'WOW'. Easily accessible from the A361 this site is tucked away amidst farmland but only one and a half mile walk to the town of Glastonbury. A very cheerful and informative welcome from Michele on our arrival and shown to our pitch by one of the wardens - Paul who was also extremely helpful.

The shower and toilet block was pretty much state of the art, spotlessly clean and well laid out with washing machines, driers, ironing board and iron not to mention the microwave and freezer. The disabled facilities were superb and roomy. Access is by RADAR key which is available from reception is you don't have one.

The Information room was filled with comfortable chairs, books and large TV. A pool table is situated at one end for those who can handle a cue.

The shop is well stocked with lots of local produce and day to day items, bread meat and the daily cake are also available. There are no fishing items for sale in the shop but there is a fishing shop in Walton near Street about 6 miles away.

The whole site is kept to an extremely high standard, the grass is all neatly cut and trimmed almost to bowling green standard with a dedicated gardener who seemed to work non-stop all the time we were there. All the pitches were individual hard standing divided by shrubs and grass.

The fishing pond was about half an acre with lilies and overhanging trees with eleven swims well spaced apart. Lots of species of fish with carp to 12lb, tench, roach, bream and perch. It is currently recovering from the scourge of all fisherman - otters- who decimated the fish stocks a couple of years ago, hopefully now resolved with new fish stocked into the pond.

Baits to use are worms, maggots, bread and luncheon meat. Pellets do work with limited effect. Boilies are not allowed and maximum size hook is size 16 yes 16 so take some with you.

For those of you with dogs this is an ideal site with a dog walking area and lots of footpaths to various destinations and a dog shower at the entrance to the dog walking area.

All in all this really is an excellent site and must rate as one of the best in the country, the fact that the staff all seem to smile all the time must say something, they all enjoy being there.

As the saying goes 'We'll be back'.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dream Catcher 21 reviews from this member

This site is adult only. And itís worth growing up for! Everything about it is excellent: welcoming staff, grounds, setting, facilities. The shower block might just be the best in the world! It is impossible to find anything to give even the slightest criticism. It makes you proud to be British when you hear the comments from foreign visitors.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 28 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to the Old Oaks site and it was as amazing as we remembered. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pitches are huge and there is a feeling of space all around. We stayed on the Lower Oaks section of the site as we wanted to be close to the dog walk. The facilities are like something out of a hotel and always clean and warm.

The walk up to the Tor is challenging but certainly worth it for the views.

The shop is very well stocked, with fantastic cakes on sales each day and if you don't fancy cooking, there are takeaway nights most days of the week - just fill in a form and hand in to reception.

A most relaxing and peaceful site which made us feel truly spoiled.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 29 reviews from this member

Returning to Old Oaks for third time. It just gets better. The new facilities block is more like a spa hotel as you enter, excellent. All staff very friendly and helpful. Shop stocks almost anything you might want with a lot of camping bits. You can even hire bird feeders for your pitch, also fire pits. The site arranges deliveries from the local takeaways several days a week. The fish from the chippy could have been better drained but apart from that the service worked well. No wonder people become regulars.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 14 reviews from this member

We visited this adult only site in May 2018. Check in was easy and simple and we were guided to our pitch. This is a big site but it is well laid out and pitches are large enough and well spaced. There are large areas of open grass to the various areas giving the site an airy feel. The facilities are very modern and constantly kept clean. These are very probably the best facilities we have seen on any site.

There is a well stocked shop at reception. The shop has daily visits from the local bakery and local fresh meat is provided from the siteís farm. Orders for these must be placed the day before.

The shop has a large range of everyday grocery items and there is a small camping shop on site too.

The site is visited each evening by a variety of take-aways such as Indian, Chinese, chip shop, pizza and kebab, and a wood fired pizza which we can recommend.

The site is within walking distance of Glastonbury Tor and the town centre. Taxi fare back from Glastonbury is £7.

This is a very smart site which is both quiet and peaceful.

The wardens could not be more friendly and helpful.

Keep an eye out for the freshly made cake of the day.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Exlincolngirl 4 reviews from this member

This is our top site to stay in. It really feels like a 'proper' holiday now that they have delicious food deliveries almost every day. The latest addition is the Pizza evening, which is on a Thursday, & simply delicious with a lot of choice (& we are not regular pizza eaters!) I appreciate the lovely dog walk, but in over a decade, have never used the doggy showers provided, so when booking for 2019, (yes, already) I'm disappointed to find that the daily dog rate has gone up to £2. 10 per night, so a week with 2 dogs, like us, is well over £240 now (you only get Senior £1 per night discount at certain times). We went three times in 2017, but maybe will have to cut that down! It will still be a treat to go there, the grounds are immaculate, the shop is well stocked, there is a cake of the day with a reasonable charge for a slice, & within easy reach, Street, Wells, & Glastonbury.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woodspoiler 4 reviews from this member

We are currently staying here at the moment for the first time here and I have to say I never thought Iíd find the perfect site, but I think this is it thereís a saying ďthat you get what you pay forĒ and this place sums it up. Everything said on these reviews is true I canít add more but have to say we are just loving it here so relaxing and facilities and detail Iíve never seen before, like a five star hotel! Or better!

They do deserve 10 out of 10 on the reviews. We will return.

John and Val Roberts.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Harris965 1 review from this member

Well what can we say apart from amazing. Our first visit (staying for three nights) and definitely not the last! Canít wait to book another weekend break ☺️

From the minute you arrive you will be impressed by the site and not forgetting the staff. Stunning location peaceful and quiet canít wait until we come back! you must book a trip to the Old Oaks

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cleocairn 11 reviews from this member

The location of this site is perfect for visiting the many interesting locations in the area. You can walk up Glastonbury Tor from the site and its definitely worth doing on a clear day. The showers and lavatories are the nicest I have seen on a caravan site, and immaculately clean. Particularly the individual shower rooms with wash hand basin, shower, loo, hairdryer and underfloor heating, were fantastic. The site shop is quite well stocked, but there are several supermarkets within easy reach. The information room is also very well done, with TV, easy chairs and pool table as well as laminated cards describing walks, which you can borrow. The staff are very helpful and have the check in process down to a fine art. We stayed on a fully serviced pitch with wonderful views. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site with just 1 proviso, the Internet is slow and a bit temperamental. We always managed to get there in the end but it can be frustrating. I haven't knocked off any points because a) it's not the fault of the site but the fact that high speed broadband is not available in the area and b) wifi is free. A fantastic site, beautiful landscaping, views, lots to do. Book now.

Previous     315 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2341 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!