Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bureside Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Bureside Holiday Park
Boundary Farm
Oby
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR29 3BW
Tel: 07587771314  or  07587771317
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
                9/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cabage 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 6 nights on this fantastic camp site. Owners very friendly and helpful. Grass kept short (cut twice while we were there). Toilets, showers and washing up area kept clean with plenty of free hot water all day long. Pitch level. Plenty of walks from the site. Very quiet no traffic noise. Will be going back again next year. Perfect site for us. Jan/John

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maverick unsc 3 reviews from this member

What A wonderful site to visit, in fact a little gem in the Norfolk countryside. Upon arrival we found reception was closed for lunch but the rang the number provided and the owner nipped out, showed us the pitch and said sort the rest out later once we'd set up. Very large area containing at least 5o pitches for vans/tents with electric hook up, and another area beyond a hedge with the same space again for non-electric tents/van, we certainly had plenty of room to spread and looked like that with most pitches looking around at others. No actual markings for each pitch other than the numbers on a post on or near hookup points, but seemed to be fine regardless. Great area around the site with free fishing in the Bure at the end of their own private mooring dyke & spectacular sunsets on a clear evening. A short walk along the riverside is the village of Thurne which has a small shop lovely country style pub (excellent food & Drink) and its own mooring dyke as well.

Short distances away you have easy access to the Broads at Wroxham and Potter Heigham, shopping if that's your thing, at Norwich which is close by and all the seaside fun at Caister or Great Yarmouth.

The only thing we were disappointed with was the main toilet block needs a spruce up and a better cleaning regime. The mens side had rust shower poles, floor was often littered with grass and had to shower with crocs on to keep feet clean once showered, a small shelf would've been handy as well as hard to hang everything on the small hooks The ladies in my party said the same in their half of the blocks. Admittedly it was a busy Bank holiday weekend, but just need to up their game on this one.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Brizzer33 1 review from this member

We have had a static caravan at Bureside for 15 years and would not consider moving from here. This is one of the cleanest and quietest sites we have ever stayed at and would highly recommend it for Tourers and campers who want a peaceful break in a riverside location on the Norfolk Broads

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

Bureside in a campsite beside a boatyard on the Broads that is located in a hamlet down a long, single-tracked road (though there are passing places and vehicles coming in the opposite direction can be spotted some way off).

There are two camping fields, the furthestmost one primarily for tents. There is a shower and toilet block in each one. And whilst the main one is not quite Palais Deluxe (and could benefit from a more rigorous cleaning regime), there is plenty of hot water and it's free. There are plenty of water taps dotted about field. There are also plenty of electric hook-ups in the main field, which suggests that this site gets quite busy during school holidays (there are swings and a children's sandpit, as well as a games room with table tennis and pool tables). One issue with the fields is that, although they are mowed, they are not raked - resulting in plenty of clumps of cut grass to be walked into caravans when the field is damp.

It is possible to take long, quiet walks along the river past delightful villages and moorings - although the footpath at Bureside is closed until September 2017 to enable reconstruction of the banks. And whilst the surrounding lanes are mostly flat and quiet and ideal for cycling, it's worth noting that most of the paths along the river are too bumpy and uneven to ride even the sturdiest ATB comfortably.

The nearest supermarkets are Latham's at Potter Heigham and the Tesco at Stalham (where you can top up with cheap fuel). Great Yarmouth, Norwich and other Broads boating towns are within an easy drive.

Overall, not a bad site - but in need of a spot of attention to issues of general tidiness.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Lone Ranger 2 reviews from this member

I stayed at Bureside for four days/three nights this past week. I wanted a camp site with close access to the Broads, which strangely, are few and far between. I found Bureside through a search engine. I also wanted peace and quiet and apart from good toilet and shower facilities, relatively uncommercial. Bureside is excellent in all of these respects. Friendly, actually quite a big site, and incredibly relaxing. For sailors, paddlers (myself), the dyke leading to the Bure is just a couple of minutes walk. As others have mentioned, the new shower block could really do with shelving in the shower cubicles and curtains too to prevent overspray onto your dry stuff when the water is running. Other than that very small point though, absolutely nothing else negative to say about the site. I cycle everywhere and have passed the Bureside sign many times over the years on my many visits to the Broads. Wished I'd checked it out earlier! I have stayed at a couple of others (one at Repps and one at Moulton St Mary, both very good), but Bureside I will definitely go back too. It all depends what you want from a campsite of course, but for me, this one is just about perfect.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janlg 6 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd visit to Bureside and in anticipation expected a good holiday as our previous 2 visits were bliss. Unfortunately this time we left 5 nights early. We obviously picked the wrong 2 weeks to visit - as with relatives you cannot choose who you are put next to but it did spoil our holiday and therefore left early and went to another site to complete our hols.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JAX25 2 reviews from this member

We've just spent a lovely 11 nights at Bureside. When we pulled up we were a bit disheartened, walking along the path to the reception past the full bins didn't fill us with hope.

Luckily the bins did get emptied and we had a brilliant holiday. Everyone on the site was lovely, very friendly. The lady usually in reception is very friendly and helpful. The pool is great and of course the weather made it as it was glorious most days. Our children are 13 and 5, they made lots of friends and we felt happy that they were safe around the site playing. There is a games room which they hung around in, in the evenings. We took our bikes and enjoyed a couple of lovely rides, our 5 year old did a 10mile ride then a 15 mile ride, its fab for biking very flat and the roads are lovely and quiet. The site is in the middle of nowhere but around the area there are some lovely villages and only 7 miles from Great Yarmouth. The site is split into 2 area's one with electric hook up and one without. The field without hook up has the nicer showers its a newer block. We never once had to queue either what ever time of the day we went. There's a washer and dryer in the washing room which was great, tokens cost 2. 50 from reception. The pitches aren't marked out either so you can spread out quite a bit with wind breaks etc.

The only thing I would say would be the old block of showers and toilets could do with a re-furb and both blocks could do with a woman's touch with a cleaning cloth, they weren't to dirty but they could of been better.

Tips we would recommend:

Mops in the showers for guests to wipe away their soapy water or mucky feet marks.

Shelves in showers.

Altering the path that leads to reception, it doesn't give you a very nice impression when you arrive.

The bin area could do with fencing off, there's lots of large wheelie bins undercover which you walk past to go to the pool and reception, a fence around it would look better.

If you want a relaxing family holiday this is a great site to stay at.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wurzel_Col 6 reviews from this member

This is a lovelly campsite, off the beaten track and is reached by some narrow lanes ( sat navs take you a different route almost every time !), there are plenty of passing areas so don't let that put you off. The site is split into 2 main fields. The first one you come accross is the largest and is the one with electric hook ups, the 2nd is non electric hook up but benefits from the newer shower/toilet/washing up facilities. Both blocks are kept relatively clean and we never had to queue for showers (in peak season, that is impressive). The pitches are large and easily took our 6m x 6m frame tent with plenty of room for our Zafira and trailer and more!These are mainly flat( some are slightly undulating).

The play area consists of some swings and a slide which is in a big sand pit (sand castle time!)

And is in the main field. Reception is open from 9-12 and 1-5 which is the same time you can access the smashing little heated outdoor pool. There is a games room with snooker table, pool table and table tennis err, table. At the reception you can purchase a very small array of basics (milk sweets, fizzy frinks, ice creams)including all your gas requirements. You can get a few more bits by walking to the path way to Thurne the shop is part of the pub (The Lion). This pub is ok but the Bridge Inn a few miles down the road is far better; food is a bit pricey but worth it and quite simply the best beer garden we have ever seen. The site has it's own private dyke with boats moored along it and which feeds into the broads where you can fish. There is also a fishing lake where people were pulling out 20lb plus carp, this however is 9 per rod. The site is 10 miles from Great Yarmouth ( a couple more to Gorlestone)and 10 miles from Norwich. There are Tescos. Sainsburys, Asda close by but for shear convinience the Budgens in Acle has most of what you need. There are also take aways and a post office here too.

The staff here are 1st class and really can't do enough for you( especially the lady on reception).

I do however have one criticism, the time we were there (11 nights) there were some large and noisy groups ( one very large group with there own disco) after one night of loud music after 11:15 this was curtailed and the noise there on stopped after 10:00. It's not just the noise, it upsets the site dynamic as these big groups tend to be very insular. So, if you're going in the 1st week of August beware.

Lastly, some suggestions that would help improve the facilities 1)a shelf in the showers for shampoo/shower gel would help, 2)a mop to clear the water away from the shower floor.

If you want an excellent campsite as a base for the Broads/Norfolk this one ticks all the boxes. Do take your anti mozzi stuff though; they had a feast on me !

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonqui 3 reviews from this member

Quite a large but very peaceful campsite. Had a lively stay here, nice spot to explore the broads from (only 7 or 8 miles from the sea too). Grounds were not crowded when we stayed and plenty of room for playing football or frisby or whatever! Main campfield was loved by the local swallows too. The only nearby road was to the campsite, so no traffic sounds. And easy access to lovely walks up and down the river! (uprive 20 mins is the village of thurne, with 'lively ' pub!)

Toilet shower blocks were very clean and well kept, and enough showers/sinks that there was never an issue with finding one free.

Shop didn't have a huge amount of foodstuffs, but some snacks were present, and they had the type of gas we needed when we ran out!

Pool was lovely, not too hot, and not too chlorinated. Closed earlier than I wished, but at least it was properly 'kept an eye on' while open.

Very good campsite, and reasonable prices too.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SB61 2 reviews from this member

What a wonderful find. We have been to Norfolk many times, but this one ranks among the best. The proprietors are lovely and so helpful which made our stay even better. Lovely big pitches, great facilities, never queued for showers, even on a bank holiday weekend. So close to the Broads, there was regatta taking place there over the weekend and everyone was welcome. Suitable for families and couples alike. There were several groups of campers on site, which added to the atmosphere, but all was quiet by 11 p. M. Also good for dogs as there are numerous footpaths just off site. Must try the pool next time as it was so warm!

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3121 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!