Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Floods Ferry Marina Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > March > Floods Ferry Marina Park Reviews

Floods Ferry Marina Park
Floods Ferry
March
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE15 0YR
Tel: 01354 677302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Seasonal Pitches Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We decided to try this site after reading various reviews. We rang to book and as an answer machine we left a message to check availability. 7 hours later still no call back and we had tried a further 5 times to call. As we were in the area we went along to see if any space. First thing is when you find the site there isn't anything to say at the entrance its a caravan site – it shows the marina name and the chalets only.

The site is fairly large with 30 seasonal pitches (absolutely immaculately kept in terms of the pitches and the vans). There are approx 15 statics, 7/8 lodges and a marina for river boats. There is also 8 grass standing pitches for tourers (these are well well drained with beautifully cut grass - the groundsman keeps everything so perfectly its a real 10/10 for garden areas and grass).

There are 2 showers / 2 wc each for ladies / gents. These do let the site down – they were clean at all times, but they are long past their sell by date and very run down, tiles falling off walls, damp patches and a very musty smell. There is a chem disposal but no motorhome point for waste.

One query would be is this an adult only site? Whilst we stayed there were several children on the site (to be fair well behaved at all times but the questions is more is it adult only for the tourers??)

The view from the pitches is unbeatable – you can spend hours watching boats go up and down the river. The touring part of the site was very quiet when we were there – literally only us all weekend.

This has the makings of a top site but we were told that whilst tourers are welcome they aren't chasing the business as they concentrate on seasonals.

At £20 per night for 2 adults with ehu we felt it was overpriced for the standard of facilities.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ruth+Ted 4 reviews from this member

This was our first (and not last) trip to Floods Ferry Park! We were delighted by this location, the site and the hospitality of the management team.

We had a lovely pitch overlooking the river (as most pitches do) and this was fantastic for my husband as he could fish whenever he felt like it! It was quiet, peaceful and totally relaxing!

The surrounding area, although flat and quite featureless, offered lovely walks for us and our dog!

The site is small, small shower blocks and washing room, nevertheless, we did not have to wait or queue to use the facilities. Constant hot water and kept very clean. The site is kept clean and tidy!

The small club house on the site is nice - we only popped in one evening as we couldn't take the dog and felt guilty leaving him in the caravan.

The most important feature for us was that the site is adults only! We were most impressed and will definitely put this site on our list to revisit!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pete Stones 5 reviews from this member

Just spent a windy week at Floods Ferry.

The site is well off the beaten track and, as such, is very quiet and secluded. There is a potato farm opposite the site but the tractors and lorries do not detract from peace and quiet too much - and only during working hours.

The fairly rough road near the site entrance may need some care with a caravan.

The grounds are kept very tidy and the river running next to the site provides opportunities for spotting wildlife and the occasional passing narrow boat. Children should be well supervised, as there is no fence or barrier between the site and the riverbank.

The toilet and (free) shower facilities are also tidy and there is plenty of hot water. Each pitch has an electrical hook-up.

There is a bar on site which is well attended by the residents of the static caravans and lodges which are also on site. Visiting 'boaters' also take advantage of the pub. Meals are available on certain evenings and at Sunday lunchtimes.

There is a barrier at the entrance for which a personal key card is supplied.

The market town of March is roughly 10 minutes drive away with all the usual shops and facilities. The beautiful city of Ely is also quite near as is Cambridge.

There are riverside walks from the site and the countryside is very flat - ideal for cycling.

The owner and his staff are very friendly and will ensure you have a pleasant stay.

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue hancock 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this beautiful site.

They are constantly working on site planting beautiful bushes and daffodils to add a lovely touch to this already lovely site. The club is very welcoming and friendly and a nice addition to your stay. It is in the middle of nowhere so the perfect place to relax and do absolutely nothing but its a fishermans dream. I would like to wish the team every success for the future it is well deserved and we will definitely return in the not too distant future.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping-queen 1 review from this member

Just spent a night at Floods Ferry Marina Park. What a great place run by lovely people. We relaxed as soon as we arrived there. The location is great right next to the river, we are not fishermen but if you are, this is a fantastic place for you. , the owners are warm and helpful. We ate at the bar in the evening and the food was very tasty (all home cooked!)

We spent the evening in the bar and had loads of fun. I would definitely recommend this park.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Csp245 1 review from this member

This is one of the best sites I have visited. There is just the odd tractor noise and that is rare. Just on the river bank in the middle of nowhere, this is a superb retreat with the facilities you would be pushed to find on a much larger site.
well worth a visit. 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rimini 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from four nights here and from the initial phone call to leaving found it all a friendly pleasant experience. the team work hard to ensure that everybody is made welcome,  knows the whereabouts of all the facilities and strive to keep the the site in excellent condition.  The toilet/showers are immaculate as are the grounds and their local knowledge was very helpful.
No problems with our large Trailer Tent either as we have heard that some sites are no longer accommodating them.  Friendly bar on site and meals available although we couldn't try the food as no dogs in the bar and the weather wasn't that good to sit out on the patio and eat,  next time then!
We definitely be will be back some time.  The only cautionary word  we have was the pitches for tourers are  right by the water side and our nine year old is not a confident swimmer.
Finally the sunsets were rather special as mentioned before 

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sooh 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a few days break at the Floods Ferry Marina Caravan site and had a lovely few days there. My husband is a keen fisherman and so he really enjoys sitting by the riverbank in this peaceful and relaxing location and I am always able to enjoy a few days doing nothing but chilling out and soaking up the atmosphere. We were able to park by the river bank and watch all the passing narrow boats that frequent this part of Cambridgeshire and I hope the new owner bears this fact in mind when planning the location of future touring pitches, especially hard standing pitches for motor homes.  I must confess if we were unable to have a pitch by the riverside it would spoil the appeal of this site for us and we may look for other sites in the area that provide this.  I hope that it doesn't come to that as we really love Floods Ferry Marina.  
 
The new wardens are lovely and friendly and made us feel very welcome and they are a valuable asset to their boss and his new business venture. We have a business ourselves and so we appreciate good staff when we see them and this young couple are very efficient, enthusiastic, loyal and dedicated employees and if I were their boss I would be counting my lucky stars I can tell you. I know when we find good staff we make sure we hang on to them tightly and so I feel as an employer myself I am duty bound to bring this lovely couple to his attention and inform him how his customers find this couple as wardens. On a campsite how the wardens respond to their guests is an important part of whether people return back in the future and you only have to read other uk campsite reviews on other campsites to see how important a campsite warden is to its customers and so I think it is important that the new owner is given credit for employing such good staff
 
There is a pub/clubhouse on site that sells alcohol and food but we were disappointed to find it was closed when we there and had it been open we would have enjoyed going in for a drink and a meal in the evening but sadly for some reason it was closed for the whole of our stay and so I cannot comment personally on either the food quality or the prices but I heard from fellow campers who have been used the bar, that the food is very good but the bar prices have shot through the roof! I do not know whether this is correct or not so please don't take this as up to date and accurate information as you know how some people like to exaggerate and so personally I have no experience of the bar and menu to report.
 
All in all Floods Ferry Marina is an excellent and well run campsite and we love it here and anyone who likes river fishing will love the location and providing the new owner retains it's natural and wild charm and doesn't fill the site full of statics with over manicured lawns,  like some sites do then Floods Ferry Marina is a MUST for anyone visiting that area and I would say it has the potential to become one of the best touring sites in the whole of Cambridgeshire.
 
There is a shower/toilet block, all pitches have EHU and the nearest shops are in March town centre which is approximately a 10 minute drive away. March is a lovely little town and the ladies will enjoy shopping here.
 

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Briarose 11 reviews from this member

Just to update on the previous review. This is one of our favourite sites we have just spent a lovely few days there, I checked with the Manager and they ARE still taking tourers, motorhomes and tents.
 
The new Manager and his Wife are a lovely couple and made us feel very welcome. Credit due to them in making our few days very enjoyable we will be going back ASAP as we love the setting and the feeling of being back to nature as the site is in the middle of farmland etc we love the wildness of it all and the sunsets are some of the best I have ever seen in the UK.
 
This is one site where you can sit and read a book etc in the peaceful surroundings without constant distractions.and my Husband just loves the fishing there, again as it is so peaceful.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul_ddd 1 review from this member

A nice site with large well maintained level pitches. Toilets and showers clean 2 basins, showers and toilets for males females plus 1 shower and 1 toilet for disabled site was empty so no problem with ques but might be a problem if busy. Bar with hot food on site we didn't use it but others on site said it was good. There is key carded barrier at entrance. There is a fishing platform on most pitches with room for one
person so if all the family want to fish there would be a problem . The new site owner are putting in log cabins and static caravans so I would check to see if camping is still available before turning up

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4762 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019