Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Yarmouth > The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park
Main Rd
Newbridge
Yarmouth
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO41 0TS
Tel: 01983 531331  or  01983 531350
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 27/03/2021 to 30/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 93 Reviews
                9/10 from 93 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  93 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Oxfordeagle 8 reviews from this member

 Spent 8 nights here on an excellent fully serviced pitch at the end of September 2020.

Site was quite empty - maybe another 20 units on what is a large site.

Excellent service pitch - only negative was that the power was I believe only 8 amps so we often tripped the breaker but that would be the only negative.

Washrooms were excellent - one of the best seen in many years of caravaning. Staff helpful.

Not cheap but the fare included ferry so not complaining. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chulle 1 review from this member

 My accommodation on the island fell through and out of 20 sites I messaged Orchard were the only ones to rely positively. They dealt with my booking efficiently and friendly.

The campsite was amazing. Toilet and shower facilities extremely clean and I never had to wait in a queue to wash dishes.

The site was well maintained and each pitch had electric and was suitably flat.

We could not use the swimming pools due to COVID but that was understandable.

Would so stay here again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoJo19 7 reviews from this member

 We were generally impressed with this site. We stayed with our daughter for 14 nights from mid July. At that point it was mostly caravans and tourers with the odd tent. You get a discount card for some pubs and attractions locally when you arrive which is handy. Someone also shows you to your pitch - we had a huge pitch with plenty of space for the car, table, chairs, BBQ and the swing ball. We were the only ones on our row for the whole two weeks and for the large part it was very peaceful during the day with no road noise and visitors generally pretty considerate. Many people we spoke to either visited every year or planned to come back again.

Facilities: Spotless loos, showers and washing up and laundry areas - very impressive. We never had to wait to use the showers and there was always lots of free, hot water. As the temperature was nudging 30 degrees when we pitched and remained in the mid to top 20's for the whole two weeks we used the two swimming pools a lot! Both indoor and outdoors pools are very well kept - outside you can sit under a tree in the shade or on the grass to sunbathe. The inside pool has a café you can get hot and cold drinks from and some snacks -it was mostly too hot inside to use it but on the odd occasion we did it was spotless. The site shop had everything we needed and was priced reasonably for a site shop. You can also pay a deposit on ice blocks and change them everyday at the shop. We left the deposit to charity but you could get it all back and donate whatever you like. We tried the take away one evening - it's OK at a push if you are stuck to eat and it was always busy but it's definitely not haute cuisine! There is a book exchange although when I looked there weren't very many books to select from. The site staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a small play area for the children but it didn't seem to be that widely used. My eight year old could have done with more to do on the play area front - other sites we have visited have tended to have much bigger play areas with more to do. There is a pool room and a games room with some things the children have to pay to use (my daughter told me about these I didn't drop by myself).

The only downsides we had were that we were on a sloping pitch - we had requested a quiet spot which was also away from facilities - so it might just be that this only left a slightly sloping pitch. We managed by propping up the inflatable beds with folded towels to offset the slope. There also isn't anything in the village itself in terms of food or drink so you will need to drive out to eat or visit a pub if the site offering isn't cutting the mustard (BTW the shop does wine beer and spirits but obviously it isn't the widest selection - nice chardonnay and IOW gin also available though!) Having said that we discovered West Wight Alpacas was very close by, under five minutes in the car, and does amazing pizza's three evenings a week in a lovely spot (you need to phone and pre book - well worth making the effort!) you can also visit the Alpacas during the day and do walks with one. As mentioned the play area could probably be a bit bigger, a sand pit is always very popular as are a variety of swings, slides, play houses/cars/trains etc - which it lacked.

Having said all of this though the site is overall very good indeed! But I do have to mention the howling. The only major downside was that every night we would be woken by the sound of howling dogs close by! I have no idea if there is a kennel locally but it was very intrusive in the early hours even with ear plugs and being some distance from where the racket was coming from! Couldn't fault the site during the day though for peace and quiet until the last weekend when the schools broke up and the obligatory large, noisy group turned up and hollered and screamed from 7am until 11pm. Site wardens during the school holidays might be an idea! Talking to the staff the first two weeks of the summer hols are the busiest so avoid these would be my advice if you have to go during the summer holidays! Most days outside of the main school summer holiday it was just the sound of birds singing. Until the early hour wake up call that is.

Overall a really great site spoilt with an unexpected night time noise issue. There are some minor issues with pitch slope for some tents and size of play area for children. Some poeple might find the lack of village facilities an issue and a night time warden would be helpful uring the school holidays. However, the loo block and camping facities are excellent as are the two pools and the shop and staff are good. I would probably try a different site next time due to the racket from the dogs though. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiwishev 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site!

We had a great time here, despite a couple of stormy nights!

A good toilet block is very important to me, and I found the one here brilliant. Lovely warm clean block, hot showers and plenty of space in the shower cubicles. The shower cubicles have a separate area with a sink, a seat out of reach of the shower wetness and 3 wall hooks.

My son loved both the outside pool and the indoor pool.

A great holiday, and a great location! 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sidrat 7 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite. We had booked because it had a heated indoor pool and october half term can be a little chilly in a tent!.

As it turned out it was quite warm. End of season but everything apart from the outside pool was open. The pitches were nice for the tent and the facilities are some of the best we have ever had. Friendly knowledgeable staff and great surroundings, the Island was a lovely place to visit.

We will come back and stay again, I can only give it 10 out of 10. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Retired of IOW 14 reviews from this member

 I can't praise this site enough. It is well run and pristine without being regimented.

It is in a quiet location overlooking countryside. The showers are individual cubicles with wash basin and very roomy. The toilet/shower block is modern and pristine. The swimming pool facilities looked great, although we didn't use them. We did have a take away and the food was great. There is a well stocked shop on site, it has a big selection of frozen and fresh food, we were also able to order our morning paper.

The pitches are big, we had a motorhome and awning, ample space for both.

There are 2 two pubs within 30 mins walking distance, both serve food. Horse and Groom is cheaper than New Inn.

We were very impressed with this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Revington 1 review from this member

 We spent a fantastic week here at Easter 2017, with 2 adults and 3 kids (6yrs, 4yrs, 7mnths) in the party We were blessed with lovely weather, with sun almost every day.

The site is in a lovely rural and peaceful setting. It has great views across the rolling hills of West Wight, and at night there are lots of stars visible, due to the absence of ambient light in such a rural setting. There isn't really anything in the village, but we did walk to the local pub which was about 20-30 mins away. There is also a footpath accessed from the site which leads to another pub in Shalfleet

We had a great pitch with plenty of space for a twin axle 8m van and full awning. There are a number of statics on the site, but due to the layout you would hardly know they are there.

The facilities are very good. The indoor pool is well heated and perfect for when the weather is chilly. There is also plenty of seating inside by the pool for anyone not swimming, together with a small coffee shop in the pool complex. Outdoor pool was closed when we visited, opening in May. The showers etc are very good - nice large cubicles, plenty of hot water etc. They also have accessible showers, a family bathroom, dedicated baby changing, a drying room for bikers/hikers.

A handy on site shop sells the essentials and some cheapy toys for the kids which was handy. The on site take away was delicious and very reasonable. We used this a few times, but I would recommend ordering ahead as the food can take a while. They cook all food to order and sequentially - so if you order a couple of portions of chips, you could still wait 45 mins if there are other larger orders in front of you in the queue! We quickly learned and you can phone them with your order, which was handy when returning from a day out on the island to arrive back and collect your food.

There was a couple of small kids play areas and then a separate games field with football and some outdoor exercise equipment (monkey bars, pull up bars etc)

We booked the ferry and campsite together which was excellent value. They arrange the ferry and send you the tickets for this.

We would definitely return to the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue1234567 3 reviews from this member

 We have now visited this site twice and love it. The pitches are spacious and very well laid out. The facilities and pools are lovely and always kept sparkling clean - the shower block is one of the best we have experienced. The views are brilliant although the rural location may put some off. There is a good playing field at the bottom of the site and a smallish wooden play park. There are lots of lovely sandy beaches nearby and many nice walks. The pub at the end of the road is great for families and has a great play area and plenty of other great pubs / restaurants nearby. The only slight negatives for us are the entrance / driveway which is tight for caravans; the on site shop only supplies basics; the takeaway provided reasonable food at acceptable prices but was very slow; and the indoor pool had fairly limited capacity and access was restricted (during school holidays). However, overall this is one of the nicest sites we have experienced and we will return. Family staying in static vans were also very impressed with quality, cleanliness and value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Squidders 2 reviews from this member

 We initially booked a pitch for our tent and spent two nights in that before we got bored of the fantastic British weather. Half way through our booking, I popped into the office and upgraded us to a static caravan. The booking with the park included the ferry which was very convenient.

My partner and our son were very happy. Which made me very happy!

The site has by far the most comprehensive facilities I have come across. On the touring side, the showers are plentiful, free and huge, the toilets were also plentiful and clean. The laundry and dish washing facilities were also great.

The area by the office has a well stocked shop, great food takeaway (The southern fried chicken burgers rock!), nice climbing frame area for smaller children as well as a larger climbing frame area for older kids, a nice heated outdoor pool and nice indoor pool. The indoor pool was especially welcome given the bad weather during our stay!

All the facilities were busy but never overcrowded, the whole site had a nice family feeling and we were lucky to only encounter friendly parents and well behaved children having lots of fun together. On Thursday we were planning a trip out to Cowes to see some events there but our son was having so much fun around the park with other children we enjoyed staying instead.

The last day was a bit of a drag because of the foul weather, even after we had checked out, a quick call to the park and we were booked on an earlier crossing to Southampton. This service is representative of the whole stay - really first class.

The surrounding area was very nice but the park is not really next to any kind of attraction. It is quite central though which meant a nice consistent journey wherever we ventured. It's the Isle of Wight - the furthest attraction is only ever a short drive away! The setting of the park was nice and the views were of nice countryside.

The pitch we started on in our tent was very nice, free electric hookup and while the pitch was on the side of a hill, the whole site had been landscaped into huge steps meaning every pitch was completely level. Genius.

The static caravan was very clean and well provisioned, the shower, often weak or hard to get to the right temperature at other sites, was great.

In all, we were really happy with the site and have the webpage bookmarked to try and go back for a weekend over the next spell of hot weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pepsteak 1 review from this member

 This is our second stay at the Orchards. This time was significantly busier than the last but despite this the facilities were still kept in superb condition. The toilets, showers and washing facilities are the best I've seen at a campsite (although the timers on the showers could do with some adjustment - pressing the button every 5 seconds isn't mush fun). Both the indoor and outdoor swimming pools are well maintained.

On both of our visits we have found the campsite very quiet (noise). The official 'quiet' time is after 11pm but there is very little noise after 10pm or before 8am. There is a 'no bikes/scooters' rule on the site which disappointed the kids somewhat but this probably contributes to the sites low noise.

The on site takeaway is excellent and good value although would benefit from longer opening hours in the mornings. The on site shop however is poor. Fresh produce (ham, cheese, bacon etc) often sells out and they do not sell freshly baked bakery items.

Our only other critics this visit was that our pitch was on a slope which caused us a few issues! I would have preferred if we had been told that at the time of booking. 


Previous     93 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3506 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement