Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Yarmouth > The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park
Main Rd
Newbridge
Yarmouth
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO41 0TS
Tel: 01983 531331  or  01983 531350
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 27/03/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pepsoid 2 reviews from this member

 Nice tidy site.

Plenty of facilities and these were very well kept.

Only problem was the pitches were very sloped in 2 directions so it was difficult to get the camp bed in the correct position. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikeanddeb 42 reviews from this member

 Arrived via Yarmouth (Wightlink Ferries - first time using a ferry, staff very helpful, clear with directions etc). Informed prior to holiday by the site, info regarding street closure, giving us optional directions in. Lovely welcome by young lady on reception, issued Isle of Wight brochure and map, proved very useful

Directed to pre booked pitch. Facilities were just a little too far away, particularly when faced with what felt like a hill in the heat, but then this was the last pitch available for the period needed (WC3).

Field was mixed with caravans and tents, not our ideal choice. Facilities were very clean, push button type shower, good size for bathing, drying, dressing, although site very busy, never had to queue.

Didn't use the pools, as out each day, but seemed very popular. Take away food was delicious (fish, chips & burger special, yum yum).

Used shop on site, had everything that we required, although did main shop at Asda in Newport, numerous alternative stores, Morrisons, Aldi, Tesco to name a few. Visited The Needles (amazing), Fort Victoria (stunning location, The Boathouse along the coast is highly recommended for food and drinks), Shanklin, very pleasant village, (caught up with friends also holidaying), Sandown (endless beach, spanning for miles.

Had to catch the bus back to the car park, due to the heat, as we had our dog with us, and it just got too much for us all). Cowes, used floating bridge to then reach Ryde.

Whilst it was a wonderful holiday, I'm not sure we'd visit the island again, we felt had completed all we wanted to in the 10 days, but then only time will tell. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: JoannaN 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, very clean & tidy, built on a hill but most pitches are near enough level.

We had a fully serviced pitch, glad we took screw in pegs as ground is very hard and we still struggled.

Lovely little shop & takeaway on site, indoor & outdoor pool which were well kept and a great asset.

My only gripes would be the showers in the main toilet block were often cold and although they specify no bikes or scooters this is not adhered to and we saw a few children come off theirs whilst hurtling down the campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Parttimecamper 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely stay at The Orchards.

We had a grass pitch with EHU, we were camping with family and their pitch was next to ours.

The pitch was a good size, flat and clean.

The site felt safe and secure, staff were polite and assisted my in laws when they realised they had forgotten their chairs.

Small play park, pool tables and table tennis. Shop had some nice gifts, and a small selection of the essentials, could have been a little better stocked but had everything we needed.

There are Coop and Sainsburys in nearby Freshwater, as are some good takeaways.

Pools were nice, outdoor pool was a little cold but soon warmed up!

Toilet/Shower facilities were the best Iíve used for a while, large and spacious.

Dishwashing was large and had views over the site and surrounding areas.

Only thing that spoilt the stay were some feral groups of guests who appeared happy the vandalise everything from blocking toilets with miles of paper, smashing the table tennis balls and leaving things a mess, at least things were cleaned up quickly.

The staff also enforced some of the rules as I saw them telling the kids on scooters they were not allowed to ride on the roads.

There was also a on site take away and a bar serving drinks on Fri/Sat/Sun evenings, and also hot and cold drinks from the pool cafe.

Location was ok, nice a rural, quiet (with the exception of what might be a boarding kennels nearby from the noise of dogs barking, definitely not people on site) but we found ourselves having to drive everyday to get to places. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 24 reviews from this member

 Stayed here during the heatwave. We were in our vw camper with an awning. We found the pitches very cramped, and our friends who were in their touring caravan with an awning couldn't park their car on their pitch. We were pitched under some trees so our awning got covered in bird poo.

Good site for kids, 2 pools, one outdoor, 1 indoor plus a small playground with slides and swings.

The site had a shop which was practically empty, it really needs stocking up.

Toilets and showers very clean with good sized shower cubicles which contain a sink and shower with plenty of room. Unlike some sites where the cubicle is smaller than a single wardrobe.

Very close to ferry terminal, about 10 minutes away.

Didn't see a warden during our 10 night stay.

The site was very quiet after 10. 00pm.

Bus stop just outside of the site.

Rumour has it the site has been taken over this year, hope its not one of the big companies. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alanjo 2 reviews from this member

 Nice camp site, shame about the minority few who allowed there does to bark day and night, and the families who could not be bothered to take their children to the play area to play football, just let them kick a ball around from morning till night with no consideration for anyone else.

Showers were cold on a few occasions, not the best pitches. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TrippLoso 8 reviews from this member

 Location.

The campsite is situated towards the west of the island, about a 10-minute drive to the Needles or 5 minutes to Yarmouth. You can get to anywhere on the island in about 40 minutes max. The campsite looks over a valley and has nice views.

Facilities

I do not think I have seen a better facility block than the one here. The showers (6 I believe) are basin/shower combos which was nice, and good size especially if you have young ones in with you. The main block houses the men & womenís and a further washing block has 12 washing up stations with a fantastic view! there are washing machines, driers and ironing boards and irons.

Shops

There is a main shop for basics, a takeaway shop for food, and a horsebox cocktail bar in the evening. Sainsburys in Newport is only a 20-minute drive away for anything else. Even though the shop was closed the staff in the takeaway shop got me some milk and told me to pay in the shop the next day. Cannot fault the staff here, exceptional service.

The pitches

We camped, there are many hard stands for motorhomes & Caravans and grass pitches for tents all in the main fields. Most of these are EHU. The grass is very well kept, mostly flat, might be a slight gradient here and there. We asked to be pitched next to friends and we were all together on a run of 4 grass pitches. All pitched are large and well sign posted.

Overall

The booking process was easy. When a ferry was cancelled and we got bumped onto a later one, the office rebooked us onto the Southampton ferry (thanks Gemma !). Great communication throughout.

I cannot recommend this campsite enough. If you are going to the IoW stay here, you will not be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bobandvon 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, facilities really clean.

2 pools, we did not use but looked amazing.

The orchards organised the ferry, the whole experience was first class 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Oxfordeagle 10 reviews from this member

 Spent 8 nights here on an excellent fully serviced pitch at the end of September 2020.

Site was quite empty - maybe another 20 units on what is a large site.

Excellent service pitch - only negative was that the power was I believe only 8 amps so we often tripped the breaker but that would be the only negative.

Washrooms were excellent - one of the best seen in many years of caravaning. Staff helpful.

Not cheap but the fare included ferry so not complaining. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chulle 1 review from this member

 My accommodation on the island fell through and out of 20 sites I messaged Orchard were the only ones to rely positively. They dealt with my booking efficiently and friendly.

The campsite was amazing. Toilet and shower facilities extremely clean and I never had to wait in a queue to wash dishes.

The site was well maintained and each pitch had electric and was suitably flat.

We could not use the swimming pools due to COVID but that was understandable.

Would so stay here again! 
via mobile


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3229 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement