Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Yarmouth > The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park
Main Rd
Newbridge
Yarmouth
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO41 0TS
Tel: 01983 531331  or  01983 531350
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 27/03/2021 to 30/10/2021
           27/03/2022 to 30/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 98 Reviews
                9/10 from 98 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Parttimecamper 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely stay at The Orchards.

We had a grass pitch with EHU, we were camping with family and their pitch was next to ours.

The pitch was a good size, flat and clean.

The site felt safe and secure, staff were polite and assisted my in laws when they realised they had forgotten their chairs.

Small play park, pool tables and table tennis. Shop had some nice gifts, and a small selection of the essentials, could have been a little better stocked but had everything we needed.

There are Coop and Sainsburys in nearby Freshwater, as are some good takeaways.

Pools were nice, outdoor pool was a little cold but soon warmed up!

Toilet/Shower facilities were the best I’ve used for a while, large and spacious.

Dishwashing was large and had views over the site and surrounding areas.

Only thing that spoilt the stay were some feral groups of guests who appeared happy the vandalise everything from blocking toilets with miles of paper, smashing the table tennis balls and leaving things a mess, at least things were cleaned up quickly.

The staff also enforced some of the rules as I saw them telling the kids on scooters they were not allowed to ride on the roads.

There was also a on site take away and a bar serving drinks on Fri/Sat/Sun evenings, and also hot and cold drinks from the pool cafe.

Location was ok, nice a rural, quiet (with the exception of what might be a boarding kennels nearby from the noise of dogs barking, definitely not people on site) but we found ourselves having to drive everyday to get to places. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 24 reviews from this member

 Stayed here during the heatwave. We were in our vw camper with an awning. We found the pitches very cramped, and our friends who were in their touring caravan with an awning couldn't park their car on their pitch. We were pitched under some trees so our awning got covered in bird poo.

Good site for kids, 2 pools, one outdoor, 1 indoor plus a small playground with slides and swings.

The site had a shop which was practically empty, it really needs stocking up.

Toilets and showers very clean with good sized shower cubicles which contain a sink and shower with plenty of room. Unlike some sites where the cubicle is smaller than a single wardrobe.

Very close to ferry terminal, about 10 minutes away.

Didn't see a warden during our 10 night stay.

The site was very quiet after 10. 00pm.

Bus stop just outside of the site.

Rumour has it the site has been taken over this year, hope its not one of the big companies. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alanjo 1 review from this member

 Nice camp site, shame about the minority few who allowed there does to bark day and night, and the families who could not be bothered to take their children to the play area to play football, just let them kick a ball around from morning till night with no consideration for anyone else.

Showers were cold on a few occasions, not the best pitches. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TrippLoso 4 reviews from this member

 Location.

The campsite is situated towards the west of the island, about a 10-minute drive to the Needles or 5 minutes to Yarmouth. You can get to anywhere on the island in about 40 minutes max. The campsite looks over a valley and has nice views.

Facilities

I do not think I have seen a better facility block than the one here. The showers (6 I believe) are basin/shower combos which was nice, and good size especially if you have young ones in with you. The main block houses the men & women’s and a further washing block has 12 washing up stations with a fantastic view! there are washing machines, driers and ironing boards and irons.

Shops

There is a main shop for basics, a takeaway shop for food, and a horsebox cocktail bar in the evening. Sainsburys in Newport is only a 20-minute drive away for anything else. Even though the shop was closed the staff in the takeaway shop got me some milk and told me to pay in the shop the next day. Cannot fault the staff here, exceptional service.

The pitches

We camped, there are many hard stands for motorhomes & Caravans and grass pitches for tents all in the main fields. Most of these are EHU. The grass is very well kept, mostly flat, might be a slight gradient here and there. We asked to be pitched next to friends and we were all together on a run of 4 grass pitches. All pitched are large and well sign posted.

Overall

The booking process was easy. When a ferry was cancelled and we got bumped onto a later one, the office rebooked us onto the Southampton ferry (thanks Gemma !). Great communication throughout.

I cannot recommend this campsite enough. If you are going to the IoW stay here, you will not be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bobandvon 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, facilities really clean.

2 pools, we did not use but looked amazing.

The orchards organised the ferry, the whole experience was first class 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Oxfordeagle 8 reviews from this member

 Spent 8 nights here on an excellent fully serviced pitch at the end of September 2020.

Site was quite empty - maybe another 20 units on what is a large site.

Excellent service pitch - only negative was that the power was I believe only 8 amps so we often tripped the breaker but that would be the only negative.

Washrooms were excellent - one of the best seen in many years of caravaning. Staff helpful.

Not cheap but the fare included ferry so not complaining. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chulle 1 review from this member

 My accommodation on the island fell through and out of 20 sites I messaged Orchard were the only ones to rely positively. They dealt with my booking efficiently and friendly.

The campsite was amazing. Toilet and shower facilities extremely clean and I never had to wait in a queue to wash dishes.

The site was well maintained and each pitch had electric and was suitably flat.

We could not use the swimming pools due to COVID but that was understandable.

Would so stay here again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoJo19 7 reviews from this member

 We were generally impressed with this site. We stayed with our daughter for 14 nights from mid July. At that point it was mostly caravans and tourers with the odd tent. You get a discount card for some pubs and attractions locally when you arrive which is handy. Someone also shows you to your pitch - we had a huge pitch with plenty of space for the car, table, chairs, BBQ and the swing ball. We were the only ones on our row for the whole two weeks and for the large part it was very peaceful during the day with no road noise and visitors generally pretty considerate. Many people we spoke to either visited every year or planned to come back again.

Facilities: Spotless loos, showers and washing up and laundry areas - very impressive. We never had to wait to use the showers and there was always lots of free, hot water. As the temperature was nudging 30 degrees when we pitched and remained in the mid to top 20's for the whole two weeks we used the two swimming pools a lot! Both indoor and outdoors pools are very well kept - outside you can sit under a tree in the shade or on the grass to sunbathe. The inside pool has a café you can get hot and cold drinks from and some snacks -it was mostly too hot inside to use it but on the odd occasion we did it was spotless. The site shop had everything we needed and was priced reasonably for a site shop. You can also pay a deposit on ice blocks and change them everyday at the shop. We left the deposit to charity but you could get it all back and donate whatever you like. We tried the take away one evening - it's OK at a push if you are stuck to eat and it was always busy but it's definitely not haute cuisine! There is a book exchange although when I looked there weren't very many books to select from. The site staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a small play area for the children but it didn't seem to be that widely used. My eight year old could have done with more to do on the play area front - other sites we have visited have tended to have much bigger play areas with more to do. There is a pool room and a games room with some things the children have to pay to use (my daughter told me about these I didn't drop by myself).

The only downsides we had were that we were on a sloping pitch - we had requested a quiet spot which was also away from facilities - so it might just be that this only left a slightly sloping pitch. We managed by propping up the inflatable beds with folded towels to offset the slope. There also isn't anything in the village itself in terms of food or drink so you will need to drive out to eat or visit a pub if the site offering isn't cutting the mustard (BTW the shop does wine beer and spirits but obviously it isn't the widest selection - nice chardonnay and IOW gin also available though!) Having said that we discovered West Wight Alpacas was very close by, under five minutes in the car, and does amazing pizza's three evenings a week in a lovely spot (you need to phone and pre book - well worth making the effort!) you can also visit the Alpacas during the day and do walks with one. As mentioned the play area could probably be a bit bigger, a sand pit is always very popular as are a variety of swings, slides, play houses/cars/trains etc - which it lacked.

Having said all of this though the site is overall very good indeed! But I do have to mention the howling. The only major downside was that every night we would be woken by the sound of howling dogs close by! I have no idea if there is a kennel locally but it was very intrusive in the early hours even with ear plugs and being some distance from where the racket was coming from! Couldn't fault the site during the day though for peace and quiet until the last weekend when the schools broke up and the obligatory large, noisy group turned up and hollered and screamed from 7am until 11pm. Site wardens during the school holidays might be an idea! Talking to the staff the first two weeks of the summer hols are the busiest so avoid these would be my advice if you have to go during the summer holidays! Most days outside of the main school summer holiday it was just the sound of birds singing. Until the early hour wake up call that is.

Overall a really great site spoilt with an unexpected night time noise issue. There are some minor issues with pitch slope for some tents and size of play area for children. Some poeple might find the lack of village facilities an issue and a night time warden would be helpful uring the school holidays. However, the loo block and camping facities are excellent as are the two pools and the shop and staff are good. I would probably try a different site next time due to the racket from the dogs though. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiwishev 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site!

We had a great time here, despite a couple of stormy nights!

A good toilet block is very important to me, and I found the one here brilliant. Lovely warm clean block, hot showers and plenty of space in the shower cubicles. The shower cubicles have a separate area with a sink, a seat out of reach of the shower wetness and 3 wall hooks.

My son loved both the outside pool and the indoor pool.

A great holiday, and a great location! 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sidrat 7 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite. We had booked because it had a heated indoor pool and october half term can be a little chilly in a tent!.

As it turned out it was quite warm. End of season but everything apart from the outside pool was open. The pitches were nice for the tent and the facilities are some of the best we have ever had. Friendly knowledgeable staff and great surroundings, the Island was a lovely place to visit.

We will come back and stay again, I can only give it 10 out of 10. 


Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1952 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement