Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rowston Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby > Rowston Holiday Park Reviews

Rowston Holiday Park
New Hedges
Tenby
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA70 8TL
Tel: 01834 842178
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 130
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 38 Reviews
                7/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissy and Grant 8 reviews from this member

Sorry, but our experience could have been a lot better. I think some improvements are needed in order for this site to be a favourite of hours.

The booking system is archaic- no possibility of paying by card over the phone.

On arrival, at 3:00, reception was inexplicably closed and our booking info was in an envelope. There were no shower tokens (there should have been) and the pitch which was allocated to us was unsuitable, but we were unable to contact anyone to change it

The toilets were number coded, but the entrance was un-lit, so it was difficult to get in in the dark.

There were herds of feral children letting off fireworks on the site in the evenings and no-one around to report this to.

The pitches were a little small, too slopey to level the van, even with levelling blocks and poorly drained.

We felt that 25 per night was too expensive for the standard of facilities on offer.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights here over bank holiday, so comments reflect the busy period and the fact there had been an unusual amount of rain.

The position of the campsite is great, nearby shop (very expensive do your shopping before arrival) and 2 pubs - we tried the tavern which was good value and decent food. Bus outside the gate to Saundersfoot or Tenby. The path to the bay is nice, however you need wellies for this! Also the walk to Tenby is not a stroll (wet, boggy)and has a steep climb - again it needs boots or willies. You can also walk and scramble over rocks to Tenby at low tide.

The camping fields had electric which is handy, but did not cope well with wet weather and were waterlogged. This serverly hampered the outdoor camping 'thing', wellies as soon as you opened the tent, car in car park, no sitting outside etc. The caravan pitches coped better, but they are very cramped and un-level.

The showers have been mentioned before, I don't mind paying 50p if they are decent however only 2 hooks, no bench, and in-abilitiy to switched some of them off (until the timer ran out) is not a good experience. Similarly hot water in the washing up area, but a spray nozzle that soaks you! Owners never do use there own facilities do they?

There is no/little phone signal or 4g anywhere in this area!

25 per night for two - there must be better value sites in the area. I would use again if weather had been dry for a long period, but if I needed to book ahead I would stay elsewhere.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Erimel3 2 reviews from this member

This site is very nice apart from the 70, s style toilets. They were cold and damp and unlit during early evening. Ladies toilets had no toilet roll for 2 days. Showers in the block near reception were too hot and no means of cooling them down. The showers on the other side of the camp were too small. I had to leave clothes outside the shower room so they didn't get wet. Went to reception on several occasions to complain but no one was there. On the day we left we still had some shower tokens left over and waited until 10. 30 to redeem them, but no one turned up at reception to take them.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: janews 9 reviews from this member

The 2 of us spent a very relaxing couple of nights here.

On arrival the very helpful lady on reception suggested we had a walk round to choose our pitch. As has been mentioned earlier a lot of them sloped a bit but with levelling ramps we were fine.

The site is very well looked after with plenty of flowers and shrubs all around the site which is quite large with a number of static vans, but due to the layout doesn't feel it.

The facilities were reasonable with passcode entrance to the toilets and showers, however we weren't too impressed with the washing up sinks under a lean-to roof at the side of the toilet block.

The site is only a couple of minutes walk from a very good Londis which has fresh bread and a good range of provisions. Also the pub is very close although we didn't try this.

Its a good 40 minute walk into Tenby through woodland, and a slightly further walk to Saundersfoot along the road, although I think its possible to get there via the coastal path as well.

Overall a nice site which we would return to (would be nice if the grass cutting started a bit later mind!)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nutkin 1 review from this member

Stayed here for two nights last week with my 3 children. Unfortunately the weather was absolutely foul - very heavy rain apart from the arrival day.

On arrival my children headed straight for the playground - which is quite decent - while I booked in. Booking was quick and efficient, I had to buy shower tokens (20p each refundable) and was given directions to our pitch. The site was very clean and well-tended.

Pitch was fine. Slightly uneven but no problem. Very few tents were there so we had loads of room but I don't think it would feel crowded even if full. We had EHU though 6A only so not great but sufficient for our needs.

Had researched loads of sites and my main criteria was to be very near to Tenby. This site is within walking distance though due to the weather we didn't do the walk. We did walk through the woods to Waterwynch beach which was a lovely stroll and a deserted beach at the end of it! We saw the path to Tenby and it looked like that would be a nice walk too. I believe you can also walk to Saundersfoot.

Toilet/shower block was very clean and you have to enter a code to get in. It does slightly irritate me that they have notices insisting that children are accompanied but I guess they've had problems in the past. There were only two showers in the ladies but I never saw anyone waiting but maybe at busier times this might be a problem. We didn't use the showers so I can't comment on them. The washing up area was also in this block, and was fine with plenty of hot water.

I had deliberately chosen a site without clubhouse etc as we wanted a quiet 'outdoorsy' sort of break. However due to the weather we ended up going to the Galloping Major pub which I had seen recommended on here. This was about 5 minutes walk away. This was very family friendly and as a woman with 3 children I felt very comfortable there. There was a small playground, amusements room (2p drop machines that always keep my kids happy) and a pleasant bar area with a decent singing duo on the Saturday night. There was a nice looking menu though it seemed slightly pricey to me though the meals I saw did look good. Drinks prices are reasonable. We did eat here one night but just had kids' meals and garlic bread all of which was very nice. We normally do all our own cooking when camping so I guess I'm not used to eating out prices! This place definitely added to the enjoyment of our weekend.

Outside the pub there was a chip van where we bought food one night. Prices were reasonable (4. 60 for fish and chips I think) and we all enjoyed the food.

There is also a good Londis shop a couple of minutes from the site which was well-stocked and also had a cash machine.

The campsite is very handy for Folly Farm and we spent a day there - great day out if you have youngish children.

My only very minor gripe about the campsite was that there seemed to be only two places to get drinking water and they weren't labelled as such. I had to ask other campers - and was still worried that I'd used the wrong taps! Might be an idea to label them.

All in all we had a fun weekend. We really liked the campsite. It felt very peaceful and the location is great. If the weather was good you really don't need a car. We definitely intend to return (though hopefully in better weather!).

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bradtourer 27 reviews from this member

Myself my wife and 2 children stayed at rowston holiday park for a weekend in may bank holiday, site was ideal location for nearby tenby town, the caravan site was fairly basic with playground for children, toilet and shower block was clean, from caravan site to country lane it was about 15 min walk to tenby town. The site in general was well looked after, ideal base for saundersfoot or tenby for a weekend

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharondp 2 reviews from this member

We booked this site because it had a nearby beach and a playground for the kids. Unfortunately the beach was inaccessible due to the path being extremely muddy (literally knee deep!).

The playground was situated at the opposite end of the site to the tent fields (next to all the tourers occupied by middle aged couples with dogs!) so the kids only went there once. This site is more geared towards tourers and static holiday homes - just a couple of tent fields at the far end of the site.

The facilities were good - although shower tokens were a bit of a pain - always took two in case one didn't work! Could do with more hooks outside the showers in the toilet block as there wasn't much room inside the cubicle.

Plenty of signs around the site about the electric hook up - warnings not to use appliances that would trip it.

Office is only manned until 5pm so when we arrived, a map of the site with the tent field highlighted was left for us along with some shower tokens. The map is incorrect - we drove around the site several times to find the field. No specific pitch was identified for us so we found our own.

Nearby is a Londis shop - within walking distance which stocks everything a camper could possibly need - including hot drinks and snacks. The Diner on site is 'closed due to lack of support' but seeing as it's geared towards caravans, tourers and static holiday homes, all with kitchens, there is no real need for a diner! if it was more of a tent site, then I'm sure the campers would have made more use of it!

There is also a pub nearby which does food. We visited The Galloping Major twice which was a pub on another nearby site that did food, had a kids playground and showed the olympics - a lovely sociable friendly place with excellent food. There was also a mobile fish and chip van here.

It is a short drive to Tenby which has beautiful beaches. A shame we couldn't walk there along the now famous coastal path due to the path from the site to it not being maintained and too muddy - even for wellies!

Lots and lots of attractions nearby - Oakwood, Heatherton, Blue Lagoon (great for a wet day), Folly Farm

We had a lovely time but wouldn't stay at this particular site again unless we invest in a tourer!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Welshcarly 1 review from this member

Thoroughly enjoyed out weekend stay in May this year!

The children's park was brilliant with loads of equipment and a huge playing field to play rounders etc.

Fantastic walk down to a secluded beach my dog enjoyed his walks and we were made very welcome Owners very helpful.

Tenby town within walking distance too. Only downfall is that you have to use tokens to use the showers, and if you use your allowance you have to request extra tokens.

Will definitely return very soon. Best campsite we have visited so far

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Deb2468 3 reviews from this member

The Rowston Site is well sign posted off the main Tenby road. Excellent position for visiting Saunderfoot and Tenby, can be walked but a bit of a trek.

There is a local shop nearby in New Hedges which was well stocked. Near by pubs and chip van opposite in Rumble ways.

The pitches were a decent size but the pitches also slope quite considerably and we could not get level. No help or advice on pitching, not good as a single parent with disabled person.

You need a token for the showers and the top shower block was tried and dated.

We stayed during the August bank holiday so the site was full and very busy.

The site was very pretty and close to Tenby and Saunderfoot but not that friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AJCheshire 3 reviews from this member

We found this site in New Hedges after driving to Tenby following a very rough night in a field in Mwnt, Cardigan. Our poor tent had taken a major battering in the 60 miles an hour wind and had started to collapse in the early hours of the morning so we gathered up all our gear and headed towards Tenby where we bought a tent repair kit and found Rowston. The site itself was really well set out and we were greeted by a very sympathetic and helpful lady who promptly had us pitched in a very sheltered space before we knew it! The park is lovely and is set on a hill so you have great views of the sea - fab! My other half was in his element on his road bike and went off every morning in all directions exploring the place!

There's a shop and pub close by in case you fancy a change. There's a play area for children and the site observes a speed limit on the roads. The shower and wc facilities are good and clean, plenty of shower blocks dotted around and there's water points all over the site. As for Tenby itself it's not changed since we both went in our teens and we had a real nostalgia trip. We are planning on going back in July again and looking forward to it already.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3888 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019