Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Portree Campsite (formerly Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Portree > Portree Campsite (formerly Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site) Reviews

Portree Campsite (formerly Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site)
Staffin Road
Portree
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9HU
Tel: +4407359328368
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 80
Open: 08/03/2022 to 30/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 83 Reviews
                9/10 from 83 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jogri2 1 review from this member

 It was a great site, lovely views and the site was very clean and quiet.

The village was only a 20min walk.

The pitches were well laid out.

We would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Rebecc 1 review from this member

 Excellent facilities at campsite and location was very good.

Only a 15 min walk into portree to grab some dinner.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Would defo stay again and recommend to others. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aldo1877 14 reviews from this member

 We were unable to book for our intended 5 days, such is the popularity of the site. The site itself is well kept but is on a hillside and slopes. The tourers area has been levelled but you will need blocks if positioned to the front as it slopes off (I forgot ours).

We didnít use the facilities, other than the wash up area to clean the bbq. This was a personal choice due to Covid. I did stick my head in and found them to be clean.

The site is in easy walking distance of Portree, although there are a couple of steep hills on the way back. The town is lovely, but can be busy with day visitors. There is a nice ice cream shop, which had a queue outside. The ice cream was great and our grand dog enjoyed his ice cream cone.

We were fortunate to be able to visit the Fairy pools on a sunny day. We avoided the main pools which were busy and had a relaxed time at some others.

We are looking forward to returning to Skye for a longer stay and will most likely stay at Torvaig. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Athey 3 reviews from this member

 Very nice site well set out with good facilities and pleasant staff

We enjoyed our time there.

Not too far away from the centre of Portree within walking distance. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stevie 1 review from this member

 Friendly staff and service

Clean showers and site

Good views

Hard standing was level and were advised that as we had an awning to pitch against banking to get shelter

Over all great wee site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cather 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night but could easily have stayed for a week.

Beautiful clean and friendly site.

Easy walking distance in to portree.

Will definitely use again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davidwolden 1 review from this member

 This site is just to the north of Portree and within easy walking distance of the town. Portree itself, although it once must have been very pretty place, is now very busy and overcrowded with visitors and with the usual dreary tourist tat shops.

For the undiscerning visitor there are plenty of shops and pubs. Serving the usual fare of fish and chips. For the more discerning visitor there are restaurants claiming to serve good sea food too.

The site does have great views to the Cuillins. However, compared with other sites we have visited recently, at £24. 00 a night for a small camper van and not particularly good sanitary facilities (see below), this site is in our opinion totally overpriced.

Better facilities for the same nightly cost are available at member only sites. Although to be fair there are no member only sites this close to Portree. We have also used independent sites with much, much better facilities than Torvaig for only £20 a night, all with free Wi-Fi.

The washing and showering facilities leave a lot to be desired. When we were there it was cold and windy and the windows and doors were left open which wasn't much fun if you wanted to shower.

The shower cubicles did not have enough clothes hooks and with no stools or benches either, hanging up clothing whilst showering was taxing. In addition, the wash basins didn't have mirrors above them which made shaving difficult to achieve with any precision.

When we were there it was very windy and there was little or no protection from the wind which made it uncomfortable for campers. The camping pitches are generally on sloping areas which means that any rain runs into the tents. However, the touring pitches for vans and caravans are level, well drained and have electric hook ups.

Wi-fi is available (for a fee) but as there was 4G and good phone reception we didn't need to use the site wi-fi. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Toff 9 reviews from this member

 2nd time we have this wonderful site. Very clean and good showers, washroom and washing machines. Handy reception and quick payment system. Think the wifi should come with the price your paying but not a rip off really.

On a slope tenting and if it rains it's more likely to get in a tad.

Staff helpful and wonderful location for Skye and what it offers you.

Seems to fill up and empty daily with visitors

so that shows you it is a good site. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 119 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site so we were able to enjoy the improved facilities. We returned because during a 40+ mph westerly, this is one of the few campsites on Skye where there are plenty of pitches which nestle behind a small pine wood.

Portree itself is a couple of miles down the road so it's either a short drive or a 30 minute walk away. There is a large Co-op on the industrial estate behind Portree where you'll also find a butcher who operates out of a porta cabin.

The town has plenty to offer the tourist and becomes quite congested at times. There is a beautiful circular walk up behind the site, across to the coast and then down to the town.

There are now two toilet/shower blocks and a washing room, all kept very clean and tidy. If the weather is calmer, there are some great pitches with views at the top end of the field. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Basil S 24 reviews from this member

 A handy site for discovering Skye, we found the hardstandings fine but those with tents were on a bit of a slope,

the facilities although all there and clean were unheated and uninviting,

wifi we thought was a bit expensive as most sites now have free wifi. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Portree Campsite (formerly Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Portree Campsite (formerly Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Portree Campsite (formerly Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site) dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Portree      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2788 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement