Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Portree > Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site
Staffin Road
Portree
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9HU
Tel: 01478 611849
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 90
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 77 Reviews
                9/10 from 77 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davidwolden 1 review from this member

This site is just to the north of Portree and within easy walking distance of the town. Portree itself, although it once must have been very pretty place, is now very busy and overcrowded with visitors and with the usual dreary tourist tat shops.

For the undiscerning visitor there are plenty of shops and pubs. Serving the usual fare of fish and chips. For the more discerning visitor there are restaurants claiming to serve good sea food too.

The site does have great views to the Cuillins. However, compared with other sites we have visited recently, at 24. 00 a night for a small camper van and not particularly good sanitary facilities (see below), this site is in our opinion totally overpriced.

Better facilities for the same nightly cost are available at member only sites. Although to be fair there are no member only sites this close to Portree. We have also used independent sites with much, much better facilities than Torvaig for only 20 a night, all with free Wi-Fi.

The washing and showering facilities leave a lot to be desired. When we were there it was cold and windy and the windows and doors were left open which wasn't much fun if you wanted to shower.

The shower cubicles did not have enough clothes hooks and with no stools or benches either, hanging up clothing whilst showering was taxing. In addition, the wash basins didn't have mirrors above them which made shaving difficult to achieve with any precision.

When we were there it was very windy and there was little or no protection from the wind which made it uncomfortable for campers. The camping pitches are generally on sloping areas which means that any rain runs into the tents. However, the touring pitches for vans and caravans are level, well drained and have electric hook ups.

Wi-fi is available (for a fee) but as there was 4G and good phone reception we didn't need to use the site wi-fi.

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Toff 9 reviews from this member

2nd time we have this wonderful site. Very clean and good showers, washroom and washing machines. Handy reception and quick payment system. Think the wifi should come with the price your paying but not a rip off really.

On a slope tenting and if it rains it's more likely to get in a tad.

Staff helpful and wonderful location for Skye and what it offers you.

Seems to fill up and empty daily with visitors

so that shows you it is a good site.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 90 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site so we were able to enjoy the improved facilities. We returned because during a 40+ mph westerly, this is one of the few campsites on Skye where there are plenty of pitches which nestle behind a small pine wood.

Portree itself is a couple of miles down the road so it's either a short drive or a 30 minute walk away. There is a large Co-op on the industrial estate behind Portree where you'll also find a butcher who operates out of a porta cabin.

The town has plenty to offer the tourist and becomes quite congested at times. There is a beautiful circular walk up behind the site, across to the coast and then down to the town.

There are now two toilet/shower blocks and a washing room, all kept very clean and tidy. If the weather is calmer, there are some great pitches with views at the top end of the field.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Basil S 18 reviews from this member

A handy site for discovering Skye, we found the hardstandings fine but those with tents were on a bit of a slope,

the facilities although all there and clean were unheated and uninviting,

wifi we thought was a bit expensive as most sites now have free wifi.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Matt-lucie 15 reviews from this member

This was a wonderful little find. We had struggled to get a pitch in the Dunvegan area so moved onwards. We just turned up as no answer on the phone and we were in luck.

We intended to stay one night but took one look at site on booked two. Very clean. Super quiet. Nice views. Only negative was a push button shower (free) but super annoying having to press button every 10 seconds. Slightly mean. Give us at least 30 seconds between presses.

Other than that. Perfect.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Herring9 3 reviews from this member

Great. Helpful wardens. Very clean toilets and showers and great dog walk down by the loch and also a dog wash.

Nice to see a pair of golden eagles flying over. Small shop on site and great views from site. Will return

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kez123 2 reviews from this member

Great campsite! Friendly staff and a lovely location with lots to explore. Excellent wifi for a small fee.

Short walk to village (no shop on site) but uphill all the way back!

Toilets and showers basic but clean. Would happily return!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Missmoneypenny 15 reviews from this member

What a nice welcome we had here! It's a very convenient site for walking down to Portree. It looks like it's been recently extended and everywhere was very clean and tidy.

The showers were hot and there are plenty of toilets and showers. The emptying and filling point for motorhomes is well designed for easy access.

We parked up right up at the edge of the site and we're able to watch buzzards from the van.

Portree is a lovely place and we ate well in the Portree hotel.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NorrisA 1 review from this member

Just back from a wet & windy stay on the stunning Isle of Skye with my 8 year old son. We stayed in our tent at Torvaig Caravan & Camping Site with no hook up, just basic camping. The site is easily accessible & extremely well maintained. The staff were all friendly & helpful, always someone around to lend a hand or offer advice. There are well equipped spacious washroom facilities which are decorated with lovely posters, maps etc for children & adults alike to enjoy. I think they'd do well to have a drying room in the future. There are plenty of hot showers available & loos. A hair dryer in the ladies (not sure about gents)?! I never had to queue & they are extremely clean. The office area has lots of information leaflets for campers to take telling you all about the many different things to do during your stay. There is wifi available but via third party company. It's easy enough to set up /use. The campsite is closed & a barrier in place after 23. 30 hours so worth bearing in mind if you're going out for the evening. Portree is nearby & has good shops, pubs, fish & chips etc. It's also well positioned for lots of great days out.

We had a great stay even though the weather wasn't kind to us, it didn't stop us getting out & about :-).

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Campermaid 20 reviews from this member

Site is ok, if a little cramped. Facilities good. Warden helpful though a little short with me cos I dared to say our campervan could manage the soggy ground as it was 4 wheel drive. She said 'I said the ground is too wet!', wrists slapped, we parked on hard standing.

Overall we were happy enough, so would recommend this site. As for warden, well we all have off days don't we. She was probably fed up with telling people they couldn't park on grass. Just do as your told and all will be fine.

Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Portree      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4967 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019