Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wing Hall Wing Lakes Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Rutland > Oakham > Wing Hall Wing Lakes Caravan & Camping > Reviews

Wing Hall Wing Lakes Caravan & Camping
Wing Hall
Wing
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 8RY
Tel: 01572 737090
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 133 Reviews
                7/10 from 133 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Lincolngr 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed on field 1 at Wing Hall over four nights in June, occupying a number of pitches with our tents. The field is marked for tents only and is without EHU which suits us.

The field is edged by mature trees on three sides and a tumbling mature hedge line to the fourth. As such, we didnít find any pitch markers until much later, one was spotted in the undergrowth.

That said, there was plenty of space and we were left much to ourselves, but feathered friends made good use of the overhanging mature trees, providing some unwelcome deposits on canvas.

Over the extended weekend, we were joined by a number of DofE groups who were positioned at the opposite end of this large field, all of who were well behaved.

Looking around the site, it seems the owners aim to allow space between campers as far as possible, which can help provide more harmonious stays.

I didnít use the farm shop, located within the old hall building (dating from 1891) but did visit the Buttonhole, a cafť at the opposite side of the hall, serving food and drinks to both campers and visitors.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating to us, allowing us to finish after the 4pm closing time on Sunday, admittedly we were sat outside.

The showers close to the farm shop were hot and included a shower curtain within the cubicle. Take care to look up before venturing too far into the ladies section. There is only a small sign above the opening.

Local walks and other activities are plentiful and only a Google away. The Kings Head pub served a range of well kept drinks and some well presented, but untasted by us food.

A final mention for the freezer made available to campers, a boon in flaming June on a field without EHU.

This is our fourth visit over the last 10 or so years and although it is looking a little less fresh, weíd recommend the site as relatively good value in a great location and would return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Belind 1 review from this member

 Very picturesque site. Over priced as the facilities are quite basic.

One shower block was not open at this time.

If the site had been busier this would have been a problem.

Even though the booking charged for electricity it was a card based system and you needed to pay extra once the 2 cards were used up.

Nevertheless, an enjoyable stay! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Goodintentions 9 reviews from this member

 Peaceful site with great views in a beautiful part of the world. Felt relaxed and close to nature after 6 nights here in mid September. This was helped by seeing hedgehogs, Red Kite and hearing numerous owls.

Thereís a very well stocked farm shop on site with a wide variety of foods and an excellent selection of beers and wines, plus fresh free range eggs from the numerous friendly chickens who roam the site.

Unfortunately the restaurant wasnít open during our stay.

Facilities were ample: the showers next to the house have shower curtains: making sure to stand outside the curtain before pushing the button prevents a cold shock- learned that one the hard way!

The washing up station behind the house has double drainers and plenty of hot water but you do need to run it for a while.

The toilet block between fields 2 and 3 has 2 wash basins and more space than the one by the house.

We appreciated the ďno musicĒ and ďno noise after 10:30Ē rules but clearly some other campers in a large group on the Saturday evening didnít.

The extra £5 for electricity is understandable with the current energy costs: small businesses donít benefit from the price cap so it makes sense for those who use more to pay more. We bought 2 cards just to be sure we didnít run out, but with two of us using a kettle, toaster and charging all our various gadgets for 6 days the first card didnít run out.

The shop has free walking maps: we explored both routes which made the most of the lovely local scenery.

Staff were polite, friendly and very helpful to us, we were made to feel very welcome.

Rutland Water Nature Reserve is about 2 miles via the cross country route and well worth the trip for anyone who likes wildlife. Thereís also access from here to the Rutland circular route which is ideal for cycling. You can get tea, coffee, cake and ice cream in the Visitor Centre.

Thereís bike hire at Normanton about 5 miles away.

Uppingham is about 3 miles and was the largest settlement we visited, reminiscent of Hogwarts with its old stone buildings.

The Horse & Jockey in Manton, about 1. 7 miles away either by quiet roads or a cross country route, does great lunches and evening meals and has lots of outside seating as well as local real ales. Being the only pub on the Rutland Water circular route means they are well attended sard open every day. When we visited there were a few other tables occupied but service was very efficient and the food was delicious.

The Kingís Head in Wing, a very short walk from the site looked very nice for a special occasion but was beyond our budget. Check the opening hours as like many pubs in the area they are not open all day and every day.

Thereís a fish & chip van advertised on Tuesday evenings in the village just 7 minutes walk from the site but on checking their website we were unlucky as they were on holiday the week we were there.

We had a lovely time at Wing Hall and will definitely go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Martin Spiers 8 reviews from this member

 There certainly is a mixed bag of reviews about this site and I will say straight away some are rude and unfair. The invite is there to make up your own minds and we did just that

If you are looking for an all singing/dancing site with 5 star facilities and neatly cut borders etc, just don't go here.

If however you are looking for a natural grass site(with or without electric) in extensive grounds with walks directly from the site then give this a try. There is a pub, The Kings Arms in Wing some 10 minutes walk through the grounds. Check openings days and times? Closed while we were there but looks fabulous.

The two ladies mentioned in some of the reviews, Robin and Marianne are delightful. They are helpful and efficient. (Ask for the printed sheet of walks.

The shop is well stocked and yes it's not cheap but neither is it way over the top either. Lots to choose from. The bacon was brill that we bought.

The cafe looks really lovely with its terrace overlooking a large lawned area.

Now the facilities. Lots to choose from. All clean and found no problems. The showers at the back of the shop are probably the best.

Yes some lighting for the washing up areas would be good but not needed at this time of year. They are not the best but they are more than adequate.

Would we go again. Yes. It is a perfect stop over and more.

Rules. No more than any other site. If you want to play loud music or be making loads of noise after 10 pm. Don't go here or anywhere else come to that.

Thank you

Martin, Gill and Harry the Vizsla 


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GollyOlly 1 review from this member

 Beautiful area, fantastic farmshop, abrupt staff (except for the lovely elderly woman).

The site advertises showers/shower blocks available. Only after taking freezing showers did a staff member advise us that the showers were closed! We were told by a staff member that there was one shower available and shown to an unmarked area away from the shower blocks in a "residential area".

The website also says that a card must be inserted into the meter to activate electricity. But it does not say that the customer is required to pay an additional £5. 00 fee, on top of the pitch fee, for the card. This should be clearly stated. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Comple 1 review from this member

 We had a great visit 7 years ago and this time didnít disappoint.

Well kept, great facilities, friendly reception, great entertainment, food and cafe with loveky staff.

Beautiful views and site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Crimperman 2 reviews from this member

 Visited with my adult son for a great weekend break. Very nice site. Easy to find and well laid out. We stayed in a tent-only (no hook ups) field and although the pitches were well marked/labelled ours could not be found. Its possible that a larger party nearby had spread onto it but the site was quiet that weekend so there was a lot of room. Our field had about 80-100 pitches I reckon. All well kept, short grass and pretty flat. Very few stones which helped with pegging. There are other fields with hook ups which are of a similar standard. It was dry the weekend we went (for once) so I can guarantee but it looked like the site drains well to me.

Fire pits and BBQs are permitted and they provide fire stones for them to stand on. No wood available on site so bring your own or go foraging but the wooded areas were fairly green during our stay.

Facilities are very good. Two toilet blocks and washing up areas. Two shower blocks. All were kept clean and tidy. The shop is well stocked albeit at campsite shop prices. We found a supermarket about half hour away which mostly did the job for us but it was nice to have local produce available on the site too. Water taps are dotted around and were not flooded so no wading required. Waste areas are also in a few places and kept tidy.

The site has a "no noise after 10pm and no music at any time" policy and everyone kept to it. Our field had a number of younger families and all the kids were in bed by 10, leaving just the adults sitting round our various fire pits. Another field had a teen school (poss DofE) party but even they were quiet after 10.

But the site is not silent. There is a train track not too far away and the trains will blow their whistle every time they go past, which was about once a hour when we were there. The trains only seemed to run between say 8am and 8pm though.

The chickens roam the site so expect visitors and if you bring your dog you will be expected to keep it leashed. As said I didn't travel with youngsters but I didn't see any play facilities etc. For them.

In terms of things to do, we were only there two nights so we didn't look for lots. There seems to be plenty of things all within 30 min drives though. Rutland Water is only 10 mins drive away (or you could bike/hike it). We spent the day (£6 per adult) bird Watching at the Anglian Birdwatching centre which is just on the west side of the wildlife reserve. Great setting, accessible and well informed hides with a lot of room. You do a bit of walking on site - 12km or so - between the hides but much of the walking in shaded and the scenery is spectacular. Take a pair of x25 or x30 binoculars and enjoy looking out for a wide range of water fowl - including the Ospreys.

All in all this was a great weekend camping for us and the site was a big part of that. I reckon we'll visit again but maybe go to some other places first. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Simon4 2 reviews from this member

 Overall a very pleasant experience. Lovely site set in the grounds of a stunning Rutland mansion house.

Plenty of space to relax without feeling like youíre on top of your neighbour. I travelled alone with the intention of cycling and fishing in the area so perfectly located for me.

Iím a seasoned camper so not particularly looking for lots of luxury so this suited me fine. Saturday night was fairly busy as you would expect, but by Sunday evening there were only 3 tents remaining. Peaceful, indeed! Great shop. Free range chickens and Turkeys.

A friendly dog called Lulu. Red Kites flying overhead. Clean showers and toilets. Monday evening provided great entertainment as a group of DofE turned up.

Watching them master tent pitching and outdoor cooking took me back to my scouting days.

Some of the facilities took were a little hard to find, but ask about and people will point you in the right direction.

Didnít try the cafe, but am told it is good. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Maymcd 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location, friendly owner, great on site shop and cafe. Itís a brilliant safe site where the kids can run free.

Toilets could do with a bit of a clean. Just donít think there was enough for the size of site.

Showers ok. Did the job.

We booked 8 pitches and requested to be together. 3 had to pitch in a different location to 5 of us however no one else arrived during our stay and there were spare pitches around both areas that couldíve meant we were all together. The lady checking us in was very confused about pitch numbers which I think was the reason we didnít all get put together. We still loved our time there and will come again.

Easy to get to Rutland water and surrounding town of Oakham. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Wratte 1 review from this member

 Beautiful scenery, laid back owners,

Good facilities chickens roam free, children liked turkeys,

Showers free and hot,

House looks beautiful and offers tea and coffee to go 
via mobile


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Wing Hall Wing Lakes Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wing Hall Wing Lakes Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wing Hall Wing Lakes Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oakham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Rutland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44750 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement