Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park
Glen Nevis
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SX
Tel: 01397 702191
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: Mid March - Start Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 260 Reviews
                9/10 from 260 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Argyllie 11 reviews from this member

In the shadow of Ben Nevis across the river, the site is well laid out in hedged "rooms" with neat, fully serviced pitches. We arrived when it had only been open for the season for a couple of days and it was very quiet.

There is dog walking available from the site and from a previous visit to the nearby Ben Nevis Visitor Centre there is much more walking available there.

A restaurant sits adjacent to the site but we did not try it, there is a well stocked shop at reception and the recycling facility behind the reception/shop building was excellent with all types properly segregated.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mike a samson 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site in a wonderful location. Very well maintained and staffed, loved it.

It has a mixture of hard standing pitches for campervans etc. And some (small) grass fields for tents, the hard pitch area is very well maintained and set out, the grass area you can pitch where you like and there are a number of toilet/utility blocks and on site chip/burger van and shop.

Sited near the town and by Ben Nevis. Loved it, have recommended it, will be going back, 10/10

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

This was my 2nd visit to this site and I must say that it is one of my favourites in the whole of UK.

The drive through Glen Coe to get there is stunning and when you arrive you enter an airline type check in desk which shows it's professionally managed - the site is quite frankly massive and even when full never seems busy. Facilities are all very good - there's a shop on site for essentials, a burger van just next to it which does chippy type food and is even open for bacon baps and coffee in the morning although this may be only at weekends.

Ben Nevis towers above the site and it's a 10 minute walk from the site to the start of the route up the mountain. If you don't fancy a climb there are walks along the river close by. If you don't fancy a walk at all, Fort William is a couple of miles away with town facilities and Loch Cruises available.

As for eating there is a burger van on site until about 7pm, then there is the Glen Nevis Pub/Restaurant next to the site - on my last visit they did pub food in the bar area and slightly more a la carte in the restaurant. Sadly it's all pub food now which although quite palatable was a bit of a disappointment. The other option without driving is a 15 minute walk to the Ben Nevis Inn at the start of the route up the mountain - again it's pub food but the reviews are quite good

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 23 reviews from this member

We came here in July, the site has good access.

Booked into reception, you can then go and choose your pitch. Pitches are large, we were on a hardstanding pitch with leccy.

The site has a well stocked shop, a large laundry room (which is more like a launderette), it has 4 commercial dryers, 4 washing machines, 2 large sinks, 3 ironing boards with irons - and the best thing (and I wish more sites had these) a spin dryer for when you do some handwashing. They also had machines where you could purchase a cup of washing powder and conditioner.

The shower/toilet facilities are clean and the shower cubicles are large, not like some which are no bigger than a single wardrobe! So plenty of room to get dry.

There is a fast food trailer on site selling stuff like chips and burgers etc.

A 5 minute walk along the road is the sites restaurant. We went there a couple of times for coffee (and free wifi) the menu was pretty uninspiring and the full cooked brekky was £9. 00, very expensive, and the fact that both times we went there the place was practically empty seemed to back this up. A full brekky at the local Morrisons a 10 minute drive away was less than a fiver. If you go to the local supermarkets, go early as parking a large Moho (we need 2 spaces) is difficult.

This is a huge site, it's well kept and clean. I think at least 70% of visitors were from overseas. It's a transient site, people seem to come here to do 'the climb' then move on after a couple of days. It's definitely not what I would call a holiday site.

If you're not an 'out doorsy' person this area is not for you, everything revolves around, hiking, walking, cycling, climbing etc.

Fort William is a 10 minute drive away with some shops, 10 minutes in the other direction, is a Lidl, Home Bargains and an M&S food hall.

When we first arrived on this site, bearing in mind it is very large, I was concerned regarding the noise at night, but it is in fact a very quiet site at all times.

So to sum up. Fantastic scenery, quiet clean site, great for outdoor stuff.

Just one or two thoughts.

Nothing here for young kids I think they'd be bored after a day. If you don't do the outdoor stuff there's not much else to do.

OK for one or two nights.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardh1905 15 reviews from this member

Excellent site in a stunning location; busy but large so that there is plenty of room to spread out. Good flat pitches on most of the site. People from many nationalities stay so there is a nice cosmopolitan feel to the site.

Facilities are adequate for the quantity of people staying; showers are good. Well stocked site shop.

I didn't try the restaurant/bar, but the nearby Ben Nevis Inn serves good food and beer, and is within easy walking distance.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 25 reviews from this member

I have visited this site before and the standards here are very high. A lot of people come here to walk the Ben, and if not there are still lovely local walks. Fort William is about a twenty minute walk and the mainline station is situated in the town centre. The site facilities are well laid out and kept very clean. The bar and restaurant on site are a significant plus and the food is excellent.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: EmzieP 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night, on our travels around the West coast. What a beautiful site, probably the largest pitch we have ever stayed on, very open and spacious feel to the site, with beautiful views of the mountains all around.

I cannot fault this site, would loved to have stayed a few more nights so we could explore.

There is a site pub which is 5 minutes walk away. We didn't eat there but were told that the food was very nice.

Fort William is about 10 minutes drive from the site if you need supplies. We didn't stop there but it looked like a nice town as we drove through.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Call-me-al88 7 reviews from this member

Touring around the west coast we both agreed this was our favourite campsite. Good welcome by Debbie who explained everything. Dog exercise area at the end of the campsite. Large space for the van. Toilets/showers immaculate. Good walks along the side of the river. Great views of the ben but also the mountains close by. On site restaurant recommended. Well stocked shop. Love to go back.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geolamb2974 3 reviews from this member

A well maintained site in a beautiful location with view looking out toward Ben Nevis and the surrounding mountains. Located near the West Highland Way, long distance walking route, it offers a good deal of forested tracks for hiking. A short distance from the town of Fort William there are plenty of shop, pubs and restaurants to choose from.

The site is divided up into number different areas depending on whether you are camping, glamping our caravanning, all well provided with suitable facilities for that particular activity.

On site facilities are good with a number of separate toilet and shower blocks for each area and are well maintained and cleaned daily to a high standard. There are on site laundry facilities as well as dish washing facilities for those camping. The grounds are kept well-groomed with a selection of trees and shrubs. There is a small on site shop, a take away caravan serving hot food and a licenced restaurant all on site. There is reasonably good Freeview reception on site.

There are a number of “Super-Pitches” that offer electric, water and water waste hook-up, in order to secure one of these you are required to telephone and make a reservation which cost a non-refundable £5:00. To make a reservation cost £5:00 anyway. Every forth night of your stay in the low season is free.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: The_Happy_Campers 1 review from this member

This site is clean, tidy, great facilities. But beyond that, this site has the most spectacular views of the Ben on a clear day.

And even when shrouded in cloud you get the impression of the imposing peak from the rugged slopes that lead up to it.

Great restraint a few minutes walk from site and direct access to paths up the Ben and around its Lower slopes.

Also great base from which to visit the Glenfinnan Viaduct and watch the 'harry potter' train go past.

Looking forward to visiting again soon.

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3520 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!