Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gilsland Caravan Park And Camping Cabins

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Gilsland Caravan Park And Camping Cabins
Grange Road
North Berwick
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH39 5JA
Tel: 07779167253
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: Seasonal and Glamping
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 17 Reviews
                7/10 from 17 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Unfortunately Gilsland will not be able to offer camping or touring facilities from the 2013 season onwards.

Static caravans are still available to own and to hire for holidays, as well as their Camping Cabins for hire during the summer. They also have seasonal pitches only for touring caravans.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Grahamsmum 1 review from this member

We stayed in a camping cabin at the September weekend. They really are tardis like on the inside, . Everything you get in a normal kitchen bar the sink.

Lovely big bunkbeds and a fold down sofa bed. It was a bit nippy outside but lovely and warm inside. The owner was there everyday to assist with any queries. The toilet blocks were lovely and clean and we didn't queue for showers etc at any point. They also have a laundry room which was handy. Gilsland is lovely and peaceful 24 hours a day with no club or large playgrounds to spoil the serenity. We have a 7 year old and he wasn't bored at all, he and other kids were well behaved and played with bikes, scooters etc and just hung out with each other and amused themselves the old fashioned way.

Gilsland is in a lovely peaceful location just outside the town of north berwick. There is a sports centre within walking distance with swimming etc. North berwick itself is beautiful with narrow streets full of places to eat and shop, smashing beach and is full of interesting things to do and see, there is also a few golf courses for the men. We are returning next year.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hev24 8 reviews from this member

Just back from a 2 day visit to this site which is quiet and seemed family orientated. The static and touring sites are separate so there isn't that feeling of being hemmed in by statics. There are trees and bushes providing shelter around the tent fields.

As mentioned before, cars are not allowed in the fields, but this wasn't a problem as it wasn't far to walk to our pitch, even at the other side of the field. Ours is a large tent but we found a fairly level pitch quite easily although the ground was a bit squelchy in places.

Facilities block was older fashioned but very clean and the showers with the curtains provided more privacy than the stable door type! Dish washing and laundry facilities and a large drying area were also provided.

There was a sand pit in each tent field, an old boat and a small playpark / field for the kids to play in.

My only reservation about returning to this site is the price. It is 6. 50 per person per night for anyone over 12 years of age.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babywhale 25 reviews from this member

The site is located about 5 minutes drive away from North Berwick town centre. There are no shops nearby, so its best to have a car to drive to Tescos or the Co-op (5-10 mins by car).

Site has a large sloping camping field to the left as you enter, with various trees dotted about. The pitches generally slope and can get quite boggy so look for signs of soft ground and take note. Some of the EHU points don't work, so its worth checking before you pitch. On a positive note there are plenty of water points dotted around.

Plenty of showers/toilets and they were kept clean and tidy. Showers fairly powerful and hot water not a problem. Dishwashing is in the toilets rather than in a separate area. No washing machines or dryers though, so you'd have to handwash and hang out. They do provide some washing lines.

Price is per person rather than pitch, so it tends to discourage large families and groups. As a couple we like this. Dogs were free. EHU is 3 extra per night. Thus it was 16 per night with electric in peak season, which is good value as we have a large tent.

Have visited once before and will go back. The site is peaceful yet modest, and North Berwick is a lovely town.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ALI162 7 reviews from this member

Initially we had a little bit of bother finding a reasonable level dry pitch, but we eventually settled on a pitch on the second field of four for camping.

As stated in previous reviews cars are not allowed alongside pitches, even for unloading, which is a slight inconvenience due to the amount of kit we take!

The site itself is perfectly situated for access to North Berwick and the surrounding area.

A walk into the town centre takes about 15-20 minutes all downhill on the way there. A wide selection of shops, pubs, takeaways and cafes are all on your doorstep.

The family running the site cannot be any more helpful and this is a very friendly site.

Price per person is also an advantage.

The only minor let down for us is the dishwashing facilities as they are located within both the male and female toilet/shower blocks. This can be quite awkward as we as a couple tend to share this chore.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grapefruitmoon 23 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for two nights at the weekend. It was very quiet, in fact there was only one other tent. The weather was fantastic!

Although we had to park on the roadway, we were able to pitch our tent on the grass next to the car as we didn't use EHU. The ground was quite soft and, I fear, would have become muddy if it had rained.

The site is sheltered with attractive trees which give an orchard like feel to the place. The toilets and shower blocks are old fashioned but very clean, spacious and there are plenty of them with toilet roll and paper towels and lots of mirrors!(well in the ladies anyway) The showers were great; spacious, adjustable electric showers.

Our boys had plenty space to play football but there is no kids' playground, (just the boat).

The site is in a great location. A short walk into North Berwick (less than a mile) to nice shops, cafes, bars, tourist info' centre, bike hire, fab' fish and chips etc. North Berwick is a lovely clean town.

The beaches are great and there are various activities going on there, eg. Boat trips, sailing, kayaking, outdoor sea-pool. The Sea Life centre is excellent for all ages and well worth a visit in my opinion. We climbed the Law, too. There is a sports centre and swimming pool a few minutes walk from the campsite.

The wardens were very nice and friendly. We heard that the site is in threat of being closed down to build houses. This would be a bad move by the council unless they could find another suitable site for camping.

The main drawback for us was the price of 19. 50 per night! The most we've ever paid on a site. Although it works out cheaply for single campers (6. 50) or couples. The price would put us off returning which is a shame. I would recommend this site which can be accessed by bus, train or bicycle.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Message 1 review from this member

We visited this site on the bank holiday weekend and had been told on two separate phone calls that we had a hook up. However, on arrival we were informed that unless we had an RCD unit in our tent we would not be allowed to use our hook up cable which was a proper caravan type cable. Also some of the hook up points were damaged and taped up with black tape. The toilets are very basic but clean. There are 2 stable door type showers with gaps round each side of the door and up the centre leaving a clear view of the person inside. There were other showers with a curtain but these were in the area for dishwashing which was in the ladies toilets. This made it difficult for couples to do the dishes together. There were washing up facilities in the gents toilets beside the urinals, which is not really very nice. There were no toilet brushes in the toilets but plenty of toilet paper and paper towels for drying hands.

The camp site for tents was quite muddy and the ground soft due to all the rain over the weekend and if you have a large tent you will struggle to find anywhere level. The site is sheltered by trees so quite good in high winds, which we experienced on this weekend. Dogs were not kept on a lead and we saw two running free. I could not see much for children other than an old boat for them to play in and some sand which did not look at all inviting.

You will need transport to the shops and there is a coop and a tesco within a 10 minute drive.

The area for caravans looked better and there is a static site close by which appeared to have lots of space.

Camping was cheap 6. 50 per head but this would not entice me to use this site again.

Another major drawback was that you could not park your car next to your tent but had to leave it on the roadway at the side. This could be a major problem for anyone with young children or walking difficulties as you had to carry everything to your pitch which seemed a bit of a mish mash.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 12038523 3 reviews from this member

We visited the site for two nights (Friday and Saturday) with a baby and toddler. Site area was kept clean and tidy. The grass was very soggy and terrible to try and get caravan back out of pitch on Sunday

The toilet block. Well it was more like a bombing shelter from the war. Holes in the roof and floor, most toilets didn't have locks, no hot water, the walls were covered in graffiti. The showers, well they had hot water but didn't like the wooden swing doors with gap in the middle, not very private. I wasn't using the showers in dishwashing area which did have curtains, as there were men in and out!

There are a lot of trees inbetween the pitches and a big grassy area in middle for children to lay. Never seen the swing park the mention.

Paid 24. 00 per night which I though was unreasonable given the state of the toilets.

North Berwick was nice though, but won't be back to this site until they put in new toilet blocks.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: C Merilo 2 reviews from this member

Me and my dog, a patterdale, fancied a couple of days camping late May 2011. We stayed 3 nights the toilets were immaculate, clean and painted out.

All the staff were very helpful and even recommended a quiet pitch more sheltered from the wind. The site is well laid out with free showers, hot and cold water and two sets of toilet blocks, male and female.

The male block has facilities to wash dishes in and the showers were of a good standard. The price was well worth the stay paying less than other sites in the area.

The walk to North Berwick was in less than 20 mins but the walk back is up hill. The nearest shop is a co-op and Tesco wthin a 30 minute walk.

I will go back again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scottishflower2000 11 reviews from this member

A very nice site.

A short walk from North Berwick town centre and easy access from the motorway.

The warden was friendly (accepts cash only) and waited on my husband returning with money. He also leant out a hand wrench as our drill was unfortunately still at home.

I thought the site a little pricey. Dogs and awnings were free however we had chosen not to bring either as storms were forecast. I felt like I was paying for both in the tariff.

No evidence of graffiti in the toilets and no feeling of being unsafe. The weather wasn't top notch but I enjoyed watching children play on HMS Gilsland in the middle of the field and jumping across the stones. I was tempted to do it myself on returning from the loo.

I didn't use the showers as although they were spotlessly clean I thought they might be a bit airy.

An easy walk down to North Berwick although uphill on the way back. I think it took 15 minutes. A day can be spent wandering the town with lovely coffee shops, a gorgeous pub meal and a wander along the clean, sandy front.

As the weather was somewhat inclement we went to a garden centre for a very reasonable priced Victoria sponge and coffee and picked up some plants to remember our weekend by.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3278 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019