Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EP
Tel: 01768 772392
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 194 Reviews
                8/10 from 194 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  194 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 566 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site located on Derwentwater and a 5 minute walk into Keswick. Excellent base for the hills.

The site was very wet and there was a flood alert but the staff dealt with it well.

Our pitch was flooded but there had been huge amounts of rain. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Purplenel 18 reviews from this member

 I had read reviews of this site (the wardens in particular) and so was a little worried about our trip. We had booked a grass pitch with electric for 8 nights.

A week before the holiday we were called to be told that the first night of our trip was being cancelled as the grass pitches were too waterlogged. During the conversation the warden told me that sometimes tents go on the hardstanding. As more rain was forecast I was worried that we would end up being cancelled entirely.

I knew that a hardstanding pitch was going to come available as a family member who was supposed to be staying in their caravan at the same time that we were there was going to cancel due to a family emergency. So I asked the family member to phone to cancel and ask the warden to phone me back so we could have their pitch! As it turns out it was good we did since there were no tents on grass at all while we were there and the grass was very soggy. We took two extra layers for under the (new) tent - a pond liner and an extra thick tarp as well as the thin tarp we often use. Our tent survived unscathed.

When we arrived they knew wind was forecast during our stay so they put us in a sheltered spot (pitch 165). This was thoughtful but I think they didn't realise that this pitch floods. So as we put up the tent in a downpour I realised we would have to reposition it to avoid the tent filling with water. No big problem but glad we realised before we had completely set up.

The site itself is typical of the club sites. Bit bland but clean and in an excellent position. The response to Covid meant extra cleaning which did mean that the main washing up area was unavailable at the time we would most want to use it.

The site is in a great location for Keswick. We did two fell walks without having to use the car. I'm sure if the launch had been fully operational we could have done more.

I would go back for the location alone but would book hardstanding so as not to get cancelled. It might be nice if the the club invested in some all weather pitches for tents. It is the camping and caravan club and yet tents were almost non existent on the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ianra1 1 review from this member

 This is a good site location for Keswick or Windermere. Friendly and helpful owners who have a working farm.

Overall this is a good value site perfect for using as a base for exploring the lakes. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 13 reviews from this member

 Keswick site has three main attributes that ensures its a busy site in the Lake District.

1. Close to Keswick town with its shops, pubs and cafes.

2. Opportunity to go for walks from campsite, and to enjoy canoeing etc in Derwentwater.

3. Well serviced by buses to travel to other areas of Lake District. We stayed three nights.

Only downside was we had phoned the site in Nov 2019 to secure a Lakeside pitch, and was told we had to upgrade to a Super Service pitch in order to do this which we did. When we arrived, we were told there was no record of this request (even though we now found ourselves on a Super Service pitch instead of a standard pitch, 3 rows back from the Lake) and that if not happy with the Super Service pitch allocated we could go to the office and get a refund and find somewhere else!

We reckoned every where else would be full so we stayed, and put this to the back of our minds. Facilities were clean and sanitised and park looked reasonably well kept. Went to the Bank Tavern and the Pheasant Inn, both served great food, and we also enjoyed the circular walk around Derwentwater (approx 10m) 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Liz+ ant Slade 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed over the bank holiday weekend.

Unfortunately we had just had two storms and the site had beared the brunt of the adverse weather. Ground very wet but that's not the sites fault and staff dealt with the issue very well.

Other than that, site great.

Staff really helpful, facilities cleaned regularly and the location of the site on the lake is boss!

Ten minute walk into Keswick which has great pubs and cafes, nearly all dog friendly.

Great site and we will be back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 11 reviews from this member

 We fancied a winter visit to Keswick and was surprised at how busy the site was in early December! I suppose not many sites are available during this month.

The site has lovely views down the lake and to the mountains. Facilities were reasonable.

It's a ten minute walk to town, first stop is Booths supermarket and the bus station and then onto lots of shops and eating and drinking venues in town.

We were lucky enough to coincide our visit with the switching on the Christmas lights. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Patricia Joy 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived at non-busy time, around 3. 30pm, given choice of pitch in main or quieter area. Choose quieter area even though it was on the exit route. Campsite full with caravans, motorhomes, campervans and folk in tents.

Thankfully plenty of room between pitches, glad we were not in main area next to the lake where there are lots of geese and swans leaving their mark on the grass and paths.

Small toilet block had half of toilets, showers & wash basins closed off and respected by campers, plenty of paper towels. Main block also the same but a one way system along paths to get to them. Washing up ares available alternative sinks blocked off.

Generally it was very busy but people respected social distancing. Facilities cleaned 3 times per day, one of which was a deep clean. Weather was favourable as this site does flood.

Excellent position for activities on or off the lake. Plenty of walking from campsite however the cycling route is currently being rebuilt and extended.

Childrenís play area closed. 


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Anne8v 1 review from this member

 The campsite was very nice and so near to a lake with awesome views. The town Keswick was about 15 minutes walk and Booths supermarket a 10 minute walk from the campsite.

The staff on the campsite were friendly. We would go back there again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 566 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, within walking distance of Keswick.

Large pitches, excellent facilities and great location on Derwentwater.

New wardens since our last stay - friendly welcome and helpful staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stef Jake 8 reviews from this member

 What an awful site

There are other sites nearby go to them, the only reason they get any customers is because itís near to Keswick

Trying to book is an absolute nightmare, the staff are rude an unhelpful especially Hazel

I have made a complaint to the caravan Club certainly not an advert for a friendly site!

We have had less security checks getting on an international flight, we paid for 2 nights and left after 1 we will never return to this site 
via mobile


Previous     194 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2768 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement