Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EP
Tel: 01768 772392
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 183 Reviews
                8/10 from 183 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  183 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Irvine45 67 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site, no wonder it is very difficult to book into. The site sits on the banks of Derwent water and is a short stroll into Keswick. The facilities were immaculate even although the site was full and there was only toilet block open.

Our pitch was away from the main area, which didn't feel busy at all.

I would definitely like to return and would highly recommend this site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 131 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed our stay at the site, we stopped for 4 nights during a longer tour. I was a little trepidacious of visiting the Lakes during November, but the autumnal colours on the trees where fantastic and we were lucky with the weather.

We arrived about 2-2:30pm, which given the queues we witnessed on other days around 1pm, turned out good to be a little later as we were straight through without waiting. We were given a choice of where we'd prefer to park up which was handy. The larger facilities block was a little walk from our pitch but it was more pleasant than the smaller dated block.

Views all around the site were great and whilst the pitches at the front had views directly on to Derwentwater, they also had the geese waddling around and the mess the geese leave behind!

So much to do in the area and plenty of walks directly from the site.

Will definitely return to the site.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fortyfoot 5 reviews from this member

We have just had seven nights here and we were well impressed. It was a breath of fresh air after their club site at Boroughbridge.

On arrival at the site we were welcomed by a warden almost before we had pulled up. He took us round the site to help us select a pitch, a very nice welcome.

The site looked pristine, grass neatly cut. The service areas for water, waste and recycling were well maintained.

A toilet block had been modernised since our last visit.

During our stay we found the staff very helpful.

The only problem I had was trying to buy WiFi, it did not work. I managed with my poor EE signal.

We even had 10 'Red Arrows' fly over, returning for shows in NI and Scotland.

Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lylacali 1 review from this member

Just returned from a week in the Lake District visiting 3 different sites. Keswick by far was the best. Great location, great facilities, great campsite. I don't understand people complaining about the rules. The site was quiet and well managed. You can't pitch your awning outside the hardstanding pitch. They make that clear. Know that going in, and you can't complain. Also, you can't get on the site before 1. There is a pay and display car park right by the site if you arrive a bit early like we did. Is that perfect, no. But it is clear and you have a viable option right outside the campsite.

The bathrooms were the cleanest and most modern. Easy walk into Keswick, which is a beautiful place. I wish we had stayed at this site the entire trip. The next time we go to the Lakes, I'd be here the entire holiday.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Babydaisy1972 12 reviews from this member

Very expensive - they insisted we book 3 nights for a weekend in May (not the bank holiday) so it cost over a hundred pounds for our family of 4. More than double what we usually pay for a wekend away. This feels rather like a stealth tax on families and perhaps they don't want families to come - there were very few and this is a large site.

They are very insistent on their rules and regulations. Come 12 noon there is always a long queue of caravans waiting to be let on the site (they don't allow them on until 1pm) which is rather dangerous if you are trying to get access to and from the site. As everyone had left the mainly hardstanding pitches by 11am it was difficult to understand why they didn't just let people come on site.

At 9. 30 pm on the Saturday evening we were sitting having a glass of wine and watching the kids play with some paper airplanes (no ball games allowed and no where for them to play them anyway) when the warden came up and grumpily told us to tell them to stop having fun so noisily. There was noone else around, everyone was either out for the evening or locked inside their caravans watching TV, we had had no complaints all the children were doing was laughing as they threw the airplanes to each other. The rules of the site stated that quiet time was from 11pm so we were not breaking these rules. The only reason that the warden could hear the children was that there were no other children around or any other people at all. This was a Saturday night at 9. 30 pm and it wasn't even dark. We did send the children inside to watch a film but to me this is not what camping is about. It is about allowing the children to be outside having fun not inside on screens.

Having said that the site is in a lovely area but they clearly know that they can do what they like because of that.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

Returned to the site for a few nights during February half-term break.

Excellent location and site well maintained despite weather.

There were building taking place when we were there - some new super-pitches are being developed by the lake.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Centreno13 10 reviews from this member

Decided to spend Christmas in Keswick and chose this site which we have been to before, lovely situation for a site - even if it is dearer than most other club sites - site staff friendly and very helpful and nice clean warm facilities, however, it is in the lakes on the edge of Derwent Water and it rains a lot in the lakes, I had noticed that the forecast had predicted 48 hours of rain and this time they weren't wrong, and come Christmas morning the nearest row of units to the lake were moved because of the encroaching water, suffice to say that by 4 oclock that afternoon, it had reached us on the fourth row and sadly had to evacuate the site, they did offer a pitch on the derwent site but once we'd packed up we thought we might as well travel home. A disappointing Christmas but the site staff were great and very helpful. We will go again but I suggest you check the weather carefully first, one of the wardens said she'd only been there 3 months and it had flooded 3 times! Global Warming?. Maybe.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jimbod22 2 reviews from this member

We visited Keswick C&CC site for the second time this year and took our new puppy Jake. Unfortunately on arrival we found we had booked a plot on the other C&CC site in Keswick by mistake. The staff bent over backwards to help resolve this and although full they found us somewhere for the weekend with a hook up, and transferred our booking.

The site is immaculately kept and the staff are among the best and most friendly we have come across. It is ten minutes walk from the centre of Keswick and is situated on the edge of Derwentwater with magnificent views.

Keswick itself is the most dog friendly town we have visited in the UK. Dogs are allowed in all the pubs except Weatherspoons, most of the cafes and some of the shops. There are water bowls everywhere and you can eat with your dog in many places.

We enjoyed it so much we have booked again for the Victorian Market weekend.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 11 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at Keswick. We were very happy and would definitely return. The facilities are typical C&CC: clean, well maintained washrooms, closed for cleaning at specified times. We were there at the tail end of the summer holidays so the site was very busy with lots of wardens organising things. The wardens could get a tiny bit frazzled if issues arose because the sheer number of guests mean there is little or no room for flexibility. However, we found them to be exceptionally helpful and friendly. If they could help in any way they would. Our grass pitch flooded and we had to be towed off the day we left. This was managed without any fuss and with great good humour.

The location of the site is stunning and the views are incredible. However, you need to be aware that not many of the vans have a view of the lake. There are 2 fields: the main field faces the lake and has good views of the fells all round; the smaller field has large trees all the way round and views are restricted. However, wherever you are on site you can walk down to the water's edge, perhaps take a chair or a blanket, and enjoy the stunning views from there.

The site was very busy with children when we were there. Inevitably, there were a tiny minority whose behaviour impacted upon the rest of the site. The children's playground is well used and was open until quite late (I think it was 9:00 when we were there). We were a couple of hundred yards away but some pitches were very close and noise would be a problem there.

Many families took advantage of the lake shore to swim, paddle, kayak, feed the ducks. You name it. It was a pleasure to see so many parents and children enjoying time together.

The location is great. Keswick has everything you could want in terms of shops, pubs and restaurants (our favourite pub is the Dog and Gun). I would recommend the site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunncamp owner 13 reviews from this member

First thing you realise when you land here is the views are breath-taking! Ok so review wise, Toilets immaculate, good washing up facilities, pitches were of a decent size and we were on hard standing which was decent to peg into also. Access to the lake was easy enough and we enjoyed canoeing a couple of days (charge for launching). The lake at the shore was very shallow so the kids were happy to have a paddle about relatively safely. Kids playground was in good condition and in general the site was impeccably kept by the wardens. We were a little worried due to reviews elsewhere about the wardens however found them nothing less than very helpful and we even managed to get pitched with our friends which is great since we have younger children with us. You can access Keswick with a short walk down a quiet road from the site which meant the car didn't move all week. Would certainly return here!

Previous     183 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2037 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019