Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EP
Tel: 01768 772392
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 200 Reviews
                8/10 from 200 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Watty2020 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely site positioned right next to Derwent water which adds a great deal to the site and the views of the water and the surrounding mountains is stunning.

I could imagine that unless you had 1 of the pitches right at the front near the water in the summer, it may be less of a view as lots of campers in between the water and further out pitches.

Facilities were clean, but only 1 open which considering the number of people staying was too few and several showers and toilets not available in menís so down from 7 of each to 4, which was my only moan.

Overall site excellent mainly due to the view and the staff we met were very friendly.

Keswick itself is excellent and we cycled around with ease and lots to see and do, so great place to visit and this is in our top 3 sites and towns to visit. 


Date of Visit: November 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GWTE 23 reviews from this member

 First time back here in over 25 years because weíre not keen on The Lakes in high season. The site managers were expecting the site to be full whilst we were there.

On arrival we were given a choice of pitches- unusual on Camping and Caravan Club sites in our experience.

The site is within easy walking distance to Keswick and the views from the site are fantastic. They were made even better with the cold crisp weather we encountered.

The facilities were kept very clean despite some people leaving toilet paper on the floor of the cubicles. This would have been adults as there were no children on site whilst we were there.

The site was on amber flood alert for the first two days we were there and it was recommended that no-one be more than one hour away and that mobiles were kept on in case the site mangers needed to contact us.

Our nightly fee was just over £28, which we thought was excellent given the position of the site.

The site is mainly level but we did see some campers using chocks.

There are two toilet blocks one closes at 10. 30 for cleaning and the other at 3 oíclock.

We did have a couple of issues. On our third day there, the electric went off on a section of pitches and couldnít be repaired that day, or the day after so we had to move. It wasnít too much of a hardship as we hadnít put up an awning and we were offered a full service pitch. On the last day we were there, the boiler stopped working in one of the toilet blocks and it had to be closed. There was an electrician there when we were leaving.

One other thing and Iím not sure why they do this. A few of the cubicles in both the ladies and gents were closed despite how busy the site was. I had to queue for a shower, along with others one morning (caravan doesnít have a shower).

I would have given the site 10 had it not been for these issues. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Argo 3 reviews from this member

 First time in a CC&C site and we were impressed with the way the site was run and looked after. Two large amenities blocks, small shop.

The location is outstanding, surrounded by lakeland fells and right on the shores of Derwent Water. Plenty of people here launching their kayaks and paddles boards.

It's only a short 10 minute walk into Keswick and a good supermarket (Booths).

We would come again. 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tomfis 1 review from this member

 Excellent site very close to town centre,

Very clean site with very clean toilets and showers.

Site wardens were very friendly and helpful nothing too much trouble

Would definitely book again and recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Garry3 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site

Very clean

Staff are amazing and I liked being shown to my pitch

Lots to do and see in kendal, taxi only £5 fixed fare from camp site

Will definitely going back

Mr johnso from durham 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trudy and Keith 11 reviews from this member

 Site has check in at 1 o'clock but as we were only travelling from a nearby site and found nowhere to stop enroute we arrived just before half past twelve. We have never been spoken to so rudely by a warden who told us to leave, park up in the town and come back at one oclock. There were plenty of spare pitches we could see over the hedge but were told we couldn't wait.

We had travelled from two Caravan and Motorhome club sites whose toilets were open but this site and club refused to open theirs even though they only had two disposal points.

Only a few pitches have a view of the lake but the mountain views are all around and the town is very close.

Campsite is handy for walk/cycle from the site and the town which was lovely and Booths supermarket good and very close. New Cycle track to Thelkeld was fantastic and good pub for lunch there too. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site located on Derwentwater and a 5 minute walk into Keswick. Excellent base for the hills.

The site was very wet and there was a flood alert but the staff dealt with it well.

Our pitch was flooded but there had been huge amounts of rain. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Purplenel 20 reviews from this member

 I had read reviews of this site (the wardens in particular) and so was a little worried about our trip. We had booked a grass pitch with electric for 8 nights.

A week before the holiday we were called to be told that the first night of our trip was being cancelled as the grass pitches were too waterlogged. During the conversation the warden told me that sometimes tents go on the hardstanding. As more rain was forecast I was worried that we would end up being cancelled entirely.

I knew that a hardstanding pitch was going to come available as a family member who was supposed to be staying in their caravan at the same time that we were there was going to cancel due to a family emergency. So I asked the family member to phone to cancel and ask the warden to phone me back so we could have their pitch! As it turns out it was good we did since there were no tents on grass at all while we were there and the grass was very soggy. We took two extra layers for under the (new) tent - a pond liner and an extra thick tarp as well as the thin tarp we often use. Our tent survived unscathed.

When we arrived they knew wind was forecast during our stay so they put us in a sheltered spot (pitch 165). This was thoughtful but I think they didn't realise that this pitch floods. So as we put up the tent in a downpour I realised we would have to reposition it to avoid the tent filling with water. No big problem but glad we realised before we had completely set up.

The site itself is typical of the club sites. Bit bland but clean and in an excellent position. The response to Covid meant extra cleaning which did mean that the main washing up area was unavailable at the time we would most want to use it.

The site is in a great location for Keswick. We did two fell walks without having to use the car. I'm sure if the launch had been fully operational we could have done more.

I would go back for the location alone but would book hardstanding so as not to get cancelled. It might be nice if the the club invested in some all weather pitches for tents. It is the camping and caravan club and yet tents were almost non existent on the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ianra1 1 review from this member

 This is a good site location for Keswick or Windermere. Friendly and helpful owners who have a working farm.

Overall this is a good value site perfect for using as a base for exploring the lakes. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 75 reviews from this member

 Keswick site has three main attributes that ensures its a busy site in the Lake District.

1. Close to Keswick town with its shops, pubs and cafes.

2. Opportunity to go for walks from campsite, and to enjoy canoeing etc in Derwentwater.

3. Well serviced by buses to travel to other areas of Lake District. We stayed three nights.

Only downside was we had phoned the site in Nov 2019 to secure a Lakeside pitch, and was told we had to upgrade to a Super Service pitch in order to do this which we did. When we arrived, we were told there was no record of this request (even though we now found ourselves on a Super Service pitch instead of a standard pitch, 3 rows back from the Lake) and that if not happy with the Super Service pitch allocated we could go to the office and get a refund and find somewhere else!

We reckoned every where else would be full so we stayed, and put this to the back of our minds. Facilities were clean and sanitised and park looked reasonably well kept. Went to the Bank Tavern and the Pheasant Inn, both served great food, and we also enjoyed the circular walk around Derwentwater (approx 10m) 


Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Keswick Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43814 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement