Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lickpenny Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > Lickpenny Touring Park Reviews

Lickpenny Touring Park
Lickpenny Lane
Tansley
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 5PW
Tel: 01629 583040
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 228 Reviews
                9/10 from 228 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  228 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alisonbooth 1 review from this member

 We booked this site very easily at quite late notice. Very happy with the discussion about the sort of pitch we wanted considering the windy forecast.

Our pitch was easy to find and very spacious. Great shower block and spotless too.

Good facilities for preparing food and washing up also.

Well worth the £23 a night fee. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Samantha76 1 review from this member

 Clean and tidy campsite all round!

Flat pitch, nice dog walk, good views from our Deluxe pitch, reasonable price.

Great pub near by “The Gate“ Lumsdale falls worth a walk.

Both garden centres and farm shop are worth a visit.

Will return! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Alison26 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. We were looking for a site not too far from home but with plenty of attractions around. Well we really found this wonderful one.

Although there was loads to see around the area it was just a pleasure to be on the site. Majestic views and lovely walks.

We wished we could have stayed longer. We certainly will as soon as we possibly can. There is nothing to dislike about this site whatsoever! 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LR2007 23 reviews from this member

 Access to site ok for any type of unit. Pitch we were allocated not good for a motorhome but in fairness most of them were not flat. Site not busy when we arrived so we were allowed to choose another more suitable pitch.

The site itself is very well maintained, however, some of the trees and hedges would benefit in our opinion from being cut down in size to allow better views of the surrounding countryside etc. Even walking to the top of the site we struggled to see where the lovely views were that people had commented on.

Pitches not in the best of condition either, littered with cigarette ends, plastic, bottle tops etc. Three showers and toilets in the ladies facilities which appeared to be newly painted. Toilet cubicles are far too small (maybe ok for kids) and cramped and I would think that if the site is at capacity even with the other shower block this wouldn’t be adequate. In need of some updating too. On a positive they were very clean.

The site is situated next to an access road which is extremely noisy especially at peak times and was a big negative for us, if you are looking for peace and quiet it’s not for you! A lovely garden centre within walking distance which is dog friendly in the cafe but as other reviews have said it’s not very safe walking as there is no footpath.

For the cost per night we thought the site to be expensive as in comparison to some others we stayed at where the facilities have been better quality and more up to date.

WiFi access costs £4 minimum which again we thought expensive for two days, can’t comment on how good it is.

Wouldn’t book for a long term stay, however may use again for a short stay if we were in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Stead1 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely well maintained, quiet site. Larger than average pitches, with nice divisions between so a nice private feel.

The toilet block was very clean and warm, with lovely hot showers. Situated in a great place with loads to visit close by. We will definitely be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julie Laughton 1 review from this member

 A perfect find for our short BH break with our 2 dogs. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

We chose a luxury pitch which was spacious, private & close to all facilities. However I think we would have been happy with any pitch on this site. Everywhere was well laid out & beautifully kept. The shower & toilet blocks were warm & spotlessly clean & the dog walking areas were tucked away in an attractive woodland setting. The small shop, within the reception area, had all the basics & daily papers could be delivered if wanted. The location was central for beautiful walks in stunning countryside but all around there were other attractions for everyone’s tastes & needs.

Thank you Lickpenny for your hard work to maintain this site to such a high standard. Praise should be heaped on your staff in reception for their warm welcome & knowledge of the local area; your cleaners who make the shower blocks a pleasure to walk into & your groundsmen who must work tirelessly to keep the grounds & outdoor facilities in such magnificent condition.

We shall definitely be returning! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: B52s 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Spacious pitches & immaculate grounds. Shower blocks very clean. Lovely staff, friendly & very helpful.

If walking to the nearest pub, be aware there is no footpath on a busy road & no lighting, but worth a visit.

Would definitely recommend a visit & will go again in the Summer, where the views would be stunning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tripeaker 24 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite with spotless and warm showers and toilets. There are a variety of different pitches all looked spacious and well kept. The on site wardens made us welcome upon arrival even though it was after 7. 30pm. The views from the campsite are lovely with great views over the surrounding countryside up to Riber castle. A nice walk, downhill into Matlock and Matlock Bath with all it's attractions.

The nearest pub, The Tavern at Tansley has been recently renovated to a good standard and was a very pleasant place to stop for a drink but we did not eat there so could not judge the food. There is another pub called the gate at Tansley which is further into the village, where again, the welcome was good, the service and food both excellent.

A word of warning though if you intend to walk back to the site after dark from either of the pubs take a torch and I would suggest hi-viz jackets as a good part of the way has no footpaths nor street lighting and the road can get quite busy. A taxi back costs around £4 and we thought a good option.

A great all year round site. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Donegal Paul 1 review from this member

 We stayed here as a way to test out out new (to us) motorhome after a night wild camping off grid in our Talbot near Donna Nook to see the seals.

This was night 2 and on the long way home, plan was to find a site that we could get electric hook up etc and see what we thought.

Basically it was perfect. We still have a lot to learn about our little Talbot and about motorhoming especially given we've decided to start during the winter season.

However, the stay at Lickpenny really helped us out.

Booking was easy, their website gives you all the information you need, a quick call and pay over the phone and job was done. We arrived an hour before dark and had a lovely chat with the owners who were friendly and informative.

We had a great stay despite the weather but the facilities on site were lovely, warm toilet and shower block, very clean and tidy, dish washing facilities, a microwave and first aid kit beside the shower block, so very convenient.

Access on and off site is via a key code barrier so you come and go as you please, adds to a feeling of security which is always a bonus! We arrived late and left fairly early so I cant comment on surrounding area but from information on the website and the information provided in the reception too there's lots to do locally.

One more thing that struck me was the amount of other motorhomes / caravans on site (most of the ones I saw had people in them so I know they weren't just being stored). Now, we are new to this but there were definitely a lot more than I thought there would be given it's the last week in November! So, this is either normal on sites or it's a reflection of how good this site is.

This site is going in our list of ones we will revisit when we want to come back to the Matlock area for sure, especially after winter! 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Phoebs 3 reviews from this member

 We had a great few days staying at Lickpenny. The staff were friendly and the facilities were warm and spotlessly clean.

The walk into Matlock was fine, but quite a trek back uphill, although we could have caught a bus or a taxi.

The site is spacious, with a good mix of open, sunny areas and more private pitches. 


Previous     228 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lickpenny Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lickpenny Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lickpenny Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5397 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement