Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lickpenny Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Lickpenny Touring Park
Lickpenny Lane
Tansley
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 5PW
Tel: 01629 583040
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 222 Reviews
                9/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (13)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: B52s 1 review from this member

Lovely site. Spacious pitches & immaculate grounds. Shower blocks very clean. Lovely staff, friendly & very helpful.

If walking to the nearest pub, be aware there is no footpath on a busy road & no lighting, but worth a visit.

Would definitely recommend a visit & will go again in the Summer, where the views would be stunning.
via mobile

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tripeaker 22 reviews from this member

Excellent campsite with spotless and warm showers and toilets. There are a variety of different pitches all looked spacious and well kept. The on site wardens made us welcome upon arrival even though it was after 7. 30pm. The views from the campsite are lovely with great views over the surrounding countryside up to Riber castle. A nice walk, downhill into Matlock and Matlock Bath with all it's attractions.

The nearest pub, The Tavern at Tansley has been recently renovated to a good standard and was a very pleasant place to stop for a drink but we did not eat there so could not judge the food. There is another pub called the gate at Tansley which is further into the village, where again, the welcome was good, the service and food both excellent. A word of warning though if you intend to walk back to the site after dark from either of the pubs take a torch and I would suggest hi-viz jackets as a good part of the way has no footpaths nor street lighting and the road can get quite busy. A taxi back costs around £4 and we thought a good option.

A great all year round site.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Donegal Paul 1 review from this member

We stayed here as a way to test out out new (to us) motorhome after a night wild camping off grid in our Talbot near Donna Nook to see the seals.

This was night 2 and on the long way home, plan was to find a site that we could get electric hook up etc and see what we thought.

Basically it was perfect. We still have a lot to learn about our little Talbot and about motorhoming especially given we've decided to start during the winter season.

However, the stay at Lickpenny really helped us out.

Booking was easy, their website gives you all the information you need, a quick call and pay over the phone and job was done. We arrived an hour before dark and had a lovely chat with the owners who were friendly and informative.

We had a great stay despite the weather but the facilities on site were lovely, warm toilet and shower block, very clean and tidy, dish washing facilities, a microwave and first aid kit beside the shower block, so very convenient.

Access on and off site is via a key code barrier so you come and go as you please, adds to a feeling of security which is always a bonus! We arrived late and left fairly early so I cant comment on surrounding area but from information on the website and the information provided in the reception too there's lots to do locally.

One more thing that struck me was the amount of other motorhomes / caravans on site (most of the ones I saw had people in them so I know they weren't just being stored). Now, we are new to this but there were definitely a lot more than I thought there would be given it's the last week in November! So, this is either normal on sites or it's a reflection of how good this site is.

This site is going in our list of ones we will revisit when we want to come back to the Matlock area for sure, especially after winter!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Phoebs 3 reviews from this member

We had a great few days staying at Lickpenny. The staff were friendly and the facilities were warm and spotlessly clean. The walk into Matlock was fine, but quite a trek back uphill, although we could have caught a bus or a taxi. The site is spacious, with a good mix of open, sunny areas and more private pitches.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Addvic 8 reviews from this member

Lovely site our second visit as visiting family close by. The huge deluxe pitches (12A / 13A) though quite expensive per night (family of 4 & dog) I think it's well worth it for the private space. Playground is good and the facilities clean and well maintained. Lots locally to see and do.

Matlock has a park with water area and mini train. We have also visited Matlock Farm park. Ate at a local garden centre which allowed the dog in and was lovely and reasonably priced.

Will definitely stay here again just wish it was closer to home as would stay more often.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Slj76 6 reviews from this member

Absolutely loved this site, what a great find. Booked for a weekend at the last minute and we wished we could have stayed longer. It reminded us of French sites where pitches are separated and private. Great size, fairly level hardstanding pitch on a site which didnít feel overcrowded and was beautifully laid out. Toilets and showers were kept really clean as was the dishwashing facilities. Great dog walking area and fabulous open spaces and playground for the kids. So quiet and relaxing. Loads of places to visit locally. Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Losmick 1 review from this member

Fabulous site, so much so we keep coming back. The pitches are more than generous. Staff are so welcoming. Toilets and showers are always spotless. (The only tiny criticism we would have is the shower curtains need to be moved back to stop them clinging to you) The whole site seems to have been designed with caravanners in mind rather than making money. Other sites would have squeezed on another 50 vans and more. The entire campsite is peaceful with an amazing feeling of space.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan willis8 2 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our visit to this site - the pitches are spacious and well maintained with plenty of room for awnings.

The facilities are always clean and well laid out. We'll definitely be back this year for another relaxing weekend - great job

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Vinegars 10 reviews from this member

Fantastic site with excellent facilities. Very clean & beautifully maintained. Superb dog exercise area. Huge pitches

Was very quiet when we were there, don't know what it would be like during school holidays. Will definitely be going again.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMC1958 36 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site. This was our first visit, will not be the last. The site was very clean, quiet and well landscaped. Our deluxe pitch was massive. Facilities were excellent and very clean. The dog walk area was really nice. Storm Brian could not deter us from having a wonderfully enjoyable stay at this site.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3051 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019