Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lickpenny Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > Lickpenny Touring Park Reviews

Lickpenny Touring Park
Lickpenny Lane
Tansley
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 5PW
Tel: 01629 583040
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 225 Reviews
                9/10 from 225 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (13)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LR2007 19 reviews from this member

Access to site ok for any type of unit. Pitch we were allocated not good for a motorhome but in fairness most of them were not flat. Site not busy when we arrived so we were allowed to choose another more suitable pitch.

The site itself is very well maintained, however, some of the trees and hedges would benefit in our opinion from being cut down in size to allow better views of the surrounding countryside etc. Even walking to the top of the site we struggled to see where the lovely views were that people had commented on.

Pitches not in the best of condition either, littered with cigarette ends, plastic, bottle tops etc. Three showers and toilets in the ladies facilities which appeared to be newly painted. Toilet cubicles are far too small (maybe ok for kids) and cramped and I would think that if the site is at capacity even with the other shower block this wouldnít be adequate. In need of some updating too. On a positive they were very clean.

The site is situated next to an access road which is extremely noisy especially at peak times and was a big negative for us, if you are looking for peace and quiet itís not for you! A lovely garden centre within walking distance which is dog friendly in the cafe but as other reviews have said itís not very safe walking as there is no footpath.

For the cost per night we thought the site to be expensive as in comparison to some others we stayed at where the facilities have been better quality and more up to date.

WiFi access costs £4 minimum which again we thought expensive for two days, canít comment on how good it is.

Wouldnít book for a long term stay, however may use again for a short stay if we were in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Stead1 2 reviews from this member

Lovely well maintained, quiet site. Larger than average pitches, with nice divisions between so a nice private feel.

The toilet block was very clean and warm, with lovely hot showers. Situated in a great place with loads to visit close by. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julie Laughton 1 review from this member

A perfect find for our short BH break with our 2 dogs. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

We chose a luxury pitch which was spacious, private & close to all facilities. However I think we would have been happy with any pitch on this site. Everywhere was well laid out & beautifully kept. The shower & toilet blocks were warm & spotlessly clean & the dog walking areas were tucked away in an attractive woodland setting. The small shop, within the reception area, had all the basics & daily papers could be delivered if wanted. The location was central for beautiful walks in stunning countryside but all around there were other attractions for everyoneís tastes & needs.

Thank you Lickpenny for your hard work to maintain this site to such a high standard. Praise should be heaped on your staff in reception for their warm welcome & knowledge of the local area; your cleaners who make the shower blocks a pleasure to walk into & your groundsmen who must work tirelessly to keep the grounds & outdoor facilities in such magnificent condition.

We shall definitely be returning!
via mobile

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: B52s 1 review from this member

Lovely site. Spacious pitches & immaculate grounds. Shower blocks very clean. Lovely staff, friendly & very helpful.

If walking to the nearest pub, be aware there is no footpath on a busy road & no lighting, but worth a visit.

Would definitely recommend a visit & will go again in the Summer, where the views would be stunning.
via mobile

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tripeaker 22 reviews from this member

Excellent campsite with spotless and warm showers and toilets. There are a variety of different pitches all looked spacious and well kept. The on site wardens made us welcome upon arrival even though it was after 7. 30pm. The views from the campsite are lovely with great views over the surrounding countryside up to Riber castle. A nice walk, downhill into Matlock and Matlock Bath with all it's attractions.

The nearest pub, The Tavern at Tansley has been recently renovated to a good standard and was a very pleasant place to stop for a drink but we did not eat there so could not judge the food. There is another pub called the gate at Tansley which is further into the village, where again, the welcome was good, the service and food both excellent.

A word of warning though if you intend to walk back to the site after dark from either of the pubs take a torch and I would suggest hi-viz jackets as a good part of the way has no footpaths nor street lighting and the road can get quite busy. A taxi back costs around £4 and we thought a good option.

A great all year round site.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Donegal Paul 1 review from this member

We stayed here as a way to test out out new (to us) motorhome after a night wild camping off grid in our Talbot near Donna Nook to see the seals.

This was night 2 and on the long way home, plan was to find a site that we could get electric hook up etc and see what we thought.

Basically it was perfect. We still have a lot to learn about our little Talbot and about motorhoming especially given we've decided to start during the winter season.

However, the stay at Lickpenny really helped us out.

Booking was easy, their website gives you all the information you need, a quick call and pay over the phone and job was done. We arrived an hour before dark and had a lovely chat with the owners who were friendly and informative.

We had a great stay despite the weather but the facilities on site were lovely, warm toilet and shower block, very clean and tidy, dish washing facilities, a microwave and first aid kit beside the shower block, so very convenient.

Access on and off site is via a key code barrier so you come and go as you please, adds to a feeling of security which is always a bonus! We arrived late and left fairly early so I cant comment on surrounding area but from information on the website and the information provided in the reception too there's lots to do locally.

One more thing that struck me was the amount of other motorhomes / caravans on site (most of the ones I saw had people in them so I know they weren't just being stored). Now, we are new to this but there were definitely a lot more than I thought there would be given it's the last week in November! So, this is either normal on sites or it's a reflection of how good this site is.

This site is going in our list of ones we will revisit when we want to come back to the Matlock area for sure, especially after winter!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Phoebs 3 reviews from this member

We had a great few days staying at Lickpenny. The staff were friendly and the facilities were warm and spotlessly clean.

The walk into Matlock was fine, but quite a trek back uphill, although we could have caught a bus or a taxi.

The site is spacious, with a good mix of open, sunny areas and more private pitches.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Addvic 8 reviews from this member

Lovely site our second visit as visiting family close by. The huge deluxe pitches (12A / 13A) though quite expensive per night (family of 4 & dog) I think it's well worth it for the private space. Playground is good and the facilities clean and well maintained. Lots locally to see and do.

Matlock has a park with water area and mini train. We have also visited Matlock Farm park. Ate at a local garden centre which allowed the dog in and was lovely and reasonably priced.

Will definitely stay here again just wish it was closer to home as would stay more often.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Slj76 6 reviews from this member

Absolutely loved this site, what a great find. Booked for a weekend at the last minute and we wished we could have stayed longer. It reminded us of French sites where pitches are separated and private.

Great size, fairly level hardstanding pitch on a site which didnít feel overcrowded and was beautifully laid out. Toilets and showers were kept really clean as was the dishwashing facilities.

Great dog walking area and fabulous open spaces and playground for the kids. So quiet and relaxing. Loads of places to visit locally.

Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Losmick 1 review from this member

Fabulous site, so much so we keep coming back. The pitches are more than generous. Staff are so welcoming.

Toilets and showers are always spotless. (The only tiny criticism we would have is the shower curtains need to be moved back to stop them clinging to you) The whole site seems to have been designed with caravanners in mind rather than making money.

Other sites would have squeezed on another 50 vans and more. The entire campsite is peaceful with an amazing feeling of space.

Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3963 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019